Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 223 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After experiencing what they think are a series of "break-ins", a family sets up security cameras around their home, only to realize that the events unfolding before them are more sinister than they seem.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Oct 21, 2010
    83
    Even when nothing is happening, the often dead-silent shots tend to grow scarier the more you look at them.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Oct 21, 2010
    75
    Rarely is the second film in a horror franchise more frightening than the original, but Paranormal Activity 2 has more innocent victims and more scares than its predecessor.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Oct 22, 2010
    75
    Demons of mediocrity, be gone! Here we have a shrewd sequel a touch better than the original.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Oct 21, 2010
    60
    Without giving anything away, much of the excruciatingly teased-out tension here echoes the first movie without upping the ante.
  5. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 23, 2010
    50
    The clumsy and obvious byproduct of the financial success of its predecessor last Halloween, this movie has no reason for existing except to provide Paramount Pictures with a few extra shekels.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Oct 22, 2010
    50
    Where "The Last Exorcism" was sustained by artfully balanced skepticism and a feel for character, Paranormal 2, putatively directed by Tod Williams, can only hold an audience with the understood promise of big jolts around the corner.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Oct 22, 2010
    20
    Paranormal Activity 2 sinks much lower than it needs to in order to get a rush out of us - and in the end, the rush isn't even that great. The movie puts us through the paces with minimal payoff.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 90
  2. Negative: 24 out of 90
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    Absolutely terrifying. At first I was a bit uneasy, as the first half of the movie is very slow to get into anything, but as soon as things started happening, it was incredibly frightening. There are elements from the first movie tied into it, as well, which was nice to see; they expand upon the first film, even tie up loose ends we were left with. My only critique: will not do well in a household setting, just like its predecessor. You MUST see this film in theaters. Go. Right now. I don't care if you're at work/school/prison. Right now. And I'll know if you didn't go! o_o Collapse
  2. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    Sure, the sense of discovery you got from the first Paranormal Activity may have been diminished, but thanks to better pacing, a better script, and more engaging characters, Paranormal Activity 2 is scarier and better than the first. Let's hope 3 is good as well! Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2014
    7
    Paranormal Activity 2 almost scares you as much as it did the first film, and almost carries it to a more enjoyable level. The good thing about watching Paranormal Activity 2, is that it fits in splendidly with the 1st film, so instead of going onto a completely new story, it more or less works as a sequel, and makes a lot more sense out of the 1st film. So yes, the scares are there, even if they take their time, and it's brilliantly entertaining, but I couldn't help but wonder, if perhaps creating a sequel was at all necessary? Perhaps, in full, they should have just let the first film be. Expand
  4. Feb 14, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was, overall just as scary as the first but I do have a bone to pick with it. I think the movie should have had a completely separate story line instead of feeding off of the first one. I didn't like how the two movies linked together. It was predictable which in the first one, was not. It was worth watching, I just didn't like the ending very much. Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2011
    5
    Despite the poor reviews this sequel received, I actually thought it was okay. It tried to be the first film, but bigger. The ending disappointed me, and some of the sequences were pretty repetitive. The poor reviews, however, are understandable. Once you've seen the first instalment, the novelty of the franchise can somewhat wear off. Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    3
    Seriously, this movie is a lot of things, but scary is certainly not one of them. Nothing happens that is worth giving two cents about. Devoid of anything that actually qualifies as a horror movie. Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This isn't scary. It's startling. There is a difference. Anyone that gets truly scared by this has some serious issues. A bunch of quiet followed by a loud noise isn't scary. There were, however, a few funny parts. The baby being pulled up the crib - funny. The fact that the pool cleaner creeped my girlfriend out to no end - funny. Expand

See all 90 User Reviews