Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2182 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,896
Mixed:
152
Negative:
134
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
ArielL.May 22, 2007
This movie is just absolutely wonderful in every way, from its beautifully executed shot of every frame to it's acting and story. I'm previleged to see these wonderful films made outside of the US that have so much depth and This movie is just absolutely wonderful in every way, from its beautifully executed shot of every frame to it's acting and story. I'm previleged to see these wonderful films made outside of the US that have so much depth and originally. I think my next one will be Once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlakeW.May 20, 2007
This is a fantastic film. Anyone who thinks it may be flawed in some way are just wrong. Anyone may like or dislike any film, but even if you disliked it, you must recognize that it is perfectly executed and fantastically beautiful in both This is a fantastic film. Anyone who thinks it may be flawed in some way are just wrong. Anyone may like or dislike any film, but even if you disliked it, you must recognize that it is perfectly executed and fantastically beautiful in both its story and visuals. If you don't realize this there is something wrong with you...seriously. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayAMay 24, 2007
Great movie. Stirring, violent, emotional and fantastical. Ivana Baquero is a wonderful actress and the whole story is well thought-out and incredibly well executed by the whole cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BruceQ.May 24, 2007
One of the best movies that I saw in 2006. My wife and I were still talking about it days later. It is not surprising that this movie has already reached #41 on IMDB's top 250 movies of all time list - it certainly deserves the high One of the best movies that I saw in 2006. My wife and I were still talking about it days later. It is not surprising that this movie has already reached #41 on IMDB's top 250 movies of all time list - it certainly deserves the high praise it has received. Some viewers might be put off by the brutal scenes and it is certainly not young kids (the R-rating is a clue people!) Pan's Labyrinth is beautiful, thrilling and poignant. Unless you are looking for Disney fare or think films with subtitles are too taxing, you will enthralled. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilO.May 30, 2007
A masterpiece which inextricably links fantasy, drama, suspense, horror, and socio-political history to perfection, which instructs us of the malevolent nature of man, but also of the redeeming, hopeful and powerful force of imagination. A A masterpiece which inextricably links fantasy, drama, suspense, horror, and socio-political history to perfection, which instructs us of the malevolent nature of man, but also of the redeeming, hopeful and powerful force of imagination. A display of on-screen magic perfectly crafted by Del Toro. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbbylJun 28, 2007
This movie was beyond my greatest expectations. I would recommend this movie to anyone and everyone who likes a mind blowing movie. It was intense and very real, but magical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianneZ.Jul 1, 2007
If you love fantasy you'll love this movie, if you hate fantasy you'll still love this movie. One of the best movies I have ever seen. This movie executes everything it tries to do perfectly. The beautiful thing is even though this If you love fantasy you'll love this movie, if you hate fantasy you'll still love this movie. One of the best movies I have ever seen. This movie executes everything it tries to do perfectly. The beautiful thing is even though this whole movie is in Spanish, you understand it all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TBirdJul 2, 2007
For me this movie was perfect in every way. I encourage everyone to view it and form their own opinion as this movie deserves to be watched and discussed by all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Jul 3, 2007
The final chapter of the movie Fantasia is presented as a musical exposition of the interaction between the profane and the sacred. In Pan;s Labyrinth, we see this interaction fully formed in plot and characters to create a photoplay of The final chapter of the movie Fantasia is presented as a musical exposition of the interaction between the profane and the sacred. In Pan;s Labyrinth, we see this interaction fully formed in plot and characters to create a photoplay of undeniable insight and power. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NormL.Aug 14, 2007
Awesome. Stirring. Take your breath away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SiniH.Aug 16, 2007
Very sad and fantastic with solid story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SaulS.Aug 20, 2007
The Best fantastic movie, and the best, he made for a Mexican.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewR.Aug 26, 2007
Anyone who gives this movie less than a 9-- is just plain dumb. too dumb to figure out what a good movie is. this movie was brilliant, probably one of the best films I've seen in my life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertK.Aug 5, 2007
One of the few film whose images return, invited or not, nearly a year later. Although I began to focus on the underlying structure on repeat viewing the first experience was as close to a dream I wanted to awaken from but couldn't as One of the few film whose images return, invited or not, nearly a year later. Although I began to focus on the underlying structure on repeat viewing the first experience was as close to a dream I wanted to awaken from but couldn't as any visual art in recent years. (You close your eyes hoping the image will have passed; it's usually that much more intense.). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricG.Aug 6, 2007
Here's what I think: Pan's Labyrinth, above all, is about being true to oneself. It is about doing the right thing in the face of evil and horrible consequences. It is about rebelling in the face of wrong, it is about trusting Here's what I think: Pan's Labyrinth, above all, is about being true to oneself. It is about doing the right thing in the face of evil and horrible consequences. It is about rebelling in the face of wrong, it is about trusting one's inner instincts. It is about life in the face of death, right in the face of wrong. The ending captures the essence of the afterlife so beautifully, and captures the paradox of the tragedy on earth that it remains both strangely beautiful and despairing at once. The plot, characters, cinematography, acting, all function as a driving force to drive this theme home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MasherM.Sep 1, 2007
