Picturehouse | Release Date: December 29, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2232 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,944
Mixed:
155
Negative:
133
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ShaananC.Apr 22, 2008
I absolutely loved this movie. From the elements of realism brought in by Del Toro's portray of the Spanish cvil war to the amazing fantasy world developed throughout the film. I can't see where the poor reviews are coming from.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoleJ.Jul 17, 2008
Pan's Labyrinth is imaginative and a great movie from every aspect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RogerEDec 2, 2009
One of the greatest of all fantasy films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidTDec 25, 2009
This is easily one of my favorite films from the past decade. The war scenes, the fantasy scenes as well as the family dynamics were woven together intricately and the result was an incredible, unforgettable story. The special effects for This is easily one of my favorite films from the past decade. The war scenes, the fantasy scenes as well as the family dynamics were woven together intricately and the result was an incredible, unforgettable story. The special effects for the fantasy scenes were very good but in no way detracted from the story. There's also plenty of violence but the violence provided the weight necessary to accurately portray fascism. This is movie making at its absolute highest level. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mikekMay 26, 2009
I was lucky enough that a theater in my area had this gem and me and my sisters and friends went and at first they where like whats with the spanish language and subs and about ten minutes in that was gone now thinking back i couldn't I was lucky enough that a theater in my area had this gem and me and my sisters and friends went and at first they where like whats with the spanish language and subs and about ten minutes in that was gone now thinking back i couldn't see this movie being that great in English but something about the way the actors present the language makes the movie feel magical and like it lifts you to another place you have never been before and when i left the theater that night something happened that hadn't before no one was talking that's how blown away by this film it is a must see for anyone who thinks out side the box. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobKJun 14, 2009
Without a doubt, this is the epitome of cinema. Everything in the movie is so beautiful. I wish the people giving the movie bad ratings had the patience could go half of a second without seeing someone get shot. It's not that kind of movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SebastianF.Dec 23, 2006
This is the best film I saw this year. The main reason of my exitment is because Pan's Labyrinth moved me like no other film in a long while. There were a lot of moments when I was allmost crying, and the fact that a fantasy film can This is the best film I saw this year. The main reason of my exitment is because Pan's Labyrinth moved me like no other film in a long while. There were a lot of moments when I was allmost crying, and the fact that a fantasy film can achive that, is even more surprising. I know that a film doesn't have to be good just because it makes people cry, but this is a tragedy that has a logic, and speaks of a reality: the cruelty of war, the loss of inocence and the experiences of children in dangerous enviromets. It has to be said that it's also the most imaginative film of the year and it's not for children like almost every fantasy movie. In fact it's also the most violent movie I saw in the year. The fantasy functions like a counterpoint for the violent reality of war. It is a beautyful film. The art direction and the cinematography are just perfect, So grim, obscure, powerful, touching, and... again beautiful. The music, a simple lullaby so sweet and sinester stiks in your head and doesn't let go. The performances are exellent too. On the top is Lopez as Capitan Vidal, so deadly, precise and scary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
luisr.Dec 27, 2006
Amazing, beautiful, dark, powerful, the best movie of the year and one of the ten best fantasy movies of the history, mexico must win an academy award as best foreign film, this movie is the masterpiece of guillermo del toro.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lizzyd.Dec 28, 2006
Now, this is an a-m-a-z-i-n-g film, very touching and poetic... probably the best film in a foreign language I've seen in a looong time... 10/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattHarrisonNov 19, 2007
There are about 3 scenes in this film which contain graphic violence, so anyone who rates it lower due to the violence is an idiot. My girlfriend hates graphic violence in films, as it terrifies her. After watching this film, the last thingThere are about 3 scenes in this film which contain graphic violence, so anyone who rates it lower due to the violence is an idiot. My girlfriend hates graphic violence in films, as it terrifies her. After watching this film, the last thing on her mind was the violence it contained. I am yet to meet anyone who was not deeply moved by this film. I can safely say that it is the best film that I have ever seen, which really is saying a lot. It recieved a 20 minute standing ovation at it's premiere in Cannes. Watch it and you will realise why. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Nov 16, 2008
obviously if local college students dont watch it then its a bad move...this would have to be on of the best moveis ive ever seen, up there with The Departed, American History X and Downfall
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JUIKERAug 30, 2014
It is, in my humble opinion, perfect from start to finish, a visionary, thrilling, moving, completely unique film-watching experience. I love this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AJackson729Feb 19, 2011
An absolute masterpiece from Guillermo del Toro. A fairy tale movie for adults, this movie is perfectly done and brilliantly acted. You'll be mesmerized by the wonders of the fairy tale world that Ofelia dives into while at the same timeAn absolute masterpiece from Guillermo del Toro. A fairy tale movie for adults, this movie is perfectly done and brilliantly acted. You'll be mesmerized by the wonders of the fairy tale world that Ofelia dives into while at the same time shocked and terrified of the the reality she lives in. Please don't be deterred by the fact that the movie is in Spanish, and you'll have to read subtitles. Doing so will cause you to miss out an absolutely incredible film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ColinArcadeFireAug 29, 2010
I don't like all of Metacritics top-rated films, but this one..wow. Probably my favorite film of this decade. Everyone should see this. I love the trials Ophelia is forced to do, and the ending is very entertaining. A great movie to watch aI don't like all of Metacritics top-rated films, but this one..wow. Probably my favorite film of this decade. Everyone should see this. I love the trials Ophelia is forced to do, and the ending is very entertaining. A great movie to watch a few times. I always say the worse films are the ones you can only see once and you've seen it all. This one can be viewed multiple times and hardly ever gets boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MPVahalikSep 7, 2010
One of my favorite films of all time. I will admit that the first time I saw Fauno I jumped a bit. Very dark but very appealing. People just hate it because they can't read the subtitles.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Paul_YoonSep 20, 2010
Dark and twisted, but amazing and fabulous styles evoke not only the young but also the adult. This movie is really great fantasy movie for adults while the others, otherwise, aren't.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
triptychOct 9, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pans Labyrinth is a masterpiece of cinematic imagination. If one can't see the good in this film (and at the moment theres a 105 of you) then I commiserate with how you feel about the world. The most uplifting, disturbing, poignant, enchanting and mesmerising fairytale of all time- without doubt in my mind. Guillermo Del Toro is a true master. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TheQuietGamerSep 28, 2014
A stunning and dark fairy-tale movie. It's deep, moving, and filled with symbolism. It's a treat for the eyes with gorgeous effects and creatures that just look real. It's a mix of a fantasy and a war movie with touches of horror. It'sA stunning and dark fairy-tale movie. It's deep, moving, and filled with symbolism. It's a treat for the eyes with gorgeous effects and creatures that just look real. It's a mix of a fantasy and a war movie with touches of horror. It's overall just a work of art that can appeal to audiences of all ages, although due to some mature content and potentially frightening images it is probably better left to the older ones. Del Toro created a masterpiece, one that should be at the top of your must-watch list. It is one that will stick with you long after watching. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LachraugJan 22, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow people really didnt like this movie... i guess they just didnt get it, the violence is not some sort of sick twisted torture porn, it was to show exactly the world the girl was living in and just how hard it was for her. And for the record I'm not sure what everyones crying about how BAD the violence was in the movie when half the movies out there use so much more and its done just for the sake of it being there. The whole point of the fantasy world was the girls escape from this violence, so now it didnt have to be a mirror image of the war plot, instead it is a look into the mind of the girl and simply from the world she creates for herself we learn more about her as a character. *spoilers in this paragraph* Even though she creates this world she still puts an evil/violent spin on it as she cannot escape it but in her world she overcomes it. Sure she may not survive in the real world, she may not live and there may not be a happy ending in the real world, yet she still holds onto that belief that its possible and that right there gives us so much insight into the character of the girl, that even in her dying moments she still holds tight to this notion that everything is going to be ok... THAT is why we cry at the end of the film, that she, despite all this violence and even her dying she is still able to hold onto that innocence. The plot is very much modernist in so far as it creates a story that is trying to mimic that of real life, modernists were very much into the idea that a story didnt totally have a coherent plot or that it didnt follow the usual rising and following action or have a happy ending as that did not mimic real life. This movie does just that.

