Paper Heart

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 35
  2. Negative: 12 out of 35
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aaron
    Sep 8, 2009
    0
    I went into the movie a fairly big fan of Charlyne Yi, but by the end I truthfully wanted to kill myself. This movie is incredibly pretentious, and I totally agree with the reviewer who said that this movie is too aware of its own cuteness. The movie drags on what feels like an hour too long, which is distressing, considering it's only an hour and a half. I'm okay with movies I went into the movie a fairly big fan of Charlyne Yi, but by the end I truthfully wanted to kill myself. This movie is incredibly pretentious, and I totally agree with the reviewer who said that this movie is too aware of its own cuteness. The movie drags on what feels like an hour too long, which is distressing, considering it's only an hour and a half. I'm okay with movies posing questions but not fully answering them and having the audience reflect on the situations given them, but this movie really had nothing to present. It was mindless, pointless, and I'm utterly depressed I will never get my time back again! Expand
  2. BryanT
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie. It is very cute!!
  3. DaveC
    Aug 9, 2009
    0
    Pretentious. Pointless. Artificial. Save your money.
  4. Wes
    Aug 9, 2009
    9
    Um, I don't know what all the negative reviews are about, or what those reviewers thought they were going to see. The only way you couldn't love this movie is if you went in to it already deciding to hate anything sweet or sincere. I think most reviewers were already poised to type the word twee before they walked into the theater. Who cares if it's twee, not everything has Um, I don't know what all the negative reviews are about, or what those reviewers thought they were going to see. The only way you couldn't love this movie is if you went in to it already deciding to hate anything sweet or sincere. I think most reviewers were already poised to type the word twee before they walked into the theater. Who cares if it's twee, not everything has to be insincere and cynical. I didn't feel this movie crossed any line there. It's just... fun and great. The fact that it is both a doc and a romantic comedy shouldn't be points against it Expand
  5. EmaS.
    Aug 19, 2009
    9
    Pretentious movie critics probably wouldn't like a film like this, since they seem to be composed of the jaded, glass-half-full type people. This movie was probably too encouraging and endearing for them, but I can tell you when I watched Paper Heart, the crowd was enjoying its time and found the movie to be delightfully humorous and insightful from all different angles at the same Pretentious movie critics probably wouldn't like a film like this, since they seem to be composed of the jaded, glass-half-full type people. This movie was probably too encouraging and endearing for them, but I can tell you when I watched Paper Heart, the crowd was enjoying its time and found the movie to be delightfully humorous and insightful from all different angles at the same time. I honestly thought it was sincere, regardless of some of the set-up circumstances, which accentuated the original idea of the film, as director Jasenovec suggested it would. However, you can't walk into this film expecting it to solve your life's problems. I don't know how this film could be viewed as pretentious, as an enormous amount of opinion was given from a good variety of people. Certainly, most of it was positive and that was probably the feeling that the film production wanted to create, but that definitely wasn't out of malcontent. The idea wasn't to paint a rosy picture of what love is - at least, that's what I felt. For people like Norm G - why on earth would you pay to see a film that a) stars two actors you don't even remotely like, and b) concerns itself with a topic you couldn't care less about? By the way, how pointless of you to make a statement about how unattractive the leads are - or, to write a review which holds no insight to the readers. Expand
  6. LeeP
    Aug 29, 2009
    7
    We went to see this movie as an antidote to District 9 and the incredibly violent previews that preceded it. We enjoyed it. Not a work of genius but gentle, sweet, with some good moments. Got a little tired of Charlene Yi after a while. It helps to enjoy Michale Cera. If you don't like him, you probably won't enjoy this movie. But it is better than many reviewers are saying.
  7. NormG
    Aug 9, 2009
    0
    I hated just about every minute of Paper Heart. The two leads are so unattractive and annoying I had to fight the urge to flee the cinema. This is a faux-reality-documentary about, I guess, a journey find out what love is. I cared even less about this so-called mission. What piece of garbage.
  8. Mar 12, 2011
    5
    I was really looking forward to this movie, and I must say, I was disappointed. The over all choppy context and lack of keeping a story line gets old quick. I also never felt like I really was given a chance to get to know the characters, which is always a pretty big downer. Not to say there aren't any cute, funny,genuinely good moments, but that's just the problem:they're only moments,I was really looking forward to this movie, and I must say, I was disappointed. The over all choppy context and lack of keeping a story line gets old quick. I also never felt like I really was given a chance to get to know the characters, which is always a pretty big downer. Not to say there aren't any cute, funny,genuinely good moments, but that's just the problem:they're only moments, and they're pretty out of place. A lot of the movie also relies on the quirkiness of the two leads, a lot of times it was like, "Well, this scene is getting dull, let's just get a laugh at how awkward Micheal Cera is." It might not be a waste of time to see this movie, but it was a let down for me. Collapse
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Jessica Baxter
    90
    Cera once again does his "Michael Cera thing." Personally, I love his "thing" but know it’s not for everyone, and I agree that it doesn’t always work contextually. But trust me, here it really works.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    60
    A "hybrid documentary" that bemusedly blurs the line between fact and fiction.
  3. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    50
    There may be a fairly sharp line dividing those who find the whole delightfully odd, and those irked by what could be read as a faux childlike simplicity to the enterprise.