Paradise Now

Paradise Now Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Paradise Now is the story of two young Palestinian men as they embark upon what may be the last 48 hours of their lives. (Warner Independent Pictures)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Of all the shocks in the riveting and timely political thriller Paradise Now, the most unsettling may be the dignity bestowed on a pair of prospective Palestinian suicide bombers.
  2. The film is better than the recent "The War Within," which tried for the same things, but ultimately, and perhaps unavoidably, we are left face to face with the unknowable.
  3. The details are intriguing, but ultimately we learn little more about what's in their heads.
  4. 70
    Paradise Now suffers from some odd continuity glitches and takes a few too many narrative curves en route to an overly convoluted ending, but the heart of the movie is as tense as the bus ride in Hitchcock's "Sabotage."
  5. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    70
    What makes this an important film is the way it puts you in that landscape and in those shoes, so that you almost understand how ordinary human beings can be impelled to do inhuman things.
  6. Reviewed by: Phil Hall
    40
    Filmmaker Hany Abu-Assad, who helmed the excellent "Rana's Wedding," missed the boat on this one. He may have hoped to give a human voice to the suicide bombers, but instead he gave them a misfired movie.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. DaveB.
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    Excellent movie. Needs to be seen by all people.
  2. Andres
    Mar 19, 2006
    10
    This definetly has Best foriegn film all over it . A beautifully directed and made film.
  3. SaraM.
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    Startling and moving. It made me laugh. It made me consider what its like to live a life where you never feel free. It also made me find out Startling and moving. It made me laugh. It made me consider what its like to live a life where you never feel free. It also made me find out more about the occupied territory. as a film, its well played, suspenseful, brilliantly paced, beautifully shot - the repeated image of the two guys smoking was very cool - highly recommended. Collapse
  4. GeorgeM
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    Powerful, thought provoking drama. This is amongst the best of inernational cinema.
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    Incredibly powerful and intricately detailed, highly acclaimed and widely controversial. "Paradise Now," is a compelling, tightly madeIncredibly powerful and intricately detailed, highly acclaimed and widely controversial. "Paradise Now," is a compelling, tightly made thriller set in Nablus, on the West Bank, and lays bare the humanity and the horror for all to see. The film provides a gripping and terrifying insight into the mindset of martyrs by turning the camera on two Palestinian suicide bombers during what they assume to be their final 48 hours.

    The story places two close friends, Said (Kais Nashif) and Khaled (Kais Nashif), recruits by an extremist group to perpetrate a terrorist attack, a suicide mission, in Tel-Aviv. Both men are bathed, shaved, and made to look like Israeli settlers; then they are then strapped with explosives, dressed in dark suits, and are off to carry out their orders. However, things go wrong and both friends must separate at the Palestine border. One of two will maintain in his purpose of carrying out the attack to the very end, and the other will begin to have his doubts.

    Despite condoning their actions and motives, you can't but help to watch the film with a fearsome fascination. The film sustains a mood of breathless suspense. “Paradise Now” is a thriller whose shrewdly inserted plot twists and emotional wrinkles are calculated to put your heart in your throat and keep it there. The movie humanizes the anonymous faces we often see in the news. The director and co-writer, Hany Abu-Assad, undercut any heroism of these young martyrs by presenting their everyday actions with moments of dark humor. During one taping of a farewell message, the video camera malfunctions half way through, and he must start over from the beginning. During another taping, one of the bombers interrupts his political sermon with a personal shopping reminder for his mother.

    The ending is gut-wrenching as it yanks the carpet from under your feet. A purposeful statement that strips away any glamour of terrorism, whatever the cause, reason, or rationale they use to justify it. Their inhuman mission aside, "Paradise Now" does compel an appreciation for these unfortunate young men blindly accepting their fate with empty promises. This is the first Palestinian film to be nominated for an Academy Award.
    Expand
  6. DanB.
    Jan 5, 2006
    8
    Of course I don't much agree with much of the politics stated/implied (but then, I'm Israeli, I wouldn't would I?). But the Of course I don't much agree with much of the politics stated/implied (but then, I'm Israeli, I wouldn't would I?). But the movie is good. Simple, taut thriller. Well acted. Looks good. And it is (or seemed to me) like a straightforward, honest portrayal of these characters. No big speeches, no false pathos, no shoving allegories where they do not fit (sorry, I'm thinking about Munich). Ummm. Yeah, so, a good film. To David F: Get off the high horse. If you have something to say, can you at least spare us the flowery speech? And as for what you say... if you spent 15 minutes with anyone who knew even a little about the situation, but came at it from the Israeli perspective, I think you'd zip it, quick, and consider that maybe, just maybe, you are at least a little shallow, ignorant, and empty (but note I did not say stupid, cos you're probably not), like the critics you turn your nose up to. To Tracy R: That scene in Tel Aviv was really nice. But it doesn't say everything that needs to be said. There's nothing anymore about the situation that can be related simply by images. Only words can do it. Lots and lots of words. But not the flowery kind, I hope.. ;) Expand
  7. IritL.
    Feb 19, 2006
    1
    Two years ago the Israel Film Foundation refused funding for Paradise Now. Here's why Two years ago, the creators of Paradise Now Two years ago the Israel Film Foundation refused funding for Paradise Now. Here's why Two years ago, the creators of Paradise Now asked the Israel Film Foundation for public funding to help produce the film. They were turned down thanks to a number of reviewers Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.