Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 280 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In ParaNorman, a small town comes under siege by zombies. Who can it call? Only misunderstood local boy Norman, who is able to speak with the dead. In addition to the zombies, he’ll have to take on ghosts, witches and, worst, of all, grown-ups, to save his town from a centuries-old curse.In ParaNorman, a small town comes under siege by zombies. Who can it call? Only misunderstood local boy Norman, who is able to speak with the dead. In addition to the zombies, he’ll have to take on ghosts, witches and, worst, of all, grown-ups, to save his town from a centuries-old curse. But this young ghoul whisperer may find his paranormal activities pushed to their otherworldly limits. (Focus Features) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Aug 16, 2012
    100
    It's freakishly funny, suddenly tender, gleefully macabre, genuinely scary, and full of a moral – fear turns weak people into bullies – which is dosed out so gently that it never tastes like medicine.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Aug 17, 2012
    88
    ParaNorman is probably the year's most visually dazzling movie so far, and the stunning climax centering on an 11-year-old witch (Jodelle Ferland) is too good to spoil.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Aug 16, 2012
    80
    It may be the most fun you'll have with ghosts and zombies all year.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Aug 16, 2012
    75
    My advice? Just go with ParaNorman. There's magic in it.
  5. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Aug 18, 2012
    70
    In the end, perhaps the most touching quality of this film is its low-key, but sensitively rendered portrait of a young, awkward child who hasn't quite managed to figure his way out in the world yet.
  6. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Aug 16, 2012
    63
    None of this is all that engaging. But the art design of the movie makes up for the slack story.
  7. 40
    ParaNorman is easily one of the most charming, imaginative and quirky comedies to come out of Laika Entertainment (Coraline), but for all its cleverness and urbane wit, it's in no way appropriate for kids.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 71
  2. Negative: 14 out of 71
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    Simply an amazing movie. It's like a Tim Burton movie, but it isn't. The art style is just fantastic and innocent, and the message of theSimply an amazing movie. It's like a Tim Burton movie, but it isn't. The art style is just fantastic and innocent, and the message of the movie is even better! This is probably my favorite film now, no joke. ParaNorman focuses a lot on tolerance and the movie never bored me: the visual effects were so great and so was the voice acting! It was definitely entertaining start to finish -- although it did start off weird, it quickly got to the point and surprised me!! I loved the characters and just the movie itself! DEFINITELY a must see, whatever age!!!

    Seriously people? You're giving an amazing movie a ZERO because of a gay reference? Calm down, and stop being immature. It's not that big of a deal.
    Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    Paranorman es uña de las Otra de las buenas Películas Hechas de la forma en stop-motion, Que Contiene Una historia tradicional Pero estafaParanorman es uña de las Otra de las buenas Películas Hechas de la forma en stop-motion, Que Contiene Una historia tradicional Pero estafa Otros toques Que le dan Más Vida al cine. Los Personajes y los Paisajes Que aparecen en el largometraje estan muy bien realizada Hechos, y la forma En que Desarrolla La Historia De Una Manera es Versátil y tradicionalista. En conclusión, Paranorman OFRECE Una historia tradicionalista e interesante, Que esta muy bien realizada y lograda. Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    ParaNorman is the best animated film of the year that I have seen. It gives out good messages, it is funny, sweet, and emotionally depth. IParaNorman is the best animated film of the year that I have seen. It gives out good messages, it is funny, sweet, and emotionally depth. I never was once bored with it. I give this film 90%. Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2012
    8
    It's not a great animated film by any means- but there's magic in it, and all the details feel fresh and original. The whole vibe is just- toIt's not a great animated film by any means- but there's magic in it, and all the details feel fresh and original. The whole vibe is just- to put it in a word- cool. Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    7
    I got to say: This movie almost lived up to it's hype for me. The animation is brilliant. The music is fantastic. Voice acting very good. ButI got to say: This movie almost lived up to it's hype for me. The animation is brilliant. The music is fantastic. Voice acting very good. But I also felt that this is a movie I have seen many times before, at least from the point of view of the moral of the story. For an animated movie it does have some rather intense visuals that I would not recommend for little children, but still a bit tame for an adult audience. While the stop motion is very well done, it also feels a little tired. However, I highly doubt this movie could have worked if done any other way. Overall: A pretty decent movie that is fun to watch, but feels a little flat at times. Still allot of fun, and perfect for any Halloween. Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2012
    7
    Wow has this movie caused a lot of drama from critics. Personally i am torn on this movie. I found it to be a movie with an average plot,Wow has this movie caused a lot of drama from critics. Personally i am torn on this movie. I found it to be a movie with an average plot, great art design and a very good message. Being 19, the controversial gay statement really did surprise me and give me a good laugh at the end of the movie, but seeing as this is a PG, i can see the issue parents have with it. Overall, its a cute movie with a little bit of adult humor to spice it up a bit, don't take your kids to this movie if you feel they aren't mature enough to handle a bit of crude humor, but do give this movie a shot. Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2012
    0
    The number one reason why this movie is bad is lack of a good story movie, it doesn't exist. The scary atmosphere isnt there either. The movieThe number one reason why this movie is bad is lack of a good story movie, it doesn't exist. The scary atmosphere isnt there either. The movie is very boring at times. Animations are very well done, but thats not enough Expand

See all 71 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.