The problem is most people get it, some dont, they long for the comfort of the familiar rising and falling where everything is resolved in the end and if it doesnt follow that basic idea, that outline they get upset and storm off claiming its "screwed up" or "twisted" or just simply "stupid".

Though the one thing i can agree on it was marketed wrongly, I bought the movie when it first came out on DVD and expected a fantasy movie just like everyone else.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BShea423Mar 20, 2011
Fantastic movie. The stories of the war and the fairy tale going on in the middle blend very well, and the movie is worth reading (if you don't speak spanish). Very well acted and directed.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
FatalExcursionApr 20, 2011
Both haunting and strangely alluring with its stunning atmosphere of fantasy and ominous mystery, the innocence of Pan and the terrifying events that unfold around her in both realms of her life provide a journey for the imagination that isBoth haunting and strangely alluring with its stunning atmosphere of fantasy and ominous mystery, the innocence of Pan and the terrifying events that unfold around her in both realms of her life provide a journey for the imagination that is epic, but full of horror and sorrow that is woven into this majestic tale that is a modern classic that will stand the test of time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
canyouflyrayJan 15, 2012
This is why User Reviews can't be take seriously! 106 as of today people gave this movie a negative review? Really! Really! Wow you people are just brain dead mongoloids! Anyone who gives this movie a bad review there credibility is goneThis is why User Reviews can't be take seriously! 106 as of today people gave this movie a negative review? Really! Really! Wow you people are just brain dead mongoloids! Anyone who gives this movie a bad review there credibility is gone forever, yes it's never coming back. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
Pan's Labyrinth has been called, on countless occasions, "an adult's fairy tale." Not exactly. It's more like an adult's horribly repressed childhood nightmare. And, boy is that refreshing. It's all the innocence of childhood and imaginationPan's Labyrinth has been called, on countless occasions, "an adult's fairy tale." Not exactly. It's more like an adult's horribly repressed childhood nightmare. And, boy is that refreshing. It's all the innocence of childhood and imagination gone into the creepiest most horrific places. I enjoyed it. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
Potter17Aug 26, 2011
After seeing Pan's Labyrinth myself I could not find any word good enough to describe this film. It is a feat that only a great deal of originality and talent are capable of.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
SachiNov 17, 2011
Pan's Labyrinth is a good movie, it is creative, thrilling and entertaining. The dark twist to this movie is very well appreciated. The plot is great and visually dazzling, sure to keep you hooked and the acting is very good too. ThePan's Labyrinth is a good movie, it is creative, thrilling and entertaining. The dark twist to this movie is very well appreciated. The plot is great and visually dazzling, sure to keep you hooked and the acting is very good too. The creatures in the movie and scary and tense moments are very well played out. There are not really any flaws with the story other than maybe some tiny missteps but other than that it's good. Overall Pan's Labyrinth is a great movie that presents a great story while bringing much maturity, suspense, and entertainment to the fairy tale. Breakdown of "Pan's Labyrinth": Presentation: 9.7, Plot: 9.5, Acting: 9.8, Dialogue: 9.9, Lasting Apppeal: 9.6. Score: 9.7 out of 10 "Amazing" Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
savannahrummelJan 7, 2012
Not only is this movie visually stunning, ranging from innocent beauty to gruesome reality, not only does the director, Guillermo Del Toro, perfectly contrast a young girl's fantastic fairy tales with the Captain's brutality in war, Pan'sNot only is this movie visually stunning, ranging from innocent beauty to gruesome reality, not only does the director, Guillermo Del Toro, perfectly contrast a young girl's fantastic fairy tales with the Captain's brutality in war, Pan's Labyrinth is a moving and even philosophical story of someone trying to cope with the horrors of real life, a fable that transcends time. Probably one of the greatest movies ever made. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
heyitsmegrif4Feb 4, 2012
Pan's Labyrinth is imaginative, visually dazzling, magically adventurous, perfectly gruesome along with fantastic performances make this one of the greatest movies ever made and it is perfect for adults. I give this movie 98%.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
Alexander_FredDec 18, 2011
Beautiful, magical, visceral, disturbing. These are only a few words of many that can describe Pan's Labyrinth. By far, it is one of the greatest fantasy films of all time that parallels two stories, one realistic, the other fantastic, andBeautiful, magical, visceral, disturbing. These are only a few words of many that can describe Pan's Labyrinth. By far, it is one of the greatest fantasy films of all time that parallels two stories, one realistic, the other fantastic, and merges them together so that they end with ultimately the same message: Continue to dream and your dream will come true, even if only for yourself and even if only in death. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
DoehlApr 21, 2012
Guillermo del Toro creates a contrast between two worlds and a dazzling look at both war and a girl's way of coping with the horrors of her surroundings.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TrebliApr 3, 2012
Literally the best of them all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TrebluApr 13, 2012
This is a real movie. All movies should be like this.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JabbaOnCrackApr 2, 2013
Bravo Mr Del Toro, Bravo! You have succeeded in creating an engaging, compelling feature, combining fear and fantasy whilst exploring numerous issues including the deterioration of creativity as a result of exterior influences and theBravo Mr Del Toro, Bravo! You have succeeded in creating an engaging, compelling feature, combining fear and fantasy whilst exploring numerous issues including the deterioration of creativity as a result of exterior influences and the horrific impact of War. The acting is superb,Ivana Baquero is brilliant as Ophelia, vulnerable and inquisitive, her performance is frankly, worthy of an Oscar Nomination. Sergi Lopez is also brilliant as Vidal, Del Toro has effectively contrasted the respective natures of the two characters, Ophelia represents youth, creativity and optimism whilst Vidal is callous and violent. Del Toro's greatest success is the creation of Ophelia's alternate dimension. Stunning visual captivate a scene both beautiful and morbid. Del Toro has succeeded again in constructing a brilliant story from a concept that, without exceptional acting, set design, score and screenplay composition would fail to impress. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MarkAngelApr 14, 2013
Masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodApr 21, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Master-peace is really the only way to describe Pan's Labyrinth, what the film does with a simple premise is amazing, it basically reinvents the fairy tale genre by adding Darker, more realistic, circumstances to the situation presented by the film, Believable yet still feeling very Fictional, a fine blend between the two. Del Toro has really out done himself and you can see how much passion and work went into the project throughout chemistry between characters, the dialog, the amazing setting and visuals, every scene takes you by the hand and guides you through this fantastic film giving every little device detail and personality.

