Paranormal Activity 2

Paranormal Activity 2 Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 249 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After experiencing what they think are a series of "break-ins", a family sets up security cameras around their home, only to realize that the events unfolding before them are more sinister than they seem.

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Oct 21, 2010
    83
    Even when nothing is happening, the often dead-silent shots tend to grow scarier the more you look at them.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Oct 21, 2010
    75
    Rarely is the second film in a horror franchise more frightening than the original, but Paranormal Activity 2 has more innocent victims and more scares than its predecessor.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Oct 22, 2010
    75
    Demons of mediocrity, be gone! Here we have a shrewd sequel a touch better than the original.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Oct 21, 2010
    60
    Without giving anything away, much of the excruciatingly teased-out tension here echoes the first movie without upping the ante.
  5. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 23, 2010
    50
    The clumsy and obvious byproduct of the financial success of its predecessor last Halloween, this movie has no reason for existing except to provide Paramount Pictures with a few extra shekels.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Oct 22, 2010
    50
    Where "The Last Exorcism" was sustained by artfully balanced skepticism and a feel for character, Paranormal 2, putatively directed by Tod Williams, can only hold an audience with the understood promise of big jolts around the corner.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Oct 22, 2010
    20
    Paranormal Activity 2 sinks much lower than it needs to in order to get a rush out of us - and in the end, the rush isn't even that great. The movie puts us through the paces with minimal payoff.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 99
  2. Negative: 27 out of 99
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    Absolutely terrifying. At first I was a bit uneasy, as the first half of the movie is very slow to get into anything, but as soon as thingsAbsolutely terrifying. At first I was a bit uneasy, as the first half of the movie is very slow to get into anything, but as soon as things started happening, it was incredibly frightening. There are elements from the first movie tied into it, as well, which was nice to see; they expand upon the first film, even tie up loose ends we were left with. My only critique: will not do well in a household setting, just like its predecessor. You MUST see this film in theaters. Go. Right now. I don't care if you're at work/school/prison. Right now. And I'll know if you didn't go! o_o Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2014
    8
    after this franchise got ruined with Paranormal Activity 3, 4 and The Marked Ones, let's talk about its real chapters. so, i love Paranormalafter this franchise got ruined with Paranormal Activity 3, 4 and The Marked Ones, let's talk about its real chapters. so, i love Paranormal Activity! it was just a simple found footage horror movie that had one camera placed in the bedroom to film what happens at night when everybody's asleep. it sounds boring but it was creepy and chilling as hell! so, it was a huge smash hit and it spawned 3 sequels, a Latin spin-off and a fifth movie that comes out later this year. but i'm here talk about the sequel that stays true to the franchise and the first movie, and that's Paranormal Activity 2. it's a prequel to the first movie that shows Kristi's family being haunted by the demon ever since their little son Hunter was born. and i really liked at how true Paranormal Activity 2 stands to the first movie. it's still able to make your hair stand up and make you go pale white, with goosebumps all over you. i swear to god, there were a few scenes in the movie were it got so chilling, that i was just shaking outta control. the first movie did that and this one did it too. now, to be honest: the movie seems to start up pretty slow. like there's nothing really happening in the first act and at the beginning of the second act. but then, when stuff start happening, it's a real **** nightmare for Kristi's family and it just makes your pulse throb. like i said, Paranormal Activity 3, 4 and The Marked Ones were pretty much the same thing, but they weren't creepy. they were just filled with jump scares that irritates the **** outta you. and that's why Paranormal Activity 2 is the best sequel in the franchise so far, cause it actually stays true to the first movie. Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2014
    7
    Paranormal Activity 2 almost scares you as much as it did the first film, and almost carries it to a more enjoyable level. The good thingParanormal Activity 2 almost scares you as much as it did the first film, and almost carries it to a more enjoyable level. The good thing about watching Paranormal Activity 2, is that it fits in splendidly with the 1st film, so instead of going onto a completely new story, it more or less works as a sequel, and makes a lot more sense out of the 1st film. So yes, the scares are there, even if they take their time, and it's brilliantly entertaining, but I couldn't help but wonder, if perhaps creating a sequel was at all necessary? Perhaps, in full, they should have just let the first film be. Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2010
    6
    I definitely liked this one better than the first one. This one had a plot that was moving and even though the first one came with moreI definitely liked this one better than the first one. This one had a plot that was moving and even though the first one came with more surprises, this one had more scary moments. Overall, I wouldn't watch this movie more than once. Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2011
    5
    More of the same without the unknown factor of the first movie makes this a disappointing sequel and despite a few moments that may have madeMore of the same without the unknown factor of the first movie makes this a disappointing sequel and despite a few moments that may have made you jump there was very little here to shock or surprise. Although it tied in the events of the first movie well this could have been a much better movie if they could have made the "activity" less predictable. Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    3
    Seriously, this movie is a lot of things, but scary is certainly not one of them. Nothing happens that is worth giving two cents about. DevoidSeriously, this movie is a lot of things, but scary is certainly not one of them. Nothing happens that is worth giving two cents about. Devoid of anything that actually qualifies as a horror movie. Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This isn't scary. It's startling. There is a difference. Anyone that gets truly scared by this has some serious issues. A bunch of quiet followed by a loud noise isn't scary. There were, however, a few funny parts. The baby being pulled up the crib - funny. The fact that the pool cleaner creeped my girlfriend out to no end - funny. Expand

See all 99 User Reviews

Trailers