Paranormal Activity 2

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 250 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 250

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 8, 2010
    0
    **** An evil ghost that harasses families-Paranormal Activity 1 and 2 in a nutshell.
  2. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    Well to start off it's definitly better than the first one. I did think the first was bad but clever for what it did on the budget. This is heart stopping. Every time it is night in the house you know that something is going to happen but you don't know exactly how. I believe the larger budget helped this time. It still has 'wooooh the door is moving but what is moving the door' momentsWell to start off it's definitly better than the first one. I did think the first was bad but clever for what it did on the budget. This is heart stopping. Every time it is night in the house you know that something is going to happen but you don't know exactly how. I believe the larger budget helped this time. It still has 'wooooh the door is moving but what is moving the door' moments and there are some plot inacuracies and confusions but apart from that I was definitly clinging to the person I was with during the final sequences. Awesome and very scary, just dont make a third one...please. Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2014
    8
    after this franchise got ruined with Paranormal Activity 3, 4 and The Marked Ones, let's talk about its real chapters. so, i love Paranormal Activity! it was just a simple found footage horror movie that had one camera placed in the bedroom to film what happens at night when everybody's asleep. it sounds boring but it was creepy and chilling as hell! so, it was a huge smash hit and itafter this franchise got ruined with Paranormal Activity 3, 4 and The Marked Ones, let's talk about its real chapters. so, i love Paranormal Activity! it was just a simple found footage horror movie that had one camera placed in the bedroom to film what happens at night when everybody's asleep. it sounds boring but it was creepy and chilling as hell! so, it was a huge smash hit and it spawned 3 sequels, a Latin spin-off and a fifth movie that comes out later this year. but i'm here talk about the sequel that stays true to the franchise and the first movie, and that's Paranormal Activity 2. it's a prequel to the first movie that shows Kristi's family being haunted by the demon ever since their little son Hunter was born. and i really liked at how true Paranormal Activity 2 stands to the first movie. it's still able to make your hair stand up and make you go pale white, with goosebumps all over you. i swear to god, there were a few scenes in the movie were it got so chilling, that i was just shaking outta control. the first movie did that and this one did it too. now, to be honest: the movie seems to start up pretty slow. like there's nothing really happening in the first act and at the beginning of the second act. but then, when stuff start happening, it's a real **** nightmare for Kristi's family and it just makes your pulse throb. like i said, Paranormal Activity 3, 4 and The Marked Ones were pretty much the same thing, but they weren't creepy. they were just filled with jump scares that irritates the **** outta you. and that's why Paranormal Activity 2 is the best sequel in the franchise so far, cause it actually stays true to the first movie. Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2010
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Most of the film flips through the same static shots where nothing usually happens, except for a bump in the night or some "paranormal activity." The movie mostly takes place inside some ordinary house, which limits the creepiness and makes it pretty boring to watch. Ooo, another still-shot of the kitchen...and nothing happens! Again! The characters are mundane and foolish, and the film never establishes a true connection to these people. I really couldn't care what happened to these characters because I barely got to know them. The plot is pencil-thin, and the ending is anti-climatic and not suspenseful at all - a HUGE wasted opportunity in what should have been the scariest part. I am being harsh, but I honestly didn't jump out of my seat once. There are some creepy elements, but the film failed to do what it was supposed to - scare me. Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2010
    6
    Paranormal Activity 2 was okay and it's quite scary. I been scared the whole time just thinking about it,but I guess the sequel is more less than the original. It wasn't much as good as the first one,since the first one is really scary to watch and it's the most scariest film of all time. My biggest problem is that they spoil the movie with the teaser trailer and all I could say this isParanormal Activity 2 was okay and it's quite scary. I been scared the whole time just thinking about it,but I guess the sequel is more less than the original. It wasn't much as good as the first one,since the first one is really scary to watch and it's the most scariest film of all time. My biggest problem is that they spoil the movie with the teaser trailer and all I could say this is that why we're having a baby and a dog in the scene like this? People concern this teaser the whole time and it does sucked when the trailer shows the audience seeing the movie in green screen since last year. The characters are alright,but not much good as Katie and Micah does. I like the security cameras when they show the scene where the ghost is doing in six shots. It has some lame talking scenes that I didn't interested to hear,all we want is scaring,because we didn't care about the story. It does has the same setting as the the first one and it has the same dialogue too. But this one is the prequel,it tells the story where Katie meet the family and they got spooked in the house before the couple started taping the evidence. It did get scared in four moments with large sounds and it's quite silly in the movie,but I prefer the first one and this sequel is less than scary,not bad and it wasn't quite special. Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2010
    3
    Trickery... It's nothing else. Not creative, not interesting. Lets make the audience focus on a door for 5 minutes... Do it for so long they are bored and feel tired, then ANYTHING can be done to shock you... Noise, movement and/or with any sound or shape. A total breeze for the film-makers and the first shock is just as lame as the last. I had more fun listening to reactions of differentTrickery... It's nothing else. Not creative, not interesting. Lets make the audience focus on a door for 5 minutes... Do it for so long they are bored and feel tired, then ANYTHING can be done to shock you... Noise, movement and/or with any sound or shape. A total breeze for the film-makers and the first shock is just as lame as the last. I had more fun listening to reactions of different people scream in the cinema. Pretty solid acting however and they made everything believable, I just personally felt it was a waste of time/money. Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2010
    8
    This movie is an example of how a low budget film can acheive some glory.
