User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 199 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 199

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    Paranorman es uña de las Otra de las buenas Películas Hechas de la forma en stop-motion, Que Contiene Una historia tradicional Pero estafa Otros toques Que le dan Más Vida al cine. Los Personajes y los Paisajes Que aparecen en el largometraje estan muy bien realizada Hechos, y la forma En que Desarrolla La Historia De Una Manera es Versátil y tradicionalista. En conclusión, Paranorman OFRECE Una historia tradicionalista e interesante, Que esta muy bien realizada y lograda. Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    ParaNorman has new stuff that haven't been made for a long time, it is mature and frightening for a PG film, and it is surprisingly good, it has a good premise, a stunning visuals and an outstanding plot and twist for a movie for kids, but it has some poor movie building, it is way to mature for kids and frightening, but still ParaNorman is one of the best movies 2012
  3. May 27, 2013
    9
    Wow, just wow. I went into this movie with a very bad mindset. I thought it was going to be terrible. I was going to just watch it on Netflix for the heck of it because I was bored. Boy I was wrong. I've forgetting how much kids ovies used to make me laugh. I haven't laughed this hard at a movie's jokes in a long time. I was in tears way more than the 1 or 2 chuckles I got from Ted. As for visuals, I absolutely loved the art style. And I wish more claymation movies would do this, it's a very dark and detailed claymation with a lot of extra video editing. The graphical style is just stunning. I underestimated this movie a lot and was surprised to find that it brought a very good storyline. It gets a little slow, but near the end they pick up the pace. Right when you think this movie will turn left, it turns right. And I like that. It has a good message on bullying and the best humor I've seen in a long time, my only concern for others is that this movie IS NOT for children. Don't let the PG rating fool you. There is plenty of sex jokes, some swearing, and even some gay references. It barely escapes a pg-13 rating. Overall though, was truly surprised how good this movie was. Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    ParaNorman is the best animated film of the year that I have seen. It gives out good messages, it is funny, sweet, and emotionally depth. I never was once bored with it. I give this film 90%.
  5. Jan 9, 2013
    9
    Well, the movie doesn't stands quite up to "Coraline" but it is still great, and freaked my little sister, well this movie is ain't made for kids, it is made for teens, not kids, not adults, appropriate for teens and older teens, the movie has great, amazing effects, but it takes a lot of time to build up the plot, the 3D was amazing, characters were terrific, plot, intelligent, but still "Coraline" a little better, so I will say, I will give this movie a 9 out of 10 it is a good time, no kids are involved, I can say it is best for children 11 years old and over. Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    something i've seen in paranorman that i haven't seen in a long time: a plot twist that i didn't see coming. that upped my respect for the movie a lot. also the fact that the movie has some very interesting things to say about bullying. i liked it so much that i'm willing to forgive it for some of the more cliché moments.
  7. Zal
    Dec 14, 2012
    10
    When I first saw the trailer, I wasn't sure if I would like this film and when I saw it, I didn't like it. I LOVED it. I love stopmotion, but that's not why I love this film (well, it's one of the reasons). All the characters are very likable. Even characters like the sister, the best friend's brother, and the school bully were lots of fun. They started out as stereotypical jerks but there's a little more to them then that.

    I also like how there's actually atmosphere in this movie. A lot of kids movies are afraid of being too scary because it's "dark," but ParaNorman, for the most part, is not scary. The scene that freaked me out was the climax (same thing with Coraline, but I think Coraline's climax was scary as %$@*). I won't say what happens but even if you don't think it's scary, it's still a great scene, especially if you love animation since it combines stopmotion, computer, and hand-drawn animation.

    While it's not scary, there are a lot of elements of horror. If you like watching old grindhouse movies, you might find this interesting since the writers have incorporated their love of the genre into this film.

    I realize this movie won't be everyone's cup of tea and that's okay. I went with a friend who thought it was going to be a cute, Tim Burton-y type of movie and she ended up not liking it. I love Tim Burton's stopmotion films, but I don't know how his fans will feel about this movie. ParaNorman is more for Coraline fans. Since I am a Coraline fan, I recommend this. But I also recommend it because it was creative, funny, and touching.
    Expand
  8. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    ParaNorman was honestly one of the greatest movies of 2012 I think. It features a very interesting, but well written story, voice acting that fits each character perfectly, amazing plot twists, jokes that teens & adults will get & love, and one of the best movie endings I've ever seen. I know, you probably haven't ever heard of this movie or you think it looks too childish, but believe me, this is will probably end up being hugely underrated. Expand
  9. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    Everything about this film is a delight. The comedic timing in the jokes is excellent, and the humour itself is often very clever, amusing misdirection. The main character is sympathetic for anyone who ever had a moment of self-awareness, or felt like some quirk makes them strange instead of unique. The visuals are wonderfully stylized, and make me think back to other visually unique media, such as Psychonauts, though with a bit more symmetry. The plot, even, takes some fairly unexpected and smart directions. Those who like to know about the technical aspects of films will also revel in ParaNorman. The production of the film is nothing short of fascinating, especially regarding the climax.

    I wasn't expecting much, and was pleasantly surprised. Highly recommended film.
    Expand
  10. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    The movie is about finding yourself and being more tolerant towards people that are different in opinion or appearance than you. Great messages that have been done a dozen time before, but there is nothing wrong with that. The film is also an homage and parody to classic horror movies. From making fun of their structure to embracing it for laughs, the movie does a great job of being original while not forgetting its roots.

