Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2214 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,925
Mixed:
155
Negative:
134
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
FrederickD.Jan 7, 2007
This would be a timeless and classic movie had del Toro enjoyed telling a faery tale as much as he seemed to enjoy depicting graphic violence. The film maintains a delicate balance between fantasy and violent reality for half the film, and This would be a timeless and classic movie had del Toro enjoyed telling a faery tale as much as he seemed to enjoy depicting graphic violence. The film maintains a delicate balance between fantasy and violent reality for half the film, and then it sinks into violence so extreme, extended and brutal that it wipes out the joy of the fantasy fable. Violence is so extended and graphic in this film that it reaches the point of being gratuitious. And at that point, it becomes a form of pornography. The joy of the fairy tale, the momentary triumph of the innocent young woman...are overridden the sheer amount of time the director spends depicting graphic violence...spoiling what could have been a moving and enduring story. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BarryOct 8, 2007
Good but stupidly overrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenD.Jan 9, 2007
Glowing from the opening credits to the final scene. Cruel, tragic, terrifying and at times just purely beautiful. Building a divide for audiences to feel hatred and love for characters is never easy but here its magnifcient. The acting is Glowing from the opening credits to the final scene. Cruel, tragic, terrifying and at times just purely beautiful. Building a divide for audiences to feel hatred and love for characters is never easy but here its magnifcient. The acting is of such a high standard many careers should blossom from such performances. First rate stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomG.Feb 11, 2007
I just watched PL an hour ago or so and it has got me searching the Internet for more information on this fantastic and timeless film. Like The Secret Garden, it is about that emotional disjoint in life between cynical and cruel reality and I just watched PL an hour ago or so and it has got me searching the Internet for more information on this fantastic and timeless film. Like The Secret Garden, it is about that emotional disjoint in life between cynical and cruel reality and the hope and boundless generosity of myth and childhood. One of the best movies I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
InsanelySaneFeb 11, 2007
"Pan's Labyrinth" is probably the most disappointing film I have been to in the last few years... I am absolutely gob-smacked for words. How could one give such high praise to a film that is below average on so many levels?! For someone "Pan's Labyrinth" is probably the most disappointing film I have been to in the last few years... I am absolutely gob-smacked for words. How could one give such high praise to a film that is below average on so many levels?! For someone that appreciates foreign films' subtlety and depth this film is anything but. The script is shallow, spells out details that would have been obvious without mention. The plot on paper would have been ok but the execution is confused, boring and cliche'd. I cant believe that this is what I am writing about this highly rated 'adult' 'fantasy'. The acting is obvious without ever feeling sympathy for the characters. The sound design is irritating, harsh on the ears and exaggerated in detail. The music is generic and mixed way too low (maybe that's why...). The camera work is bland. The only good thing seems to be the constumes and sets. Last but not least the violence is gratuitous and of putting and could have done so much better without it. A film like "Apocalypto" used violence that had meaning and celebrated death and pain and the reality of it all. "Pan's Labyrinth" was empty, detached and comical more than anything. Not suitable for those looking for a magical experience at the cinema. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CoryH.Feb 11, 2007
I am a huge fan of both the fantasy and horror genre, and I have never seen a movie in either that left me as affected as this film did. What Del Toro has done is created a world that is horrifying and ugly in the physical sense, but one I am a huge fan of both the fantasy and horror genre, and I have never seen a movie in either that left me as affected as this film did. What Del Toro has done is created a world that is horrifying and ugly in the physical sense, but one that is beautiful and intriguing as well. It is a world I would love to visit, but would scare the hell out of me. Be warned that it is in Spanish with English subtitles, but you won't even realize it ten minutes in. This is not a film for children by any means, but it reminded me of the first time I saw movies like Tron, The Neverending Story, and Labryinth. It will take to a place in your mind where you were afraid of went bump in the night, but will make you want to see what is making the noises. Go see it, and be amazed!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
YokSanFeb 10, 2007
"there wasn't enough car chases"
"this film ruined my weekend and my life boo fucking hoo"
why dont you walking rainclouds fuck off. You'd give a film of the edge of the universe a bad review if you thought it was controverisal
"there wasn't enough car chases"
"this film ruined my weekend and my life boo fucking hoo"
why dont you walking rainclouds fuck off. You'd give a film of the edge of the universe a bad review if you thought it was controverisal enough to make people pay attention to you for 15 seconds.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful
10
AdamT.Feb 11, 2007
I am 45 years old andthis is the finest movie I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulN.Feb 1, 2007
An absolute masterpiece. Visually stunning and a wonderful deomstration that fantasy can be reality too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BernieM.Feb 10, 2007
I saw this in its spanish language version in Spain and can only assume that changes were made to get it through with a 15 cert in the UK. Out of politeness for the crowd that I was with, I did not walked away before the end but never have I I saw this in its spanish language version in Spain and can only assume that changes were made to get it through with a 15 cert in the UK. Out of politeness for the crowd that I was with, I did not walked away before the end but never have I ever felt so much like doing so. I found out later that the feeling actually was universal! The violent scenes did not just serve to demonstrate the brutality of the character invloved which would have been ok, they were gratuitously violent to the point of being overwhelmingly distracting. The result is a crude film, which has nothing more than some quite nice photography in it at times. I've since seen this film described in cinema literature as a scary fairytale and am horrified to think that Parents might think it ok for young children on the basis that its not an 18 so can't be that bad - my little Johnnyis only twelve but he's mature enough for a 15 cert film..... I'm occasionally disappointed by a film but never have I had one that spoilt my weekend - until I watched El laberinto del Fauna. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DoratJ.Feb 14, 2007
I got disappointed from this movie, the line between fantasy and reality, it didnt overlap, no useful pauses to reflect in the movie. No magic, just boring Spanish faun and completely too hard scenes with blood just to make the audience I got disappointed from this movie, the line between fantasy and reality, it didnt overlap, no useful pauses to reflect in the movie. No magic, just boring Spanish faun and completely too hard scenes with blood just to make the audience jump, there is just nothing else to impress us with. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TimKFeb 1, 2007
Of the 200-some-odd foreign films I've seen, this easily ranks in my top 5... though I hate to classify it that way, I know there are some that will undoubtedly stay away just because. Of the thousands of films I've seen, this may Of the 200-some-odd foreign films I've seen, this easily ranks in my top 5... though I hate to classify it that way, I know there are some that will undoubtedly stay away just because. Of the thousands of films I've seen, this may just wind up around the top ten. The combination of cinematography, direction, and story, along with the superb acting makes this a very rare treat. My wife came out of the theater and said "That's what I want for Christmas next year". Hopefully we'll be able to view it again long before then. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
D.D.D.Feb 16, 2007
[***SPOILER***] Pan's Labyrinth is 90% Violence, blood guts & gore. 10% fantasy. This movie is not for the faint of heart. The trailer is misleading. Shooting children is wrong. How do I get my money back? I'm very sorry I wasted [***SPOILER***] Pan's Labyrinth is 90% Violence, blood guts & gore. 10% fantasy. This movie is not for the faint of heart. The trailer is misleading. Shooting children is wrong. How do I get my money back? I'm very sorry I wasted my time watching this piece of trash. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JustinS.Feb 18, 2007
A great movie, as long as you know what you're in for. It may be billed as a fair tale, but its not one Walt Disney could ever have dreamed up. This is very much a gothic movie aimed squarely at adults. It is extremely dark, even A great movie, as long as you know what you're in for. It may be billed as a fair tale, but its not one Walt Disney could ever have dreamed up. This is very much a gothic movie aimed squarely at adults. It is extremely dark, even depressing and graphically violent, with only the faintest hint of a happy ending. I don't know if the movie's rating in other places gives the wrong impression, but suffice to say it most definitely deserves and R and children should not be allowed anywhere near it. Nevertheless, the movie is very imaginative and very well done. Its also extremely engrossing and adults will probably find it immensely satisfying, even though it will probably leave you profoundly depressed at the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MattC.Feb 19, 2007
This movie is highly overratd. It is dark and depressing. The violence is gratuitous and used as a blunt tool to contrast the innocence of the protagonist. This is a weak excuse for real human tension. The special effects are good, but there This movie is highly overratd. It is dark and depressing. The violence is gratuitous and used as a blunt tool to contrast the innocence of the protagonist. This is a weak excuse for real human tension. The special effects are good, but there is little human triumph to speak of. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
StevenC.Feb 19, 2007
I am saddened to see some people overlook every aspect of such a great movie, and instead focus solely on the violence or the lack of a deep, thought provoking, life changing plot. Pan's Labyrinth may not be the most family-oriented I am saddened to see some people overlook every aspect of such a great movie, and instead focus solely on the violence or the lack of a deep, thought provoking, life changing plot. Pan's Labyrinth may not be the most family-oriented film of the season, but it does what so many movies have forgotten to do: tell a story. The movie tells a fairytale the way they used to be, before Disneyland and overly-concerned parents. The movie is hardly violent on an unnecessary scale (Saw or Hostel), but instead focuses on the harsh realities of a world where good people do not always live. Ofelia's story is insperational and heart-warming; a young girl who is compassionate about good, wishes to vanquish evil and most importantly, seeks to find meaning in her world, her life. As I mentioned before, this film does not open your eyes to some new dimension; it simply tells a classic fairytale, without the make-up and glitter that hides reality in so much of our daily lives. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisD.Feb 2, 2007
One of the best movies of the year. I'm amazed that some people rated this movie below an 8, even as low as a 0 in some cases. These people need their heads examined. I guess it hurts some people to have to actually use their brain to One of the best movies of the year. I'm amazed that some people rated this movie below an 8, even as low as a 0 in some cases. These people need their heads examined. I guess it hurts some people to have to actually use their brain to follow a story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyF.Feb 22, 2007
This movie is beyond perfection. I am so disappointed to see how many people overlook each detail. They say there's too much violence, and it's dark, and it's too depressing. And they're all wrong. I mean, yes it is a This movie is beyond perfection. I am so disappointed to see how many people overlook each detail. They say there's too much violence, and it's dark, and it's too depressing. And they're all wrong. I mean, yes it is a dark and depressing movie, but it's supposed to be. And it's not THAT depressing. Not so much that you can't watch it. And the violence is not tasteless or useless. i think it's right. Guillermo Del Toro always has a lot of gore. Now, with that said... The movie's brilliance is almost indescribable. Ivana Baquero is an amazing aspiring young actress. And Sergi Lopez is amazing in his role as the heartless villain. All the acting is incredible. The visuals are as astounding as the hype makes them out to be. The music is breathtakingly beautiful. The whole thing is just a beyond perfect piece of work. This is not a work of cinematic stupidity. It's cinematic genius. 10/10, no doubt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JonC.Feb 26, 2007
Truly a gothic fairy-tale, with a good script, wonderful cinematography, and awesome visual effects. The story is sad, but captivating. But luckily it does have its gorey scenes! Not a good film for a date. Not a good film to watch with a Truly a gothic fairy-tale, with a good script, wonderful cinematography, and awesome visual effects. The story is sad, but captivating. But luckily it does have its gorey scenes! Not a good film for a date. Not a good film to watch with a group of guys. Not a good movie for small children. Perfect family film, to watch together. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KevinFeb 20, 2007
Disappointing - a missed opportunity. Graphic violence used to compensate for a lack of cinematic skill.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BillyB.T.Feb 3, 2007
A great film that I can easily recommend to anyone despite the very gruesome torture/murder scenes. I don't want to ruin the plot but if you are looking for an easy thematic reference look to Milton's "Marriage of Heaven and Hell". A great film that I can easily recommend to anyone despite the very gruesome torture/murder scenes. I don't want to ruin the plot but if you are looking for an easy thematic reference look to Milton's "Marriage of Heaven and Hell". Ophelia makes for the best Satan ever committed to film. The other prevalent theme, outside of the main theme rebellion vs order, is a slightly more obtuse one of how we must fight to help shape the paths of our children and their collective futures. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IRomFeb 3, 2007
This was the most horrible and horrific movie I've ever seen. It is NOT brilliant....it is insulting to women, children and mankind. The man that made this movie is a SICK FUCK!!!! It has nothing to do with fantasy.....it is all aboutThis was the most horrible and horrific movie I've ever seen. It is NOT brilliant....it is insulting to women, children and mankind. The man that made this movie is a SICK FUCK!!!! It has nothing to do with fantasy.....it is all about DEATH......death is a much more beautiful thing that this asshole has conveyed. He needs to check his fucken brain. How dare you kill children and women in your movie the way you have!!!!!! Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful
10
mulderdogFeb 4, 2007
Maybe 98 is a little high, but I enjoyed this movie more than any other in recent memory. A solid 95 for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
marksfreecomixcartoonistFeb 4, 2007
Beautiful and gut-wrenching, fantastic and sad, people openly wept all around me. I am strongly tempted to give it a 10 'cause it really succeeds in all it attempts to do. Acting, story everything worked. Del Toro is a poet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CatherineC.Feb 4, 2007
Captivating, haunting, visceral and heartbreakingly sad, at times, this movie enobles the viewer in a way that few others have.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrettRFeb 4, 2007
Celeste R. is clearly not well cultured. This film is a depiction of the post-civil war era of Spain as seen through the escapism of a little girl. Children often conceive adults by one-dimensional characteristics, and they are beautifully Celeste R. is clearly not well cultured. This film is a depiction of the post-civil war era of Spain as seen through the escapism of a little girl. Children often conceive adults by one-dimensional characteristics, and they are beautifully captured. However, there is no one-dimension to this story. From the religious references to the forbidden fruit tempting the woman via the grapes to the obvious Goya reference of Saturno comiendo su hijo with the Pale Man eating the fairies, there are distinct influences in this movie which embody 40's Spanish sentiment. Patriarchy and Fascism are oft depicted through violence but never with such force and clarity. There's also nothing ditzy about a mother trying to save her daughter from the slums of 1940's Barcelona. Don't critize a film if you didn't understand it. Perfecto. Celeste, read some Borges while you're at it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EricW.Feb 4, 2007
I also feel compelled to write a review questioning the almost universal critical acclaim for this movie. It has interesting visuals and was beautifully filmed. But ALL of the characters were one-dimensional. A movie with caricatures rather I also feel compelled to write a review questioning the almost universal critical acclaim for this movie. It has interesting visuals and was beautifully filmed. But ALL of the characters were one-dimensional. A movie with caricatures rather than characters must, by definition, fall well short of greatness, no matter how visually creative. While intertwining the girl's fantasy world with her violent reality could have been groundbreaking, Del Toro merely allows the two story lines to co-exist. Neither informs the other. At best, her fantasy world is an escape (nothing in it reacts to or in any way tries to deal with or make sense of her reality), but as pure escapist fantasies go, it is quite dull and, in the end, nothing more than a plot device. *** Warning: Spoilers *** Why did she eat the grapes other than in every fairy tale, the child must break a rule? That, and they needed to have a reason for the big pale droopy skinned child eater to come after her for a few seconds of cheap horror movie anxiety. Why did the Captain, who is so calculating, so ordered, kill the doctor in a fit, yet coolly set up Mercedes to catch her escaping? Why? The final scene would not have made sense if the doctor had lived and managed to save the mother. The doctor had to die so that a medic would deliver the baby and lose the mother. Why didn't Mercedes kill the Captain? It makes no sense other than she might have escaped, foregoing the dramatic rescue scene where she nearly slits her throat, that then sets events in motion for the final scene. Ultimately, neither the reality nor the fantasy can stand on its own, and, while engrossing visually, the two parts do not make a satisfying whole. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful
4
JackH.Feb 5, 2007
While tastefully ambiguous at times, this film is too mean-spirited and gruesome for children, too simplistic and derivative for adults. Disappointing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
B.K.Feb 6, 2007
This movie is a work of art. It deserves the 98/100 it got. The story is wonderfully woven between our world and a fantasy world either created or lived by a young girl. The visuals are fantastic. Sure, it is violent, but it works with the This movie is a work of art. It deserves the 98/100 it got. The story is wonderfully woven between our world and a fantasy world either created or lived by a young girl. The visuals are fantastic. Sure, it is violent, but it works with the movie. Some people are dissapointed because it's not what they expected, but that doesn't make it a bad movie, it's still the same great movie if you knew what it was before you saw it or not. Another thing is don't follow the low user reviews, because there are people who are rating too low just to lower the score, which just chances people from going to see the best film of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
W.R.Feb 6, 2007
If you like your movies twisted, depressing, gruesome and full of gratuitous violence then you'll love this but you'd have to be pretty desensitised. If, like me, you like movies that don't give you nightmares afterwards, If you like your movies twisted, depressing, gruesome and full of gratuitous violence then you'll love this but you'd have to be pretty desensitised. If, like me, you like movies that don't give you nightmares afterwards, steer clear. And yes I'm slightly worried about film critics that recommend movies like this for *children*. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EvanC.Feb 7, 2007
I saw the trailer twice and both times thought to myself this is one to miss. However, because of the uniformly great reviews, I decided to go see it, and I'm glad I did. It is one of the best movies I have seen in years, and keeps I saw the trailer twice and both times thought to myself this is one to miss. However, because of the uniformly great reviews, I decided to go see it, and I'm glad I did. It is one of the best movies I have seen in years, and keeps haunting me. The trailer does the movie injustice. See it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RonGephartFeb 8, 2007
This highly overrated film fails at almost every level. As fantasy it is not for kids, nor adults. The violence and brutaility is sadistic. The characters are unexplored and unexplained. In fact, you watch most of the movie not knowingThis highly overrated film fails at almost every level. As fantasy it is not for kids, nor adults. The violence and brutaility is sadistic. The characters are unexplored and unexplained. In fact, you watch most of the movie not knowing who anyone is, and you don't really care. The special effects/makeup of the fantasy characters are amateurish at best--they look like they were made out of paper mache during your 8th grade Intro to Art Class. Very little of the plot is revealed, and you don't really know the difference between reality and fantasy in this film. If the fantasy in the film is used as an allegory for escaping the brutality of fascism, then it would be nice if it appeared somewhere in the script. I find it unimaginable that this is the highest rated movie of the year. I walked out of the theater thinking it was an utter mess, and absolute piece of crap. Don't waste your money. Don't even see it when it comes on DVD. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
9
TimB.Feb 9, 2007
Excellent movie, very beautiful and surprisingly deep.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BJonesFeb 9, 2007
Absolutely one of the greatest movies ever created. It is so engrossing, that I couldn't even explain what it was about after until I had a half an hour to get my thoughts together and attempt to do it justice. Astonishing would be an Absolutely one of the greatest movies ever created. It is so engrossing, that I couldn't even explain what it was about after until I had a half an hour to get my thoughts together and attempt to do it justice. Astonishing would be an understatement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NancyHFeb 9, 2007
Wow--it's one of the best films all year--no kidding. This is heart breaking and brilliant. Acting is fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AnonymousMCMar 10, 2007
Some nice visuals, but the film sorely disappoints. I think this director's technical skills matched with a good script could be magnificent, but this is the perhaps the most overrated film I've had the misforute of seeing. I trulySome nice visuals, but the film sorely disappoints. I think this director's technical skills matched with a good script could be magnificent, but this is the perhaps the most overrated film I've had the misforute of seeing. I truly feel duped. I am so glad the German film won the oscar. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JIMD.Mar 11, 2007
This movie blew me away ! Depth, imagitation glimpse into the madness of all it's characters.... Excellent entertainement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SeanB.Mar 14, 2007
As someone who lives in Spain and loves history, I was looking forward to this film, especially after the critical acclaim. Sadly it was disappointing. Stereotypycal characters, sadistic fachas and good commies, sentimental, whimsical, As someone who lives in Spain and loves history, I was looking forward to this film, especially after the critical acclaim. Sadly it was disappointing. Stereotypycal characters, sadistic fachas and good commies, sentimental, whimsical, predictable and with disturbing pedophiliac overtones. Typical modern lefty propaganda. It illuminated nothing about its historical period, childhood or Spanish culture. Just prettily filmed fluff masquerading as art. No wonder the critics loved it. If you want to see a truly great Spanish language movie try Amores Peros, it's in a whole different league. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChristianB.Mar 10, 2007
This movie is simply superb, the story is touching and moving - as a matter of fact, the whole theatre was captured in silence at the end. The actors do a tremendous job. The only criticism one might include is that some parts of the plot This movie is simply superb, the story is touching and moving - as a matter of fact, the whole theatre was captured in silence at the end. The actors do a tremendous job. The only criticism one might include is that some parts of the plot are somewhat predictable - but since Pan's Labyrinth is an adult (I mean adult! This movie has mature content) fairy tale, that's not too much of a point Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DaveD.Mar 10, 2007
I appreciate Del Toro's indictment of 20th century Europe. Ultimately, though, this film's rather unsubtle, unimaginative message: guerillas good, fascists bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
2RoadsMar 20, 2007
This is a stroke of brilliance by Guillermo del Toro-- the brilliance comes into play with how he has intricately woven the Parallel Journeys of the unconscious and conscious mind. It is a parable of moral choices versus blind obedience This is a stroke of brilliance by Guillermo del Toro-- the brilliance comes into play with how he has intricately woven the Parallel Journeys of the unconscious and conscious mind. It is a parable of moral choices versus blind obedience juxtaposed with the symbols of mythology and religion without getting lost in specific perceptions. The parable is told from the POV of fantasy being the reality. It is the test of what one believes even though it cannot be seen Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
T.userMar 28, 2007
This film was a work of art a brilliant story that takes you into a world of fantasy. I had no expectations going into the movie as I didnt know what the movie was about. I was positivley surprised at how mindblowing this movie was I could This film was a work of art a brilliant story that takes you into a world of fantasy. I had no expectations going into the movie as I didnt know what the movie was about. I was positivley surprised at how mindblowing this movie was I could not leave my seat for fear of missing anything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinC.Mar 29, 2007
A fantastic movie, easily one of my favorites. Visually stunning, I found that the violence perfectly underscored the horrors of war, especially those horrors having been seen through the eyes of a 10-year-old girl. Some may say that theA fantastic movie, easily one of my favorites. Visually stunning, I found that the violence perfectly underscored the horrors of war, especially those horrors having been seen through the eyes of a 10-year-old girl. Some may say that the characters were underdeveloped, with Mercedes adopting the "Good Guy" and the Captain being the classic villian archtype, but one must remember that this is a story seen through the eyes of a young girl. All adults, to children, are either good, or bad. And to the people griping about the film being unsuitable for children, well, it's rated R for a reason. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful
1
PreefeldMar 3, 2007
The story is way too simple and "black and white" to make this movie interesting in any way. Acting is also poor. Oh, and really annoying sound design.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NenadJ.Mar 4, 2007
Mix of fairy tale and cruel war film, incredible feeling during watching, must watch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JosephP.Mar 9, 2007
It was good, but 98 out of 100 good? No way. The reviews gave out a lot of false expectations. Yeah, the movie was good, but saying that it's better than so many other war movies (Saving Pvt. Ryan) is a joke. This is nothing but a It was good, but 98 out of 100 good? No way. The reviews gave out a lot of false expectations. Yeah, the movie was good, but saying that it's better than so many other war movies (Saving Pvt. Ryan) is a joke. This is nothing but a highly overrated foreign film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiianaBighamApr 14, 2007
a new classic which I will want to have in my DVD library. multilayered and dazzling -- appealing to the mind and the soul -- archetypes of fairy tales and quests about life's journey and choices every step of the way, during Childhood a new classic which I will want to have in my DVD library. multilayered and dazzling -- appealing to the mind and the soul -- archetypes of fairy tales and quests about life's journey and choices every step of the way, during Childhood and Adulthood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SenBApr 27, 2007
The film had visuals that complemented the film instead of being the centerpiece, which is a really good thing considering that fantasy films nowadays are bombarded with CGI. the reality and the fantastical aspects were handled nicely and The film had visuals that complemented the film instead of being the centerpiece, which is a really good thing considering that fantasy films nowadays are bombarded with CGI. the reality and the fantastical aspects were handled nicely and gelled well near the ending. but this is not for the faint of heart. my body became mush after a scene with the captain and the maid in the storeroom where the rations were held. *shivers* Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RonS.Apr 6, 2007
A transcendent movie experience. Perhaps not as perfect as a '10' implies but it deserves the highest rank if only to distinguish it from movies, however worthy, that are merely entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Apr 8, 2007
This film is nothing short of a masterpiece and a must see. While it isn't quite the fairy tale that you are lead to believe, it is fantastic film with deep resounding themes if you look for them. The plot is still immensely interesting This film is nothing short of a masterpiece and a must see. While it isn't quite the fairy tale that you are lead to believe, it is fantastic film with deep resounding themes if you look for them. The plot is still immensely interesting and keeps the viewer's attention even if a good three-fourths takes place outside the fantasy world. It also has some of the most brilliant cinematography and rich art direction of any film ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewY.Apr 8, 2007
I'm not going to lie, this is quite argueably the best movie i have ever seen. ever. It has an amazing amount of depth to it, like a classic novel (possibly even more). If you give the movie some thought after viewing it, you'll I'm not going to lie, this is quite argueably the best movie i have ever seen. ever. It has an amazing amount of depth to it, like a classic novel (possibly even more). If you give the movie some thought after viewing it, you'll understand what I'm talking about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CalvinJ.May 14, 2007
Pan's Labyrinth is a dark and well crafted movie which deserved the Academy Award. Pan's Labyrinth is unique and is hands down interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanS.May 16, 2007
Powerful and always engrossing, this tale is not too sad nor bloody for most adutls and young people to see. The acting and cinematography are simply terrific. I hope that theatre managers keep this on the screen long enough for the Powerful and always engrossing, this tale is not too sad nor bloody for most adutls and young people to see. The acting and cinematography are simply terrific. I hope that theatre managers keep this on the screen long enough for the favorable word of mouth to get around. I plan to see it again on DVD sometime. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantV.May 16, 2007
Great movie and a note to Alex H. Pan was the fawn not the girl. If you didn't know that much, no wonder you only gave the movie a 5.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JackMay 17, 2007
Pretentious crap. That's all it takes these days to impress you morons isn't it - oh look it's a magical forest with Satan underneath it and there's oh look there's fascism in it which is a reminder to us all toPretentious crap. That's all it takes these days to impress you morons isn't it - oh look it's a magical forest with Satan underneath it and there's oh look there's fascism in it which is a reminder to us all to SUPPORT THE WAR ON TERROR right! Right!! Goddamn sheep. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
FredB.May 18, 2007
I thought the movie was talked about way to much. I wasn't even that good. I wouldn't ask anybody to watch this because its to dark for kids and its to dull for adults.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
FrattyB.nMay 20, 2007
The sheer beauty of this film is shown through so many different aspects of the film. First of all this film was del Toto's baby which he finely crafted down to every detail. When so much heart goes into a film it shows on screen. The The sheer beauty of this film is shown through so many different aspects of the film. First of all this film was del Toto's baby which he finely crafted down to every detail. When so much heart goes into a film it shows on screen. The acting is incredible and Ivana Baquero (Ofelia) is going to be a star. The reason I believe this is one of the greatest films of all time is because of the simple fact that it was original. Yes, del Toro put many parallels of Alice in Wonderland and countless fairy tails, and Narnia into the movie, but he isn't copying these stories, he is taking some of their ideas and creatures and applying them to his original story. When you watch the movie you can feel the heart and soul of everyone involved projecting from the screen. This is what is wrong with today's films, there is no heart. All we see today are blockbusters and sequels. But this movie is different. Most movies like blockbusters blatently tell you what to think and what you should feel coming out of the movie. But Pan's Labyrinth leaves so many decisions up to the viewer to interpret that it makes you feel like the adult who dismisses the magic of fairy tales or feel like you do in fact believe that what Ofelia saw was real. And on one last note about the ending. I believe when she gets to the kingdom it is in fact heaven and it may be insinuating that everyone has their own version of heaven, and that was hers because of what she believed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattMay 20, 2007
Everyone who has been criticizing this movie, with the interesting exception of K Henderson, is simply too stupid to understand it. Go see Spiderman. Henderson brings up interesting points, notably the plot holes (what motivated the General Everyone who has been criticizing this movie, with the interesting exception of K Henderson, is simply too stupid to understand it. Go see Spiderman. Henderson brings up interesting points, notably the plot holes (what motivated the General to kill the little girl? That should have been developed a little more. I'd be interested to see what other holes you found.) Also, it's hard because the main character is an 11 year old girl who did phenominally, but still just can't be expected to develop the on screen complexity of an adult. I'll address a few people's stupid issues at this time: 1. PnArdy--art is not supposed to be entertaining. It's supposed to be beautiful. You're obviously not Spanish, so the facists mean nothing to you, but it dominates the psyches of most Spaniards born before 1975 (including my current teacher.) It is one of the most profound horrors in human history, even if it is almost entirely overlooked by Americans. 2. P E--the ending is not a cop out. It shows that peace and the ability to resist facism, as represented by the girl who disobeyed her facist leader, is only a fantasy. The reality is all those rebels are going to die within 24 hours. It's actually one of the most profound endings I've ever seen. 3. E R--the characters are not one dimensional entirely. Why does Mercedes continue to serve the captain instead of fighting with her brother? Why does the mother allow the captain to dominate her and why does she crush her girl's fantasies? Why does the girl decide to eat the grapes? One dimensional characters would not do such things. Admittedly, there is little moral gray area within the characters (except the mother, who is not evil but is considered worthy of death, apparently, for her passivity, which is one of the strongest and most powerful messages of the entire movie.) However, the movie is an allegory. Allegories are not meant to have much gray area. Also, the fact that the fantasy world was unpleasant until the end is the point of the allegory (fantasy=facism except in the fantasy land, when the girl disobeys she is exalted and lives while in real life she dies.) It is actually one of the most difficult films to interpret I've ever seen. I've had to think about it for half an hour and write about it. 4. Doug R--go see Spiderman. Not going to go on. Basically, one must know a lot about the Spanish Civil War to appreciate this movie, and one must be willing to understand the allegory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillB.May 27, 2007
A wonderful film like this should be bestowed on the public more often. The riveting details and incredible special effects really pulled this movie together and made you go back to your childhood days and think about how fairy tales were A wonderful film like this should be bestowed on the public more often. The riveting details and incredible special effects really pulled this movie together and made you go back to your childhood days and think about how fairy tales were supposed to be told. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ER.May 3, 2007
Dross. Riddled with clichés and inexplicable plot holes, not to mention one-dimensional characters. The fantasy sequences were derivative and underplayed, as if the makers were embarrassed to be delving into the genre, and the aspects Dross. Riddled with clichés and inexplicable plot holes, not to mention one-dimensional characters. The fantasy sequences were derivative and underplayed, as if the makers were embarrassed to be delving into the genre, and the aspects concentrating on the human characters were nothing that hasn't been seen a hundred times before. The direction and editing were particularly poor: scenes and characters just walked onto the screen with no element of suspense, and were all too frequently tediously predictable. The attempt to mix fairytale fantasy and war film was a real disaster, too; the whole thing seemed very mean-spirited, with even the child's fantasy world being a pretty unpleasant, miserable place, and the overall impression was of a failed attempt to tack an aborted kiddie film onto a mediocre war drama. Most hateful of all was the way the ending was so neat, with the rebels winning and the little girl escaping to her fantasy world to be a princess. Listen up, people: the bad guy DIDN'T die at the end of the Spanish Civil War, he WON it. Watch a film that doesn't try to hide this; watch something which doesn't try to impose a limp, cop-out ending onto it. If you're an adult, you shouldn't watch Pan's Labyrinth, because of its oversimplified, obvious nature; if you're a child, you shouldn't watch it because of its jarring violence. Just because a film tries to tackle "issues" doesn't mean it succeeds. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AlexH.May 6, 2007
Although I can definitely see why the critics gave it the rating they did, I just can't get around the fact that I hated this movie. Yes I understand that the director was trying to make a point fascism during WWII by focusing on how Although I can definitely see why the critics gave it the rating they did, I just can't get around the fact that I hated this movie. Yes I understand that the director was trying to make a point fascism during WWII by focusing on how pan doesn't pay attention to direct orders whether they come from a fascist leader or from an obsurd monster man whose face looks like the mask from the Saw series (really i couldn't get over that . . . ). What really got me, however, was that people seemed to think that it was a valid metaphor/analogy. I can see how watching a little girl defy a fascist government could be important, but, in all seriousness a government is nothing like a magic Saw-esque thing. When a mythical creature asks you to do something you listen. The whole movie all i could think about was how stupid Pan was and then it worked out perfectly for her and that just ruined my evening. Stupidity should be painful. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
RobE.May 7, 2007
I don't understand the people bashing this film. It's not a fantasy film, not does it have any intention on being one. The fantasy elements are the girl's way of escaping an otherwise terrible life. As for a cop-out ending, I don't understand the people bashing this film. It's not a fantasy film, not does it have any intention on being one. The fantasy elements are the girl's way of escaping an otherwise terrible life. As for a cop-out ending, how can you say that everyone winds up happy. There's no celebration with the rebel victory, as they know a looming threat still exists in franco and the fascists. As for the girl, she's dead, the only reason she's happy in the fantasty is because she'd rather die then live in her reality. To say the movie is a cliche of oversimplified elements is just to go against the grain and refuse to admit to the film's popular reception. It's a fantastic film and a entertaining, moving experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanB.May 7, 2007
This was an amazing film - fantasy, but not for children (seriously, not suitable for children) - for adults. It was beautiful, frightening, and utterly captivating. The musical score is still with me, many weeks after seeing the film. This was an amazing film - fantasy, but not for children (seriously, not suitable for children) - for adults. It was beautiful, frightening, and utterly captivating. The musical score is still with me, many weeks after seeing the film. It's not a children's movie, it's not a wizards and warlocks movie, it's not a drama - it's unlike anything you've ever seen or heard. If you hve an open mind and the IQ to handle it, it could be one of the best movies you've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricS.May 9, 2007
Incredible movie. Those who don't understand how the two plots are interrelated are simply taking everything that happened in the movie at face value. In actuality-- whether the events that led her to her ultimate destiny even happened Incredible movie. Those who don't understand how the two plots are interrelated are simply taking everything that happened in the movie at face value. In actuality-- whether the events that led her to her ultimate destiny even happened are debatable. This is about a little girl who is trying to cope with the very violent world we live in any way she can-- mostly by using her imagination. For those of you trying to apply historical theory: this is not a documentary-- it is a fictional narrative that comes from the imagination of one person and should be viewed as just that: FICTION. Personally, talking fauns and magical doors dissuade me from trying to apply any sort of realist theory... but there are always those who will try to find the worst in everything. I personally respect anyone's opinion that this is a bad film -- I just strongly disagree. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RaptormanS.Jun 11, 2007
This had to be one of the most boring, lifeless and surprisingly graphic fairie tale wanna-be movies I have ever seen. I have no idea why the critics loved it so much. I hated it and nearly turned it off after the first 30 minutes. We rented This had to be one of the most boring, lifeless and surprisingly graphic fairie tale wanna-be movies I have ever seen. I have no idea why the critics loved it so much. I hated it and nearly turned it off after the first 30 minutes. We rented Apocalypto the same night expecting it to be exceedingly gory... which it was...., but wasn't expecting the exceptionally graphic violence in Pan. Apocalpto worked... pan didn't. There were a variety of other things that somewhat disturbed me as well including some casually concealed political undertones and not so casually concealed allusions to hell/satan/evil etc. (and no I'm not a holy roller in the least! :) ) Definitely not a kids movie. Not much of one for adults either. 2 for the graphics and acting on "Faun", otherwise 0. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
K.Jun 10, 2007
My favorite movie by far. It was easy and fun to sit through and I'm looking forward to watching it again. The costumes and places were amazingly designed, the acting was marvelous and the ending left me speechless. Only if you watch My favorite movie by far. It was easy and fun to sit through and I'm looking forward to watching it again. The costumes and places were amazingly designed, the acting was marvelous and the ending left me speechless. Only if you watch the movie with a closed-mind will you hate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonasH.Jun 15, 2007
Great movie, expressing in a new manner the horrors of the Franco regime, and finally with proper effects, in opposition to earlier tries to do the same. It's not a family movie though, and can be somewhat depressing, if you don't Great movie, expressing in a new manner the horrors of the Franco regime, and finally with proper effects, in opposition to earlier tries to do the same. It's not a family movie though, and can be somewhat depressing, if you don't like analyzing that is, which is probably why many fantasy fans gave it bad grades. A perfect mix in my point of view. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PessieJ.Jun 19, 2007
A terribly over-hyped steaming heap of cartoonish values. A propaganda wolf in young adult's movie clothing. The values of this director seem as fascist as it's central bad character. There is no need for quotes around "bad"!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MattGJun 21, 2007
An absolute triumph! This movie beautifully depicts the creative imagination of a young girl hostile to an environment that is at once cruel and suppressive. I do not understand the bad reviews. This movie left me shaken and moved to the An absolute triumph! This movie beautifully depicts the creative imagination of a young girl hostile to an environment that is at once cruel and suppressive. I do not understand the bad reviews. This movie left me shaken and moved to the core. I am definitely with the critics on this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanF.Jun 2, 2007
This movie is one of the most beautiful, poetic and brilliant movies I have ever seen. The storyline flows so well...it is an incredible work of art and imagination. I loved it so much it brought a tear to my eye at the end.....especially This movie is one of the most beautiful, poetic and brilliant movies I have ever seen. The storyline flows so well...it is an incredible work of art and imagination. I loved it so much it brought a tear to my eye at the end.....especially the second time around....I think this movie is definitely something where you just can say "Awesome!" , it's fascination and amazement will leave deep thinkers in awe at the end........almost as if for that last moment of the movie.....you look at life in a whole different way. Pan's Labyrinth=masterpeice 10++ no doubt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MikeJun 3, 2007