Watch the Film, it will win you other, truly the only way to watch this film is Subbed, if it is ever remade in English the simple structure, charm and beauty within the movie will be violated.

10/10: Master-peace
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SeriouslyRonJan 5, 2013
What a fantastic film! A masterful blend of horror, fantasy and drama. Del Toro is a true visionary. The fact that it's in Spanish makes it ten times better.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
BasaureHDec 19, 2012
A wonderful journey, though cruel and perverse. The first time I watched it I couldn't but feel overwhelmed by the performances, specially Ofelia and Vidal. The visuals are simply astounding, and the storytelling, captivating. This movie willA wonderful journey, though cruel and perverse. The first time I watched it I couldn't but feel overwhelmed by the performances, specially Ofelia and Vidal. The visuals are simply astounding, and the storytelling, captivating. This movie will endure in the hearts and souls of everyone who watched it, whether you love it or hate it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
NixySep 27, 2012
There are very few films that I would rate 10/10, but this is without a shadow of a doubt one of them. The plot is brilliant, the acting is brilliant, the cinematography is brilliant. This film made me feel so close to certain characters andThere are very few films that I would rate 10/10, but this is without a shadow of a doubt one of them. The plot is brilliant, the acting is brilliant, the cinematography is brilliant. This film made me feel so close to certain characters and so angry at others that there were moments I found difficult to watch, but to me that's a sure sign of a brilliant film.

To summarise without spoiling, the film is set in fascist Spain and centres around a young girl who's struggling to live through the horrors of this adult world she's been so unwillingly thrust into. As such, the film almost plays out the two 'sides of the story' seamlessly, so beautifully moulded together that the line between fantasy and reality is blurred. We see the world for what it is and the world for what the young girl makes it out to be, her coping strategy, to put it bluntly. I think Guillermo Del Toro perfectly illustrates the endlessly imaginative vision that children have of the world and its stark contrast with reality is what makes elements of this film so tragic.

A must watch.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
PersinOct 6, 2012
One of the most brutal films I have ever seen, not just in actual violence, but in mindset. At the same time, what a sweet, beautiful story, mixing the fantastic with the gritty realism of war. For anyone prepared for horror, excitement andOne of the most brutal films I have ever seen, not just in actual violence, but in mindset. At the same time, what a sweet, beautiful story, mixing the fantastic with the gritty realism of war. For anyone prepared for horror, excitement and sadness, I recommend it. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
hardwired7Oct 12, 2012
This movie moved me deeply in 2006, and hasn't stopped moving me since. The final scene is playing on a perpetual loop in the background of my mind. It is a canonical work of art.
25 of 29 users found this helpful254
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
Perhaps the greatest fantasy film of all time, Del Toro's labyrinth really cuts to your core. It not only bewilders with wonder and sensation, but also has a warm spirit and quietly dazzles its completely captive audience.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
SwatiJan 11, 2014
Pan's Labyrinth is one of those movies whose sound and look is so distinctive that you instantly recognize it. Guillermo del Toro combines great storytelling and elements of fantasy to create a surging plot which succeeds in capturing ourPan's Labyrinth is one of those movies whose sound and look is so distinctive that you instantly recognize it. Guillermo del Toro combines great storytelling and elements of fantasy to create a surging plot which succeeds in capturing our imagination, mood and emotions.

We follow two story lines. The one rooted in reality is about a secluded small town ruled by a despotic captain tasked with wiping out the remnants of the resistance which has taken shelter in the surrounding jungles. The other one is about a young girl, Ofelia, who is forced to accept the captain as her stepfather. She is fond of fairy tales which she carries everywhere. Whether the faun promising her passage to the virtually perfect world is an escapist fantasy of hers or not is left up to the viewer to decide.

Del Toro relies chiefly on score, voice-over and narration to create momentum. The editing was successful in keeping the audience eyeing every dialogue. The fact that the majority must have been following subtitles for the entire length of the movie did not lessen the effect the film has on you, but on the contrary created a world that was mesmerizing.

The movie is set in Francoist Spain. The art direction painted a vivid picture of the 1940s through depicting the buildings, cars and costumes of that era. We also get to witness some of the lifestyle of the time. The faun creature, who gives Ofelia tasks to complete in order to gain entrance into the Underground Realm was a particularly unique creation. The work done deserved the Oscar it received.

Frequently the story transitions into the fantasy part. We learn about the lost princess, who Ofelia thinks is herself. The pregnancy of Ofelia's mother is a major concern throughout the movie. It is feared that there's an informer for the rebels inside the camp, of whose identity Ofelia comes to learn of.

The captain is a megalomaniac who insults people with his every breath and is bent on destroying the insurgency. Despite proof of his madness, Del Toro resists the temptation of painting him as an irredeemable person. He shows leniency now and then, and on one occasion hints that loyalty to him would have worked out better for a certain character. He is a man built for conflict, and actively seeks it. He always carries a watch on him which ticks loudly to keep him on schedule, even in the middle of gunfights. He is also fond of torturing captured people.

The action sequences were well drawn and made what was happening clear. Light is used to control mood. The score is poignant and memorable and haunting. The visual effects creates the creatures of this fantasy world which rivals any done by the mainstream Hollywood. A lot of this creativity went into showing how people were killed.

The pace picks up during the second half. The resistance becomes bolder and gets reinforcements. There were a few scenes of cathartic killing and blood-letting. And we also learn the final fate of the main characters.

Despite the fact that the fantasy element has a marginal effect on the progress of the story, the movie becomes something special with its inclusion. The contrast between a child's wish to be somewhere safe where she would be loved and the skirmishes between the government troops and the rebels finally makes the message very clear in the end.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Nesbitt10Feb 8, 2013
Acclaimed director Guillermo del Toro ("Hellboy", "The Devil's Backbone"), creates one of the most exciting and visually stunning adult-themed fables ever. "Pan's Labyrinth" is one of the cinema's great fantasies--rich with darkness andAcclaimed director Guillermo del Toro ("Hellboy", "The Devil's Backbone"), creates one of the most exciting and visually stunning adult-themed fables ever. "Pan's Labyrinth" is one of the cinema's great fantasies--rich with darkness and wonder. It's a fairy tale of such potency and grandeur, that it reconnects the adult imagination to our primal thrill, and horror stories that held us spellbound as children. As gruesome and brutal as it is enchanting and spellbinding--"Pan's Labyrinth" is a movie intended for adults. It is a harsh, uncompromising film--but equally just as beautiful and moving."Pan's Labyrinth" is itself a narrative maze, with multiple stories that branch apart and back together again. This dark fairy tale plays out against the backdrop of Spain in 1944. A monstrous Fascist captain (López) is determined to flush out soldiers of the resistance, as his pregnant wife arrives at his countryside headquarters with her young daughter. The young girl Ofelia (Baquero), escapes the brutality of her new environment by drifting into a fantasy world where she comes across a mysterious faun. The faun tells her that she is a princess from a kingdom in the underground. The faun also tells that her that her father is waiting for her, but she needs to accomplish three challenging and dangerous assignments first. Ofelia's challenges do not arise like arbitrary plot obstacles--they are organic to her (and the movie's) development. She learns not only to follow instructions--and that there are heavy prices to pay for failing to abide by them. But also to trust her own instincts about what is right and wrong. In order to find her true self, she must also find the her inner-strength to break the rules imposed by authority. An individual conscience. What could be a more powerful anti-fascist weapon than that?
In a dark, harsh, and violent world, Ofelia lives in her magical world trying to survive her tasks and see her father again. Soon, the line between fantasy and reality begins to blur, and before Ofelia can turn back, she finds herself at the center of the ferocious battle between Good and Evil. Incredibly unique fable that blends fantasy and fearsome violence, ultimately merging the two stories together. Superbly realized--a rare film that invites repeated viewings to fully absorb all that writer-director del Toro has put into it. Oscar winner for Cinematography, Makeup, and Art Direction.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JDubree_OKC13Dec 7, 2012
Pan's Labyrinth is a fantasy film tailored to adults (think Alice in Wonderland for grown-ups). Del Toro masterfully combines elements of horror and drama to create an almost hybrid fantasy film. The film was brilliantly cast, and almostPan's Labyrinth is a fantasy film tailored to adults (think Alice in Wonderland for grown-ups). Del Toro masterfully combines elements of horror and drama to create an almost hybrid fantasy film. The film was brilliantly cast, and almost perfectly acted. For a fantasy film; the acting brought a sense of realism. The major high-point of this film is the story, which was beautifully crafted, and thoroughly entertaining. Pan's Labyrinth is an all around amazing fantasy film. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
HucksterApr 7, 2013
Six years since I first saw this but the imagery still burns in my mind. I always avoided subtitled films but this movie changed everything for me. Breathtaking, horrific, hypnotic..you cannot turn away. You can't discern where reality endsSix years since I first saw this but the imagery still burns in my mind. I always avoided subtitled films but this movie changed everything for me. Breathtaking, horrific, hypnotic..you cannot turn away. You can't discern where reality ends and fantasy begins. Del Toro blends it all into a terrifying, visceral nightmare. All you can do is ride it out to the bittersweet finale. I cannot fault this magical, highly original experience. You will not see many films of this calibre in your life. Such a fantastic, haunting, wonderful dream. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
HaithamBayazeedFeb 16, 2013
Magical is not enough to describe the feeling while watching "Pan's Labyrinth" words can not explain how much wonder this movie contains, it is my favorite movie of all time, exquisite, spectacular, dark, mysterious, sad, thrilling, all inMagical is not enough to describe the feeling while watching "Pan's Labyrinth" words can not explain how much wonder this movie contains, it is my favorite movie of all time, exquisite, spectacular, dark, mysterious, sad, thrilling, all in all, in one movie, which is so underrated, twisted, original, horrific, beautiful and the most important word which is not enough...MASTERPIECE! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
QuixsilverFeb 18, 2013
"Pan's Labyrinth" by Guillermo del Toro is a beautiful yet grim film about the fairy-tale-like story of a child set during the troubled times of the Spanish Civil War. Guillermo del Toro brings out the wonder of childhood innocence while"Pan's Labyrinth" by Guillermo del Toro is a beautiful yet grim film about the fairy-tale-like story of a child set during the troubled times of the Spanish Civil War. Guillermo del Toro brings out the wonder of childhood innocence while juxtaposing it to the harsh realities found in desperate times. It is a twisted fairy-tale that is shown aesthetically well and is told through the imaginative perspective of a child making fantasies to overcome struggles and tragedies. Del Toro's visual masterpiece is both plot and character driven and this combined with its dark themes make it an adult's fairy-tale that is easily toys with your emotions. Lovers of bittersweet endings will truly enjoy this film and even after the film is over; it continues to linger in your mind and may incite even further discussion. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ViolettApr 22, 2013
This is the most dark and brutal fantasy film I ever saw, even better than Sleeping Hollow. Amazing movie, I was chained to monitor from beginning to the end. Incredible precision and attention to details. Watch this if you dare.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
guyadfJun 6, 2013
great. This movie shows the pain and tragedy of war.
i can't enlish. so i can't write a reaview in english. but. this movie great i know it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JacobparkerMay 14, 2013
It's like a fairy tale a brutal fairy tale.
The characters, the costumes, the makeup, the amazing but sad story a really great fantasy highlight!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EpiclukoJul 9, 2013
It would be an understatement to say that this movie is even somewhat enjoyable. It is without a doubt one of the greatest fantasy films I have ever seen.
Guillermo del Toro has knocked this gem out of the park with amazingly horrific
It would be an understatement to say that this movie is even somewhat enjoyable. It is without a doubt one of the greatest fantasy films I have ever seen.
Guillermo del Toro has knocked this gem out of the park with amazingly horrific visuals, fantastic performances, outstanding intricacy all surrounded around a beautifully intelligent script.
If you are looking for a darker, maturer version of Alice in Wonderland, I couldn't recommend this film more strongly. This is the Citizen Kane of the fantasy genre. Check it out and experience the awe and enchantment of Pan's Labyrinth!
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JeveuzacJul 21, 2013
Una película espectacular, divertida, reflexiva, entretenida.
Es grandiosa de principio a fin. Sin duda de lo mejor que he visto en mi vida y la mejor pelicula que ha hecho Guillermo
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
azco98Apr 3, 2014
This movie blew my mind. Filled with a moving story and amazing visuals, Guillermo del Toro crafted his best movie to date. Be careful: it's not at all a kids movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ChaserelliAug 13, 2013
Marvelous to the deep core, 'Pan's Labyrinth' is s astounding, so fantastic, that one must wonder how Guillermo del Toro came about some of the instances in the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ilovemovieSep 19, 2013
if you said this movie was bad or average I will say why do you see movies
visuals are top notch every thing involving the film is top notch. the score,cinematography, the performance especially segi Lopez
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
nickrovertOct 25, 2013
With incredible visual effects and a superb collection of actors, 'Pan's Labyrinth', despite being a fantasy film, is emotionally raw, dark, and real. Despite its fairy tale-like imaginary properties, the film is heart-breaking and puts itsWith incredible visual effects and a superb collection of actors, 'Pan's Labyrinth', despite being a fantasy film, is emotionally raw, dark, and real. Despite its fairy tale-like imaginary properties, the film is heart-breaking and puts its protagonist through a distressing (and at times disturbing) adventure leading up to its tragic conclusion that will resonate with its viewers long after its closing credits pass. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Laekerson95Jan 31, 2014
During and after for a while, I didn't know how to think of this movie to be a masterpiece. But as one of my early mature film experiences, it took a day;s venture to discover that Pan's Labyrinth is the most unforgettably harmonious andDuring and after for a while, I didn't know how to think of this movie to be a masterpiece. But as one of my early mature film experiences, it took a day;s venture to discover that Pan's Labyrinth is the most unforgettably harmonious and well-contrasted and magical piece of cinematic film I've ever seen. Just my style, just my kind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Gdaddy72Sep 14, 2014
Del Toro is one of the few directors currently out there with the sort of unique vision that Kubrick or Lucas (forget the dialogue...think of the how far Star Wars was ahead of it's time in '77) had...Pan's Labyrinth is well deserving of it's 98...
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
naptakerOct 10, 2014
It's pretty understandable to seem why Pan's Labyrinth might seem overhyped (let's be real, a metascore of 98 is a little ridiculous), but, honestly, it's one of the few movies I'd consider deserving of it. Not only is it one of the mostIt's pretty understandable to seem why Pan's Labyrinth might seem overhyped (let's be real, a metascore of 98 is a little ridiculous), but, honestly, it's one of the few movies I'd consider deserving of it. Not only is it one of the most beautifully and painstakingly crafted films in recent memory (and all on a budget of only $19 million too, which is pretty impressive considering the size of a lot of movie budgets these days), but the writing manages to seamlessly blend a dark fairytale (that doesn't lose its sense of childhood wonder and mystery) with the searing drama of the Spanish Civil War. Everyone's acting is up to the task too, even the 11 year old's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMasterLOct 30, 2015
¡Que belleza de película! Del Toro y su increíble imaginación nos sorprenden una vez mas en esta película. Me encanto la relación entre el mundo real y un mundo mágico, donde al final no se sabe si todo lo que Ofelia vive es real o no. Las¡Que belleza de película! Del Toro y su increíble imaginación nos sorprenden una vez mas en esta película. Me encanto la relación entre el mundo real y un mundo mágico, donde al final no se sabe si todo lo que Ofelia vive es real o no. Las criaturas y demonios que Del Toro creo para esta película es de admirarse y de respetarse, pues a mi consideración creo unos personajes tan únicos y originales que le dan un toque fresco y innovador a esta película y se agradece que usaron poco CGI, el maquillaje y el diseño de vestuario se ve mas real y mas clásico. Es una de las mejores películas de fantasía de todos los tiempos, la mezcla de fantasía, horror, magia y suspenso hacen que "Pan's Labyrinth" sea un triunfo. Una aventura épica y mágica! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
thetvreviewmanNov 11, 2014
BEST MOVIE EVER. this movie is just perfect it has a great blend of drama and syfy/fantasy really a masterpiece that everyone should see at some point in their lives.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
WARCHILDJan 13, 2015
I have long felt this was Del Toro at his best. If you happen to be bi-lingual you would notice that the Spanish version offers a bit more depth and meaning to each scene. It can't be helped really, all translations lose a little something.I have long felt this was Del Toro at his best. If you happen to be bi-lingual you would notice that the Spanish version offers a bit more depth and meaning to each scene. It can't be helped really, all translations lose a little something. Nonetheless, Pan and Ofelia found a way into my own dreams, or nightmares? You can't help but respect this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrianAD9Jan 14, 2016
Not much can be said about this film that hasn't been said already. Pan's Labyrinth is a dark fairy tale for adults. Beautiful, emotional, brutal, and haunting, all in one. Part historical drama, part psychological thriller, part fantasy, theNot much can be said about this film that hasn't been said already. Pan's Labyrinth is a dark fairy tale for adults. Beautiful, emotional, brutal, and haunting, all in one. Part historical drama, part psychological thriller, part fantasy, the film is perfectly directed and acted, and with some really nice visuals as well. Not all the CG looks that great (the frog, for example), but it doesn't take away from the experience. Pan's Labyrinth is Guillermo del Toro's masterpiece, a film that will always be remembered for it's brilliance, it's brutal violence, and it's enthralling story, as well as a perfect ending. The only thing that could really take away from your experience with this fantastic film is that it's a bit lower-key than many might expect. Don't get caught up in all the hype. Does it deserve it? Every bit of it. But it's always best to go into a film with no expectations, lest you be let down, even by something as well-done as this. In the end, Pan's Labyrinth has quickly made it's way into my top 10 favorite films of all time, and is my favorite foreign language film. I highly recommend Pan's Labyrinth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Will_EarwoodJul 21, 2015
It really doesn't get much better than Pan's Labyrinth. A creative, well-written, well-acted story that seems more real than fantasy oftentimes. Del Toro's ability to turn fantasy into suspense at any moment is what makes the story more thanIt really doesn't get much better than Pan's Labyrinth. A creative, well-written, well-acted story that seems more real than fantasy oftentimes. Del Toro's ability to turn fantasy into suspense at any moment is what makes the story more than just a fairytale. While most fantasy concepts are in some way predicated upon resolved suspense throughout its plot and in reaching its conclusion, not all are able to fuse the two such that neither one or the other is its own. As a result, Pan's Labyrinth transcends our expectations and preconceptions and reaches its audience in more than one way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jedwardsAug 30, 2015
Speaking as someone with a distaste for all things fantasy, this is one of the most incredible films I have ever seen. It is brilliantly directed, acted and written. The fantasy world serves to convey a message of escapism and perfectlySpeaking as someone with a distaste for all things fantasy, this is one of the most incredible films I have ever seen. It is brilliantly directed, acted and written. The fantasy world serves to convey a message of escapism and perfectly juxtaposes the reality of civil war torn Spain. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JoshuaTobackJul 29, 2016
Even after 10 years, Pans Labyrinth is still as perfect as it was in 2006. look, this movie is dirty. This movie doesn't hold back punches, both mentally and physically it will crush you. Guillermo del Toro is a master of saying everythingEven after 10 years, Pans Labyrinth is still as perfect as it was in 2006. look, this movie is dirty. This movie doesn't hold back punches, both mentally and physically it will crush you. Guillermo del Toro is a master of saying everything with nothing, and that makes even the smallest scenes more impactful than some three hour movies. I'd go into more details but this movie STILL shouldn't be spoiled. Seriously, if you call yourself a film lover, you absolutely must see it.

Note: It's in Spanish.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CavafyJan 5, 2016
An extraordinary and powerful film that left an informed audience in silence.

A film on many levels, part mythical, part a story of a violent and internecine period of great brutality set in Spain. But what is the film all about? The
An extraordinary and powerful film that left an informed audience in silence.

A film on many levels, part mythical, part a story of a violent and internecine
period of great brutality set in Spain.

But what is the film all about? The film sucks you in; whilst in Spanish and
with sub-titles, I had no sense of “reading” these sub-titles but rather a sense
of both watching and being sucked into a powerful story.

The film makes sense when you put in an even more brutal scene played out
almost nine months previously. The captain has clearly terrorised the area
and all the surrounding communities. We have learnt that mother knows it is
important that Ofelia recognise the captain as father; we know that Ofelia is
coldly indifferent or more towards him; that at the time of the dinner she
wilfully rolls in the mud – though ostensibly away with a faun (Pan has
always been the go-between twixt man and gods, being half man and half
mythical beast, a messenger and chord of communication with the other
World) – ruining the expensive shoes and beautiful dress that her mother has
given her for the occasion – Ofelia of course knows that such dress was
provided indirectly by her “father” the captain.

We learn that the mother is considered a great beauty, though in the film she
does not come across so, seeming a shadow, a shell of her perhaps previously
vibrant self; in conversation between her brother-to-be-born, Ofelia talks of
the wondrous way her mother comes alive when she smiles, informing he and
us that her present austerity and zombie condition is not all she can be ..
We know that Ofelia’s real father was a tailor, that the captain was one of his
clients; and the unseen, unshot scene of nine months previous comes
harrowingly view.

