Paranormal Activity 2

Paranormal Activity 2 Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 260 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After experiencing what they think are a series of "break-ins", a family sets up security cameras around their home, only to realize that the events unfolding before them are more sinister than they seem.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Oct 21, 2010
    83
    Even when nothing is happening, the often dead-silent shots tend to grow scarier the more you look at them.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Oct 21, 2010
    75
    Rarely is the second film in a horror franchise more frightening than the original, but Paranormal Activity 2 has more innocent victims and more scares than its predecessor.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Oct 22, 2010
    75
    Demons of mediocrity, be gone! Here we have a shrewd sequel a touch better than the original.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Oct 21, 2010
    60
    Without giving anything away, much of the excruciatingly teased-out tension here echoes the first movie without upping the ante.
  5. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 23, 2010
    50
    The clumsy and obvious byproduct of the financial success of its predecessor last Halloween, this movie has no reason for existing except to provide Paramount Pictures with a few extra shekels.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Oct 22, 2010
    50
    Where "The Last Exorcism" was sustained by artfully balanced skepticism and a feel for character, Paranormal 2, putatively directed by Tod Williams, can only hold an audience with the understood promise of big jolts around the corner.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Oct 22, 2010
    20
    Paranormal Activity 2 sinks much lower than it needs to in order to get a rush out of us - and in the end, the rush isn't even that great. The movie puts us through the paces with minimal payoff.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 102
  2. Negative: 26 out of 102
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    Absolutely terrifying. At first I was a bit uneasy, as the first half of the movie is very slow to get into anything, but as soon as thingsAbsolutely terrifying. At first I was a bit uneasy, as the first half of the movie is very slow to get into anything, but as soon as things started happening, it was incredibly frightening. There are elements from the first movie tied into it, as well, which was nice to see; they expand upon the first film, even tie up loose ends we were left with. My only critique: will not do well in a household setting, just like its predecessor. You MUST see this film in theaters. Go. Right now. I don't care if you're at work/school/prison. Right now. And I'll know if you didn't go! o_o Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2014
    8
    after this franchise got ruined with Paranormal Activity 3, 4 and The Marked Ones, let's talk about its real chapters. so, i love Paranormalafter this franchise got ruined with Paranormal Activity 3, 4 and The Marked Ones, let's talk about its real chapters. so, i love Paranormal Activity! it was just a simple found footage horror movie that had one camera placed in the bedroom to film what happens at night when everybody's asleep. it sounds boring but it was creepy and chilling as hell! so, it was a huge smash hit and it spawned 3 sequels, a Latin spin-off and a fifth movie that comes out later this year. but i'm here talk about the sequel that stays true to the franchise and the first movie, and that's Paranormal Activity 2. it's a prequel to the first movie that shows Kristi's family being haunted by the demon ever since their little son Hunter was born. and i really liked at how true Paranormal Activity 2 stands to the first movie. it's still able to make your hair stand up and make you go pale white, with goosebumps all over you. i swear to god, there were a few scenes in the movie were it got so chilling, that i was just shaking outta control. the first movie did that and this one did it too. now, to be honest: the movie seems to start up pretty slow. like there's nothing really happening in the first act and at the beginning of the second act. but then, when stuff start happening, it's a real **** nightmare for Kristi's family and it just makes your pulse throb. like i said, Paranormal Activity 3, 4 and The Marked Ones were pretty much the same thing, but they weren't creepy. they were just filled with jump scares that irritates the **** outta you. and that's why Paranormal Activity 2 is the best sequel in the franchise so far, cause it actually stays true to the first movie. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2016
    7
    Paranormal Activity 2 brings back the same found footage style that the first movie had and it has a direct link to the first movie with KatieParanormal Activity 2 brings back the same found footage style that the first movie had and it has a direct link to the first movie with Katie Featherston and Micah Sloat returning for cameos in the sequel. The budget was exponentially bigger for this edition despite the whole film taking place on one location just like the first film. I like the way that the film involved a true family rather than just a couple. That dynamic made the horror all the more terrifying. There are some points where the main character is switched around and it seems like the story would have worked better with one character being the focal point. It takes a little while for the movie to get going but I was completely engaged for the whole second half. All the characters manage to stay likeable which I could not say about Featherston and Micah Sloat in the first movie. The horror is very much the same as the horror in the first movie but I actually found it more scary than its predecessor. Paranormal Activity 2 is a good watch for any horror fan, but I insist that you watch the first movie before the second because there is some very important connections between the two films that really come into play later. Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2010
    6
    I definitely liked this one better than the first one. This one had a plot that was moving and even though the first one came with moreI definitely liked this one better than the first one. This one had a plot that was moving and even though the first one came with more surprises, this one had more scary moments. Overall, I wouldn't watch this movie more than once. Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2011
    5
    More of the same without the unknown factor of the first movie makes this a disappointing sequel and despite a few moments that may have madeMore of the same without the unknown factor of the first movie makes this a disappointing sequel and despite a few moments that may have made you jump there was very little here to shock or surprise. Although it tied in the events of the first movie well this could have been a much better movie if they could have made the "activity" less predictable. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2010
    4
    I have to admit that I hadn't seen the first movie, and was even a bit fearful to see this attempt, but overall i enjoyed it. The director'sI have to admit that I hadn't seen the first movie, and was even a bit fearful to see this attempt, but overall i enjoyed it. The director's use of a documentary's "authenticity" works brilliantly in this case, although he relies too heavily on loud noises unexpectedly etc. I did find it frightening (at times) although I scare rather easily. The film did not really get going for an hour, and from what I could gather, did a nice job of weaving the first movie into its plot. It won't win any awards, but it gets the job done if you're up for a scary flick. Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This isn't scary. It's startling. There is a difference. Anyone that gets truly scared by this has some serious issues. A bunch of quiet followed by a loud noise isn't scary. There were, however, a few funny parts. The baby being pulled up the crib - funny. The fact that the pool cleaner creeped my girlfriend out to no end - funny. Expand

See all 102 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.