    It takes a little bit to get started, but by the end I was watching every door and shadow with horror.
    Enjoyable for fans of The Blair Witch project
  8. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    A rare horror sequel that's every bit as terrifying as the original. This film had me leaping out of my seat and instilled a palpable sense of dread in the viewer. Surprisingly commendable for its ability to build on the mythos from the first, without becoming cluttered or ridiculous. In short, it's tremendously scary and unbearably tense.
  9. Oct 26, 2010
    7
    Paranormal Activity 2 maintains the essence that it brought one year ago, offers the same scary but yet enjoyable entertainment, and manages to match up to its predecessor, but I still would give the original the edge.
  10. Oct 25, 2010
    7
    Maybe the downfall to Paranormal Activity 2 is not allowing the proper spacing for audience reactions to the horror versus tying the story together, as well as the first movie did. Either that, or the story is just too incoherent towards the end. It was very hard to tell in a crowded movie theater. But the movie did have quite a few scares, which is what matters the most. It just ties upMaybe the downfall to Paranormal Activity 2 is not allowing the proper spacing for audience reactions to the horror versus tying the story together, as well as the first movie did. Either that, or the story is just too incoherent towards the end. It was very hard to tell in a crowded movie theater. But the movie did have quite a few scares, which is what matters the most. It just ties up too quickly for comprehension which left my entire theater quite unsatisfied, but we did enjoy the ride along the way. Expand
  11. Oct 22, 2010
    9
    Honestly one of te best theatrical released horror films out today! From beginning to end on the edge of my seat. I love horror, I believe it to be an art and they really shot a great one with this paranormal Activity sequel. Smarter than the original and better... and i loved the original. Watch it tonight!
  12. Oct 22, 2010
    9
    The movie is definitely worth it...I thought it was wayy better than the first...I enjoyed the whole movie..., even though the ending could have been thought out better...Still good though..A must-SEE!
  13. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    i would have giving this movie a 10 but the first hour is just to dull and boring and also the acting was the horrible not the worst i seen but its was bad enogh i know acting wasnt the supossed to be the best but they could have tried harder, but other then that the rest half hour or so will scare the crap out of you. it will make you jump or thats at least the people at my theater did haha
  14. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    Absolutely terrifying. At first I was a bit uneasy, as the first half of the movie is very slow to get into anything, but as soon as things started happening, it was incredibly frightening. There are elements from the first movie tied into it, as well, which was nice to see; they expand upon the first film, even tie up loose ends we were left with. My only critique: will not do well in aAbsolutely terrifying. At first I was a bit uneasy, as the first half of the movie is very slow to get into anything, but as soon as things started happening, it was incredibly frightening. There are elements from the first movie tied into it, as well, which was nice to see; they expand upon the first film, even tie up loose ends we were left with. My only critique: will not do well in a household setting, just like its predecessor. You MUST see this film in theaters. Go. Right now. I don't care if you're at work/school/prison. Right now. And I'll know if you didn't go! o_o Expand
  15. Oct 26, 2010
    5
    Good story, and excellent story arc to link the two films together. However, I'm sorry but there was absolutely nothing terrifying about this movie. The first version had more bone chilling moments, and a lot more scenes where one would be scared (not me because I don't get scared by movies) but after gauging the reaction from my partner, who scares easily, and the rest of the crowd,Good story, and excellent story arc to link the two films together. However, I'm sorry but there was absolutely nothing terrifying about this movie. The first version had more bone chilling moments, and a lot more scenes where one would be scared (not me because I don't get scared by movies) but after gauging the reaction from my partner, who scares easily, and the rest of the crowd, there were hardly any moments in this film that startled the entire audience, or even made my heart almost wan't to jump. Expand
  16. Nov 13, 2010
    2
    One trick pony. I don't think unexpected loud thumps count as scary, they are lazy and uncreative, which is the basis of why this movie sucked. The first Paranormal Activity had suspense and the thought that this may actually be real. Now everyone knows it's not real so instead of trying some new scares they just regurgitated the same "scare" moments of the first one (loud noises,One trick pony. I don't think unexpected loud thumps count as scary, they are lazy and uncreative, which is the basis of why this movie sucked. The first Paranormal Activity had suspense and the thought that this may actually be real. Now everyone knows it's not real so instead of trying some new scares they just regurgitated the same "scare" moments of the first one (loud noises, slamming doors, shadows, people getting dragged). I'm not saying that it didn't make me jump (the Kitchen scene in particular was scary $hit) but towards the end it seemed to jump the shark and become comical. The last 20 minutes I just kept on thinking "Are you for real?" I think the sequel had potential but it was just too poorly done for me to care. Expand
  17. Oct 25, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's not a mystery, scale-wise, commensurate to the Star Child's true identity, or the origins of the Monoliths, filmically cosmic mysteries that Peter Hyams clarified in his rightfully maligned "2010: The Year That We Make Contact"(the sequel to the Stanley Kubrick masterpiece), but it's still anti-climactic, regardless of the differentiation in pedigree, when the filmmaker literalizes the once heretofore unexplainable materialization of a burnt family photo in Micah Sloat's attic, and in the process, ruins the most enigmatic moment from "Paranormal Activity", the Oren Peli-directed original. So now we know, to the detriment of the original film's mythology, that among the moving things and unexplained noises in the Sloat household, there was, in retrospect, some normal activity, as well, some debunking, some collaboration with the unseen forces, in which man is shown to be capable of an evil far worse than any demon. Daniel(Brian Boland) orchestrates a transference, acting on his Latino housekeeper's instructions(not only do they clean houses, they clean souls, too), Kristi's husband sets a photo of Katie on fire, and is presumably the one who does the planting. Let the picture in the attic just be; let the Monoliths be. So now we know: both sisters married jerks. Daniel probably sleeps on the wrong side of the bed too, a coward, just like Micah, who in "Paranormal Activity", sleeps on the side farthest away from the doorway, so should a demon enter the bedroom, given the positioning on their bed, Katie looks like the brave one, since she's the first warm body that the poltergeist would encounter. Micah, by all appearances, uses Katie as bait, a means by which the amateur filmmaker can get the best-possible footage of their unwanted guest attacking his girlfriend. In "Paranormal Activity 2", it's the baby who takes the brunt of the supernatural malfeasance, with only a German Shephard, the family dog, standing sentry; a German Shephard who is no Lassie, since he fails to make his owners understand that they have a situation far worse than Timmy being stuck down some well. He doesn't bark loud and long enough. Too bad "Paranormal Activity 2" wasn't one of those talking animal films, if it was, the dog could tell his human owners to get the f*ck out, now. Speaking of talking dogs, what would Scooby-Doo say? Probably something along the lines of, "Ruh-roh. The baby is sliding across the side of his crib. This is scarier than the Blair Witch twigs." Poor baby. Nobody thinks to check the playback on the surveillance footage that details the 'round-the-clock nursery going-ons, even though the family reviews the mystery of the gallivanting pool cleaner, and also the slamming door which locks Ali(Molly Ephraim) out. As is the case in all horror movies since time immemorial, the people are kept in harm's way due to the advice of the rational one, the singular hold-out to the new reality that defies reason, who ends up getting everybody killed, because of his(it's usually a guy) unbending stance against the mounting evidence which points to escape as being the most prudent course of action. In "Paranormal Activity", the couple stays because Micah wants to finish his movie. In the sequel, there is no such egocentric(Micah is willing to risk his girlfriend's life for his own selfish reasons), albeit intellectual basis for the family to remain as housemates with the devil. Daniel is just a tool. When it's too late, he turns to Martine(Vivis), the Hispanic maid he fires for being too superstitious. Ever the tool, with Kristi beset in a catatonic state(and in a biting mood), Daniel still gives his housekeeper static, as he protests in disbelief at having to use a cross for the purging. So now we know the pretext behind Katie's true identity, and just like the Star Child, our understanding of the circumstances that made them who they are, while may be interesting in a cursory way, a gimmick to drive each respective sequel, it threatens the purity of both "2001: A Space Odyssey, and to a lesser, but proportionate degree, "Paranormal Activity", as well. Expand
  18. Oct 30, 2010
    9
    "Paranormal Activity 2 is a Halloween treat it brings the chills & thrills and is scary and more compulsive than the original , Tho the build up to the "final nights" are slow, its worth the shockingly and frighting conclusion that will have you screaming" .. A-
  19. Oct 22, 2010
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was like watching a funny porno with slight rumbling noises throughout. The reason i called it a porno is because the only thing you give a damn about is the girls breasts. Oh by the way, the ending is spectacular you wont be angry at all. Its not like all of the characters die. Oh god i just gave away spoilers.

    Oh btw, did anybody hear a slight RUMBLING NOISE?!
    Expand
  20. Nov 7, 2010
    1
    I went into the film with fairly low expectations, but the real thing was worse that I could have predicted. The whole film was just long periods of noiseless filler between loud noises, as though this passes as some kind of entertainment or fear factor. Nearly all the plot elements were as thin as tissue paper, me and my friend were able to predict throughout; loud bang in the next 5I went into the film with fairly low expectations, but the real thing was worse that I could have predicted. The whole film was just long periods of noiseless filler between loud noises, as though this passes as some kind of entertainment or fear factor. Nearly all the plot elements were as thin as tissue paper, me and my friend were able to predict throughout; loud bang in the next 5 seconds, somethings going to move in here, etc. I say plot, but there wasn't really one to speak of, it was more or less a series of non-sequential events with slight connections towards the end. Of the 90 minutes there's probably only 10 minutes of footage where something even remotely interesting is going on. To be honest I have absolutely no idea how anyone can be giving this film a rating of more than 2/10, unless they were involved with the film, are critics who have completely lost their integrity to a pile of cash, or have the mental prowess of a toddler. Perhaps my complete and utter cynicism towards the paranormal and my utter belief in the natural sciences doesn't help but I don't care. In fact the only time I was entertained was by the terrible effects, which made me laugh out loud. Expand
  21. Oct 25, 2010
    7
    A good scare movie, maybe this sequel is even better than the first. Definitely enjoyable. Another reviewer complains about the acting; sure, it was flawed, but the level of acting is not a reason why anyone should see this film. You're going for the suspense and the artful surprises, of which this film has plenty.
  22. Oct 26, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It wanted to help to explain some of the "mysteries" of the first film. I enjoyed the characters progress through the demon's hijinks as well as the nanny's interpretation of events. Expand
  23. Nov 14, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This isn't scary. It's startling. There is a difference. Anyone that gets truly scared by this has some serious issues. A bunch of quiet followed by a loud noise isn't scary. There were, however, a few funny parts. The baby being pulled up the crib - funny. The fact that the pool cleaner creeped my girlfriend out to no end - funny. Expand
  24. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    This is a good movie to see with a few friends if you are looking for a good scare. although this movie does have its really fun good bits its a bit slow with the scaring. which is quite bad because we are living in the 21 century meaning the kids these days want more action and horror and less full detailed story so if you want a horror movie thats pretty scary but slow at the same timeThis is a good movie to see with a few friends if you are looking for a good scare. although this movie does have its really fun good bits its a bit slow with the scaring. which is quite bad because we are living in the 21 century meaning the kids these days want more action and horror and less full detailed story so if you want a horror movie thats pretty scary but slow at the same time then watch this movie and you will love it. Expand
  25. Feb 21, 2013
    0
    worst one out of all Paranormal Activities so far! my opinion but it is, acting is HORRIFYING, when Kristi gets dragged down the stairs it is VERY unrealistic! Only one scene made me jump, I was laughing at some parts.

    Here is how everything works
    PA: Creepiest
    PA2: .......
    PA3: Most Suspenseful
    PA4: Jumpiest
  26. Feb 26, 2011
    3
    Now this was better, I didn't have to give this movie a 1/10 like the last one. However, that doesn't mean that it was good. It was mediocre at best. The movie started off slow just like the other one, but jumped into the "scares" sooner. The scares, they weren't very good at all. They just sort of happened and they obviously weren't very thought out. Also; what the hell is up with thisNow this was better, I didn't have to give this movie a 1/10 like the last one. However, that doesn't mean that it was good. It was mediocre at best. The movie started off slow just like the other one, but jumped into the "scares" sooner. The scares, they weren't very good at all. They just sort of happened and they obviously weren't very thought out. Also; what the hell is up with this being a prequel, at the end, the possessed woman from the first movie comes to the house and kills everybody except for the kid. Just cause they were related doesn't mean she could walk all that way without someone seeing her. One last thing, why do they feel that they have to show shots of the pool every 10 minutes? Overall, this movie was better, but still not good enough to impress me in anyway. Expand
  27. Oct 22, 2010
    7
    Pretty much just like the first. I do enjoy how the first is incorporated into this one, so they happen simultaneously instead of back to back. It ended kind of abruptly, but was suspenseful throughout without even doing anything. It helped that the theater was full, but a good movie anyway.
  28. Jul 22, 2011
    6
    The mbut not psychological fear as the 1st one succeeded in. But films like these are much better than other horror movies. ovie is alright. Its not scary at all as the 1st one was. I like the connection of the stories though. The acting is great, not bad at all. You will get bored 45 minutes in. The movie tries to build suspense but fails. Its mostly spooks,
  29. Jan 20, 2012
    0
    Incredibly boring in every aspect. I don't even remember the names of the characters, since a reason to care about them at all is never given. They're just bad actors trying to look natural, very similar to MTV's reality show stars. There is no suspense here--we get a massive amount of footage where *absolutely nothing happens at all*. The idea seems to be we're waiting for something toIncredibly boring in every aspect. I don't even remember the names of the characters, since a reason to care about them at all is never given. They're just bad actors trying to look natural, very similar to MTV's reality show stars. There is no suspense here--we get a massive amount of footage where *absolutely nothing happens at all*. The idea seems to be we're waiting for something to happen, and that's the suspense, since once in a while we get a...bump in the night, maybe. Not exactly frightening. The ending that it advertises as shocking is absolutely nothing. The original wasn't exactly a classic by any means, but this one is significantly worse. The movie is unsatisfying from beginning to end. Seriously, almost nothing happens at all. What does happen just isn't worth the effort to get there. Yeah, it ties into the first one at the end, but not in a way that really means anything at all. It's just thrown in there. There is no suspense, horror, or anything to keep you awake. It just repeats the same shots over and over, in which nothing happens most of the time. And you have to wonder, "This is supposed to be frightening?" when it isn't. Ugly stuff, totally boring, completely useless. Don't even rent it. Expand
  30. Nov 19, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Paranormal activity 2 had the big hype as everyone though but it was okay and it's quite scary. I been scared the whole time just thinking about it, but I guess the sequel is more less than the original. It wasn't much as good as the first one, since the first one is really scary to watch... My biggest problem is that they spoil the movie with the teaser trailer and all I could say this is that why we're having a baby and a dog in the scene like this? The characters are okay, but not much good as Katie and Micah does. I like the security cameras when they show the scene where the ghost is doing in six shots. It has some terrible talking scenes that I didn't interest to hear, at all because we didn't care about the story. It does have the same setting as the first one and it has the same dialogue too. But this one is the great, it tells the story where Katie meets the family and they got spooked in the house before the couple started taping the evidence. It did get scared in four moments with large sounds and it's quite silly in the movie, but I prefer the first one and this sequel is less than scary, not bad and it wasn't quite special Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Oct 23, 2010
    60
    Unlike the original, Paranormal Activity 2's pacing is uneven; it builds slowly and effectively before rushing too quickly, and at one point not particularly coherently, through the climax. But the jolts, when they come, are bigger, causing actual physical thrills and chills, at least for me.
  2. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Oct 23, 2010
    60
    Even knowing what's likely to come-the doors opening on their own, the skeptical characters scoffing at metaphysical explanations, the unheeded warnings from paranormally gifted guests-doesn't make it any less nailbiting to watch.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Oct 23, 2010
    50
    Paranormal Activity 2 suffers from the excessive expository blah-blah that's so common in horror-movie sequels.