The captain whilst being fitted for a new uniform espies the beautiful wife of
his tailor, he must have her and he kills the father and rapes the mother. In
shades on the Tin Drum we see Ofelia perhaps observing this from beneath
the table and we understand what has driven this child to seek the solace and
comfort of her make-believe book-driven world…

We now understand the opening scene; the late arrival with birth imminent of
the mother and Ofelia and the Faustian pact that mother has made.
We can imagine this butcher, this captain, king of his territory seeing this
beautiful woman ripen into pregnancy carrying the child he must have
fathered and in the death-throes of a war he knows is lost the imperative of
the necessity for him to gather to him his heir – we have been told that he is
illogically certain that the unborn is a boy and we know he is totally unfeeling
to the mother and that her death is of no concern, but rather, at all costs, and
at any risk to the mother, the birth of his son and heir is paramount.
So he sends his troops and convoy to fetch this woman, this carrier of his
ripening seed, such that he too can pass on his watch..

The last scene, the death of Ofelia shot by the captain sees that as her life force
ebbs she seeks refuge in becoming her fairy princess alongside her mother
and real father and thus can, and does die, with an almost smile on her lips.. This is the only way that makes sense of this sometimes graphically brutal tragedy; the way a young girl seeks refuge from brutal reality and in the understanding comes an even greater sense of this time of brutality and savagery, which whilst set in the aftermath of the real civil war – the captain at one point reminding us of this by proclaiming that such war his side had “won” – sees an extension of this under the cloak of the broader 2nd world war. One of the best, perhaps even the best film I have seen that clearly has marked the psyche and consciousness of all who have seen it; though not one for either the faint-hearted or those without the backdrop understanding of this traumatic period. The impact and trauma of the times and the way this reverberates through the generations to the present day is a theme indirectly explored in the book by Robert Wilson, “The Blindman of Seville”, which book I am now moved to reread; or should I instead re-read “The Wisdom of Crocodiles” a book which explores the extreme consequentiality of disparate actions… A powerful film that has had me thinking all night and caused me to put pen to paper at 4am…..
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
night4Apr 5, 2016
Simply fantastic! I truly enjoy experiencing what another country or culture would consider to be "fantasy" since they all seem to have different interpretations of the genre.

The darkness in both the fantasy elements of the movie, and
Simply fantastic! I truly enjoy experiencing what another country or culture would consider to be "fantasy" since they all seem to have different interpretations of the genre.

The darkness in both the fantasy elements of the movie, and the "real life" portions mirror each other perfectly and artfully. I will never forget this movie as long as I live.

There are very, very few movies that deserve a 10/10, and this is one of them.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
badfantasyrxSep 14, 2016
An incredible look into the clash between mythology and technology, between childhood and real life, Pan's Labyrinth is a visual masterpiece that pulls you in and leaves you empty, and wanting more.

Tatianna Anne Jindra
on YouTube
BadfantasyRx
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DenathornDec 22, 2016
Pan's Labyrinth is my absolute favorite movie of all time. It is so incredibly magical, and just thrilling all around. The creatures Guillermo del Toro has created are just stunning. Everything about this movie is amazing, I truly believePan's Labyrinth is my absolute favorite movie of all time. It is so incredibly magical, and just thrilling all around. The creatures Guillermo del Toro has created are just stunning. Everything about this movie is amazing, I truly believe it is a perfect movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RichYApr 14, 2008
I missed this in the cinema and on DVD but finally watched it on TV, and it more than lives up to the critics score. I haven't watched a subtitled film in years and was worried that it would be distracting, but the film keeps such a I missed this in the cinema and on DVD but finally watched it on TV, and it more than lives up to the critics score. I haven't watched a subtitled film in years and was worried that it would be distracting, but the film keeps such a hold on you that you're virtually reading them subconsciously. The idiots who scored 0 for this film are the ones that can't watch and read at the same time, or just refuse to accept that a foreign language film can be good too! Maybe if it was dubbed they would have scored it higher? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
gabrielFeb 9, 2010
I thought this movie was fantastic. The acting was superb. I don't understand why people are complaining about the movie being too violent. It was my understanding that war is a bloody horrific thing. Hm. Maybe I'm wrong? Also, In I thought this movie was fantastic. The acting was superb. I don't understand why people are complaining about the movie being too violent. It was my understanding that war is a bloody horrific thing. Hm. Maybe I'm wrong? Also, In my opinion this movie was about a young girl using her imagination to help her escape and cope with the traumatic situation she was in. I thought it made perfect sense that the movie didn't focus that much on the fantasy element, which I saw upset some reviewers. Lastly, in regards to Nathaniel Z.'s comment, Ofelia and Ophelia are both correct. As you should know, names are spelled differently, constantly. Get used to it. And, she was bleeding out of her nose, because it is possible that after she got shot in the stomach that she had internal bleeding. Please, do your own research before criticizing the absolutely dumbest things. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JOhnJan 20, 2007
This film was excellent. To those who scored below and gave the film a low rating because it didn't contain enough fantasy...you missed the point. The fantasy backdrop was brillantly, and purposefully used, as a mirror to the real world This film was excellent. To those who scored below and gave the film a low rating because it didn't contain enough fantasy...you missed the point. The fantasy backdrop was brillantly, and purposefully used, as a mirror to the real world events unfolding in the film. If the film was more of a "pure fantasy" then that aspect of the film (the political allegory) would have been lost. Loved it. Fantastic. See this and Children of Men back to back. Both great, intelligent, politically charged films that don't pander to the crass, thoughtless impulses of most films. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MH.Apr 5, 2007
This is a great film for several reasons and I personally enjoyed it thoroughly, but it is hated by many who expected a charming flick about little girls befriending mythical creatures. The only real criticisms seem to be that there was too This is a great film for several reasons and I personally enjoyed it thoroughly, but it is hated by many who expected a charming flick about little girls befriending mythical creatures. The only real criticisms seem to be that there was too much violence and not enough fantasy, which already would suggest that the people who use these criticisms simply went to see the wrong film (and would probably have been more content to rent out Disney Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PizzleRizzleMay 5, 2007
I'm somewhat of a pessimist in general going into movies, and this case is no different. This movie was absolutely not what I expected in any sense. That being said, I was enthralled from start to finish. I viewed everything from the I'm somewhat of a pessimist in general going into movies, and this case is no different. This movie was absolutely not what I expected in any sense. That being said, I was enthralled from start to finish. I viewed everything from the perspective of the girl, and truly enjoyed the blurred lines between fantasy and reality. It was impossible to know where the girl's mind ended and reality started. The shocking violence was also refreshing. Only disney made fairy tales family-friendly. Hansel and Gretel is one of the most brutal and disturbing stories for a child. Their parents abandoned them, a witch tried to cannibalize them, and then they murdered her via fire. This film is what a fairy tale is supposed to be: invigorating, tragic, and thought-provoking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeetonJohnsonJun 1, 2007
This movie is probably the most wierd movie you'll ever see, yet one of the most amazing. A mix of horror and fantasy, with a dose of reality stuck in there. Even if you don't speak Spanish, and have to read the subtitles, unless This movie is probably the most wierd movie you'll ever see, yet one of the most amazing. A mix of horror and fantasy, with a dose of reality stuck in there. Even if you don't speak Spanish, and have to read the subtitles, unless you hate to read, you should love this movie. Great music accompanies some great acting. I just wish it would have shown more of Ofelia's adventure and less of the war. One of the greatest movies of 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CTJun 2, 2007
A modern version of classical fairy tales before they were Disney-fied or even Victorianized. A cautionary tale set in a world mixing fantasy and reality, with a child heroine having to make life and death decisions yet showing her naivety A modern version of classical fairy tales before they were Disney-fied or even Victorianized. A cautionary tale set in a world mixing fantasy and reality, with a child heroine having to make life and death decisions yet showing her naivety and innocence until the very last frame. Reflects a place where children are much more involved in the brutality of war and nature; something most Western children are removed from except for their game consoles or news broadcasts. Read some pre-Victorian or non-Western children's stories and you may see why this more modern story is told so well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EduardoM.Jul 1, 2007
One of the best movies, I´ve ever seen, I watched it some days ago and I could not yet forget it. Wonderful, absolutely unforgettable, full of magic, power and breath-taking images. It creates a universe of its own, powerful, intense, One of the best movies, I´ve ever seen, I watched it some days ago and I could not yet forget it. Wonderful, absolutely unforgettable, full of magic, power and breath-taking images. It creates a universe of its own, powerful, intense, original. A visionary film whose power of creation is unparalleled. A great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JordanHJul 20, 2007
Word of the wise, if you don't like violence well then don't watch this movie. The movie is rated R for GRAPHIC VIOLENCE and some language! It's pathetic to say, this movie was dumb because it was violent! Please read the Word of the wise, if you don't like violence well then don't watch this movie. The movie is rated R for GRAPHIC VIOLENCE and some language! It's pathetic to say, this movie was dumb because it was violent! Please read the before you watch obviously. Well... Pan's Labyrinth was really good. It was just.. I don't know new in a way but old in another. Just watch the damn movie and decide for yourself but before you watcha and say it's stupid remember GRAPHIC VIOLENCE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerC.Feb 6, 2008
The most successful of it's kind. Great, memorable scenes. Beautiful and grotesque, always tense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarioJan 15, 2009
Pan's labyrinth is a must, if you haven't rent it, then DO IT! it's a nice movie I loved it and I hope everyone else does.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveA.Jan 27, 2007
This movie was beautiful. I think a lot of people were upset because the movie was part war movie. However, that half of the movie was as well written as the fantasy part, and it had as many good twists in it. Perhaps, the movie's This movie was beautiful. I think a lot of people were upset because the movie was part war movie. However, that half of the movie was as well written as the fantasy part, and it had as many good twists in it. Perhaps, the movie's American audience is burned out on war movies (and war period). I can also see a back-lash toward Eastwood's current war movie. Anyhow, I found this to be a wonderful movie. I loved the Mercedes character. Not only was she extremely humble and kind, but her fate seemed grave, and you could see the sadness and fear in her eyes throughout. To a lesser extent, my heart also went out for the little girl. However, the child was so entrenched in her fantasies (and her situation more hopeful) that it gave the character less rooting power than the Mercedes character. I think that might have hurt the end a little. Furthermore, by giving his artestry back to his people, Del Toro probably did the right thing. However, I also feel that Del Toro cooked his golden goose. If this movie had been made in English, it probably would have swept the Oscars and box office. (But is that what movie making is about?) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JordanZ.Jan 4, 2007
Too much time wasted on the general and the relationship between the worker and her secret soldier lover. It should've focused more on the girl. More on fantasty. Less on bullshit realism and people. BUT, this is a wonderful film. Too much time wasted on the general and the relationship between the worker and her secret soldier lover. It should've focused more on the girl. More on fantasty. Less on bullshit realism and people. BUT, this is a wonderful film. Really beautiful, nicely shot, creates tension, sadness, really evokes emotion, some nice shots, really good stuff here. certainly one of the year's best but it does have it's problem (as mentioned above). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
YokSanFeb 10, 2007
"there wasn't enough car chases"
"this film ruined my weekend and my life boo fucking hoo"
why dont you walking rainclouds fuck off. You'd give a film of the edge of the universe a bad review if you thought it was controverisal
"there wasn't enough car chases"
"this film ruined my weekend and my life boo fucking hoo"
why dont you walking rainclouds fuck off. You'd give a film of the edge of the universe a bad review if you thought it was controverisal enough to make people pay attention to you for 15 seconds.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful
9
marksfreecomixcartoonistFeb 4, 2007
Beautiful and gut-wrenching, fantastic and sad, people openly wept all around me. I am strongly tempted to give it a 10 'cause it really succeeds in all it attempts to do. Acting, story everything worked. Del Toro is a poet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimB.Feb 9, 2007
Excellent movie, very beautiful and surprisingly deep.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
T.userMar 28, 2007
This film was a work of art a brilliant story that takes you into a world of fantasy. I had no expectations going into the movie as I didnt know what the movie was about. I was positivley surprised at how mindblowing this movie was I could This film was a work of art a brilliant story that takes you into a world of fantasy. I had no expectations going into the movie as I didnt know what the movie was about. I was positivley surprised at how mindblowing this movie was I could not leave my seat for fear of missing anything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SenBApr 27, 2007
The film had visuals that complemented the film instead of being the centerpiece, which is a really good thing considering that fantasy films nowadays are bombarded with CGI. the reality and the fantastical aspects were handled nicely and The film had visuals that complemented the film instead of being the centerpiece, which is a really good thing considering that fantasy films nowadays are bombarded with CGI. the reality and the fantastical aspects were handled nicely and gelled well near the ending. but this is not for the faint of heart. my body became mush after a scene with the captain and the maid in the storeroom where the rations were held. *shivers* Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanS.May 16, 2007
Powerful and always engrossing, this tale is not too sad nor bloody for most adutls and young people to see. The acting and cinematography are simply terrific. I hope that theatre managers keep this on the screen long enough for the Powerful and always engrossing, this tale is not too sad nor bloody for most adutls and young people to see. The acting and cinematography are simply terrific. I hope that theatre managers keep this on the screen long enough for the favorable word of mouth to get around. I plan to see it again on DVD sometime. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattMay 20, 2007
Everyone who has been criticizing this movie, with the interesting exception of K Henderson, is simply too stupid to understand it. Go see Spiderman. Henderson brings up interesting points, notably the plot holes (what motivated the General Everyone who has been criticizing this movie, with the interesting exception of K Henderson, is simply too stupid to understand it. Go see Spiderman. Henderson brings up interesting points, notably the plot holes (what motivated the General to kill the little girl? That should have been developed a little more. I'd be interested to see what other holes you found.) Also, it's hard because the main character is an 11 year old girl who did phenominally, but still just can't be expected to develop the on screen complexity of an adult. I'll address a few people's stupid issues at this time: 1. PnArdy--art is not supposed to be entertaining. It's supposed to be beautiful. You're obviously not Spanish, so the facists mean nothing to you, but it dominates the psyches of most Spaniards born before 1975 (including my current teacher.) It is one of the most profound horrors in human history, even if it is almost entirely overlooked by Americans. 2. P E--the ending is not a cop out. It shows that peace and the ability to resist facism, as represented by the girl who disobeyed her facist leader, is only a fantasy. The reality is all those rebels are going to die within 24 hours. It's actually one of the most profound endings I've ever seen. 3. E R--the characters are not one dimensional entirely. Why does Mercedes continue to serve the captain instead of fighting with her brother? Why does the mother allow the captain to dominate her and why does she crush her girl's fantasies? Why does the girl decide to eat the grapes? One dimensional characters would not do such things. Admittedly, there is little moral gray area within the characters (except the mother, who is not evil but is considered worthy of death, apparently, for her passivity, which is one of the strongest and most powerful messages of the entire movie.) However, the movie is an allegory. Allegories are not meant to have much gray area. Also, the fact that the fantasy world was unpleasant until the end is the point of the allegory (fantasy=facism except in the fantasy land, when the girl disobeys she is exalted and lives while in real life she dies.) It is actually one of the most difficult films to interpret I've ever seen. I've had to think about it for half an hour and write about it. 4. Doug R--go see Spiderman. Not going to go on. Basically, one must know a lot about the Spanish Civil War to appreciate this movie, and one must be willing to understand the allegory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobE.May 7, 2007
I don't understand the people bashing this film. It's not a fantasy film, not does it have any intention on being one. The fantasy elements are the girl's way of escaping an otherwise terrible life. As for a cop-out ending, I don't understand the people bashing this film. It's not a fantasy film, not does it have any intention on being one. The fantasy elements are the girl's way of escaping an otherwise terrible life. As for a cop-out ending, how can you say that everyone winds up happy. There's no celebration with the rebel victory, as they know a looming threat still exists in franco and the fascists. As for the girl, she's dead, the only reason she's happy in the fantasty is because she'd rather die then live in her reality. To say the movie is a cliche of oversimplified elements is just to go against the grain and refuse to admit to the film's popular reception. It's a fantastic film and a entertaining, moving experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonasH.Jun 15, 2007
Great movie, expressing in a new manner the horrors of the Franco regime, and finally with proper effects, in opposition to earlier tries to do the same. It's not a family movie though, and can be somewhat depressing, if you don't Great movie, expressing in a new manner the horrors of the Franco regime, and finally with proper effects, in opposition to earlier tries to do the same. It's not a family movie though, and can be somewhat depressing, if you don't like analyzing that is, which is probably why many fantasy fans gave it bad grades. A perfect mix in my point of view. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickH.Jul 12, 2007
Brilliant movie. Fantastic imagery, and quite moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregRRAug 20, 2007
Beautiful. Haunting. Ending featured an astounding juxtaposition of heartbreak and joy. Took my breath away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KakesarS.Apr 7, 2008
I really can't understand where some of these ridiculously negative views of the movie are coming from, other than the fact that in some ways the movie has been slightly overrated. Still, it certainly doesn't deserve such a harsh I really can't understand where some of these ridiculously negative views of the movie are coming from, other than the fact that in some ways the movie has been slightly overrated. Still, it certainly doesn't deserve such a harsh rating as 4, letalone 0. The movie was dark and emotional. There was enough fantasy to satisfy and the switching between harsh reality and mystical adventure brought a very powerful twist to the movie. I felt that the few violent scenes were well placed and did well to demonstrate the barbaric and sadistic behaviour of the fascist stepfather. That said, I was slightly disappointed as I feel the movie could have offered more. Unlike some people, though, I'm not going to give the movie a bad score just because it had untapped potential - it was still a fantastic viewing experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EmmaN.Jul 19, 2008
Brilliant movie. It's so refreshing to watch a film like this. Each scene was obviously very well thought out. The sound and picture seemed so beautifully crisp. Marvelous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidO.Sep 29, 2008
A beautifully told allegory about power, love, innocence.. I could go on, but firstly... Nathaniel Z, what are you sniffing?! You say you haven't got time to properly criticize the movie. Well, don't. Your self-important opinions A beautifully told allegory about power, love, innocence.. I could go on, but firstly... Nathaniel Z, what are you sniffing?! You say you haven't got time to properly criticize the movie. Well, don't. Your self-important opinions are misguided and, at their worst, completely irrelevant. For example, you say Del Toro is obese, but my next door neighbor has an orange cat (and if that confuses you, you've just subtly got my point)... Del Toro rocks. I could hug his big, cuddly ass. P.S. What are you even doing reading this anyway? I won't be bothering; better things to do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrettKOct 10, 2009
Very good movie. Reminded me of a cross between Schindler's List and The Secret Garden.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewC.Jul 13, 2009
Would give it a 9.5 if I could but rounding down I go to a '9'. @ Matt C: What movie were you hoping to see when you went and saw this film? I get the feeling you just want to coast through life, movies, and the universe, with Would give it a 9.5 if I could but rounding down I go to a '9'. @ Matt C: What movie were you hoping to see when you went and saw this film? I get the feeling you just want to coast through life, movies, and the universe, with nothing taxing your brain throughout the whole safe, bland experience. @ Brian L: I would not call the violence in this movie 'exquisite', but neither do I agree with all your negative inaccuracies about the film. There is horror in this film, to be sure. And it is brutal and shocking - I guarantee you that's how it happened in real life. I hate to break it to you, but humans can be more monstrous than any fantastical creature. In sync and alongside the horrifying way humans treat each other in the film is the fantastical element of the piece. No, it's not Disney - and you seem upset by this. I am not sure what you were expecting but I think you were definitely on the wrong track mate, regarding fairies and what-have-you. The torture scenes were very tastefully done - you barely see anything, but are left with a lot of nasty things to the imagination. You mentioned exploding brains - not a one to be seen - are you mixing this film up with a more mindless horror flick? I graduated from film school. but I am not a 'pro reviewer', as you say: I just see and appreciate the movie for what it is, don't let any preconceived ideas taint my online text. My quick summary of this film - honestly a truly powerful film. A quite stunning blend of brutal history with an seamless injection of fantasy that has to be seen to be understood how effortlessly it entwines into the story. In fact, I don't think I've experienced another film that blends reality and fantasy as seamlessly as this film. The only detraction for me is the ultimate ending, and even this is fine except for certain little things. The 'correct choice' at the end seems rather cliched, in the sense that the film deals with it very quickly and moves on with such speed that it feels we are running out of time. However, apart from that small flaw this film truly is quite incredible. I encourage all of you to watch this film - you probably won't see anything quite as incredible for a few years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GustavoFDec 29, 2006
Just beautful. In every way. I won't say any more, just go see it. Saw this in Madrid last month and I really recommend everyone in the States goes and sees it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NewtG.Jan 13, 2007
First off, this movie is actually not in the least bit gratuitous when it comes to violence. Deemed "hyper-violent," there is actually very little blood/gore shown in the movie. Other than that minor point, the movie is a unique and nicely First off, this movie is actually not in the least bit gratuitous when it comes to violence. Deemed "hyper-violent," there is actually very little blood/gore shown in the movie. Other than that minor point, the movie is a unique and nicely imagined picture that's almost perfect. Besides Mercedes' unexplicable decision to not kill the captain, ther are very few things the movie does poorly. A little more fantasy and a little less revolution could have made the movie better. The fantasy plays truer to Del Toro's style, so it's strange that he doesn' delve more into that. But this movie stays with you long after it ends. It leaves you deeply affected and shaken, which was most likely Del Toro's intent. 97? No, it's not that incredible, but it's quite close and is by and far the best movie so far this year. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful