Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2285 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,991
Mixed:
160
Negative:
134
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
B.F.Feb 18, 2007
Quite simply, one of the most imaginative and original movies I've seen in a long time. Instantly one of favorite movies ever. It's executed almost perfectly on every level.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AngieH.Feb 18, 2007
I have real mixed feelings on this one. It is visually stunning, but there's quite a bit of violence that starts to feel gratuitious and exploitative. The critics seems to gloss over this point. Definitely not for kids.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ScottJ.Feb 18, 2007
Certainly not for kids, but clearly one of the better movies in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCFeb 22, 2007
I'd call it beautiful, but everyone'scalling it that, and it's so much more than just eye candy. I really can't find anything wrong with this film at all. It's... well, it just is. I saw it about a month ago, andI'd call it beautiful, but everyone'scalling it that, and it's so much more than just eye candy. I really can't find anything wrong with this film at all. It's... well, it just is. I saw it about a month ago, and I'm still in awe. Guillermo del Torro has made cinema an art again in a business dominated by exploitation (Babel) and Oscar bait (The Queen). I can't imagine this movie being topped any time soon, maybe only by del Torro's next serious project (not Hellboy 2, even though I can't wait for its release). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MasterXFeb 22, 2007
I cant belive What I am reading from your people. TOO MUCH VIOLENCE? you guys are weak stuff. go watch the Cat in the hat or something. If you want to see a movie with fair amount of violence go watch the departed. Oh this was a good movie byI cant belive What I am reading from your people. TOO MUCH VIOLENCE? you guys are weak stuff. go watch the Cat in the hat or something. If you want to see a movie with fair amount of violence go watch the departed. Oh this was a good movie by the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LukePowersonFeb 23, 2007
Don't be sad or disappointed, it's ok, really. I didn't like this one either. I agree with the previous comments by Kevin and Matt C. I don't find it suspenseful to wait and see what gross thing happens next. TheDon't be sad or disappointed, it's ok, really. I didn't like this one either. I agree with the previous comments by Kevin and Matt C. I don't find it suspenseful to wait and see what gross thing happens next. The cinematography was claustrophobic, every scene looked small. The sound mix is obnoxious, it's so over the top. The movie is this - little girl fantasy, war is bad, little girl fantasy, war is bad - back and forth. Way overrated. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JoseG.Feb 26, 2007
When I went out to watch this movie I had nothing but low expectations for it, once I got in that theatre, I never wanted to leave. I swear here was never such a movie that caught my attention just like Pan's Labryrinth, I'm so When I went out to watch this movie I had nothing but low expectations for it, once I got in that theatre, I never wanted to leave. I swear here was never such a movie that caught my attention just like Pan's Labryrinth, I'm so glad I came across this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenR.Feb 26, 2007
This movie made me clutch my breath in suspense, gasp in beauty, recoil in horror, and cry in joy. Great cinematography and amazing transitions back and forth between fantasy and reality. There are spiritual undertones throughout, especially This movie made me clutch my breath in suspense, gasp in beauty, recoil in horror, and cry in joy. Great cinematography and amazing transitions back and forth between fantasy and reality. There are spiritual undertones throughout, especially in the parable of the rose surrounded by thorns. Thank you, Guillermo, for a masterpiece! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JasonJ.Feb 28, 2007
98/100? I don't think so. It's a good try at something new, and maybe that in itself deserves a lot of praise. The first half of the film is far too slow to deserve such a high score. I found myself wanting to leave the theater by 98/100? I don't think so. It's a good try at something new, and maybe that in itself deserves a lot of praise. The first half of the film is far too slow to deserve such a high score. I found myself wanting to leave the theater by the second half, but the story began to speed up a bit so I stayed. The allegory is a bit too peice-meal. The monsters were neat, but where did they come from? Kudos on being set in Franco-era Spain; it was definitely a good start. Keep the new ideas flowing. Spiderman 3? Give me a break. How much further can our culture fall? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrutusO.Mar 11, 2007
I have to agree with those who are scratching their head about the accolades for this. I enjoyed it and was moved by the downbeat ending, I thought it was very well acted by the little girl, and I particularly liked the European sensibility I have to agree with those who are scratching their head about the accolades for this. I enjoyed it and was moved by the downbeat ending, I thought it was very well acted by the little girl, and I particularly liked the European sensibility of the fantasy sequences - but I do not get why it is getting the reviews it is. This sort of dark fantasy has been done before (Mirrormask being another recent example) and generally gets ignored by the wider audience. I hesitate to say it, but one really has to wonder if the accolades somehow reflect the growing American fascination with, and apparent approval for, sadistic torture sequences in their cinema and TV shows. This film has more than a few gratuitous mutilations by the Spanish fascists, which didn't particularly upset or enthrall me, but which seems to exert a perverse fascination for many others. A bit of a worry. Good soundtrack though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SeanMar 13, 2007
Solid, fully-realized, and powerful film-making here. However, I can't help but feel that certain aspects could have been toned down somewhat and that more ambiguity could have been introduced, if only to make the "reality" depictedSolid, fully-realized, and powerful film-making here. However, I can't help but feel that certain aspects could have been toned down somewhat and that more ambiguity could have been introduced, if only to make the "reality" depicted seem just a little more believable and not so needlessly shocking. Surprisingly, what was presented as the definite reality on-screen was a little harder for me to believe in than that which I was supposed to question, which I believe was not the film maker's intention (nor should it have been). Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
10
BuddhaB.Mar 14, 2007
From selfish motivations to altruistic sacrifice, Pan's Labyrinth retells the story of the moral choices which will always be central to the human condition. While this type of morality play has been a recurring theme in the cinematic From selfish motivations to altruistic sacrifice, Pan's Labyrinth retells the story of the moral choices which will always be central to the human condition. While this type of morality play has been a recurring theme in the cinematic arts, Del Toro's vision exceeds many prior attempts to "visulaize" human emtions, temptations, heroic actions and egocentric evil. The violent acts of the "real" world juxtaposed with the fantasy life of the heroine imbues the film with a growing tension resulting in the final redemptive climax. Beautiful cinematography completes the masterful effort. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndresZ.Mar 19, 2007
Guillermo Del Toro has proven more than his hidden facade of indispensable magic; he has created a world to escape to. For the first, and maybe the only time this year, the viewer is in a world of cinema that is unpredictable from the start. Guillermo Del Toro has proven more than his hidden facade of indispensable magic; he has created a world to escape to. For the first, and maybe the only time this year, the viewer is in a world of cinema that is unpredictable from the start. He neither knows a good ending from a bad ending, and quite frankly it hardly even matters. What the viewer perceives is more than just a remarkable story. It's an illustrious work of magic made for a must-viewing. And in the end, after Ofelia's last task is done, and the masterful score lay in the background, one can't help but think: Could the film be meant for something else? Of course it is, for it is a clear and thought out political allegory. But even by viewing the film at diverse standpoints, in the end it really comes down to the real truth: The film is nothing short of a true and simple work of art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricC.Mar 26, 2007
Let me just start by tackling all the people trying, idiotically, to bash this movie. None of you, not one, have given a decent reason. Someone wrote that it had a shallow script just about doing three tasks and becoming a princess. Are you Let me just start by tackling all the people trying, idiotically, to bash this movie. None of you, not one, have given a decent reason. Someone wrote that it had a shallow script just about doing three tasks and becoming a princess. Are you really that dumb? I'd tell you to go watch the film again and try harder, but you don't deserve to. You just stick to Norbit and Ghost Rider. You might just grasp those. Someone else called it exploitive. Don't throw around words you don't understand. Go look it up first. Babel is exploitive. 24 is exploitive. This isn't. The violance and horror is exaggerated for a reason, for those of you who thought it was pointless. It was a horrible world then, and it's a horrible world today. Seriously, try making the connections. What are the fascists today? The rebels? del Toro wasn't being complicated on this point. This movie was mindblowing, visually and story-wise. The "little fairytale" is only a tiny part of the trajedy and joy in this movie. There's a reason why it's one of the best reviewed movies of all time. If you're too shallow to fully experience it, then really, I don't care. Most people actually are. I don't have a clue what Gillermo del Toro is doing after Hellboy 2 (yes, he actually has fun with his career), but if it gets anywhere close to what this movie was, I can't wait to be amazed (I know it sounds cheesy, leave me alone). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MicheleC.Apr 16, 2007
I don't know how to describe it exactly, but something intangible was missing in Pan's Labyrinth. It had no soul. I felt beaten and battered by the time the movie ended. My friend and I sat in shock as we watched the film credits. I don't know how to describe it exactly, but something intangible was missing in Pan's Labyrinth. It had no soul. I felt beaten and battered by the time the movie ended. My friend and I sat in shock as we watched the film credits. The bloodshed and violence were gratuitous and pointless. This is the first movie we didn't discuss afterward, nor will we ever watch it again. I was really disappointed. I can't fathom why critics praised this depressing horror story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DougR.Apr 26, 2007
What an ostentatious, pretentiious, lugubriously paced, maundering piece of arthouse-with-a-budget folderol... loved the handsome "revolutionaries" in their matching issaye mikaye wraps.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JackMeHoffApr 28, 2007
This movie sucked monkey testicles. I would rather be sodomized by a rusty jack hammer than sit throught this piece of crap again! The entire movie was gay and in Mexican. And before you see it, you should smash your face in with a bat, soThis movie sucked monkey testicles. I would rather be sodomized by a rusty jack hammer than sit throught this piece of crap again! The entire movie was gay and in Mexican. And before you see it, you should smash your face in with a bat, so that you won't remember it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
BelleA-SApr 29, 2007
I know I like something if I wake up in the morning and I still think about it. Such is what happened today after I watched this movie last night. See, I'm even writing a review on it! What I love about it is that I haven't seen I know I like something if I wake up in the morning and I still think about it. Such is what happened today after I watched this movie last night. See, I'm even writing a review on it! What I love about it is that I haven't seen anything like it before. Throughout the movie I was thinking if the story of Princess Moanna is a traditional fairy tale much like the Grimm's are. I still don't know now. While watching though I did see flashes of similarities to Alice in Wonderland, The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe and White Flower The Devil's Daughter. So the story may not be entirely original --- that's why I give it a 9 --- but the execution of the movie is perfect and I am still mesmerized the morning after. That's what makes it a great movie! Better than Babel or The Departed or all those movies with Academy Award mentions. I will watch it again today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KHendersonMay 15, 2007
There's several moments in the imaginative film when the screenplay has to manipulate events in an implausible way in order for the film to have sequence of events it wants. And the ending if one really thinks about it, has an obvious There's several moments in the imaginative film when the screenplay has to manipulate events in an implausible way in order for the film to have sequence of events it wants. And the ending if one really thinks about it, has an obvious problem that renders it nonsensical. It surprised me that so many critics werent observing the events in the film carefully enough to see these plot holes. A great film but quite imperfect too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielMorenoMay 18, 2007
Astounding imagery and cinematography
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChrisG.May 21, 2007
Movies with this high of a rating from so many critics need to be able to appeal to viewers who are not fans of the genre. Star Wars and LOTR are examples of this. Pan's Labyrinth falls short in too many areas. Not a horrible film, but Movies with this high of a rating from so many critics need to be able to appeal to viewers who are not fans of the genre. Star Wars and LOTR are examples of this. Pan's Labyrinth falls short in too many areas. Not a horrible film, but certainly not worthy of the hype. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CriticsR.May 22, 2007
Beautiful atmosphere. Touching story. There was some gratuitous yuckiness, but other than that, this movie was awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HollyC.May 24, 2007
Easily one of the best 'fairy tales' ever put to film. And in the true sense of the old-time allegorical 'fairy tale', not the Disney kid-friendly stuff of today. Del Toro's depth in this allegory/story is quite Easily one of the best 'fairy tales' ever put to film. And in the true sense of the old-time allegorical 'fairy tale', not the Disney kid-friendly stuff of today. Del Toro's depth in this allegory/story is quite complex, though even if you're not familiar with Franco's Spain during WWII, the story is still profound & relevant. What a great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarmineT.May 28, 2007
Mythic, political and visually stunning. Well crafted with something to say at many levels of the human experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidHMay 28, 2007
Pan's Labyrinth is a dark fairy tale much in the vein of a Grimm Brothers or H.C Andersen story (pre 19th-20th century 'happy ending' rewritings) Not suitable for children, the story is set in franco spain, and much of thePan's Labyrinth is a dark fairy tale much in the vein of a Grimm Brothers or H.C Andersen story (pre 19th-20th century 'happy ending' rewritings) Not suitable for children, the story is set in franco spain, and much of the story is allegorical, and in parts this tale is also very brutal. It is, in many ways, an adults only film.
So why the low score? Well after watching the film, and reading the reviews, I began to wonder whether the amazingly high rating was in fact due to americans incredulity that a film can even be made outside of hollywood. I was also slightly worried that it gains an extra 20-30 points (or 2-3 marks) simply because the critic wishes to appear cultured. Is there anything intrinsically wrong with Pan's Labyrinth? No. But there are stories better told, and movies better shot. If you watch pans labyrinth, you won't go away particularly disappointed. If you watch pans labyrinth based on the reviews on this site, you will go away feeling empty, as this film is average at best
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WinstonA.May 29, 2007
One of the bet films I've ever seen. It touched me on many levels and left me gagging for more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonB.Jun 13, 2007
Enchanting, frightening, and an overall achievement in movie making.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AlexRJun 16, 2007
nothing to say but a corny excuse to make something like this. The fantasy is boring and predictable if good looking, especially those stupid tests she gets, the drama is ok and often shocking but for little reason than documenting a bit of nothing to say but a corny excuse to make something like this. The fantasy is boring and predictable if good looking, especially those stupid tests she gets, the drama is ok and often shocking but for little reason than documenting a bit of history perhaps, but which has done many times and better. The acting is good, not necessarily from the girl all the time, but I wanted to watch a movie, not only nice photography, original landscapes full of fantastic creatures and decent acting. If all these good qualities of the film had a real purpose or effect, I would respect it more (and if it was less boring at least). This filmmaker has shown little to say, other that "cool" ideas at his best, and semi solid execution. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
RSenkbeilJun 17, 2007
Did not like this one at all. I found it boring and drab. Not really sure why it got such good ratings from the critics. The only enjoyment I got from this film was from trying to translate the Spanish without the subtitles - I quit watching Did not like this one at all. I found it boring and drab. Not really sure why it got such good ratings from the critics. The only enjoyment I got from this film was from trying to translate the Spanish without the subtitles - I quit watching it after about 45 minutes because it was so unnecessarily violent - but I left in on in the background. This guy should have painted a picture instead of making a movie - he could have disturbed us in an instant rather than making a feature length film out of gore that we felt obligated to watch because we paid to see it. I would rather have been given a choice. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JosephM.Jun 19, 2007
This is an amazing movie that is a solemn retreat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidJun 21, 2007
If you are curious about the meaning of this movie, you must listen to Terri Gross' interview with the director Guillermo Del Toro. Very illuminating. He is a visionary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyVJun 22, 2007
One of the low scoring voters said the following: W. R. gave it a2: If you like your movies twisted, depressing, gruesome and full of gratuitous violence then you'll love this but you'd have to be pretty desensitised. If, like me, One of the low scoring voters said the following: W. R. gave it a2: If you like your movies twisted, depressing, gruesome and full of gratuitous violence then you'll love this but you'd have to be pretty desensitised. If, like me, you like movies that don't give you nightmares afterwards, steer clear. And yes I'm slightly worried about film critics that recommend movies like this for *children*. All I can say is that you should continue to read the sanitized news and t.v. reports about the horrors of war. Go outside the U.S. to Spain, Ireland, the Middle East, Algeria, most of Africa, Cambodia, Vietnam, so you can see what gruesome, gratuitous violence really looks like. Yes, go to sleep soundly, blissfully unaware of what real living is like. For those who don't like the fantasy, let me suggest The Wind that Shakes the Barley. Reminds you that there are tougher choices out there than what color SUV you want to drive. America is populated with so many lazy people it is sickening. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AdrianG.Jun 22, 2007
Kinda like Peter Pan and Hostel in one movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TimothyJun 23, 2007
It's not the stunning visionary masterpiece critics want me to believe - "Le Fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain" is a far superior movie I think - but it's still a good movie. Especially I've never seen such a It's not the stunning visionary masterpiece critics want me to believe - "Le Fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain" is a far superior movie I think - but it's still a good movie. Especially I've never seen such a brilliant blend between reality and fantasy before. And I appreciate it very much that there are still directors out there trying to enrich the rare pool of fantasy movies. I would compare "Pan's Labyrinth" with "The Cell": it feels like someone of the commercial industry was involved. So it's visually stunning but its content is somehow shallow. There is neither much to think about nor enough room to build up your own fantasy world like when you read a book. And it hardly has a poetic or philosophic aspect. Nevertheless this is a nice dark fairy tale for adults ... and kids with strong nerves of course Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LenaJ.Jul 17, 2007
Despite what some closed minded users of this website might have said, I found it absolutely nothing short of fantastic. Kiss my ass Kyriakos, you worthless pile of shit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KoryNJul 23, 2007
Pan's Labyrinth is better than many movies. Unfortunately, that is not saying very much. The movie is very visually attractive: beautiful photography, very good effects and make-up, and great scenery. It has decent acting and the story Pan's Labyrinth is better than many movies. Unfortunately, that is not saying very much. The movie is very visually attractive: beautiful photography, very good effects and make-up, and great scenery. It has decent acting and the story is told in an interesting manner. However, portions of the plot are foggy at best. Writer/director del Toro eventually gets around to presenting the viewer with a moral to the story, which is good enough and perhaps even insightful. But the key (if they can even be considered as much...) events in the plot simply transpire for little or no reason. No significance is given to the tasks that the main character performs. We see no consequences, good or bad, occur as a result of the protagonist's seemingly purposeful quests. Fairy tales, as this story may be described, may normally contain some arbitrary elements, but this is a bit much. This movie could be likened to a connect-the-dots or paint-by-number activity that, when completed, looks like a blob. And the moral of the blob is to make your own decisions, don't just follow orders. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
adamdJul 29, 2007
I am a movie lover, and I watch a large amount of eccentric movies such as Pans Labyrinth. I went into this movie expecting a constant flow of story, combined with a lot of fantasy elements.But, after a short period of time, i realized that I am a movie lover, and I watch a large amount of eccentric movies such as Pans Labyrinth. I went into this movie expecting a constant flow of story, combined with a lot of fantasy elements.But, after a short period of time, i realized that the movie was going into a completely incoherent direction. The biggest issue to me was the lack of character development, and the combination of two different story arch's that to me had nothing in common. Also, it was predictable. (spoiler) An account of this would be the poorly written piece in the area of the movie in which the girl must confront the beast in the room without eating any of the feast. Of course, she does, and she has a mishap, even after a immortal from the underworld tells her that she will lose her life if she does....Maybe if i came into this movie expecting a overly violent war movie, with predictable, almost adolescent shenanigans, i might have enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelR.Aug 23, 2007
If you've lost faith in what a movie can be, see this one. Very few artists--in any medium--will ever achieve what Guillermo del Toro did in this movie. Stark, stirring and terrifying, always in the right amount. A true masterwork.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DouglasR.Aug 31, 2007
Wow, I must not have seen the same movie that the critcs saw. I thought the characters were two dimensional, and while the idea was compelling, I think del Toro didn't pull it off. Too much violence without the soul and depth to make it Wow, I must not have seen the same movie that the critcs saw. I thought the characters were two dimensional, and while the idea was compelling, I think del Toro didn't pull it off. Too much violence without the soul and depth to make it matter. But hey, just my opinion. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
FernandoH.Sep 15, 2007
A masterpiece. Point.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RodrigoA.Nov 11, 2008
I loved this movie 100%, Del Toro's vision between real life and fantasy is fascinating, see how the pale man (the baby eating monster) is sitting at the center of the table just like captain Vidal, they both represent evil, also de I loved this movie 100%, Del Toro's vision between real life and fantasy is fascinating, see how the pale man (the baby eating monster) is sitting at the center of the table just like captain Vidal, they both represent evil, also de tree that was dying because of the frog that was living inside of it, just like the mother of "Ofelia" (yes in spanish Ophelia is written as it is.) who's dying because of the baby she's carrying with. The Faun is almost the fantasy version of Mercedes. I'd like to say to the user that gave it a 1 because of it's unrealistic look, etc. that there are things way more important than un-accurate effects of the luger pistol, the blood, etc. I tell you this and you might think im a nerd who adores Del Toro. (I'm a film student, so I know how to analyze a movie) and I think the reason Americans are an active consumer of Foreign films because most of them have quite more interesting story than most of the garbage hollywood is producing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcusS.Nov 21, 2008
It was truly amazing! I loved it! One of the best movies I have ver seen. It's plot was very clear to all you stupid people The Spanish language adds the romance to the movie making much better. The Spanish makes the speaking of the It was truly amazing! I loved it! One of the best movies I have ver seen. It's plot was very clear to all you stupid people The Spanish language adds the romance to the movie making much better. The Spanish makes the speaking of the words is just amazing! Spanish is a Romance language, it flows evenly. If it was in english it would ruin the entire thing. It was so fantastic. I loved it. It's theme of being half about the Spanish Revolution and the fantasy of escaping to a peaseful immortal world was the most immaginative thing ever! It has the best ending I have ever seen! The actors did a great job, and the visual effects are the best I have ever seen! The most amaving movie I have ever seen in my entire life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MariahR.Jan 19, 2008
Very shocking and grotesque. Too much war story instead of good fantasy. I like the musical scoring, though. Can't get the theme out of my head.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JonathanA.Oct 27, 2008
Wonderful movie. The contrast of a child's imagination with the realities of war makes this film extremely moving. Just know that it is not a traditional fantasy movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamuelL.Feb 14, 2008
I have been told incessantly by indoctrinated critics that there is no such thing as perfection. I beg to differ. This movie is haunting, exquisite, and the ending will haunt you and leave you thinking. For a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TravisF.Feb 18, 2008
I laughed when I read how well this movie was rated. I walked out of the theatre upset that I stayed for the entire time. Not even the best movie with Labyrinth in the title.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JoeJ.Apr 18, 2008
Great movie all around, a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaananC.Apr 22, 2008
I absolutely loved this movie. From the elements of realism brought in by Del Toro's portray of the Spanish cvil war to the amazing fantasy world developed throughout the film. I can't see where the poor reviews are coming from.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoleJ.Jul 17, 2008
Pan's Labyrinth is imaginative and a great movie from every aspect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MattHAug 15, 2008
Visually stunning, with beautiful settings, decent acting and a truly haunting score this film suffers from one major flaw. It can not decide whether it wants to be a gripping and realistic war drama or a fantastical fairy tale and Visually stunning, with beautiful settings, decent acting and a truly haunting score this film suffers from one major flaw. It can not decide whether it wants to be a gripping and realistic war drama or a fantastical fairy tale and ultimately fails to be either. Really wanted to like this film, but in the end it is flat, pointless, needlessly violent and as others have said lacks "soul". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
NathanielZ.Aug 29, 2008
I'm going to be honest to Director del Toro, because if he was here right now, I'd torture him like one of the tortured martyrs in his obsolete "movie". I loathed it so much that I had to stop watching it for some 5 minutes, I'm going to be honest to Director del Toro, because if he was here right now, I'd torture him like one of the tortured martyrs in his obsolete "movie". I loathed it so much that I had to stop watching it for some 5 minutes, thinking about why those Mexicans or Spanish people had no common sense to release this to an English-speaking audience and then come back to watch the rest of this poorly made fantasy! That's how much I abhorred it! It's so ambiguous and silly, I can't possibly understand why critics rendered it with praise! But- Let me just stop my ranting and clarify- in lucid English that the obese del Toro can understand- why this movie was so repulsive. Violence, well hey! It's in almost every single movie! But in this one, the violence is unrealistic. Let me explain why... 1. Why is there so much blood? I mean, I'm not symbolically protesting, but practically, human blood does not hemmorage that profusely, study some anatomy! 2. The battles are so unrealistic, how can the so-called "Capitan" be killing off guerrillas from long-range with a luger pistol that only fires short-range? Study marksmanship! 3. How can blood be flowing from Ofelia's nose?(See! They can't even spell "Ophelia" right!) When she's shot in the stomach? Again, study some anatomy! This movie is also filled with so many Hollywood cliches to make you shiver, the Captain is the only one that implies the scariness in the film, but balance the role of frightening authority to other people! Stupid! Unfortunately, I cannot waste valuable time in my life criticizing this movie, I have so many distastes for it, that I cannot fill them all here. However, I have one detail to praise in this movie, the art direction, that was the most superb aspect that gave the film it's brightness, but not reason, I feel sorry for the people at the art direction department of production, they had to work with a director that was an obese jerk and they had to be responsible for abetting the production of the most poorly made fantasy flick next to the Lord of the Rings... ...And oh, speaking of the Lord of the Rings, del Toro's going to screw up the Tolkien legendarium even more by making a Hobbit companion movie (sheesh! You are unskilled)... ...And by the way, Tolkien is always screwed up. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
CricketC.Sep 29, 2008
I did not like it. the fantasy figures were too obscure. The movie was shown as part of a foreign film series at the local college. Only 30% of the class showed up. Probably had seen it before.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
AdityaANov 24, 2009
I think this movie is overrated, the ending was good but the plot was bit boring & violent for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JerryKidDec 21, 2009
This movie was terrible! Its entire message is facists are bad + lots of violence to illustrate that. Throw in some fancy CG and you have the entire movie. Why do people like this?
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
RogerEDec 2, 2009
One of the greatest of all fantasy films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidTDec 25, 2009
This is easily one of my favorite films from the past decade. The war scenes, the fantasy scenes as well as the family dynamics were woven together intricately and the result was an incredible, unforgettable story. The special effects for This is easily one of my favorite films from the past decade. The war scenes, the fantasy scenes as well as the family dynamics were woven together intricately and the result was an incredible, unforgettable story. The special effects for the fantasy scenes were very good but in no way detracted from the story. There's also plenty of violence but the violence provided the weight necessary to accurately portray fascism. This is movie making at its absolute highest level. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ashleebMay 12, 2009
We watched this movie for our fantasy english class..im only 17 and i thought it was great.. it was an incredibly disturbing movie to watch but it has a whole lot of meening behind it which im still trying to understand.. i think its such a We watched this movie for our fantasy english class..im only 17 and i thought it was great.. it was an incredibly disturbing movie to watch but it has a whole lot of meening behind it which im still trying to understand.. i think its such a good movie and recomend it highly =] I think that anyone who rates it that lowely clearly doesnt have a very broad imagination and is too set on the real world and thats finee.. just dont watch fantasy films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mikekMay 26, 2009
I was lucky enough that a theater in my area had this gem and me and my sisters and friends went and at first they where like whats with the spanish language and subs and about ten minutes in that was gone now thinking back i couldn't I was lucky enough that a theater in my area had this gem and me and my sisters and friends went and at first they where like whats with the spanish language and subs and about ten minutes in that was gone now thinking back i couldn't see this movie being that great in English but something about the way the actors present the language makes the movie feel magical and like it lifts you to another place you have never been before and when i left the theater that night something happened that hadn't before no one was talking that's how blown away by this film it is a must see for anyone who thinks out side the box. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobKJun 14, 2009
Without a doubt, this is the epitome of cinema. Everything in the movie is so beautiful. I wish the people giving the movie bad ratings had the patience could go half of a second without seeing someone get shot. It's not that kind of movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EnzoP.Jul 12, 2009
Pan's Labyrinth is great and extremely entertaining. The idea is very good and the makeup is oscar worthy. The film is very well made and who cares if its in spanish. But their was something missed in the movie that didn't click I Pan's Labyrinth is great and extremely entertaining. The idea is very good and the makeup is oscar worthy. The film is very well made and who cares if its in spanish. But their was something missed in the movie that didn't click I am still trying to figure it out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
meelanJul 18, 2009
The movie was definitely a dark fairy tale, its really sad and at times scary (when that guy smashed the bottle right into that kids face OMG!) other then the freak horror to it at points, it was an amazing movie, can't say the same for The movie was definitely a dark fairy tale, its really sad and at times scary (when that guy smashed the bottle right into that kids face OMG!) other then the freak horror to it at points, it was an amazing movie, can't say the same for hellboy 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SebastianF.Dec 23, 2006
This is the best film I saw this year. The main reason of my exitment is because Pan's Labyrinth moved me like no other film in a long while. There were a lot of moments when I was allmost crying, and the fact that a fantasy film can This is the best film I saw this year. The main reason of my exitment is because Pan's Labyrinth moved me like no other film in a long while. There were a lot of moments when I was allmost crying, and the fact that a fantasy film can achive that, is even more surprising. I know that a film doesn't have to be good just because it makes people cry, but this is a tragedy that has a logic, and speaks of a reality: the cruelty of war, the loss of inocence and the experiences of children in dangerous enviromets. It has to be said that it's also the most imaginative film of the year and it's not for children like almost every fantasy movie. In fact it's also the most violent movie I saw in the year. The fantasy functions like a counterpoint for the violent reality of war. It is a beautyful film. The art direction and the cinematography are just perfect, So grim, obscure, powerful, touching, and... again beautiful. The music, a simple lullaby so sweet and sinester stiks in your head and doesn't let go. The performances are exellent too. On the top is Lopez as Capitan Vidal, so deadly, precise and scary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
luisr.Dec 27, 2006
Amazing, beautiful, dark, powerful, the best movie of the year and one of the ten best fantasy movies of the history, mexico must win an academy award as best foreign film, this movie is the masterpiece of guillermo del toro.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lizzyd.Dec 28, 2006
Now, this is an a-m-a-z-i-n-g film, very touching and poetic... probably the best film in a foreign language I've seen in a looong time... 10/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
luisVDec 29, 2006
NO le encontré lo que la mayoria de los críticos le estan encontrando de impresionante.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattHarrisonNov 19, 2007
There are about 3 scenes in this film which contain graphic violence, so anyone who rates it lower due to the violence is an idiot. My girlfriend hates graphic violence in films, as it terrifies her. After watching this film, the last thingThere are about 3 scenes in this film which contain graphic violence, so anyone who rates it lower due to the violence is an idiot. My girlfriend hates graphic violence in films, as it terrifies her. After watching this film, the last thing on her mind was the violence it contained. I am yet to meet anyone who was not deeply moved by this film. I can safely say that it is the best film that I have ever seen, which really is saying a lot. It recieved a 20 minute standing ovation at it's premiere in Cannes. Watch it and you will realise why. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Nov 16, 2008
obviously if local college students dont watch it then its a bad move...this would have to be on of the best moveis ive ever seen, up there with The Departed, American History X and Downfall
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EKDec 19, 2009
STOP, DO NOT WATCH it, its violent, stupid movie. They confused all the good and bad, a lot of blood, little girl dealing with devil and later on devil becomes an angel. STUPIDITY should have a limit. What is good showing as a bad, and what STOP, DO NOT WATCH it, its violent, stupid movie. They confused all the good and bad, a lot of blood, little girl dealing with devil and later on devil becomes an angel. STUPIDITY should have a limit. What is good showing as a bad, and what is bad shows in thi movie as agood. don't dpend your time and money, better spend your energy on something positive. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
ColinArcadeFireAug 29, 2010
I don't like all of Metacritics top-rated films, but this one..wow. Probably my favorite film of this decade. Everyone should see this. I love the trials Ophelia is forced to do, and the ending is very entertaining. A great movie to watch aI don't like all of Metacritics top-rated films, but this one..wow. Probably my favorite film of this decade. Everyone should see this. I love the trials Ophelia is forced to do, and the ending is very entertaining. A great movie to watch a few times. I always say the worse films are the ones you can only see once and you've seen it all. This one can be viewed multiple times and hardly ever gets boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TrebliApr 3, 2012
Literally the best of them all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TrebluApr 13, 2012
This is a real movie. All movies should be like this.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
LiamRJul 3, 2012
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
SeriouslyRonJan 5, 2013
What a fantastic film! A masterful blend of horror, fantasy and drama. Del Toro is a true visionary. The fact that it's in Spanish makes it ten times better.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
hardwired7Oct 12, 2012
This movie moved me deeply in 2006, and hasn't stopped moving me since. The final scene is playing on a perpetual loop in the background of my mind. It is a canonical work of art.
26 of 30 users found this helpful264
All this user's reviews
10
JDubree_OKC13Dec 7, 2012
Pan's Labyrinth is a fantasy film tailored to adults (think Alice in Wonderland for grown-ups). Del Toro masterfully combines elements of horror and drama to create an almost hybrid fantasy film. The film was brilliantly cast, and almostPan's Labyrinth is a fantasy film tailored to adults (think Alice in Wonderland for grown-ups). Del Toro masterfully combines elements of horror and drama to create an almost hybrid fantasy film. The film was brilliantly cast, and almost perfectly acted. For a fantasy film; the acting brought a sense of realism. The major high-point of this film is the story, which was beautifully crafted, and thoroughly entertaining. Pan's Labyrinth is an all around amazing fantasy film. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
KuniguneJan 24, 2013
The only "tale" here is the historical aspect. And it's rather a sad tale since it's a blatant propaganda. Other than that, questions arise like: Why so brutal? Why so dystopian? And why is the hourglass one fifth full after a few seconds butThe only "tale" here is the historical aspect. And it's rather a sad tale since it's a blatant propaganda. Other than that, questions arise like: Why so brutal? Why so dystopian? And why is the hourglass one fifth full after a few seconds but goes on for several minutes after that? One of the worst movies I've ever seen... Expand
2 of 21 users found this helpful219
All this user's reviews
10
QuixsilverFeb 18, 2013
"Pan's Labyrinth" by Guillermo del Toro is a beautiful yet grim film about the fairy-tale-like story of a child set during the troubled times of the Spanish Civil War. Guillermo del Toro brings out the wonder of childhood innocence while"Pan's Labyrinth" by Guillermo del Toro is a beautiful yet grim film about the fairy-tale-like story of a child set during the troubled times of the Spanish Civil War. Guillermo del Toro brings out the wonder of childhood innocence while juxtaposing it to the harsh realities found in desperate times. It is a twisted fairy-tale that is shown aesthetically well and is told through the imaginative perspective of a child making fantasies to overcome struggles and tragedies. Del Toro's visual masterpiece is both plot and character driven and this combined with its dark themes make it an adult's fairy-tale that is easily toys with your emotions. Lovers of bittersweet endings will truly enjoy this film and even after the film is over; it continues to linger in your mind and may incite even further discussion. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
guyadfJun 6, 2013
great. This movie shows the pain and tragedy of war.
i can't enlish. so i can't write a reaview in english. but. this movie great i know it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ChaserelliAug 13, 2013
Marvelous to the deep core, 'Pan's Labyrinth' is s astounding, so fantastic, that one must wonder how Guillermo del Toro came about some of the instances in the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Gdaddy72Sep 14, 2014
Del Toro is one of the few directors currently out there with the sort of unique vision that Kubrick or Lucas (forget the dialogue...think of the how far Star Wars was ahead of it's time in '77) had...Pan's Labyrinth is well deserving of it's 98...
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
whaveOct 6, 2014
Not THAT bad, but will give it a 0 just because how overhyped it is; it's fooling future viewers. Depressive, and if that's your thing, you're gonna love it. For me, it was mostly about predictable, transparent shock value. And as someoneNot THAT bad, but will give it a 0 just because how overhyped it is; it's fooling future viewers. Depressive, and if that's your thing, you're gonna love it. For me, it was mostly about predictable, transparent shock value. And as someone else said, these annoying cliches... (only ONE rule: don't eat the food, but yeah she HAS TO eat it... i get it, she's starving, so why should she care about that horrible monster in the room... ahh come on.) Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
9
MummyFeb 4, 2015
wonderful movie and one of the great fantasy movies of all times.
it shows us borders between fantasy and real, between children's world and adult's world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
mcpMar 4, 2015
I opened an account in metacritic just so I could share how much I disliked this movie. I am a fan of fantasy; even at my ripe age, The Wizard of Oz is my favorite movie. But in Pan's Labyrinth, the character of the captain was so over theI opened an account in metacritic just so I could share how much I disliked this movie. I am a fan of fantasy; even at my ripe age, The Wizard of Oz is my favorite movie. But in Pan's Labyrinth, the character of the captain was so over the top as to be annoying, not really evil. That the mother could be in love with him, or even just using him for security, sex, etc. was simply not believable. On the other hand, Miss Gulch and the Wicked Witch were believable.

I am still baffled that a talented filmmaker like Del Toro could leave me so flat, and that many others give this move such high ratings.

The movie does deserve kudos for its special effects.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CavafyJan 5, 2016
An extraordinary and powerful film that left an informed audience in silence.

A film on many levels, part mythical, part a story of a violent and internecine period of great brutality set in Spain. But what is the film all about? The
An extraordinary and powerful film that left an informed audience in silence.

A film on many levels, part mythical, part a story of a violent and internecine
period of great brutality set in Spain.

But what is the film all about? The film sucks you in; whilst in Spanish and
with sub-titles, I had no sense of “reading” these sub-titles but rather a sense
of both watching and being sucked into a powerful story.

The film makes sense when you put in an even more brutal scene played out
almost nine months previously. The captain has clearly terrorised the area
and all the surrounding communities. We have learnt that mother knows it is
important that Ofelia recognise the captain as father; we know that Ofelia is
coldly indifferent or more towards him; that at the time of the dinner she
wilfully rolls in the mud – though ostensibly away with a faun (Pan has
always been the go-between twixt man and gods, being half man and half
mythical beast, a messenger and chord of communication with the other
World) – ruining the expensive shoes and beautiful dress that her mother has
given her for the occasion – Ofelia of course knows that such dress was
provided indirectly by her “father” the captain.

We learn that the mother is considered a great beauty, though in the film she
does not come across so, seeming a shadow, a shell of her perhaps previously
vibrant self; in conversation between her brother-to-be-born, Ofelia talks of
the wondrous way her mother comes alive when she smiles, informing he and
us that her present austerity and zombie condition is not all she can be ..
We know that Ofelia’s real father was a tailor, that the captain was one of his
clients; and the unseen, unshot scene of nine months previous comes
harrowingly view.

The captain whilst being fitted for a new uniform espies the beautiful wife of
his tailor, he must have her and he kills the father and rapes the mother. In
shades on the Tin Drum we see Ofelia perhaps observing this from beneath
the table and we understand what has driven this child to seek the solace and
comfort of her make-believe book-driven world…

We now understand the opening scene; the late arrival with birth imminent of
the mother and Ofelia and the Faustian pact that mother has made.
We can imagine this butcher, this captain, king of his territory seeing this
beautiful woman ripen into pregnancy carrying the child he must have
fathered and in the death-throes of a war he knows is lost the imperative of
the necessity for him to gather to him his heir – we have been told that he is
illogically certain that the unborn is a boy and we know he is totally unfeeling
to the mother and that her death is of no concern, but rather, at all costs, and
at any risk to the mother, the birth of his son and heir is paramount.
So he sends his troops and convoy to fetch this woman, this carrier of his
ripening seed, such that he too can pass on his watch..

The last scene, the death of Ofelia shot by the captain sees that as her life force
ebbs she seeks refuge in becoming her fairy princess alongside her mother
and real father and thus can, and does die, with an almost smile on her lips.. This is the only way that makes sense of this sometimes graphically brutal tragedy; the way a young girl seeks refuge from brutal reality and in the understanding comes an even greater sense of this time of brutality and savagery, which whilst set in the aftermath of the real civil war – the captain at one point reminding us of this by proclaiming that such war his side had “won” – sees an extension of this under the cloak of the broader 2nd world war. One of the best, perhaps even the best film I have seen that clearly has marked the psyche and consciousness of all who have seen it; though not one for either the faint-hearted or those without the backdrop understanding of this traumatic period. The impact and trauma of the times and the way this reverberates through the generations to the present day is a theme indirectly explored in the book by Robert Wilson, “The Blindman of Seville”, which book I am now moved to reread; or should I instead re-read “The Wisdom of Crocodiles” a book which explores the extreme consequentiality of disparate actions… A powerful film that has had me thinking all night and caused me to put pen to paper at 4am…..
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Zohaibpk02Feb 16, 2017
This is the nice movie I ever watch. You should share this on Social networks for quick promotion. buy Twitter followers, Instagram followers and Facebook likes from http://Followersgain.co.uk/
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews