Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 19
  2. Negative: 6 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jan 3, 2014
    75
    It's a welcome update, qualifying as the best in the series since the first film captivated and unnerved audiences in 2007.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Jan 2, 2014
    70
    The Marked Ones is refreshingly uncynical and straightforward in its desire to simply be a movie that makes the audience jump and be scared. It's a fun fright film and wants to be nothing more.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jan 4, 2014
    60
    Provides the familiar cheap thrills but with a salsa tang.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    Jan 3, 2014
    60
    The haunted house setpieces provide reliable doses of jolts, even if one can see the scaffolding of each scare being built from miles away, and director Landon has fun with some clever camera placement here and there.
  5. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Jan 3, 2014
    60
    The script succeeds by expanding the Paranormal Activity mythology with additional details and even a few surprising twists.
  6. Reviewed by: Sheila O'Malley
    Jan 4, 2014
    50
    Thankfully, the entertaining chemistry between the two young leads in Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones (Andrew Jacobs and Jorge Diaz), almost saves it.
  7. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jan 3, 2014
    50
    The changes — goodbye, white suburbia; hello, gritty diversity — recharge the batteries somewhat. But there’s no escaping that the found-footage phenomenon has gone from fresh and original to just plain annoying.
  8. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jan 3, 2014
    50
    If The Marked Ones is mildly brilliant in the first half, it stumbles witlessly into its own dumb pentagram in the second.
  9. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jan 3, 2014
    50
    For every viewer happily creeped out by the franchise's simple scare tactics — its video vision of things going bump and creak and moan in the dark — there's another moviegoer completely unfazed by such low-budget prankery.
  10. 50
    This entry has been described as a “cousin” to the other movies. Specifically, The Marked Ones is a Hispanic cousin, customized for Latino audiences in the United States where the series is particularly popular.
  11. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jan 3, 2014
    50
    The shocks are no less effective than the ones in the other Paranormal Activity movies, but no more original, either, with only the whipping of a handheld camera to set it apart from the offscreen gamesmanship that’s long been the series’ stock in trade.
  12. 50
    As exhausted as this series and the genre it comes from is, it still manages a few decent jolts thanks to that new approach and a pretty good cast’s reactions to what they, and we, see through the video camera’s viewfinder.
  13. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Jan 8, 2014
    40
    As ever with this series, the shocks are cheap but effective, and the shaky-cam aesthetic adds an unsettling layer of realism (if you’re willing to overlook the innate ridiculousness of the film-everything concept).
  14. Reviewed by: Peter Keough
    Jan 9, 2014
    38
    What I found more disturbing was the casual misogyny of the convoluted story line.
  15. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jan 4, 2014
    37
    This sharp left turn takes the films’ mythology in strange and not entirely satisfying new directions, including a crazy time-travel element.
  16. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Jan 8, 2014
    30
    Yeah, this movie's a dog, but you can't blame the producers for strip-mining the same old fool-proof formula to death … and beyond.
  17. 30
    Does anybody really find this crap scary anymore?
  18. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Jan 3, 2014
    25
    Several reels' worth of ugly, unshaped footage that wouldn't have been deemed fit for a movie's end-credit outtakes not so long ago.
  19. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jan 4, 2014
    20
    The concept is the same, and just as tired as it was when the second, third and fourth sequels to “Paranormal Activity’s” 2009 first installment.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 44
  2. Negative: 17 out of 44
  1. Jan 4, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I felt this movie held a lot of basis on the Idolatry that most spanish people believe in. This is quite a twist in the Paranormal Activity franchise and I give it some credit for changing it up. However compared to PA 3 I found this movie to be less frightening and creepy due to its lack of setting up a dynamic environment. The movie's plot held less an importance and the movie was more about an 18 year old graduate who ends up possessed by some pathetic spirit which they are able to communicate with by a light up simon says toy that lights up green and red lights to answer their questions. What a joke. I felt like this was one of those squeegee board sessions that girls have in their rooms to find out about their future and it felt highly childish and fake.

    A lot of the action scenes lacked emphasis in being scary and you will be left in suspense for literally 40 minutes until you realize when in the hell is this movie going to scare you. I swear they choose the worst moments to scare you, and the "scare" scenes were pretty pathetic. Im going to spoil every "Scary" part and let you decide: A fat lady painting on the stomach of a pregnant chick; a firecracker that explodes after a man jumps out of the apartment after he killed that same lady; the main character wakes up to find blood on his arm after some creature, the possessor, bit him; after 20 minutes of partying, he finds a girl who he takes to his residence which is currently where his grandmother lives so he decides to enter the neighbors abandoned apartment and they fail to make a sex tape when his "chick" is confronted with the previous man who they encountered with the fireworks; they realize that there is a ghost and the scene moves to all of them gathered at the table with the simon-led toy that only has the green and red buttons working. They only light up by "the spirit" and after a series of questions, the protagonist asks "Are you supposed to be good?" and it doesn't answer; the next scene is when they investigate the basement of the lady and find that she had some weird mojo-jojo idolatry going down there. They confront a gangster who is brothers with the "previously possessed one" who gives them the phone number of a lady who knows about this She tells them that the spirit/possessor is trying to unite a group of the "possessed" in a house where they will perform some unknown ritual and that the protagonist (who is now the antagonist) will be there tomorrow night. In the next scene the protagonist kills his grandma by pushing her off the stairs and then attempts to kill his friend in their car. The girlfriend hits him with a bat but they get hit by a truck that takes the protagonist to the ritual house. The main characters friend turns into the protagonist and gathers up some thugs who have weapons and they drive to the ritual house.

    After minutes of pathetic computer animated FX, the friend is trapped in a room by the possessed antagonist. He decides to open up a wardrobe in hopes of escaping but the camera is cut-off and the scene is lost in transmission (not a black cut transition) He then ends up alone in the garage of the house from the previous movie (Paranormal Activity 3). He later enters the living room where he finds a lady walking down the stairs very menacingly and slowly. She goes to the kitchen and the idiotic protagonist thinks she will help him. When he touches her, she screams and then the husband dashes to attack the protagonist but then the wife stabs/decimates him but the main character/friend escapes into a hallway where he is hit from a side door by a "demon spawn/possessed" person knocks him out and the camera is left facing the ceiling. The possessed lady from before is seen reaching out to turn off the camera. Fin'
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 3, 2014
    4
    This is the first horror movie of 2014 and man was I disappointed. The movie awkwardly transitioned from humor to cheesy jump scares at an alarming rate. I am a horror movie fanatic and this movie only scares little kids. I'm not joking. I found myself laughing more at the actual movie than the parts that were funny. If you're looking for a horror film that will scare you making you have nightmares look elsewhere. But if your're looking for a movie that is more comical than frighting this is the movie for you. Rating: 4/10. Not a movie worth watching in the theater, it's a rental at best. Full Review »
  3. Jan 11, 2014
    0
    If you look at my past reviews, some of my comments say worst movie I have ever seen. Well this movie is the worst movie I ever saw in my whole life. I'm sorry if I offend anyone but if anybody gave this movie more then a 0, you must have been totally intoxicated. The budget could not have cost more than 1,000.00 dollars and that includes paying the actors, if you want to call them that. I went with my 2 daughters, 15 and 18. My 18 year old almost threw up because of the 3 year old filming the scenes as well as me being nauseated. The camera keeps jerking around and can hardly make sence of any of the movie. My 15 year old is such a wuss that a fart will scare her if you do not tell her first that you're going to fart and she disliked the movie also. I would not leave the movie theatre till I got 3 free movie passes. And that was only because I would not leave and the manager wanted to go home. Almost got arrested because I would not leave till I got free movie passes. There is not even an ending. It just looked like the 3 year old filming pressed stop to go get his diaper changed and take a nap and forgot to film the ending. Do not go and see this low budget piece of sh*t movie. They should stop making these movies all together as none of them are worth a pile of dung. If you did or are going to watch this movie and you like it, It might be time to see a shrink, that is if you know how to use a phone. Full Review »