Paranormal Activity 2


Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23

Where To Watch

Buy On
Buy On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Oct 21, 2010
    Even when nothing is happening, the often dead-silent shots tend to grow scarier the more you look at them.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Oct 22, 2010
    It delivers its considerable moments of terror in the same way the original film did. But it does deliver.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Oct 22, 2010
    Demons of mediocrity, be gone! Here we have a shrewd sequel a touch better than the original.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Oct 22, 2010
    What was scary once is scary twice, like a carnival funhouse remodeled with a few new mirrors and spring-loaded spooks.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Oct 21, 2010
    Rarely is the second film in a horror franchise more frightening than the original, but Paranormal Activity 2 has more innocent victims and more scares than its predecessor.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Oct 22, 2010
    More of the same, for all the good and acceptably routine that that implies.
  7. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Oct 23, 2010
    And again things go bump and eventually yarrrragghhh in the night.
  8. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Oct 22, 2010
    If you're looking for wicked fun this Halloween, Paranormal Activity 2 is the best goosebump game in town.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 242 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 95
  2. Negative: 26 out of 95
  1. Oct 23, 2010
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Most of the film flips through the same static shots where nothing usually happens, except for a bump in the night or some "paranormal activity." The movie mostly takes place inside some ordinary house, which limits the creepiness and makes it pretty boring to watch. Ooo, another still-shot of the kitchen...and nothing happens! Again! The characters are mundane and foolish, and the film never establishes a true connection to these people. I really couldn't care what happened to these characters because I barely got to know them. The plot is pencil-thin, and the ending is anti-climatic and not suspenseful at all - a HUGE wasted opportunity in what should have been the scariest part. I am being harsh, but I honestly didn't jump out of my seat once. There are some creepy elements, but the film failed to do what it was supposed to - scare me. Full Review »
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    Trickery... It's nothing else. Not creative, not interesting. Lets make the audience focus on a door for 5 minutes... Do it for so long theyTrickery... It's nothing else. Not creative, not interesting. Lets make the audience focus on a door for 5 minutes... Do it for so long they are bored and feel tired, then ANYTHING can be done to shock you... Noise, movement and/or with any sound or shape. A total breeze for the film-makers and the first shock is just as lame as the last. I had more fun listening to reactions of different people scream in the cinema. Pretty solid acting however and they made everything believable, I just personally felt it was a waste of time/money. Full Review »
  3. Nov 8, 2010
    **** An evil ghost that harasses families-Paranormal Activity 1 and 2 in a nutshell.