Paramount Pictures | Release Date: October 22, 2010
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 262 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
113
Mixed:
98
Negative:
51
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
faulkmanDec 15, 2010
Well to start off it's definitly better than the first one. I did think the first was bad but clever for what it did on the budget. This is heart stopping. Every time it is night in the house you know that something is going to happen but youWell to start off it's definitly better than the first one. I did think the first was bad but clever for what it did on the budget. This is heart stopping. Every time it is night in the house you know that something is going to happen but you don't know exactly how. I believe the larger budget helped this time. It still has 'wooooh the door is moving but what is moving the door' moments and there are some plot inacuracies and confusions but apart from that I was definitly clinging to the person I was with during the final sequences. Awesome and very scary, just dont make a third one...please. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
NikoZguri1997Jun 6, 2014
after this franchise got ruined with Paranormal Activity 3, 4 and The Marked Ones, let's talk about its real chapters. so, i love Paranormal Activity! it was just a simple found footage horror movie that had one camera placed in the bedroomafter this franchise got ruined with Paranormal Activity 3, 4 and The Marked Ones, let's talk about its real chapters. so, i love Paranormal Activity! it was just a simple found footage horror movie that had one camera placed in the bedroom to film what happens at night when everybody's asleep. it sounds boring but it was creepy and chilling as hell! so, it was a huge smash hit and it spawned 3 sequels, a Latin spin-off and a fifth movie that comes out later this year. but i'm here talk about the sequel that stays true to the franchise and the first movie, and that's Paranormal Activity 2. it's a prequel to the first movie that shows Kristi's family being haunted by the demon ever since their little son Hunter was born. and i really liked at how true Paranormal Activity 2 stands to the first movie. it's still able to make your hair stand up and make you go pale white, with goosebumps all over you. i swear to god, there were a few scenes in the movie were it got so chilling, that i was just shaking outta control. the first movie did that and this one did it too. now, to be honest: the movie seems to start up pretty slow. like there's nothing really happening in the first act and at the beginning of the second act. but then, when stuff start happening, it's a real **** nightmare for Kristi's family and it just makes your pulse throb. like i said, Paranormal Activity 3, 4 and The Marked Ones were pretty much the same thing, but they weren't creepy. they were just filled with jump scares that irritates the **** outta you. and that's why Paranormal Activity 2 is the best sequel in the franchise so far, cause it actually stays true to the first movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
tech953Nov 1, 2010
This movie is an example of how a low budget film can acheive some glory.
It takes a little bit to get started, but by the end I was watching every door and shadow with horror.
Enjoyable for fans of The Blair Witch project
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
grindhouse83Oct 27, 2010
A rare horror sequel that's every bit as terrifying as the original. This film had me leaping out of my seat and instilled a palpable sense of dread in the viewer. Surprisingly commendable for its ability to build on the mythos from theA rare horror sequel that's every bit as terrifying as the original. This film had me leaping out of my seat and instilled a palpable sense of dread in the viewer. Surprisingly commendable for its ability to build on the mythos from the first, without becoming cluttered or ridiculous. In short, it's tremendously scary and unbearably tense. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
brewcrewprideOct 26, 2010
Paranormal Activity 2 maintains the essence that it brought one year ago, offers the same scary but yet enjoyable entertainment, and manages to match up to its predecessor, but I still would give the original the edge.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
AaronMOct 25, 2010
Maybe the downfall to Paranormal Activity 2 is not allowing the proper spacing for audience reactions to the horror versus tying the story together, as well as the first movie did. Either that, or the story is just too incoherent towards theMaybe the downfall to Paranormal Activity 2 is not allowing the proper spacing for audience reactions to the horror versus tying the story together, as well as the first movie did. Either that, or the story is just too incoherent towards the end. It was very hard to tell in a crowded movie theater. But the movie did have quite a few scares, which is what matters the most. It just ties up too quickly for comprehension which left my entire theater quite unsatisfied, but we did enjoy the ride along the way. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
himortal7Oct 22, 2010
Honestly one of te best theatrical released horror films out today! From beginning to end on the edge of my seat. I love horror, I believe it to be an art and they really shot a great one with this paranormal Activity sequel. Smarter thanHonestly one of te best theatrical released horror films out today! From beginning to end on the edge of my seat. I love horror, I believe it to be an art and they really shot a great one with this paranormal Activity sequel. Smarter than the original and better... and i loved the original. Watch it tonight! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
granokyOct 22, 2010
The movie is definitely worth it...I thought it was wayy better than the first...I enjoyed the whole movie..., even though the ending could have been thought out better...Still good though..A must-SEE!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
moviefreak12Oct 22, 2010
i would have giving this movie a 10 but the first hour is just to dull and boring and also the acting was the horrible not the worst i seen but its was bad enogh i know acting wasnt the supossed to be the best but they could have triedi would have giving this movie a 10 but the first hour is just to dull and boring and also the acting was the horrible not the worst i seen but its was bad enogh i know acting wasnt the supossed to be the best but they could have tried harder, but other then that the rest half hour or so will scare the crap out of you. it will make you jump or thats at least the people at my theater did haha Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
GVirus16Oct 26, 2010
Absolutely terrifying. At first I was a bit uneasy, as the first half of the movie is very slow to get into anything, but as soon as things started happening, it was incredibly frightening. There are elements from the first movie tied intoAbsolutely terrifying. At first I was a bit uneasy, as the first half of the movie is very slow to get into anything, but as soon as things started happening, it was incredibly frightening. There are elements from the first movie tied into it, as well, which was nice to see; they expand upon the first film, even tie up loose ends we were left with. My only critique: will not do well in a household setting, just like its predecessor. You MUST see this film in theaters. Go. Right now. I don't care if you're at work/school/prison. Right now. And I'll know if you didn't go! o_o Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Forrestgump1Oct 30, 2010
"Paranormal Activity 2 is a Halloween treat it brings the chills & thrills and is scary and more compulsive than the original , Tho the build up to the "final nights" are slow, its worth the shockingly and frighting conclusion that will have"Paranormal Activity 2 is a Halloween treat it brings the chills & thrills and is scary and more compulsive than the original , Tho the build up to the "final nights" are slow, its worth the shockingly and frighting conclusion that will have you screaming" .. A- Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
wrytyrOct 25, 2010
A good scare movie, maybe this sequel is even better than the first. Definitely enjoyable. Another reviewer complains about the acting; sure, it was flawed, but the level of acting is not a reason why anyone should see this film. You're goingA good scare movie, maybe this sequel is even better than the first. Definitely enjoyable. Another reviewer complains about the acting; sure, it was flawed, but the level of acting is not a reason why anyone should see this film. You're going for the suspense and the artful surprises, of which this film has plenty. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
gknewellOct 26, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It wanted to help to explain some of the "mysteries" of the first film. I enjoyed the characters progress through the demon's hijinks as well as the nanny's interpretation of events. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
chelsea_rawrrDec 8, 2010
This is a good movie to see with a few friends if you are looking for a good scare. although this movie does have its really fun good bits its a bit slow with the scaring. which is quite bad because we are living in the 21 century meaning theThis is a good movie to see with a few friends if you are looking for a good scare. although this movie does have its really fun good bits its a bit slow with the scaring. which is quite bad because we are living in the 21 century meaning the kids these days want more action and horror and less full detailed story so if you want a horror movie thats pretty scary but slow at the same time then watch this movie and you will love it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
dijavantewowOct 22, 2010
Pretty much just like the first. I do enjoy how the first is incorporated into this one, so they happen simultaneously instead of back to back. It ended kind of abruptly, but was suspenseful throughout without even doing anything. It helpedPretty much just like the first. I do enjoy how the first is incorporated into this one, so they happen simultaneously instead of back to back. It ended kind of abruptly, but was suspenseful throughout without even doing anything. It helped that the theater was full, but a good movie anyway. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jthompsonFeb 15, 2011
didn't see either movie in the theater. i almost think its scarier watching it at home by yourself. maybe im missing the point but i still think that as far as horror movies go these movies are some of the scariest movies ive ever seen. p.a.2didn't see either movie in the theater. i almost think its scarier watching it at home by yourself. maybe im missing the point but i still think that as far as horror movies go these movies are some of the scariest movies ive ever seen. p.a.2 is pretty predictable if you've seen the first but it still leaves you feeling very uneasy in the end. the one shining improvement this movie had over the last is a lack of an alternate ending, at least as far as i could tell. the alternate ending in the last movie destroyed all since of realism for me, and being that it was shot in home movie/blair witch style i consider it p.a.1's biggest downfall. this movie and a few others like it (p.a.1, the fourth kind, etc.) are the only movies i know of that illicit this kind of uneasy nervous feeling, which is exactly what a horror movie is supposed to do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CriminalTypeOct 24, 2010
I didn't go into this movie with particularly high expectations. I enjoyed PA. I thought this script was smarter and this movie was a little better than the first. Yes, it's slow. Yes, there are a lot of static shots. That's how things happenI didn't go into this movie with particularly high expectations. I enjoyed PA. I thought this script was smarter and this movie was a little better than the first. Yes, it's slow. Yes, there are a lot of static shots. That's how things happen when you're at home and you hear something odd at night.

You stop what you're doing and you listen. You look for the slightest hint about what caused the noise, vibration, movement. PA2 relays that silent anxiety well. Too many people compare movies on an absolutely scale. Criticizing PA2 for lack of quality dialogue is silly. That's not the goal here. The goal is to elicit anxiety. PA2 accomplishes that goal.

Katie Featherston is beautiful, too, which is nice.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MoviebuffreviewFeb 13, 2011
Sure, the sense of discovery you got from the first Paranormal Activity may have been diminished, but thanks to better pacing, a better script, and more engaging characters, Paranormal Activity 2 is scarier and better than the first. Let'sSure, the sense of discovery you got from the first Paranormal Activity may have been diminished, but thanks to better pacing, a better script, and more engaging characters, Paranormal Activity 2 is scarier and better than the first. Let's hope 3 is good as well! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PurpleUrpNov 15, 2011
Tweaked scares and added characters to deserve better ratings but still no better and no worse than the first. Pretty much an upgrade of the prequel but still a good watch nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
monkeybrainspitApr 5, 2011
â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CClarkFeb 20, 2011
While this wasn't as unnerving as the first film -- which was genuinely terrifying -- once the action picks up in the second half, PA2 delivers one creepy moment after another, while skillfully weaving in and expanding on the storyline fromWhile this wasn't as unnerving as the first film -- which was genuinely terrifying -- once the action picks up in the second half, PA2 delivers one creepy moment after another, while skillfully weaving in and expanding on the storyline from the first movie. A fun one to watch at night, alone, with the lights turned off. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bluburnFeb 24, 2011
The first PA wasn't bad at all, I liked it, but I enjoyed PA2 a lot more, some people say that the first one is better, but I, personally, think this one is a lot better, I won't say it's perfect, but it's good, you get more characters toThe first PA wasn't bad at all, I liked it, but I enjoyed PA2 a lot more, some people say that the first one is better, but I, personally, think this one is a lot better, I won't say it's perfect, but it's good, you get more characters to care about, more suspense, more scares. To be honest, I expected almost nothing of this movie, but it really surprised me, it really caught me off guard. And I never saw this at theatres, I rented it one Friday night and watched it at home with low volume and it still scared the sh.. out of me. So, if you've seen the first movie, you already know what you're in for, and for those who haven't, be sure to check out PA first. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KendylKlownfishApr 17, 2011
