Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2297 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,003
Mixed:
160
Negative:
134
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
ZimonZ.Jan 14, 2007
The high ratings for the movie are absurd - there is very little original or imaginative here - we've seen it all before a thousand times. The story is pointless, the little girl is really stupid, and the violence adds nothing. The high ratings for the movie are absurd - there is very little original or imaginative here - we've seen it all before a thousand times. The story is pointless, the little girl is really stupid, and the violence adds nothing. It's a total wreck. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
E.K.Jan 20, 2007
Maybe if I had been able to get past the unrelenting nonsensical violence and gone, I might have been able to enjoy this. I agree wholeheartedly with the comments about the deceptive advertising of this film--I was expecting much less blood Maybe if I had been able to get past the unrelenting nonsensical violence and gone, I might have been able to enjoy this. I agree wholeheartedly with the comments about the deceptive advertising of this film--I was expecting much less blood and much more fantasy... and maybe a few points of light throughout the film. I left feeling depressed and unfulfilled. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DavidG.Jan 27, 2007
Dull, uninspiring, trite, over the top and clichéd. The ending? Give me a break.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
FrederickD.Jan 7, 2007
This would be a timeless and classic movie had del Toro enjoyed telling a faery tale as much as he seemed to enjoy depicting graphic violence. The film maintains a delicate balance between fantasy and violent reality for half the film, and This would be a timeless and classic movie had del Toro enjoyed telling a faery tale as much as he seemed to enjoy depicting graphic violence. The film maintains a delicate balance between fantasy and violent reality for half the film, and then it sinks into violence so extreme, extended and brutal that it wipes out the joy of the fantasy fable. Violence is so extended and graphic in this film that it reaches the point of being gratuitious. And at that point, it becomes a form of pornography. The joy of the fairy tale, the momentary triumph of the innocent young woman...are overridden the sheer amount of time the director spends depicting graphic violence...spoiling what could have been a moving and enduring story. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
InsanelySaneFeb 11, 2007
"Pan's Labyrinth" is probably the most disappointing film I have been to in the last few years... I am absolutely gob-smacked for words. How could one give such high praise to a film that is below average on so many levels?! For someone "Pan's Labyrinth" is probably the most disappointing film I have been to in the last few years... I am absolutely gob-smacked for words. How could one give such high praise to a film that is below average on so many levels?! For someone that appreciates foreign films' subtlety and depth this film is anything but. The script is shallow, spells out details that would have been obvious without mention. The plot on paper would have been ok but the execution is confused, boring and cliche'd. I cant believe that this is what I am writing about this highly rated 'adult' 'fantasy'. The acting is obvious without ever feeling sympathy for the characters. The sound design is irritating, harsh on the ears and exaggerated in detail. The music is generic and mixed way too low (maybe that's why...). The camera work is bland. The only good thing seems to be the constumes and sets. Last but not least the violence is gratuitous and of putting and could have done so much better without it. A film like "Apocalypto" used violence that had meaning and celebrated death and pain and the reality of it all. "Pan's Labyrinth" was empty, detached and comical more than anything. Not suitable for those looking for a magical experience at the cinema. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BernieM.Feb 10, 2007
I saw this in its spanish language version in Spain and can only assume that changes were made to get it through with a 15 cert in the UK. Out of politeness for the crowd that I was with, I did not walked away before the end but never have I I saw this in its spanish language version in Spain and can only assume that changes were made to get it through with a 15 cert in the UK. Out of politeness for the crowd that I was with, I did not walked away before the end but never have I ever felt so much like doing so. I found out later that the feeling actually was universal! The violent scenes did not just serve to demonstrate the brutality of the character invloved which would have been ok, they were gratuitously violent to the point of being overwhelmingly distracting. The result is a crude film, which has nothing more than some quite nice photography in it at times. I've since seen this film described in cinema literature as a scary fairytale and am horrified to think that Parents might think it ok for young children on the basis that its not an 18 so can't be that bad - my little Johnnyis only twelve but he's mature enough for a 15 cert film..... I'm occasionally disappointed by a film but never have I had one that spoilt my weekend - until I watched El laberinto del Fauna. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DoratJ.Feb 14, 2007
I got disappointed from this movie, the line between fantasy and reality, it didnt overlap, no useful pauses to reflect in the movie. No magic, just boring Spanish faun and completely too hard scenes with blood just to make the audience I got disappointed from this movie, the line between fantasy and reality, it didnt overlap, no useful pauses to reflect in the movie. No magic, just boring Spanish faun and completely too hard scenes with blood just to make the audience jump, there is just nothing else to impress us with. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
D.D.D.Feb 16, 2007
[***SPOILER***] Pan's Labyrinth is 90% Violence, blood guts & gore. 10% fantasy. This movie is not for the faint of heart. The trailer is misleading. Shooting children is wrong. How do I get my money back? I'm very sorry I wasted [***SPOILER***] Pan's Labyrinth is 90% Violence, blood guts & gore. 10% fantasy. This movie is not for the faint of heart. The trailer is misleading. Shooting children is wrong. How do I get my money back? I'm very sorry I wasted my time watching this piece of trash. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
W.R.Feb 6, 2007
If you like your movies twisted, depressing, gruesome and full of gratuitous violence then you'll love this but you'd have to be pretty desensitised. If, like me, you like movies that don't give you nightmares afterwards, If you like your movies twisted, depressing, gruesome and full of gratuitous violence then you'll love this but you'd have to be pretty desensitised. If, like me, you like movies that don't give you nightmares afterwards, steer clear. And yes I'm slightly worried about film critics that recommend movies like this for *children*. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
AnonymousMCMar 10, 2007
Some nice visuals, but the film sorely disappoints. I think this director's technical skills matched with a good script could be magnificent, but this is the perhaps the most overrated film I've had the misforute of seeing. I trulySome nice visuals, but the film sorely disappoints. I think this director's technical skills matched with a good script could be magnificent, but this is the perhaps the most overrated film I've had the misforute of seeing. I truly feel duped. I am so glad the German film won the oscar. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
PreefeldMar 3, 2007
The story is way too simple and "black and white" to make this movie interesting in any way. Acting is also poor. Oh, and really annoying sound design.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JackMay 17, 2007
Pretentious crap. That's all it takes these days to impress you morons isn't it - oh look it's a magical forest with Satan underneath it and there's oh look there's fascism in it which is a reminder to us all toPretentious crap. That's all it takes these days to impress you morons isn't it - oh look it's a magical forest with Satan underneath it and there's oh look there's fascism in it which is a reminder to us all to SUPPORT THE WAR ON TERROR right! Right!! Goddamn sheep. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ER.May 3, 2007
Dross. Riddled with clichés and inexplicable plot holes, not to mention one-dimensional characters. The fantasy sequences were derivative and underplayed, as if the makers were embarrassed to be delving into the genre, and the aspects Dross. Riddled with clichés and inexplicable plot holes, not to mention one-dimensional characters. The fantasy sequences were derivative and underplayed, as if the makers were embarrassed to be delving into the genre, and the aspects concentrating on the human characters were nothing that hasn't been seen a hundred times before. The direction and editing were particularly poor: scenes and characters just walked onto the screen with no element of suspense, and were all too frequently tediously predictable. The attempt to mix fairytale fantasy and war film was a real disaster, too; the whole thing seemed very mean-spirited, with even the child's fantasy world being a pretty unpleasant, miserable place, and the overall impression was of a failed attempt to tack an aborted kiddie film onto a mediocre war drama. Most hateful of all was the way the ending was so neat, with the rebels winning and the little girl escaping to her fantasy world to be a princess. Listen up, people: the bad guy DIDN'T die at the end of the Spanish Civil War, he WON it. Watch a film that doesn't try to hide this; watch something which doesn't try to impose a limp, cop-out ending onto it. If you're an adult, you shouldn't watch Pan's Labyrinth, because of its oversimplified, obvious nature; if you're a child, you shouldn't watch it because of its jarring violence. Just because a film tries to tackle "issues" doesn't mean it succeeds. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
RaptormanS.Jun 11, 2007
This had to be one of the most boring, lifeless and surprisingly graphic fairie tale wanna-be movies I have ever seen. I have no idea why the critics loved it so much. I hated it and nearly turned it off after the first 30 minutes. We rented This had to be one of the most boring, lifeless and surprisingly graphic fairie tale wanna-be movies I have ever seen. I have no idea why the critics loved it so much. I hated it and nearly turned it off after the first 30 minutes. We rented Apocalypto the same night expecting it to be exceedingly gory... which it was...., but wasn't expecting the exceptionally graphic violence in Pan. Apocalpto worked... pan didn't. There were a variety of other things that somewhat disturbed me as well including some casually concealed political undertones and not so casually concealed allusions to hell/satan/evil etc. (and no I'm not a holy roller in the least! :) ) Definitely not a kids movie. Not much of one for adults either. 2 for the graphics and acting on "Faun", otherwise 0. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
PessieJ.Jun 19, 2007
A terribly over-hyped steaming heap of cartoonish values. A propaganda wolf in young adult's movie clothing. The values of this director seem as fascist as it's central bad character. There is no need for quotes around "bad"!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MikeJun 3, 2007
Hate it the first time I seen it. Seen it again on DVD and I still felt the same way. This is one movie that is way over hyped, it only recieved a high score as it did, because its a foreign film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AnonymousMCFeb 10, 2008
I thought this was unmitigated rubbish. It didn't say anything meaningful that I could discern. The 'real world' was just violence, violence, violence, with absolutely no exploration of the real and important politics behindI thought this was unmitigated rubbish. It didn't say anything meaningful that I could discern. The 'real world' was just violence, violence, violence, with absolutely no exploration of the real and important politics behind what was happening. The fantasy world was silly, incoherent and without any sense of real magic. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
PaulW.Mar 5, 2008
I'm not much of a wardrama movie fan, but sometimes a genre film can raise itself through a good or original storyline and or sub story. Labirinto doesn't at all. It offers nothing more than a meandering tale about the evil of men, I'm not much of a wardrama movie fan, but sometimes a genre film can raise itself through a good or original storyline and or sub story. Labirinto doesn't at all. It offers nothing more than a meandering tale about the evil of men, which's message is brought far too directly to make any impact. People that taut this movie as a fairytale should consider watching the movie again with a timer. Perhaps only 7% of this movie deals with what can vaguely be described as a fairytale, although I would rather like to call it fable-imagery. We didn't call Kill Bill a Manga movie either just because it had some Manga scenes in it, now did we. Although it was beautifully shot and contained good acting, this movie was bland and over the top at the same time. At no point are you required to think because the movie exposes everything it touches upon. It was just that year's cinematic darling and the audiences slavishly followed suit. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
VictorH.Jun 20, 2008
Me and a buddy saw this movie one night, and halfway through the film he begged me to switch to another movie. I insisted that we saw it through because of the metascore, but at the end I almost fell asleep. The whole World War II / Fantasy Me and a buddy saw this movie one night, and halfway through the film he begged me to switch to another movie. I insisted that we saw it through because of the metascore, but at the end I almost fell asleep. The whole World War II / Fantasy mix is the most boring plot ever and never makes any sense. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
kevincApr 10, 2009
Are you fraking kidding me. First off, don't ever call this a horror movie. Secondly, it sucked. If I wanted to see scary little gremlins and elfs I would have watched Lord of the Rings...which also sucked, might I add. What is it with Are you fraking kidding me. First off, don't ever call this a horror movie. Secondly, it sucked. If I wanted to see scary little gremlins and elfs I would have watched Lord of the Rings...which also sucked, might I add. What is it with all the dorks out there and their love for weird ogres and elfs? Gay. Bad movie. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
MattCMay 27, 2009
Pretty slow and terrible movie, in my opinion. The best part was when it ended. Who comes up with this crap, and why does it get such a high rating?? It's on the "All-Time Highest Rated" chart? Are you kidding?
0 of 18 users found this helpful
0
ThomasN.Jan 19, 2007
This movie has been vastly overrated, and the television advertising is terribly deceptive. The storyline concerning the fantasy world takes up only 10% of the screen time, with much of the remaining time consisting of nearly unrelenting This movie has been vastly overrated, and the television advertising is terribly deceptive. The storyline concerning the fantasy world takes up only 10% of the screen time, with much of the remaining time consisting of nearly unrelenting graphic violence and torture. Be warned--the violence in this film is much bloodier and more sadistic than in "The Godfather" or "Silence of the Lambs." More shamefully, the violence is used to shore up what, in the end, turns out to be a rather monotonous and poorly developed story. There is little in the way of character development, and the fairytale storyline is, for all intents and purposes, incoherently dropped one-third of the way into the film. Sure the movie has an emotional wallop, but being hit over the head with a 2x4 also leaves a lasting impression. (To paraphrase an old joke: Why see this movie? Because it feels so good when it's over!) I've been warning all of my friends about this movie, and I obtained a refund based on the grossly misleading advertising campaign. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DrewJan 19, 2007
HORRIBLY OVERRATED! How can this receive a 98/100??? It wasn't even as good as Chronicles of Narnia (and that movie sucked). I guarantee if this was an English-speaking film made by an American filmmaker it would have been rated around HORRIBLY OVERRATED! How can this receive a 98/100??? It wasn't even as good as Chronicles of Narnia (and that movie sucked). I guarantee if this was an English-speaking film made by an American filmmaker it would have been rated around a 50/100. It was pretty to look at but there was zero plot or character development, leading to a final act that was implausible and unsatisfying. Out of the four movies I Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MiKEJan 22, 2007
I really wanted to get into the movie, but it didn't happen. There's no magic here, its just a very dull boring movie, and to spice things up the director put in extreme violence! Which did not offend me at all. I just didnt see I really wanted to get into the movie, but it didn't happen. There's no magic here, its just a very dull boring movie, and to spice things up the director put in extreme violence! Which did not offend me at all. I just didnt see the point in all the graphics scenes. This movie isnt for children or adults. Overall a very huge disappointment, could if be that it recieved all the great reviews becasue it was a spanish movie?? I think so. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JeffFeb 9, 2007
Enjoyed the visual presentation. Bored by the graffic violence. Overall a yawner. Ended up reading e-mails on my Blackberry instead of watching.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
LinL.Feb 9, 2007
i must say that this is one of the most over-rated films i'd ever seen. i've seen the director's other work and liked it. he was more of a theatre director in "the devil's backbone," but at least he tried. in pan's i must say that this is one of the most over-rated films i'd ever seen. i've seen the director's other work and liked it. he was more of a theatre director in "the devil's backbone," but at least he tried. in pan's labyrinth i find a horrifically thin and lazy story, with characters barely developed but all very pretty for the eyes, doing stupid things without any apparent motives. strip away the special effects and the violence, there're only a few very conventional storylines hastily interwoven together without traction or necessity. the acting was ok, yet with the exception of the actor who played mercedes, annoyingly one-dimensional and unengaging. and the movie's heart is a horrendously dark one, with the meek saved but unredempt, and the victors seeking vengeance. an intellectually and spiritually bankrupt movie, and no amount of pretty special effect or pretty faces can save it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AnthonyB.Feb 9, 2007
Good Visuals and monsters. Lacked interesting story. They did good job keeping hidden the fact that the whole movie is in subtitles. Besides the monsters, this movie is worth waiting to see until it comes on tv so you have a chance to turn it off.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JunichiF.Apr 2, 2007
One of the worst film of the year. I was terribly disappointed because I have heard so much good things about the film. Shallow story, cheap effects, and bad acting makes for a very frustrating 2 hours.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MichaeltenPasApr 30, 2007
There were two different plots in this story: the one about the people caught up in a war and then some attempt at a fairy tale. Both came across as underdeveloped and entirely unconnected.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
PEMay 5, 2007
A very disappointing film, especially after all the hype. The characters are crudely drawn to the point of parody and the fantasy sequences lack magic. The Fascists are laughably evil and the resistance fighters handsome and are noble. This A very disappointing film, especially after all the hype. The characters are crudely drawn to the point of parody and the fantasy sequences lack magic. The Fascists are laughably evil and the resistance fighters handsome and are noble. This is a travesty of a war film married to a poorly-realised fantasy. The cop-out ending is especially irritating. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful