User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 40
  2. Negative: 18 out of 40

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 16, 2013
    1
    But the stakes seem small. Director Robert Luketic showed a nice hand at light comedy in Legally Blonde, but he has no feel for the tensions of corporate deception. The twists aren't surprising, the perils feel artificial, and even Hemsworth's chest gets a little ho-hum after a while. The most interesting aspect of Paranoia is the appearance of Oldman and Ford, who is looking especially grizzled but hasn't lost that twisted smile of menace. They're fun to watch, even though the movie's biggest mystery is how they got roped into it. Must have had something to do with answering their cellphones. Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2013
    2
    The main things missing from the thriller “Paranoia” are thrills. The leading man, Liam Hemsworth, is as good looking as they come and certainly Harrison Ford and Gary Oldman as former friends now out to destroy each other play their roles to the hilt. Richard Dreyfuss adds the sympathy, the only sympathy, to the success of Hemsworth who wants it all and Amber Heard supplies the love interest in a role that certainly doesn’t give off any thrills as to who will end up together.

    There are a few mysteries in the film such as how does Hemsworth rise so fast showing so little talent in the IT field and just how does Embeth Davidtz fit in as Oldman’s right hand? The setup, and execution of the screenplay by Jason Hall and Berry L. Levy, is overshadowed by the sights and sounds of all the glass office buildings in Manhattan and the Brooklyn neighborhood.

    Director Robert Luketic keeps the action going with car chases and all kinds of technical gadgets and throws in a red herring that should be easily seen through by even a casual moviegoer.

    Harrison, Ford, Dreyfus and Davidtz offer whatever tension there is in the movie while Hemsworth, Heard, various sets and cars offer relaxation for the eyes but “Paranoia” should disappear quickly from the large screen and go to DVD and the small screen.
    Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    In my opinion, this movie was pretty worth it, going against some reviews. Yes, some parts good be a little cheesy, and yes, sometimes the story line was slightly confusing. However, I still found this riveting and suspenseful and I would recommend it. It's not the best movie I've EVER seen but it was enjoyable and I really was glad I saw it. I'll admit, at times, I enjoyed it because of Liam Hemsworth's attractiveness, but I enjoyed it for the story, too. Harrison Ford also gave a good performance. Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2013
    2
    The idea is good and the cast is good, the problem is the next: All the movie is really terrible! The development is really poor, the script is bad, and the performances are really terrible (Gary Oldman and Harrison Ford do a great job, the problem is that the script is so bad, and they try to do all the possible to do something good). Paranoia is a box of good ideas but poorly executed.
  5. Aug 21, 2013
    4
    After he's fired from his giant tech company, Liam Hemsworth is secretly hired back to spy on their major competitor. Predictability ensues. The inevitable twists are not surprising. You at least expect some slick visuals or neat futuristic stuff. Expectations dashed. Hensworth makes a generically handsome but bland leading man. Harrison Ford and Gary Oldman add some seasoned performances. Overall, there's nothing about the script that's the least bit new or interesting and the laconic direction never delivers any suspense or…wait for it…paranoia. Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    Although the story line is weak, their is drama and the film is entertaining. Harrison Ford give a good performance. Direction is good and there are many scenes of New York business buildings which give an insight into how it all works.
  7. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    After making a name for himself in the Hunger Games, teen heartthrob, Liam Hemsworth got his first leading role in the corporate thriller, Paranoia. This film has a somewhat complicated plot to explain without spoilers, but I will attempt to do so. Adam Cassidy (Liam Hemsworth) is a low level employee at one of the worlds largest tech company. His boss has learned that their main competition, his former employer, is about to unveil a revolutionary piece of new technology, that can change everything. Fearing for his companies future, Nicholas Wyatt (Gary Oldman) decides to give Cassidy the opportunity of a lifetime, that is if he's willing to break a few dozen laws or so. Liam Hemsworth was terrific, giving a performance similar to the one Bradly Cooper gives in Limitless, as a guy with an important job that's in way over his head. Hollywood finds these good looking guys and the truth is that a lot of them have nothing to offer, but Hemsworth proves that he has the talent it takes to star on the big screen. In the film he's supported by a real all-star cast, that includes Harrison Ford, Richard Dryfuss, and Gary Oldman, all of whom do what they've been doing for half a century, making great films even better. The only reason this film isn't getting 5 stars, is the same reason it didn't do as well as it should have in the box office. Paranoia is about corporate espionage and at times, the business aspect is confusing and makes us feel as overwhelmed as Hemsworth's character does. Other than that, I can't find a thing wrong with this film, it is absolutely one of the best edge of your seat thrillers I've seen all year and easily earns the right to be called one of our must see movies! Expand
  8. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    Cheesy and painfully predictable. Hollywood should be on notice, Liam has no where near the talent nor star power that his brother Chris has so don't bother putting him a lead role because he can't act his way out of a paper bag. His only worth is being a small secondary character whose only need is to look good. That being said, Neither Oldman nor Ford are good in this, Mainly because of the god awful, poorly written dialogue and the pathetic plot. Anyone else love how it's pretty much an exact rip off of Wall Street?

    Overall, There is a reason why Users and Critics agree this movie sucks. It honestly does nothing good.
    Expand
  9. Nov 28, 2013
    2
    Nobody will know what is going on and nobody will care either in this horribly directed film. So many times characters are about to explain something and then they say nothing because the screenwriters didn't know what to say. Paranoia is a flashy high tech film that offers no intelligence, boring acting and terrible editing.
  10. Nov 21, 2013
    4
    This film is just a waste you have Gary Oldman and Harrison Ford and you create this really. There's just nothing here you don't care about any of the characters. Overall Ford and Oldman keeps this thing from a complete disaster, but it's close. D+
  11. Aug 17, 2013
    4
    Short, sweet and to the point, this movie is a movie that takes 0 risk of any stake and can be forgotten within the ride home from the movie theater. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies.
  12. Nov 11, 2013
    1
    Typical cliche rubbish.
    Another mindless waste of time where everyhting just seems to fall into place for our hero. Been done 1000 times before nad this is no different. Turned it off at 12 minutes. Could not stand to watch anymore.
  13. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Going against many other reviews, I will now say that this movie was, in my own personal opinion, worth it. I can't defend this movie against the accusations of being clichéd and unoriginal, because it IS. It really is and it's PREDICTABLE. I could see how the movie ended almost right after it started. Yet, I still found myself watching, which I guess means I am easily entertained. It honestly wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. It was actually pretty good, in my OPINION. I actually liked the acting in the film.

    If you liked this review (or if you didn't, you can still) read my other work on a wide variety of movies, TV shows, and videogames and mark this review as helpful. Remember, every vote counts!
    Expand
  14. Apr 1, 2014
    6
    Actors did a good job. Everything was good but i have this feeling that the last part of the movie was overlooked kind of impression. I mean, Ford bought the opposing company? its like something isn't right here.
  15. Dec 15, 2013
    5
    Was looking forward to watching this movie, unfortunately was very Dissapointing, not the greatest performance by Harrison Ford, and Liam Hemsworth needs to take some acting lessons from his older brother Chris Thor The story line was quite confusing, making it hard to understand, all in all extremely Dissapointing
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 30
  2. Negative: 12 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Freer
    Mar 3, 2014
    40
    Even a cast boasting Oldman and Harrison Ford can't salvage his dreary, contrived corporate thriller.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Davis
    Aug 21, 2013
    20
    You could drive an 18-wheeler through the substantial number of plot holes in Paranoia.
  3. Reviewed by: Ernest Hardy
    Aug 20, 2013
    20
    This is a film at odds with itself, wanting to be a 99 percenter rallying cry but wallowing in and fetishizing 1 percenter accoutrement at every turn.