Even if it's a bit overlong and brings nothing necessary to the series, Paranormal Activity 2 is a sequel that surprisingly may be scarier than the first film. Pros: Even scarier than the first PA; the ending is shocking too; it's more orEven if it's a bit overlong and brings nothing necessary to the series, Paranormal Activity 2 is a sequel that surprisingly may be scarier than the first film. Pros: Even scarier than the first PA; the ending is shocking too; it's more or less a prequel, but it still works. Cons: Overlong; it's difficult to find any "likable" content about the series overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BrandonBMar 5, 2016
Paranormal Activity 2 is a film, like the first, I originally disliked, but then decided to re-watch it and I enjoyed it, but the film, also like the first, lacks true horror and relies on jump scares and doesn't have the inch of creepinessParanormal Activity 2 is a film, like the first, I originally disliked, but then decided to re-watch it and I enjoyed it, but the film, also like the first, lacks true horror and relies on jump scares and doesn't have the inch of creepiness the first one had. But besides though, I thought it was entertaining with better acting and characters than the first and with plenty of unintentional humour to be enjoyed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
davenbettridgeOct 17, 2011
The paranormal activity movies are not for everyone but I have enjoyed them and have appreciated its simple but effective film making. The characters aren't the best but I had fun with its approach to the folk lore of haunting demons and itsThe paranormal activity movies are not for everyone but I have enjoyed them and have appreciated its simple but effective film making. The characters aren't the best but I had fun with its approach to the folk lore of haunting demons and its effective use of spooks and scares. Many scenes are intense and effective and its film makers have managed to turn its low budget weaknesses into strengths. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JfiloJun 20, 2011
The way this movie was linked to the first was executed perfectly. Like the first, it had good scares and a lot of scenes that make you jump off your seat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
asjklasOct 22, 2011
While it's more of the same, Paranormal Activity 2 is one of those rare sequels where the director manages to get everything right -- in this case, the thrills, chills, and twist ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
moviesRawsomeAug 22, 2011
great thriller even better then the first one. and the main reason is cause the of the multiple camerars as you saw evrything little movment. The ending was just awsome as it was one of those WTF moments. the acting was crap but if made upgreat thriller even better then the first one. and the main reason is cause the of the multiple camerars as you saw evrything little movment. The ending was just awsome as it was one of those WTF moments. the acting was crap but if made up for in scares and its story fit perfectly into the first one. This is simplify one of 2010 best a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
IAmPhongNguyenOct 16, 2011
Paranormal Activity 2 seems to have just dropped some things behind that made the first installment a successful film but keeps you entertained and leaves you a tad bit freaked out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BrandonBonaseraOct 18, 2012
*UPDATED REVIEW!*Paranormal Activity 2 is a film, like the first, I originally disliked, but then decided to re-watch it and I enjoyed it, but the film, also like the first, lacks true horror and relies on jump scares and doesn't have the*UPDATED REVIEW!*Paranormal Activity 2 is a film, like the first, I originally disliked, but then decided to re-watch it and I enjoyed it, but the film, also like the first, lacks true horror and relies on jump scares and doesn't have the inch of creepiness the first one had. But besides though, I thought it was entertaining with better acting and characters than the first and with plenty of unintentional humour to be enjoyed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
charlieW24Jul 14, 2012
The sequel to one of the scariest films in history is basically a repetition of the first, we do finally get to delve a bit more into Katie and her sisters past, and the addition of other characters works well. It is clear a larger budget isThe sequel to one of the scariest films in history is basically a repetition of the first, we do finally get to delve a bit more into Katie and her sisters past, and the addition of other characters works well. It is clear a larger budget is present, we see more trickery that wasn't present in the first, but it just feels like a repetition with added back story, and even some of the story is the same. Still scary, but just good, not brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RikiegeNov 1, 2012
"A great sequel "
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
mds03Mar 3, 2013
Way better than the fourth one. Not quite as good as the third one though. But extremely scary and it gets your heart pumping. Even when nothings happening, you will still be in a state of high anxiety.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
busbfranOct 25, 2015
PA2 may struggle in its first half with terrible structure, however once that nights rack up and the noises get loud, we discover a truly terrifying squeal that works well for a 2nd time around. Unfortunately the movies creepy atmosphere isPA2 may struggle in its first half with terrible structure, however once that nights rack up and the noises get loud, we discover a truly terrifying squeal that works well for a 2nd time around. Unfortunately the movies creepy atmosphere is lost and the movie relies more on frequent jump scare. But lets not forget the well told story that builds excellently on the 1st. Bring on more Paranormal activity! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheEpicSheepSep 30, 2013
This is clearly the best Paranormal Activity of them all. Paranormal activity 1 was Ok, but 3 and 4 sank to the bottom. The actors actually fell like there scared, I got scarred most of the time, always pointing out to my friend "Look atThis is clearly the best Paranormal Activity of them all. Paranormal activity 1 was Ok, but 3 and 4 sank to the bottom. The actors actually fell like there scared, I got scarred most of the time, always pointing out to my friend "Look at that" or "Oh my god, Look!". The ending was the most interesting part of the movie, sure it was Ok but was creepy. The movie had a good story line, believable actors, and some amazing screen shots. This is a must own movie. Must own! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MuddsjrJan 19, 2014
Paranormal Activity 2 almost scares you as much as it did the first film, and almost carries it to a more enjoyable level. The good thing about watching Paranormal Activity 2, is that it fits in splendidly with the 1st film, so instead ofParanormal Activity 2 almost scares you as much as it did the first film, and almost carries it to a more enjoyable level. The good thing about watching Paranormal Activity 2, is that it fits in splendidly with the 1st film, so instead of going onto a completely new story, it more or less works as a sequel, and makes a lot more sense out of the 1st film. So yes, the scares are there, even if they take their time, and it's brilliantly entertaining, but I couldn't help but wonder, if perhaps creating a sequel was at all necessary? Perhaps, in full, they should have just let the first film be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ydnar4Feb 24, 2016
Paranormal Activity 2 brings back the same found footage style that the first movie had and it has a direct link to the first movie with Katie Featherston and Micah Sloat returning for cameos in the sequel. The budget was exponentially biggerParanormal Activity 2 brings back the same found footage style that the first movie had and it has a direct link to the first movie with Katie Featherston and Micah Sloat returning for cameos in the sequel. The budget was exponentially bigger for this edition despite the whole film taking place on one location just like the first film. I like the way that the film involved a true family rather than just a couple. That dynamic made the horror all the more terrifying. There are some points where the main character is switched around and it seems like the story would have worked better with one character being the focal point. It takes a little while for the movie to get going but I was completely engaged for the whole second half. All the characters manage to stay likeable which I could not say about Featherston and Micah Sloat in the first movie. The horror is very much the same as the horror in the first movie but I actually found it more scary than its predecessor. Paranormal Activity 2 is a good watch for any horror fan, but I insist that you watch the first movie before the second because there is some very important connections between the two films that really come into play later. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
horcrux2007Mar 15, 2015
Like most horror sequels, Paranormal Activity 2 is bigger and bolder than its predecessor, but more importantly, it's almost as good as the original. There are a couple more characters in this movie to make it a bit more interesting. TheLike most horror sequels, Paranormal Activity 2 is bigger and bolder than its predecessor, but more importantly, it's almost as good as the original. There are a couple more characters in this movie to make it a bit more interesting. The inclusion of the dog, for example, ups the creep factor whenever he's growling at something that isn't there. The scares and particularly the ending makes Paranormal Activity 2 a bit flashier and busier than its source material, but it's never so in-your-face that subtlety is compromised. The same pacing issues that were present in Paranormal Activity 1 are on display here, but if you enjoyed the first movie, you'll like this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews