Paranoia

Paranoia Image
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The two most powerful tech billionaires in the world are bitter rivals with a complicated past who will stop at nothing to destroy each other. A young superstar, seduced by unlimited wealth and power, falls between them, and becomes trapped in the middle of the twists and turns of theirThe two most powerful tech billionaires in the world are bitter rivals with a complicated past who will stop at nothing to destroy each other. A young superstar, seduced by unlimited wealth and power, falls between them, and becomes trapped in the middle of the twists and turns of their life-and-death game of corporate espionage. By the time he realizes his life is in danger, he is in far too deep and knows far too much for them to let him walk away. [Relativity Media] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 30
  2. Negative: 12 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Aug 19, 2013
    60
    Now it feels almost quaint, like a throwback. You watch it and, despite all the au courant techno geekery on display, you feel like you’ve stepped into a time capsule. It’s a nice feeling at first. If only the movie were better.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Aug 15, 2013
    50
    It plays more like a "21 Jump Street," full of pretty people and a thumping soundtrack but offering little in the way of something to say.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Aug 15, 2013
    50
    This one is essentially “The Firm” with smartphones.
  4. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Aug 15, 2013
    40
    Paranoia is ostensibly a thriller, but there’s nothing remotely thrilling about it. This slick, plodding bore is as exciting as watching somebody else tap out text messages.
  5. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Aug 19, 2013
    38
    However, once you realize there's no "pleasure" to be had from something this wantonly dumb and idiotically constructed, all that's left is "guilt" - guilt that you actually spent money to see this.
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Aug 15, 2013
    30
    I'm not going to get into the acting, because there's not much of it, frankly. No one is embarrassingly bad; no one is exceptionally good.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 15, 2013
    20
    Paranoia’s twitchiness is like an actual twitch: it’s contrived and clunky, and you forget it in an instant.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Going against many other reviews, I will now say that this movie was, in my own personal opinion, worth it. I can't defend this movie againstGoing against many other reviews, I will now say that this movie was, in my own personal opinion, worth it. I can't defend this movie against the accusations of being clichéd and unoriginal, because it IS. It really is and it's PREDICTABLE. I could see how the movie ended almost right after it started. Yet, I still found myself watching, which I guess means I am easily entertained. It honestly wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. It was actually pretty good, in my OPINION. I actually liked the acting in the film.

    If you liked this review (or if you didn't, you can still) read my other work on a wide variety of movies, TV shows, and videogames and mark this review as helpful. Remember, every vote counts!
    Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2015
    8
    Paranoia is professional in every way and I really enjoyed watching it.

    Watch this movie here for free
    Paranoia is professional in every way and I really enjoyed watching it.

    Watch this movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-22d893-Paranoia-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
    Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    Although the story line is weak, their is drama and the film is entertaining. Harrison Ford give a good performance. Direction is good andAlthough the story line is weak, their is drama and the film is entertaining. Harrison Ford give a good performance. Direction is good and there are many scenes of New York business buildings which give an insight into how it all works. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    4
    This film is just a waste you have Gary Oldman and Harrison Ford and you create this really. There's just nothing here you don't care aboutThis film is just a waste you have Gary Oldman and Harrison Ford and you create this really. There's just nothing here you don't care about any of the characters. Overall Ford and Oldman keeps this thing from a complete disaster, but it's close. D+ Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2014
    3
    "Paranoia" 10 Scale Rating: 3.0 (Awful) ...

    The Good: As expected, Gary Oldman and Harrison Ford were fantastic. They didn't have much to
    "Paranoia" 10 Scale Rating: 3.0 (Awful) ...

    The Good: As expected, Gary Oldman and Harrison Ford were fantastic. They didn't have much to work with, but they made the most of it ... especially when they shared the screen.

    The Bad: Just about everything else. For a thriller, there weren't many thrills as it was a boring and weak effort. Liam Hemsworth is a decent enough actor but clearly can't carry a film as the main protagonist. Supposedly slick and smart, the film is clunky and at times flat out stupid.
    Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    2
    The main things missing from the thriller “Paranoia” are thrills. The leading man, Liam Hemsworth, is as good looking as they come andThe main things missing from the thriller “Paranoia” are thrills. The leading man, Liam Hemsworth, is as good looking as they come and certainly Harrison Ford and Gary Oldman as former friends now out to destroy each other play their roles to the hilt. Richard Dreyfuss adds the sympathy, the only sympathy, to the success of Hemsworth who wants it all and Amber Heard supplies the love interest in a role that certainly doesn’t give off any thrills as to who will end up together.

    There are a few mysteries in the film such as how does Hemsworth rise so fast showing so little talent in the IT field and just how does Embeth Davidtz fit in as Oldman’s right hand? The setup, and execution of the screenplay by Jason Hall and Berry L. Levy, is overshadowed by the sights and sounds of all the glass office buildings in Manhattan and the Brooklyn neighborhood.

    Director Robert Luketic keeps the action going with car chases and all kinds of technical gadgets and throws in a red herring that should be easily seen through by even a casual moviegoer.

    Harrison, Ford, Dreyfus and Davidtz offer whatever tension there is in the movie while Hemsworth, Heard, various sets and cars offer relaxation for the eyes but “Paranoia” should disappear quickly from the large screen and go to DVD and the small screen.
    Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2015
    0
    From one of the greatest books come one of the worst movies I've ever had the displeasure of watching.
    Why was the book so much better?
    From one of the greatest books come one of the worst movies I've ever had the displeasure of watching.
    Why was the book so much better?
    Well, once again they went and changed the story of the book for the movie version. Made it incredibly generic and dull. There's nothing to like about the story and any person with a pen could have thought of such a basic and predictable plot.
    I really respect Joseph Finder. The paranoia book was an incredibly great read.
    The movie...those are minutes of my life that I wish I could have back.
    Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 12 Films to See in September

    12 Films to See in September Image
    Published: August 30, 2016
    Our editors select the month's most promising releases, including a Blair Witch revival and new films from Clint Eastwood, Andrea Arnold, Oliver Stone, Ron Howard, and more.
  2. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.