Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 189 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Five years after the events that led to the disappearance of Katie and Hunter, young Alice begins experiencing strange phenomena in her home; especially after a kid named Robbie moves in next door. When Robbie's caretaker ends up in the hospital, he starts living with Alice's family. That's when things go from creepy to paranormal. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Oct 18, 2012
    70
    The film is heavily reliant on jump scares, but its best moments are the ones before them, when the tension builds without the benefit of escalating music to queue you in to the approaching shock.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Oct 18, 2012
    60
    Catfish pair Joost and Ariel Schulman keep the franchise firmly on track with a satisfyingly scary fourth instalment.
  3. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Oct 20, 2012
    60
    Paranormal Activity 4 will please the fans, and that should sustain this low-budget, highly profitable franchise.
  4. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Oct 17, 2012
    40
    Fairly mild in tone and riffing -- if not quite ripping -- off a collection of horror classics that includes "The Shining," "Rosemary's Baby" and "Poltergeist," both the franchise's premise and its execution nevertheless remain rudimentary, with the narrative and character backstories representing more of a sketch than a fully realized vision of the supernatural world that Katie inhabits.
  5. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Oct 20, 2012
    40
    Screenwriter Christopher Landon, along with co-directors Henry Joost and Ariel Schulman, make a truly lame attempt at establishing a supernatural mythology to explain all this, but their real energies go to amping up the jarring sound cues, darting shadows, and last-shot shocker (so goofily weird this time that you'll laugh out loud) that make this franchise a perennial crowd-pleaser.
  6. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Oct 19, 2012
    40
    But the real problem behind Paranormal Activity 4 is that its entire raison d'être has gotten old; producer Oren Peli, who directed the first one, even included some gentle digs at the found-footage genre in his superior "Chernobyl Diaries," released earlier this year.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Oct 24, 2012
    11
    This is one horror franchise that's burned itself out, and then some – not even the rare shock cuts to nothing much at all will startle anyone over the age of 8.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 57
  2. Negative: 28 out of 57
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    best paranormal activity movie yet, they were all amazing actors/actresses i would definitely want them to make a sequel! everything was amazing about this movie. it made me jump throughout the whole movie so i think bravo to the directors! and it is 100% worth watching so! yeah watch it BEST ONE YET!
    10/10
    Collapse
  2. Oct 28, 2012
    7
    I am a huge fan of the paranormal activity movies. This one in my opinion is my 3rd favorite one. Saying this i do not mean it was bad, it was actually good, all of them are good. I just believe that the 3rd and 1st were better, while the 2nd wasn't better. The end of this was very well done. It was a scary movie to watch in theaters. Expand
  3. Oct 20, 2012
    6
    For 85 minutes I thought this was going to be nothing but jump scares and classic cliche story points. But I kid you not the final two minutes of this movie made me jump and the hair on my legs stand up it was so scary. And I am a straight 18 year old college male. If you see it in a crowded theater around Halloween with friends, its great fun. Otherwise I'm not sure you'll really get the full effect. Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2012
    3
    Q:"What horror should we watch and make my GF be afraid while I am laughing?".A:"Paranormal Activity 4".It is hard for me to believe that after the first movie and the whole "This is real footage" lie people are going to actually enjoy another film of the Paranormal Activity series.As a horror movies fan I was not afraid or impressed.A few scenes kept me awake during the movie though. Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2014
    2
    This series was almost too good to be true. I didn't expect it to run three movies before dumping out some lame sequel, but this is where the series really gave up. It's a very silly movie, almost comical, even to the point where you're cheering for the demon to win when the main character is in danger! There were a couple scenes that did put you on the edge of your seat, but those were few and far between. I don't recommend this movie at all. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2012
    1
    Really? I'd rather watch orthodontic surgery. If you are watching this you are either a desperate loner with nothing else to do, or you walked into the wrong theater. This movie made my wife jump out of her skin, but then again she's not that smart. Expand
  7. Nov 4, 2012
    0
    Scam. That's what this so called movie is. I almost fell asleep halfway through. Uninteresting sub-plots and bad acting make this my personal worst movie of the year 2012. Do not waste money on this. Expand

See all 57 User Reviews