    Expand
  11. Sep 16, 2012
    9
    ParaNorman is definitely the most beautiful stop-motion film I've ever seen and it's made even better by its message of tolerance. It has a few scary moments and a rather morbid tone so I wouldn't suggest this movie for sensitive children under 10. It's adequately rated PG for "Parental Guidance" which means that concerned parents should investigate the film before taking their kids. After listening to some conservative parents on here, it's clear that they're in dire need of this lesson! I wish the story had been a little tighter, but the visuals more than compensate for the few stagnant patches. I hope to see more films like this from Laika. Expand
  12. Sep 4, 2012
    10
    The film is worth seeing for the jaw dropping stop motion animation alone and its gorgeous visual style, but combine that with a solid story and endearing characters and you've got a dynamite movie, one of the best animated films I've ever seen. I definitely appreciate the filmmakers having guts and making the world feel real: Norman has actual, realistic problems, he and the others talk like real kids, the dangers feel authentic, and in the end, the movie has a phenomenal message about overcoming adversity and intolerance. All kids should see this film, and parents should talk to them about it. And to those who were put off by the "twist" at the end, then I'm afraid you missed the whole point of the movie. But regardless, to anyone who loves animation, horror, fantasy... hell, just movies in general, you're doing yourself a disservice if you haven't seen ParaNorman. Expand
  13. Sep 1, 2012
    9
    Focus Features and Laika made a stop-motion fairy tale in 2009 called Coraline, and it was the greatest movie ever made in history. Their second stop-motion, ParaNorman, a comedy adventure, is almost as great. Basically, it's really funny and has an amazing climax, but it's also got a clumsier pace and it's rather heavy with its themes on bullying. Then again, maybe some things need to be delivered heavily. Because people as a whole have a rather remarkable proficiency for not seeing below the surface. But really, what makes this such an excellent movie for children is the questions that parents will be discussing with their kids after viewing. While the lack of subtlety may be a little off-putting to older viewers, the moral issues it tackles are (in my opinion) extremely important for our generation's kids to be thinking about. One poignant thing I overheard after the credits were rolling was the little kids in the theatre talking about the movie and saying that their favorite character was the witch. I think that's what I admire most about the movie - it's darkly comic and fun to watch, but it's also sincere and affecting. Also, it was good of them to include a gay character in a children's film. Expand
  14. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I saw ParaNorman with my friend for her birthday and honestly, I didnt think it would be THAT good! I loved Coraline and wasn't sure if it would be any better.. IT WAS! Seriously, it took me by surprise. Lets start from the beginning. Years ago, people were accused of being "witches" and "performing witch-craft" which includes talking to ghosts. Well, a little girl (around 10 or 11) who had the ability to see and speak to the dead was tried for being a witch, was found guilty, and was hanged. A curse was put on the town and the people who accused her. Present day, a misunderstood boy named Norman also has the ability to talk to ghosts. He gets teased and picked on in school and even his family doesn't believe him. He finds out about the witch's curse and learns that hes the only one who can talk to the little girl and lift the curse for good. I really enjoyed this movie and was really surprised with some of the language I heard. Definetely not something a 4 or 5 year old should be watching. But overall, I loved it! Can't wait till it comes out on DVD so I can see it again! 10/10!! Expand
  15. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    This was a great film. I loved the story and the stop motion was done fantastic. The detail that was put into the environments is amazing. Knowing that each part of the set was hand made and not on a computer adds to the enjoyment of the film. I highly recommend the making of the film that can be found on the web. It will give you a great appreciation for what these talented folks have put together. The only thing is I think with film could be scare some little ones. But parants should keep in mind that this is a PG and not a G film. Expand
  16. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    An absolute masterpiece. EVERY child in America needs to see this movie. Aside from being a funny, smart, creative work of art, this film teaches some very important lessons about acceptance, individuality, friendship, diversity, and understanding that are needed now more than ever.
  17. Aug 21, 2012
    9
    The fact that these so called "parents" are agitated over the extremely small moment where a character says hes gay goes to show your a crappy parent. The whole message of the movie is that you should be happy with who you are and don't judge someone just because they're different from yourself. If you weren't so homophobic and stupid you'd realize that this is a great message sent to your kids. So shutup and open your mind and enjoy the film. Clearly you're the type of parent that will hate their kid if they end up gay. There isn't anything wrong with this movie people, some scenes may be too intense for really small children but overall this is a great film, with a BEAUTIFUL MESSAGE! Don't listen to the homophobes, they're just dumb and don't know a good movie when they see one. 9/10 Expand
  18. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    Simply an amazing movie. It's like a Tim Burton movie, but it isn't. The art style is just fantastic and innocent, and the message of the movie is even better! This is probably my favorite film now, no joke. ParaNorman focuses a lot on tolerance and the movie never bored me: the visual effects were so great and so was the voice acting! It was definitely entertaining start to finish -- although it did start off weird, it quickly got to the point and surprised me!! I loved the characters and just the movie itself! DEFINITELY a must see, whatever age!!!

    Seriously people? You're giving an amazing movie a ZERO because of a gay reference? Calm down, and stop being immature. It's not that big of a deal.
    Expand
  19. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    This stop motion animated 3-D movie is the best that I have seen. The characters seem to jump off the screen right at you while you watch the movie. I would recommend this movie to adults as well as children. The subject matter is not difficult to understand. It was joy to watch. I enjoyed the movie immensely
  20. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    ParaNorman es Chicken Little con zombies, tiene la misma trama que la otra, pero es mucho, mucho mejor que la de Chicken Little, teniendo una trama interesante, buen humor, animación espectacular y personajes memorable, es impresionante que un estudio como Laika haga grandiosas películas animadas que sean innovadoras y que estén casi en el mismo nivel que las de Pixar, si la quieren ver, véanla ahora mismo por que esto es otro ganador de Laika.
    Nota final: A-
    Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Sep 16, 2012
    60
    It's a likable scary story – with hints of Tim Burton and Steven Spielberg.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Sep 10, 2012
    60
    Ingenious and wonderfully detailed, though better in its imaginative horror than its slightly too-broad comic knockabout. It's not quite on the level of Coraline, but it's proper summer fun with some dark delights.
  3. Reviewed by: Jayne Nelson
    Sep 1, 2012
    60
    Gorgeous animation and inspired set design help patch over a lacklustre script. The horror hardcore will enjoy playing spot the homage.