Hate it the first time I seen it. Seen it again on DVD and I still felt the same way. This is one movie that is way over hyped, it only recieved a high score as it did, because its a foreign film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JimSJun 5, 2007
This is a very good movie, but not great. I don't understand the extremely high reviews, but I did really enjoy it. At least the "professional" reviewers are giving a good movie great reviews instead of giving great reviews to a crappy This is a very good movie, but not great. I don't understand the extremely high reviews, but I did really enjoy it. At least the "professional" reviewers are giving a good movie great reviews instead of giving great reviews to a crappy movie like "Lost in Translation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmberCameronJul 1, 2007
Set in the midst of the Spanish Civil War, the story of young Ofelia and her quest to return to her other worldly kingdom, is a masterpiece that deserves only the utmost honor and respect. It takes us to a time when the world was in tragedy,Set in the midst of the Spanish Civil War, the story of young Ofelia and her quest to return to her other worldly kingdom, is a masterpiece that deserves only the utmost honor and respect. It takes us to a time when the world was in tragedy, and the only way to survive was to shut your mouth and do some of the most atrocious things. To live with a fascist stepfather, and a mother who is carrying his child, and seemingly only in it for security, Ofelia is trapped in a wasteland. The pain inflicted on her mother Carmen, physically by her unborn child, can also be construed as a representation of the pain she may feel emotionally about marrying a fascist murderer, who only cares about the child she bears, and has no good sentiments towards her daughter. Ofelia, alone and afraid in a troubling time, has been so desensitized by the war, that she begins to repress her feelings, and create a world entirely her own, where she is a princess. One would also be blind however, not to notice that the fantasy world is as dark as reality. It is a mirror image of the real world, the only difference being that Ofelia could give herself hope. She was put through trials, including facing a child eating monster (who could easily be construed as her step father) and had to watch as her hopes started to die. We often see how reality coincides with Ofelia Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickH.Jul 12, 2007
Brilliant movie. Fantastic imagery, and quite moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DannyB.Jul 1, 2007
Please....this movie is hopelessly overrated. Look hard enough and you will find what you want no matter what happens on the screen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
KyriakosV.Jul 10, 2007
A boring mix of Harry Potter-Narnia and Corelli's Mandolin movies.I wonder why is so high to your ratings.If something had to win an Oscar was the trailer of the movie. Sorry but i didn't enjoy it and i was wishing to end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickLJul 3, 2007
Visually stunning and provocative, this movie effectively brings together both the elements of childhood fantasy and adult reality. A breathtaking movie that magnificently portrays the innocence of the young, and the feeling of safety and Visually stunning and provocative, this movie effectively brings together both the elements of childhood fantasy and adult reality. A breathtaking movie that magnificently portrays the innocence of the young, and the feeling of safety and seclusion that one obtains from the so called "fantasy world". Easily the best film I have ever seen, this movie is full of parallels and truly and deeply expresses the caring and compassion that one aspires to have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
IsaacCJul 4, 2007
A film that has the ideas and the story to be a classic for the older children fantasy picture bracket but misses its own point and descends into unnecessary violence to cover its lack of script, plot and any kind of satisfactory ending. Yes A film that has the ideas and the story to be a classic for the older children fantasy picture bracket but misses its own point and descends into unnecessary violence to cover its lack of script, plot and any kind of satisfactory ending. Yes the world Ofelia lives in is bleak and the Spanish Civil war was violent but the stark good bad divide depicted feels forced and unnatural. Captain Vidal Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NontayaK.Jul 6, 2007
Taken place in the mid of political war blending with a little girl's imagination. Telling a tragedy story with full of excites and emotions. The end is heartrending but happy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WalterR.Jul 6, 2007
Masterpiece...pure and simple. For the simple-minded, a confusing tale, but for those who understand that story-telling at this level happens once or twice per decade, this is simply genius. You will be haunted by it, moved by it, and Masterpiece...pure and simple. For the simple-minded, a confusing tale, but for those who understand that story-telling at this level happens once or twice per decade, this is simply genius. You will be haunted by it, moved by it, and overwhelmed by it's brilliance and power. See it...I beg you! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nasrim.Jul 7, 2007
Perfect, amazing soundtrack, photography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DennisD.Jul 7, 2007
A moving, many layered masterpiece. Far more than fantasy, this film compares with the Ring trilogy for symbolic meaning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveFJul 8, 2007
Powerfully good movie. There's a lot more going on than meets the eye, but what meets the eye is so compelling you'll have to pick yourself up after it's over to even begin thinking about the multiple levels at work. People Powerfully good movie. There's a lot more going on than meets the eye, but what meets the eye is so compelling you'll have to pick yourself up after it's over to even begin thinking about the multiple levels at work. People will red-score anything, even modern masterpieces. Avoid it at your peril. Also, a word to the horror-averse: you have nothing to worry about. There's a little blood but it's not a shock or scare film in the least. Remember the Dark Crystal? It's like that--fantasy in its darkest color. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MickeyM.Aug 24, 2007
An excellent movie, but I am writing this as a response to many of the uninformed opinions here. This is NOT a movie about the Spanish Civil War, which had been over for 5 years by 1944 (when this takes place). It is not an advertisement forAn excellent movie, but I am writing this as a response to many of the uninformed opinions here. This is NOT a movie about the Spanish Civil War, which had been over for 5 years by 1944 (when this takes place). It is not an advertisement for Communism (which was never the uniting force among the Republicans) vs. Fascism. There is no real political message--it's simply set (realistically) in a time when the victors of a terrible civil war were still violently suppressing guerrillas from the losing side (btw this continued into the 1950s and estimates are that as many as 200K people were killed). Read a book, and learn some history. Orwell's Homage to Catalonia is a good start, although it takes place well before these (fictional) events. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregRRAug 20, 2007
Beautiful. Haunting. Ending featured an astounding juxtaposition of heartbreak and joy. Took my breath away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeM.Sep 30, 2007
Masterpiece. The low ratings for this movie are laughable. Sure I can see an 8, even a 7 but below that and you're dealing with an 8 year old who wanted more transformers. It's a story of fascism and brutality, hope and love. It Masterpiece. The low ratings for this movie are laughable. Sure I can see an 8, even a 7 but below that and you're dealing with an 8 year old who wanted more transformers. It's a story of fascism and brutality, hope and love. It helps if you know a little about post civil war Spain but petty dictatorships are common enough that most people shouldn't have too much trouble understanding the setup. Simply amazing is all I can say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrentA.Sep 5, 2007
One of the greatest movies I have ever seen. If you've been putting off seeing this movie, stop. It's well worth the money. Don't worry about having to know Spanish. After a while, you forget that they're speaking One of the greatest movies I have ever seen. If you've been putting off seeing this movie, stop. It's well worth the money. Don't worry about having to know Spanish. After a while, you forget that they're speaking Spanish. Overall, the movie itself consists of two different stories, that intertwine at the right moments. And PLEASE, people, before rating this movie, SEE IT! A majority of bad ratings nowadays come from people who haven't seen the movie yet. Don't be ignorant like that. Anyway, see this movie, love it, rate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HannesW.Oct 11, 2008
The best film I have ever seen. It was a perfect story between fantasy and reality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CalebH.Nov 21, 2008
Um, vague much? Art direction and make up was fantastic, but everything else was a mess! Don't get me wrong, it was a good movie. It's just not the Oscar winning, best picture of the year material. Too much pointless violence, not Um, vague much? Art direction and make up was fantastic, but everything else was a mess! Don't get me wrong, it was a good movie. It's just not the Oscar winning, best picture of the year material. Too much pointless violence, not enough fantasy and not enough distinction between the two. The ending was the best part. The movie drags on in some places and should have been 30 mintues shorter. Good movie, not great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
IanReyP.Oct 13, 2008
My expectation was that this movie is a great fantasy movie. But through the course of the film, I felt the war concept of the film more. And the war part was I could only say, finely done. And I still enjoyed it.I have seen anything like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlosRDec 30, 2008
If you can't understand the movie, shut your traphole. This movie was awesome and illustrated two separate worlds: that of war and that of innocence and fantasy. Amazing across the board, regardless of what lesser-able individuals say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ErikFeb 10, 2008
Not a gilded treasure from the vaults of xerxes, like teh critics think.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AnonymousMCFeb 10, 2008
I thought this was unmitigated rubbish. It didn't say anything meaningful that I could discern. The 'real world' was just violence, violence, violence, with absolutely no exploration of the real and important politics behindI thought this was unmitigated rubbish. It didn't say anything meaningful that I could discern. The 'real world' was just violence, violence, violence, with absolutely no exploration of the real and important politics behind what was happening. The fantasy world was silly, incoherent and without any sense of real magic. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ManuelB.Feb 5, 2008
I can say lots of great things on this movie, but I will only say It honestly made me cry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanB.Feb 5, 2008
This movie is awesome. Never have I seen such different concepts of movies blended into one so well. War, Fantasy, and Horror. A true emotional roller coaster.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanMayerMar 4, 2008
This is one incredible film, from start to finish. Hands down, one of the greatest films I have ever seen.

To the reviewers that gave it poor reviews: I agree that the marketing was completely misleading, it was not what I was expecting.
This is one incredible film, from start to finish. Hands down, one of the greatest films I have ever seen.

To the reviewers that gave it poor reviews: I agree that the marketing was completely misleading, it was not what I was expecting. But to comment that there was "no exploration of the real and important politics behind what was happening" is missing the entire point of the film. The film is about a young girl coping with the horrors of war and fascism, not about the events actually going on.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PaulW.Mar 5, 2008
I'm not much of a wardrama movie fan, but sometimes a genre film can raise itself through a good or original storyline and or sub story. Labirinto doesn't at all. It offers nothing more than a meandering tale about the evil of men, I'm not much of a wardrama movie fan, but sometimes a genre film can raise itself through a good or original storyline and or sub story. Labirinto doesn't at all. It offers nothing more than a meandering tale about the evil of men, which's message is brought far too directly to make any impact. People that taut this movie as a fairytale should consider watching the movie again with a timer. Perhaps only 7% of this movie deals with what can vaguely be described as a fairytale, although I would rather like to call it fable-imagery. We didn't call Kill Bill a Manga movie either just because it had some Manga scenes in it, now did we. Although it was beautifully shot and contained good acting, this movie was bland and over the top at the same time. At no point are you required to think because the movie exposes everything it touches upon. It was just that year's cinematic darling and the audiences slavishly followed suit. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
PrinsM.Mar 6, 2008
This film is vastly overrated. The plot is paper-thin and the characters so cliched it beggars belief. The overall impression is of a badly written amalgamate of half a dozen Brothers Grimm fairy tales, couple of poor war dramas and a This film is vastly overrated. The plot is paper-thin and the characters so cliched it beggars belief. The overall impression is of a badly written amalgamate of half a dozen Brothers Grimm fairy tales, couple of poor war dramas and a coming-of-age, straight to TV Disney flick from the eighties. The four points are for the ideas for Pan and the white monster, and Doug Jones' performance. It's surprising that such an unoriginal creation would come from the director of The Devil's Backbone and a well executed Hellboy adaptation. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
KakesarS.Apr 7, 2008
I really can't understand where some of these ridiculously negative views of the movie are coming from, other than the fact that in some ways the movie has been slightly overrated. Still, it certainly doesn't deserve such a harsh I really can't understand where some of these ridiculously negative views of the movie are coming from, other than the fact that in some ways the movie has been slightly overrated. Still, it certainly doesn't deserve such a harsh rating as 4, letalone 0. The movie was dark and emotional. There was enough fantasy to satisfy and the switching between harsh reality and mystical adventure brought a very powerful twist to the movie. I felt that the few violent scenes were well placed and did well to demonstrate the barbaric and sadistic behaviour of the fascist stepfather. That said, I was slightly disappointed as I feel the movie could have offered more. Unlike some people, though, I'm not going to give the movie a bad score just because it had untapped potential - it was still a fantastic viewing experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeaneSJun 16, 2008
Simply one of the best movies i have ever seen. Beautifully produced and directed, great visuals, and an awesome story. I disagree with Baz regarding the unbelievable plot. The movie is meant to be half fantasy half reality, the true meaning Simply one of the best movies i have ever seen. Beautifully produced and directed, great visuals, and an awesome story. I disagree with Baz regarding the unbelievable plot. The movie is meant to be half fantasy half reality, the true meaning or significance is largely left to interpretation by the audience. Also the characters IQ, i dont know who specifically Baz refers to but i believe she is referring to a part (i wont reveal it) involving the child character in the story in which case simple mistakes are just a common child error. Definitely worth a try. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful