User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 80
  2. Negative: 4 out of 80
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Matt
    May 27, 2007
    9
    A remarkable achievement in animation. Wildly imaginative and thought provoking.
  2. TM.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing. best film on dreams I have ever seen, and one of the best films of the decade. need to see it again to delve further into the dream.
  3. ArthurC.
    May 30, 2007
    9
    Not only does it contain the unbelievable visual beauty that is Japanese anime, it also features a taut, exciting thriller that keeps you ensnared throughout. If only Hollywood could figure out the magic that is within Paprika.
  4. RossB.
    Jun 2, 2007
    9
    Absolutely amazing. After watching it twice on opening night, I'm still not quite sure I understand the events of the climax, but I sat through this movie with a huge grin on my face and still can't help smiling when I think about it. I sincerely hope that this film becomes popular enough to upend the "animation is for children" meme. I've certainly never seen animation so Absolutely amazing. After watching it twice on opening night, I'm still not quite sure I understand the events of the climax, but I sat through this movie with a huge grin on my face and still can't help smiling when I think about it. I sincerely hope that this film becomes popular enough to upend the "animation is for children" meme. I've certainly never seen animation so utterly and convincingly realistic while also showing scenery and action that's so radically imaginative. I can already tell that I'm going to have to see it in the theater a third time, and I haven't seen a movie more than once in the theater since Return of the Jedi. Expand
  5. OthoS.
    Jun 8, 2007
    8
    I couldn't make heads or tails of this movie, but the quality of the animation and the sheer, unbridled weirdness is appealing. I'd love to talk to Kon to find out what the HELL he is trying to convey.
  6. konceptz
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    The truth of this film, although a nightmare to some and a dream to others, is a reality which we can no longer ignore.
  7. TroyK.
    Oct 26, 2007
    7
    Truly in a class of his own. Great flick!
  8. RobertE.
    Jun 12, 2007
    9
    The first film I've seen that captures the shape-shifting and ineffable subtlety of dream symbolism. Jung would smile to see it.
  9. [Anonymous]
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    Inspiring, memorable and downright hilarious. It's a pretty polarizing film - some like it, some don't - but it's worth your money any way you look at it.
  10. JohnB.
    May 27, 2007
    10
    Did I dream up this entire hour and a half mind warp? Like a dream, it jumps from one idea to the next, with a loose thread tying everything together. It has a surreal and stream of conscience technique that is sure to make your head spin more than enough. Paprika masterfully draws you in and never lets go. It's a movie like this that makes me fully realize the extent to which Did I dream up this entire hour and a half mind warp? Like a dream, it jumps from one idea to the next, with a loose thread tying everything together. It has a surreal and stream of conscience technique that is sure to make your head spin more than enough. Paprika masterfully draws you in and never lets go. It's a movie like this that makes me fully realize the extent to which animation can go. The best parts of Paprika however are the subtleties that are not so obvious such as many puns and its plays on visuals. I can't seriously find a flaw in this movie. This is simply a masterpiece that deserves to be experienced. The point of Paprika is to be confused and brought to the point that you no longer pay attention to the plot but rather revel in the beauty of the animation and let the movie itself take over you. Don't be surprised if you end up having a dream about Paprika and dancing appliances after viewing this brilliant piece of animation. Expand
  11. 256kbps
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    Absolutely incredible. I will have to see it many more times to fully appreciate all the levels of visual and philosophical interaction that was going on throughout the entire movie. Seeing the parade of inanimate objects on its own is worth the cost of admittance.
  12. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    The animation was beautiful, the story was genius, and the creativity of Paprika was beyond any anime I've ever seen. One thing irked me, though; its dull character dialogue.
  13. moo
    Jul 8, 2007
    6
    The animation was suberb as in any of Kon's movies, but the story and the characters are kind of dull after all. Not to mention the soundtrack got onto my nerves. Very fascinating and imaginative dreamscapes with lots of color and weird figures is what kept this movie above average for me. I really liked "Tokyo Godfathers" with its heart-warming story and lovely protagonists. In the The animation was suberb as in any of Kon's movies, but the story and the characters are kind of dull after all. Not to mention the soundtrack got onto my nerves. Very fascinating and imaginative dreamscapes with lots of color and weird figures is what kept this movie above average for me. I really liked "Tokyo Godfathers" with its heart-warming story and lovely protagonists. In the end "Paprika" is just a weird dream. Not a bad one, not a such a good one either. But a better one! Expand
  14. AndrewK.
    Jun 30, 2007
    7
    I don't normally like anime, and I didn't really think Tokyo Godfathers was all that great, but I really loved this film. I love anything that has to do with dreams, and this had plenty of surreal dream imagery to keep me interested. Little has been said in the reviews about the characters themselves. Paprika herself is adorable and her scientist counterpart, Atsuko, is I don't normally like anime, and I didn't really think Tokyo Godfathers was all that great, but I really loved this film. I love anything that has to do with dreams, and this had plenty of surreal dream imagery to keep me interested. Little has been said in the reviews about the characters themselves. Paprika herself is adorable and her scientist counterpart, Atsuko, is interesting in that she refuses to let her playful side out of her when she is herself. The odd interaction between Atsuko and Paprika makes it hard to know where one begins and the other ends. The old man that she works for is good for a laugh (sorry I can't remember names...been a week or two). The cop character is interesting and a good hero figure that we believe in. The fat scientist who creates the device used to enter people's dreams is funny and endearing, but if there were any flaw with the movie, I'd have to say that it was in not establishing enough of a connection between him and Atsuko in the beginning. It would make more sense for what comes at the end. The villains in the film are wonderfully evil. The mastermind is a megalomaniac and his accomplice is demented in just the right, creepy ways. There were shades of Silence of the Lambs in the scene where he has Atsuko pinned down on the table (or maybe it was just the butterfly imagery that made me think of it). The dreams are so brilliantly insane as well as creepy. I wouldn't even say that it's that difficult to understand as almost everyone else is saying. There were only one or two moments where I was unsure what was going on, and I was willing to forgive that because it added to the surreal nature of the film. This was a great movie. Don't discount it because it's anime, if you're the type, like me, who often does that. One of the best films this year! Expand
  15. Jan 23, 2011
    7
    If you liked Inception, you should have a look at Paprika. Indeed, Paprika has been cited as an influence on the making of Inception. The two movies share the same theme of losing the ability to distinguish between dream and reality. Due to being an animated movie, Paprika might not suck you into the action as the real human scenery does in Inception. However, regarding surreal dreamIf you liked Inception, you should have a look at Paprika. Indeed, Paprika has been cited as an influence on the making of Inception. The two movies share the same theme of losing the ability to distinguish between dream and reality. Due to being an animated movie, Paprika might not suck you into the action as the real human scenery does in Inception. However, regarding surreal dream content and plot complexity, Paprika is far ahead of its American successor. One of the film's major topics is the debate about moral restrictions for science. Some critics are of the opinion that certain technologies are bad. Others claim it is not the technology that is to be judged, but what someone uses it for (f.i. the knife is one of mankind's most helpful tools, but it also can be misused to take someone's life). Collapse
  16. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    Satoshi Kon has been one of the most visionary plot and character designers in the history of animation: his premature death in 2010 meant much less chances to see another masterpiece with the same charm and thrill as Paprika, which is undoubtedly a modern classic. Ignoring its deep plot would mean ignoring the true roots of blockbuster bestsellers like Inception, and losing the film thatSatoshi Kon has been one of the most visionary plot and character designers in the history of animation: his premature death in 2010 meant much less chances to see another masterpiece with the same charm and thrill as Paprika, which is undoubtedly a modern classic. Ignoring its deep plot would mean ignoring the true roots of blockbuster bestsellers like Inception, and losing the film that will continue to inspire tons of science fiction plots in the future. Expand
  17. May 24, 2014
    10
    Astonishing film, just truly amazing, the film looks, feels and captures the amazing raw energy of **** if that made No sense go watch the **** film, its inception before inception.

    10/10
  18. Oct 7, 2013
    8
    Last film of great anime films director, Satoshi Kon. "Paprika" is visual beauty and exotic. It's a ironic regard about Japanese society. Excessive obsession with technology, desire of power, problem of suicide, sexual misconduct with little girls. "Paprika" is a kabuki thriller. Kon has great masterpiece. "Perfect Blue" is an inception, "Millennium Actress" is an intermezzo, "TokyoLast film of great anime films director, Satoshi Kon. "Paprika" is visual beauty and exotic. It's a ironic regard about Japanese society. Excessive obsession with technology, desire of power, problem of suicide, sexual misconduct with little girls. "Paprika" is a kabuki thriller. Kon has great masterpiece. "Perfect Blue" is an inception, "Millennium Actress" is an intermezzo, "Tokyo Godfathers" is a rest and finally "Paprika" is most finale. As if it were a grand opera. "Paprika" is beautiful farewell. Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    90
    It happens to be one of the most wildly (and disturbingly) inventive animated films I've seen.
  2. It is an intelligently written piece that only falters during the finale.
  3. 90
    The brilliant Paprika, directed by Satoshi Kon--a masterly example of Japanese anime, intended for adults--is partly hand drawn, and features multiple areas of visual activity layered at different distances from the picture plane.