Pan's Labyrinth is by far the best movie of the year. Guillermo del toro combines a brutal war drama, with a beautifull and breathtaking fantasy. The ending is an incredible mix of sorrow, joy, triumph, and revenge. If you have not seen Pan's Labyrinth is by far the best movie of the year. Guillermo del toro combines a brutal war drama, with a beautifull and breathtaking fantasy. The ending is an incredible mix of sorrow, joy, triumph, and revenge. If you have not seen it yet do not listen to the few stupid and deluded individuals who believe Pan's Labyrinth is a bad movie. See Pan's Labyrinth yourself, and prepare to be blown away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MiguelB.Sep 20, 2007
This movie is an instant classic, a master piece, something you haven´t seen before, some people didn't like the end, well the thing is that there is no end, the movie is so ambiguous, that you can choose an end, you can choose to This movie is an instant classic, a master piece, something you haven´t seen before, some people didn't like the end, well the thing is that there is no end, the movie is so ambiguous, that you can choose an end, you can choose to believe that Ofelia died in vain and that fairies never existed or you can choose to believe that she made a change, and some sort of "heaven" awaits for people who do the right thing, which most of the times is the difficult painful thing, in other words you can choose to be Vidal or to be Ofelia, it´s called free will, remember that the pan never forced Ofelia into nothing, she chose her path, the one she thought was the right one, and she lived with the consequences. People who bash this movie do it because they were expecting a clear end, they were expecting the director to take them by the hand and show them the way out of this madness, they couldn't stand the stress of the overwhelming ambiguity and uncertainty of the film, but it is ok because that was the intention of the film, (in other words you feel like Ofelia did, you feel lost, and you choose to believe what you think is right) This is not the never ending story kind of film where everybody lives happy for ever and ever, or the labyrinth where Sarah and her brother Toby return home safely. Hmmm or is it?? Greetings from Mexico. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCNov 1, 2008
This movie is easily the best movie ever made (in my opinion). Del Toro blends fantasy and reality perfectly. The movie is beautiful and flawless, and shows brutality and innocence. Those hate it should go back to watching Meet the SpartansThis movie is easily the best movie ever made (in my opinion). Del Toro blends fantasy and reality perfectly. The movie is beautiful and flawless, and shows brutality and innocence. Those hate it should go back to watching Meet the Spartans or Epic Movie, since you obviously don't know what a real film is. A perfect 10/10 for Pan's Labyrinth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeanBJan 21, 2008
This movie is definitely not a fantasy film. If you judge by the normal measures of cinema, and not by your own arbitrary expectations, you will find an truly epic film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanetCDec 22, 2008
A BEAUTIFUL anti-Fascist allegory, which can also be enjoyed merely on a surface, aesthetic level. Anybody who fails to be impressed by this has no heart, no soul and no mind. Flawless in concept, casting and execution.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CooperH.Jan 26, 2008
I have never fallen so much in love with a story before seeing this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkD.Jan 29, 2008
Stunning visuals and a great story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JajaMFeb 3, 2008
It was so beautiful shot and i fell in love with the characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PedroM.May 15, 2008
Excellent movie. Very entertaining, really a classic. It has lots of violence, but instead of insulting it is sad, and makes one aware that reality is more violent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HugoB.May 17, 2008
Most beautiful, emotional and gripping movie I've ever seen. I was left feeling happy and sad all in one go.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeH.May 24, 2008
Holy Shit! This movie kicked ass! The gory bloody parts are amazing and the fact that it's in a different langauge totally ROCKS!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelM.Jun 1, 2008
Imaginative, amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChenL.Jul 22, 2008
What a beautiful movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantZOct 25, 2009
Pans Labyrinth may seem simple at first,but scratch away at the above layers and it's as complex as a film can get. IAre the fairies and things the girl sees make-believe or real. Is it all in her mind, is she mad, or is everyone around Pans Labyrinth may seem simple at first,but scratch away at the above layers and it's as complex as a film can get. IAre the fairies and things the girl sees make-believe or real. Is it all in her mind, is she mad, or is everyone around her mad? Examine the story closely and it can be made more life-like. The fawn that tells the girl to steal the baby and do all this bad stuff could just be paedophile. She lives in a war torn area. So the monster with eyes in it's hands couldbe a blind person, who has been tortured to feel their way around. The film is deep, you have to think to get it and it's also beautifully haunting. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BillLOct 29, 2009
Flawless masterpiece. Unforgettable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EddieEagleFeb 27, 2009
Outstanding. I wasn't aware of the critical acclaim received by this movie and more stumbled on the film by chance. What a great film it is and it works on so many levels. Very emotive and beautifully shot with some fantastic Outstanding. I wasn't aware of the critical acclaim received by this movie and more stumbled on the film by chance. What a great film it is and it works on so many levels. Very emotive and beautifully shot with some fantastic performances by the lead actors. Del toro cleverly interweaves the fantasy world and the real world proving to be a true master of his art. Bodes well for his next project- the hobbit. If you have not seen this film I would encourage you to check it out and if you do not have a tear in you eye at the end you are made of some stern stuff Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
goodmovielolzMay 26, 2009
Kevin c is incredibly ignorant. this movie is brilliant. im sorry that some of you are too stupid to understand it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarmineCMay 3, 2009
i hate the people who thinks that they are movie critics, this movie was incredible, this is a horror movie because it was scary compared to the sh*t that you see en discovery kids, Lord of the Rings was also cool kevin c, so when you have a i hate the people who thinks that they are movie critics, this movie was incredible, this is a horror movie because it was scary compared to the sh*t that you see en discovery kids, Lord of the Rings was also cool kevin c, so when you have a smart argument for why it wasnt a great movie, post it here, Miguel V, you and kevin c are the only morons that rated it with a 2, you are not critics, me neither, but i see good movies and i can differ a good movie from a bad one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulDJul 20, 2009
This may be my favorite movie. I personally interpret the magic / religious elements in the movie as metaphor, although I'm aware of Del Toro's opinion on magic. This film and it's ending are (to me) a profound insight into This may be my favorite movie. I personally interpret the magic / religious elements in the movie as metaphor, although I'm aware of Del Toro's opinion on magic. This film and it's ending are (to me) a profound insight into the human need for religion, the need to believe in life beyond death etc. in a world that is often cruel and without meaning. I'm personally an agnostic but this film gave me a new understanding of the religious mindset. A beautiful film that works on almost every level. Everyone should see it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LizSAug 16, 2009
Some of the people leaving these ratings are ridiculous... A 5 because it does not deserve all the praise it has gotten.... a 9 because something is missing in the plot.... Simply ridiculous. This movie deserves a 10 in every aspect of Some of the people leaving these ratings are ridiculous... A 5 because it does not deserve all the praise it has gotten.... a 9 because something is missing in the plot.... Simply ridiculous. This movie deserves a 10 in every aspect of cinematography. It is simply perfect and enchanting. It has some much more meaning than most of the films out there playing in theaters at the present moment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WIlC.Apr 19, 2010
Absolutely amazing. I still watch it habitually and I am still completely blown away by it every time I watch it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BeesloDec 28, 2006
The ultimate adult fairy tale! Pan's Labyrinth is by far, the best movie of 2006. An artful mixture of adventure and horror, this movie brings out the kid in every adult and at the same time scares it back it into the arms of its The ultimate adult fairy tale! Pan's Labyrinth is by far, the best movie of 2006. An artful mixture of adventure and horror, this movie brings out the kid in every adult and at the same time scares it back it into the arms of its mother. Wonderfully directed and acted and filled with some of the best puppertry, this side of Jim Henson, Pan's Labyrinth easily succeeds in every facet where Mirrormask failed. Its beauty does not sacrifice from its heart and there is plenty of heart in this movie to fill up 10. I cannot stress enough how precious of a film this movie is and it will be long remembered as a modern day classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeDec 29, 2006
Easily one of the top 5 movies of the year. Very few movies change how future movies are made, but this one will. It is a cinema classic. There is almost nothing like it to compare it with. Perhaps Cocteau's "Beaty and the Beast" or Easily one of the top 5 movies of the year. Very few movies change how future movies are made, but this one will. It is a cinema classic. There is almost nothing like it to compare it with. Perhaps Cocteau's "Beaty and the Beast" or "Lord of the Rings" . . . it is that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlancoA.Dec 31, 2006
Yes, I was a little skeptical after noticing that massive metascore, but this is an absolutely beautiful film which lives up to every expectation of mine. The crowd in my theater was in stunned silence at the end, until a single person Yes, I was a little skeptical after noticing that massive metascore, but this is an absolutely beautiful film which lives up to every expectation of mine. The crowd in my theater was in stunned silence at the end, until a single person started to applaud which led to the entire theater erupting in applause. It's simply the best fim of the year. An instant classic. Here's to hoping this one gets a WIDE release so as many people can be exposed to its grace as possible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilH.Dec 31, 2006
There no way of describing this film which does not devalue it. If you care enough about films to read online reviews don't read any more - go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TracyB.Dec 31, 2006
Excellent film- beautifully shot, excellent story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattADec 30, 2006
A Visionary, Emotional, Couragous, Imaginative, Epic Masterpiece. Enough said.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaneD.Dec 31, 2006
I have never been more mesmerized by a film before this one. It is truly a fascinating tale that captivated my interest every second. Amazing acting, directing, cinematography and special effects combines to make a fairy tale that is very I have never been more mesmerized by a film before this one. It is truly a fascinating tale that captivated my interest every second. Amazing acting, directing, cinematography and special effects combines to make a fairy tale that is very deep and moving. I recommend highly to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LauraH.Jan 11, 2007
Amazing and haunting. This is the best movie I have seen in a very long time. It masters beauty and the grotesque in the same breath. I will definitely be looking up other movies by this director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MananP.Jan 12, 2007
Brilliant. A unique movie going experince.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevensNov 23, 2007
An impeccably structured film with gorgeous parallels and masterful storytelling. Each action served a major purpose to the personality of the character. The baby stopped crying when the captain came in because his prescense alone was soAn impeccably structured film with gorgeous parallels and masterful storytelling. Each action served a major purpose to the personality of the character. The baby stopped crying when the captain came in because his prescense alone was so terrifying that the baby couldn't even make a sound. Mercedes inflicted damage on the captain but didn't make absolute sure before she fled in terror. Ofelia draws the door above her because she knew that was the way she came in and that she'd just end up in a wall.

And to those who say it doesn't have substance, well, that just makes me sad. The film drew beautifully off most classic fairy tales but then threw in ingenious parallels to the real world so some people would have an easier time taking it in context.

My 06 film of the year... so far. There's one left that could knock it out that I have yet to see and will be watching tomorrow called The Lives of Others. I also need to get my hands on a copy of Mutual Appreciation.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BarbaraT.Jan 13, 2007
Intense, chilling, and utterly engrossing. This makes you clearly see how far Hollywood is missing the boat. An original vision and not a sequel in sight.
4 of 6 users found this helpful
10
GuyZ.Jan 13, 2007
Exquisite film making and exquisite story telling. Just far enough away in time for the resonance to today's political scene to truly register. It's so rare to encounter a film that's thematically profound and at the same time Exquisite film making and exquisite story telling. Just far enough away in time for the resonance to today's political scene to truly register. It's so rare to encounter a film that's thematically profound and at the same time completely engrossing and deeply moving also. And the effortlessness of it is inspiring. That Del Toro apprenticed himself in the Hollywood system in order to make something this effective and beautiful inspires hope. A must see. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
EricaK.Jan 13, 2007
I kept waiting for more fairy tale scenes of the labyrinth until I realized that the fairy tale isn't set against postwar Spain, it IS postwar Spain, itself, that is the Labyrinth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MitchellK.Jan 13, 2007
Absolutely beautiful piece of art. Combines a fantastic story with beautiful visuals and above all a haunting presence that keeps you glued to your seat. Guillermo Del Toro really knows how to make a fairy tale for adults and kids alike. Absolutely beautiful piece of art. Combines a fantastic story with beautiful visuals and above all a haunting presence that keeps you glued to your seat. Guillermo Del Toro really knows how to make a fairy tale for adults and kids alike. Mystical, powerful and, above all, brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OliverC.Jan 14, 2007
Truly one of the best films ever made. It's possible that it could have been a little better, but if Gods made movies than the competition would be too unfair.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Jan 14, 2007
I really feel like ive just seen the best movie I'll ever see. The guy who said I was expecting more 'visually' is, um... blind. The girl is the first child actor I not only haven't wanted to strangle but absolutely got I really feel like ive just seen the best movie I'll ever see. The guy who said I was expecting more 'visually' is, um... blind. The girl is the first child actor I not only haven't wanted to strangle but absolutely got it, she understood what was goin on, understood how important she was and how good she had to be. It's a movie that doesn't ad lib, doesnt think about what to stuff in between the start the middle and the end, its so fully realised that its practically too real, thats hard to take! Which is strange for a movie thats based in fantasy - argh so good! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CindyL.Jan 14, 2007
The movie has been billed as a fairy tale for grownups -- I think that's a poor description. It is a movie about cruelty and being in the last place you want to be, and embracing the magic that presents itself. Much of the film The movie has been billed as a fairy tale for grownups -- I think that's a poor description. It is a movie about cruelty and being in the last place you want to be, and embracing the magic that presents itself. Much of the film isn't fairytale at all. It's cruel, horrible, and very difficult to watch. This is not, I say again NOT, a film for children. Ofelia has been torn from her world by the Captain. Those things that have been real to her are gone -- her father is dead, her mother's love is not hers alone anymore, she is in a strange place with strange sounds and strange people, everything feels wrong. Yet in that, and maybe because of that, she embraces the magic around her. Would a happy, well-adjusted child even seek out the labyrinth, even follow the insect fairy in the first place? Maybe it is only when we lack something, when we are lost, that we are willing to embrace something that would seem in a normal situation to be absurd. She never says, "weird!" or "this can't be happening". She never questions what she sees -- it is her possible salvation, and she accepts it straight off. When she sees the moon mark on her shoulder it only convinces her fully of what she had already accepted, and in the very next scene she introduces herself (fearlessly I might add) to the great toad as Princess Morella. She believes it utterly -- why? It feels like she knows that she has no other choice -- this is the way out, the only way out, and she takes it all willingly and bravely. Didn't we all wish to find out that secretly we are princesses and princes, that this life isn't our true life? (I know I did!) She surrenders to the fantasy in order to survive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IoannisS.Oct 15, 2007
Innocence triumphs over evil even if in another life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
madsp.Nov 5, 2007
Terrifying, sweet.. Dark, light.. Fantasy, reality... Imagination, truth.. Hope, Despair... Life, death... Pans Labyrinth is one of the best movies of 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArthurXOct 17, 2007
Those who found fault with the movies use of effects or props, both of which I found to be effective, are choosing to ignore a magnificent piece of art. Del Toro adeptly depicts the profound courage of his characters in a way that is both Those who found fault with the movies use of effects or props, both of which I found to be effective, are choosing to ignore a magnificent piece of art. Del Toro adeptly depicts the profound courage of his characters in a way that is both painful and uplifting. In blending the real with the surreal, he creates an ending that is satisfying yet true to the movie's ambiance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IvanD.Jan 19, 2007
Simply perfect! All you can say is see it, see it, see it!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErikH.Jan 19, 2007
Ryan C, you do not realize that your vote for a zero isn't going to change the 97 (now 98) metascore you complained about, right? That being said, this was an excellent film with impressive effects and excellent direction. Connecting Ryan C, you do not realize that your vote for a zero isn't going to change the 97 (now 98) metascore you complained about, right? That being said, this was an excellent film with impressive effects and excellent direction. Connecting fantasy with reality is nothing new, but Del Toro is able to craft it in such a way that the connection is more powerful than it has ever been in other films. This is easily one of the best films of 2006. It's a true must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MozzM.Jan 19, 2007
This is the best most incredibly moving movie since I seen Schindler's List. It has become one of my top ten favorites, the first film to break into my top ten of all time, since I've seen Shawshank Redemption.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChipL.Jan 21, 2007
The best anti-war movie I've seen in years. Very intense, very scary and very moving. NOT for children and not for those expecting a fun fantasy. Loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmyA.Jan 21, 2007
This is quite possibly one of the most profound allegorical films you will ever see. It is beautifully terrifying. The scene between the doctor and Vidal after the mercy killing rattles you. It proves that the truly strong are the ones who This is quite possibly one of the most profound allegorical films you will ever see. It is beautifully terrifying. The scene between the doctor and Vidal after the mercy killing rattles you. It proves that the truly strong are the ones who question the powers that be. So many are unwilling to do that in our world. The metaphorical fantasy of Ofelia juxtaposed with the nightmare of Facism is brilliant. I am still deciding what is fanstastic and what is reality. This is a perfect-- and I am not one to use that term loosely--film. I will see it again in the theatre. It is worth every second and every penny. Del Toro is an amazing filmmaker. I hope he receives all of the acclaim that he deserves. It is a film for those who understand history and myth. It isn't for someone who wants to mindlessly be led into an escapist fantasy for 2 hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisStoikoffDec 14, 2007
Quickly scrolling through the MANY reviews, I see a hell of a lot of Reds and Yellows. RIdiculous. This movie's story is so deep and entrancing as to be an instant classic, but you have to be watching the movie, and getting past the factQuickly scrolling through the MANY reviews, I see a hell of a lot of Reds and Yellows. RIdiculous. This movie's story is so deep and entrancing as to be an instant classic, but you have to be watching the movie, and getting past the fact that there are subtitles to truly appreciate this masterpiece. Knowing Spanish would probably be a great asset to you as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeK.Jr.Jan 22, 2007
An absolute masterpiece. Incorporates almost every genre of cinema. I am usually a very serious person who only cries and laughs when needed; but, I cried during this movie and so did everyone in the theater with me. Deserves an oscar for An absolute masterpiece. Incorporates almost every genre of cinema. I am usually a very serious person who only cries and laughs when needed; but, I cried during this movie and so did everyone in the theater with me. Deserves an oscar for best picture of the year!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerZ.Jan 22, 2007
When I saw Guillermo del Toro directed this film, I already knew it was going to be good and I set my expectations high, they werent disapointed. This fairy tale for adults mixes in real monsters with fantasy ones and doesnt coddle you. It When I saw Guillermo del Toro directed this film, I already knew it was going to be good and I set my expectations high, they werent disapointed. This fairy tale for adults mixes in real monsters with fantasy ones and doesnt coddle you. It weaves in and out between the protagonists fantasies and reality. This movie is epic literally and figuratively, the Alice in Wonderland of the 21st century. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CahJan 22, 2007
thought-provoking, mystifying, spell-binding, intelligent, unexpected, deft, acute; a brilliant exposition of the blurring of our perceptions of what is real, what is intolerable,on what must be tolerated precisely because it is real, and thought-provoking, mystifying, spell-binding, intelligent, unexpected, deft, acute; a brilliant exposition of the blurring of our perceptions of what is real, what is intolerable,on what must be tolerated precisely because it is real, and what realms lie beyond ordinary perception. a deeply engaging film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TalJan 22, 2007
Its so blatantly obvious that people who gave this movie bad reviews came into it with terrible preconceptions or biases about it. Stop reading reviews, and just go see the movie. Movie critics aren't so ridiculous to give a movie this Its so blatantly obvious that people who gave this movie bad reviews came into it with terrible preconceptions or biases about it. Stop reading reviews, and just go see the movie. Movie critics aren't so ridiculous to give a movie this much praise without some true merit. Go see it, and judge for yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AriBJan 23, 2007
I went to see this movie expecting a complete fantasy story, but I was pleasantly surprised by this briliant masterpiece. I don't think I've seen a movie truly as great as this; an original story with such intensity that had me on I went to see this movie expecting a complete fantasy story, but I was pleasantly surprised by this briliant masterpiece. I don't think I've seen a movie truly as great as this; an original story with such intensity that had me on the edge of my seat the entire time..and the contrast between the innocence of a child and the brutality of war had me deeply moved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DannN.Jan 25, 2007
Awesome film. A wonderfully conceived fairytale too grusome for children. Perhaps that's del Toro's design. To make a fantasy that recreates the childlike horrors and triumphs of traditional fairy tales, but for adult Awesome film. A wonderfully conceived fairytale too grusome for children. Perhaps that's del Toro's design. To make a fantasy that recreates the childlike horrors and triumphs of traditional fairy tales, but for adult sensibilities. Whether that goal was his intent or not...it worked. And wondrously so. (One small flaw: the reason the faun gives for coming back and allowing the young girl a second chance is weak. That could have been fixed. Oh, well.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithJOct 26, 2007
Possibly the best movie I've ever seen. It's this or Casablanca. I guess the critics thought they were seeing either The Ferryman or Alice In Wonderland. Next time, read some previews first.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronMJan 26, 2007
This movie is thought provoking and well made, not to mention that the fantasy parts of it are sweet, and the war scenes are extremely exciting. This movie is so original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisK.Jan 27, 2007
The people bashing this movie celarly didn't understand the film. It is a transcendant beautiful film, one that I feel privaleged to have seen. Beautiful acting, an aching story, this is THE definitive film of '06
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Sidewinder572Jan 28, 2007
A supposed twenty plus minute standing ovation at the Cannes Film Festival, already in the top one hundred at the Internet Movie Data Base, every major film critic and their mothers are giving this film the highest possible praise. Naturally A supposed twenty plus minute standing ovation at the Cannes Film Festival, already in the top one hundred at the Internet Movie Data Base, every major film critic and their mothers are giving this film the highest possible praise. Naturally I went in hoping for the best and at same time expecting the worst. How can a film with this much praise possibly live up to the hype? Well it does, and then some. El Laberinto del Fauno is the latest film by director Guerillmo Del Toro. It is easily his best work to date. Although I am basing this view having only seen two of his other films (Blade 2 and Hellboy). Those films were entertaining popcorn films. This however is something else all together. El Laberinto del Fauno tells the story of Ofelia (Ivana Baquero) is goes with her pregnant mother (Ariadna Gil) to live with step-father (Sergi López) who is a Captain fighting with the Nationalists at the time of the Spanish Civil War. The film takes place immediately after the war, when small pockets of Loyalists continue fighting the Nationalists. (For more info on the Spanish Civil War read a book) El Laberinto del Fauno however is not a film about the Spanish Civil War. It is a fairy tale and a dark one at that. Where this movie succeeds is that the lines between fantasy and reality are completely blurred and never once to the things happening in the fantasy world contradict those things going on in reality. Ofelia escapes into a fairy tale in order to escape the horrors around her. There are fairies, monsters, and a faun (Doug Jones) that sends her on various tasks. I won Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
UnaiMJan 29, 2007
Absolutely brilliant
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanF.Feb 11, 2007
I was left in awe....this is one of the best movies I have seen. Never once did I check my watch. I was caught up in this bizarre, terrifying, magical, all too real story from the first seconds to the final frame. Bravo to all involved with I was left in awe....this is one of the best movies I have seen. Never once did I check my watch. I was caught up in this bizarre, terrifying, magical, all too real story from the first seconds to the final frame. Bravo to all involved with this film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshCFeb 11, 2007
Anybody who has seen this movie doesn't need me to further extol its virtues. I am merely posting to laugh at the contrary so-and-so's who have decided to slate the film, for no reason other than to make a scene! These are the same Anybody who has seen this movie doesn't need me to further extol its virtues. I am merely posting to laugh at the contrary so-and-so's who have decided to slate the film, for no reason other than to make a scene! These are the same people who say that they don't like The Godfather, The Shawshank Redemption and Singing In The Rain. Come on, stop lying to yourselves. Pan's Labyrinth was an unarguable masterpiece, convincing and enchanting on a number of levels, in a world where most films released fail to do so on one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MATHIASMoschelFeb 13, 2007
I have never ever thought I might be writing an opinion regarding a movie on a website but this one left me looking all over the net for more information about it. The soundtrack is running all day long on my computer and I already went I have never ever thought I might be writing an opinion regarding a movie on a website but this one left me looking all over the net for more information about it. The soundtrack is running all day long on my computer and I already went seeing it twice. "Hauntingly beautiful" and "magic realism" is what some say and I totally agree. It seems that the more you see it, the better it gets. Certainly the best movie I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmarB.Feb 15, 2007
Restores my faith in the power of filmmaking to transcend the quotidian. It takes us to places we could never have imagined. There is hope after all. Easily the best movie of year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamFeb 18, 2007
P.L. was indeed very gory. While I was walking out, some people thought was not needed, which I have to disagree with. Let me say that I'm usually not all that affected by the common movies violence, but P.L. had a unique twist that P.L. was indeed very gory. While I was walking out, some people thought was not needed, which I have to disagree with. Let me say that I'm usually not all that affected by the common movies violence, but P.L. had a unique twist that actaully made me aware of how horrible it trully was. So I have to give props, not many movies can do that for me. The movies fantasy attribute was very unique and eye opening, while the horror and suspense made a true villian. I loved it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
B.F.Feb 18, 2007
Quite simply, one of the most imaginative and original movies I've seen in a long time. Instantly one of favorite movies ever. It's executed almost perfectly on every level.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottJ.Feb 18, 2007
Certainly not for kids, but clearly one of the better movies in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCFeb 22, 2007
I'd call it beautiful, but everyone'scalling it that, and it's so much more than just eye candy. I really can't find anything wrong with this film at all. It's... well, it just is. I saw it about a month ago, andI'd call it beautiful, but everyone'scalling it that, and it's so much more than just eye candy. I really can't find anything wrong with this film at all. It's... well, it just is. I saw it about a month ago, and I'm still in awe. Guillermo del Torro has made cinema an art again in a business dominated by exploitation (Babel) and Oscar bait (The Queen). I can't imagine this movie being topped any time soon, maybe only by del Torro's next serious project (not Hellboy 2, even though I can't wait for its release). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoseG.Feb 26, 2007
When I went out to watch this movie I had nothing but low expectations for it, once I got in that theatre, I never wanted to leave. I swear here was never such a movie that caught my attention just like Pan's Labryrinth, I'm so When I went out to watch this movie I had nothing but low expectations for it, once I got in that theatre, I never wanted to leave. I swear here was never such a movie that caught my attention just like Pan's Labryrinth, I'm so glad I came across this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenR.Feb 26, 2007
This movie made me clutch my breath in suspense, gasp in beauty, recoil in horror, and cry in joy. Great cinematography and amazing transitions back and forth between fantasy and reality. There are spiritual undertones throughout, especially This movie made me clutch my breath in suspense, gasp in beauty, recoil in horror, and cry in joy. Great cinematography and amazing transitions back and forth between fantasy and reality. There are spiritual undertones throughout, especially in the parable of the rose surrounded by thorns. Thank you, Guillermo, for a masterpiece! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BuddhaB.Mar 14, 2007
From selfish motivations to altruistic sacrifice, Pan's Labyrinth retells the story of the moral choices which will always be central to the human condition. While this type of morality play has been a recurring theme in the cinematic From selfish motivations to altruistic sacrifice, Pan's Labyrinth retells the story of the moral choices which will always be central to the human condition. While this type of morality play has been a recurring theme in the cinematic arts, Del Toro's vision exceeds many prior attempts to "visulaize" human emtions, temptations, heroic actions and egocentric evil. The violent acts of the "real" world juxtaposed with the fantasy life of the heroine imbues the film with a growing tension resulting in the final redemptive climax. Beautiful cinematography completes the masterful effort. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricC.Mar 26, 2007
Let me just start by tackling all the people trying, idiotically, to bash this movie. None of you, not one, have given a decent reason. Someone wrote that it had a shallow script just about doing three tasks and becoming a princess. Are you Let me just start by tackling all the people trying, idiotically, to bash this movie. None of you, not one, have given a decent reason. Someone wrote that it had a shallow script just about doing three tasks and becoming a princess. Are you really that dumb? I'd tell you to go watch the film again and try harder, but you don't deserve to. You just stick to Norbit and Ghost Rider. You might just grasp those. Someone else called it exploitive. Don't throw around words you don't understand. Go look it up first. Babel is exploitive. 24 is exploitive. This isn't. The violance and horror is exaggerated for a reason, for those of you who thought it was pointless. It was a horrible world then, and it's a horrible world today. Seriously, try making the connections. What are the fascists today? The rebels? del Toro wasn't being complicated on this point. This movie was mindblowing, visually and story-wise. The "little fairytale" is only a tiny part of the trajedy and joy in this movie. There's a reason why it's one of the best reviewed movies of all time. If you're too shallow to fully experience it, then really, I don't care. Most people actually are. I don't have a clue what Gillermo del Toro is doing after Hellboy 2 (yes, he actually has fun with his career), but if it gets anywhere close to what this movie was, I can't wait to be amazed (I know it sounds cheesy, leave me alone). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielMorenoMay 18, 2007
Astounding imagery and cinematography
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HollyC.May 24, 2007
Easily one of the best 'fairy tales' ever put to film. And in the true sense of the old-time allegorical 'fairy tale', not the Disney kid-friendly stuff of today. Del Toro's depth in this allegory/story is quite Easily one of the best 'fairy tales' ever put to film. And in the true sense of the old-time allegorical 'fairy tale', not the Disney kid-friendly stuff of today. Del Toro's depth in this allegory/story is quite complex, though even if you're not familiar with Franco's Spain during WWII, the story is still profound & relevant. What a great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarmineT.May 28, 2007
Mythic, political and visually stunning. Well crafted with something to say at many levels of the human experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WinstonA.May 29, 2007
One of the bet films I've ever seen. It touched me on many levels and left me gagging for more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonB.Jun 13, 2007
Enchanting, frightening, and an overall achievement in movie making.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosephM.Jun 19, 2007
This is an amazing movie that is a solemn retreat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidJun 21, 2007
If you are curious about the meaning of this movie, you must listen to Terri Gross' interview with the director Guillermo Del Toro. Very illuminating. He is a visionary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LenaJ.Jul 17, 2007
Despite what some closed minded users of this website might have said, I found it absolutely nothing short of fantastic. Kiss my ass Kyriakos, you worthless pile of shit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelR.Aug 23, 2007
If you've lost faith in what a movie can be, see this one. Very few artists--in any medium--will ever achieve what Guillermo del Toro did in this movie. Stark, stirring and terrifying, always in the right amount. A true masterwork.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FernandoH.Sep 15, 2007
A masterpiece. Point.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RodrigoA.Nov 11, 2008
I loved this movie 100%, Del Toro's vision between real life and fantasy is fascinating, see how the pale man (the baby eating monster) is sitting at the center of the table just like captain Vidal, they both represent evil, also de I loved this movie 100%, Del Toro's vision between real life and fantasy is fascinating, see how the pale man (the baby eating monster) is sitting at the center of the table just like captain Vidal, they both represent evil, also de tree that was dying because of the frog that was living inside of it, just like the mother of "Ofelia" (yes in spanish Ophelia is written as it is.) who's dying because of the baby she's carrying with. The Faun is almost the fantasy version of Mercedes. I'd like to say to the user that gave it a 1 because of it's unrealistic look, etc. that there are things way more important than un-accurate effects of the luger pistol, the blood, etc. I tell you this and you might think im a nerd who adores Del Toro. (I'm a film student, so I know how to analyze a movie) and I think the reason Americans are an active consumer of Foreign films because most of them have quite more interesting story than most of the garbage hollywood is producing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcusS.Nov 21, 2008
It was truly amazing! I loved it! One of the best movies I have ver seen. It's plot was very clear to all you stupid people The Spanish language adds the romance to the movie making much better. The Spanish makes the speaking of the It was truly amazing! I loved it! One of the best movies I have ver seen. It's plot was very clear to all you stupid people The Spanish language adds the romance to the movie making much better. The Spanish makes the speaking of the words is just amazing! Spanish is a Romance language, it flows evenly. If it was in english it would ruin the entire thing. It was so fantastic. I loved it. It's theme of being half about the Spanish Revolution and the fantasy of escaping to a peaseful immortal world was the most immaginative thing ever! It has the best ending I have ever seen! The actors did a great job, and the visual effects are the best I have ever seen! The most amaving movie I have ever seen in my entire life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanA.Oct 27, 2008
Wonderful movie. The contrast of a child's imagination with the realities of war makes this film extremely moving. Just know that it is not a traditional fantasy movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamuelL.Feb 14, 2008
I have been told incessantly by indoctrinated critics that there is no such thing as perfection. I beg to differ. This movie is haunting, exquisite, and the ending will haunt you and leave you thinking. For a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeJ.Apr 18, 2008
Great movie all around, a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful