Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The two most powerful tech billionaires in the world are bitter rivals with a complicated past who will stop at nothing to destroy each other. A young superstar, seduced by unlimited wealth and power, falls between them, and becomes trapped in the middle of the twists and turns of their life-and-death game of corporate espionage. By the time he realizes his life is in danger, he is in far too deep and knows far too much for them to let him walk away. [Relativity Media] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 30
  2. Negative: 12 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Aug 19, 2013
    60
    Now it feels almost quaint, like a throwback. You watch it and, despite all the au courant techno geekery on display, you feel like you’ve stepped into a time capsule. It’s a nice feeling at first. If only the movie were better.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Aug 15, 2013
    50
    It plays more like a "21 Jump Street," full of pretty people and a thumping soundtrack but offering little in the way of something to say.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Aug 15, 2013
    50
    This one is essentially “The Firm” with smartphones.
  4. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Aug 15, 2013
    40
    Paranoia is ostensibly a thriller, but there’s nothing remotely thrilling about it. This slick, plodding bore is as exciting as watching somebody else tap out text messages.
  5. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Aug 19, 2013
    38
    However, once you realize there's no "pleasure" to be had from something this wantonly dumb and idiotically constructed, all that's left is "guilt" - guilt that you actually spent money to see this.
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Aug 15, 2013
    30
    I'm not going to get into the acting, because there's not much of it, frankly. No one is embarrassingly bad; no one is exceptionally good.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 15, 2013
    20
    Paranoia’s twitchiness is like an actual twitch: it’s contrived and clunky, and you forget it in an instant.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 6 out of 15
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Going against many other reviews, I will now say that this movie was, in my own personal opinion, worth it. I can't defend this movie against the accusations of being clichéd and unoriginal, because it IS. It really is and it's PREDICTABLE. I could see how the movie ended almost right after it started. Yet, I still found myself watching, which I guess means I am easily entertained. It honestly wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. It was actually pretty good, in my OPINION. I actually liked the acting in the film.

    If you liked this review (or if you didn't, you can still) read my other work on a wide variety of movies, TV shows, and videogames and mark this review as helpful. Remember, every vote counts!
    Expand
  2. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    After making a name for himself in the Hunger Games, teen heartthrob, Liam Hemsworth got his first leading role in the corporate thriller, Paranoia. This film has a somewhat complicated plot to explain without spoilers, but I will attempt to do so. Adam Cassidy (Liam Hemsworth) is a low level employee at one of the worlds largest tech company. His boss has learned that their main competition, his former employer, is about to unveil a revolutionary piece of new technology, that can change everything. Fearing for his companies future, Nicholas Wyatt (Gary Oldman) decides to give Cassidy the opportunity of a lifetime, that is if he's willing to break a few dozen laws or so. Liam Hemsworth was terrific, giving a performance similar to the one Bradly Cooper gives in Limitless, as a guy with an important job that's in way over his head. Hollywood finds these good looking guys and the truth is that a lot of them have nothing to offer, but Hemsworth proves that he has the talent it takes to star on the big screen. In the film he's supported by a real all-star cast, that includes Harrison Ford, Richard Dryfuss, and Gary Oldman, all of whom do what they've been doing for half a century, making great films even better. The only reason this film isn't getting 5 stars, is the same reason it didn't do as well as it should have in the box office. Paranoia is about corporate espionage and at times, the business aspect is confusing and makes us feel as overwhelmed as Hemsworth's character does. Other than that, I can't find a thing wrong with this film, it is absolutely one of the best edge of your seat thrillers I've seen all year and easily earns the right to be called one of our must see movies! Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    In my opinion, this movie was pretty worth it, going against some reviews. Yes, some parts good be a little cheesy, and yes, sometimes the story line was slightly confusing. However, I still found this riveting and suspenseful and I would recommend it. It's not the best movie I've EVER seen but it was enjoyable and I really was glad I saw it. I'll admit, at times, I enjoyed it because of Liam Hemsworth's attractiveness, but I enjoyed it for the story, too. Harrison Ford also gave a good performance. Expand
  4. Aug 17, 2013
    4
    Short, sweet and to the point, this movie is a movie that takes 0 risk of any stake and can be forgotten within the ride home from the movie theater. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2013
    4
    This film is just a waste you have Gary Oldman and Harrison Ford and you create this really. There's just nothing here you don't care about any of the characters. Overall Ford and Oldman keeps this thing from a complete disaster, but it's close. D+ Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2013
    2
    The idea is good and the cast is good, the problem is the next: All the movie is really terrible! The development is really poor, the script is bad, and the performances are really terrible (Gary Oldman and Harrison Ford do a great job, the problem is that the script is so bad, and they try to do all the possible to do something good). Paranoia is a box of good ideas but poorly executed. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    Cheesy and painfully predictable. Hollywood should be on notice, Liam has no where near the talent nor star power that his brother Chris has so don't bother putting him a lead role because he can't act his way out of a paper bag. His only worth is being a small secondary character whose only need is to look good. That being said, Neither Oldman nor Ford are good in this, Mainly because of the god awful, poorly written dialogue and the pathetic plot. Anyone else love how it's pretty much an exact rip off of Wall Street?

    Overall, There is a reason why Users and Critics agree this movie sucks. It honestly does nothing good.
    Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Trailers