Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 25, 2012
5.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 87 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
33
Mixed:
25
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
TheQuietGamerJul 19, 2013
It's hard for me to hate on a family friendly movie with a sweet side like this one, especially when movies are getting super vulgar now days. But Parental Guidance fails to bring laughs and fails to hook you with it's emotional side. ThisIt's hard for me to hate on a family friendly movie with a sweet side like this one, especially when movies are getting super vulgar now days. But Parental Guidance fails to bring laughs and fails to hook you with it's emotional side. This makes the movie super boring. Add in the fact that this is aimed at families with kids of all ages and its failure makes it all the more sad. As much as it pains me to say Parental Guidance is not worth your time. You can safely pass on this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
Parental Guidance is a childish and generally bland comedy about grandparents and parents and their children. Bette Midler is good--so is Marisa Tomei... but little else is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ThegodfathersonFeb 15, 2013
Billy crystal in a crappy kids film? Seriously....... This was a really bad film. Very bad. It was not even a great kids film...... It's was garbage. The end is predictable, the kids don't make everything funny and billy crystal sucks atBilly crystal in a crappy kids film? Seriously....... This was a really bad film. Very bad. It was not even a great kids film...... It's was garbage. The end is predictable, the kids don't make everything funny and billy crystal sucks at being a grandpa. 0/10 for me. I suggest you stay away from this film... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Sep 19, 2016
Now days, Billy Crystal doesn't appear in films as often as he used to, but for the right project and cast, he's always willing to remind us of why he's a household name. It doesn't matter if it's a raunchy comedy or a family film, his quirkyNow days, Billy Crystal doesn't appear in films as often as he used to, but for the right project and cast, he's always willing to remind us of why he's a household name. It doesn't matter if it's a raunchy comedy or a family film, his quirky and unique sense of humor always makes whatever he stars in that much more enjoyable and Parental Guidance is no different. On the surface, this is just another family comedy about Grandma and Grandpa getting in over their heads when they agree to babysit for the weekend. Add Crystal and Bette Midler to that and all of a sudden the film is taken to a whole other level. Everyone knows what to expect from both Crystal and Midler, but the real magic is their chemistry and how they play off each other, especially when you throw three unpredictable kids into the mix. Some of the scenes with the grandparents trying to use the modern technology or the kids taking advantage of the grandparents lack of respect for their parents strict instructions are truly laugh out loud funny. Yes, that's exactly what I said, it's a PG rated family movie, but it has more than a couple of laugh out loud moments. Parental Guidance is a film that the parents and grandparents will want to see for it's terrific cross-generational cast, but the kids will enjoy it too, for both it's old school and modern humor. It's the perfect rainy day weekend family feature film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lukechristianscMar 19, 2014
i seen parental guidance to many times . But Billy crystal's ways of grandparent skills are funny also his old school methods . sometimes this movie gets old also some parts of this movie are stupid also the end .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ZilcellMar 24, 2013
The cast was terrific, especially Billy Crystal, who gave a very good performance, but with a script that is filled with mediocre jokes and predictable outcomes where everything goes wrong, Parental Guidance is mostly a generic family comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
FranzHcriticJan 23, 2014
Billy Crystal's main attempt at comedy is his failure to move along with a new age, and his voice. A weak script, rather disdainful and annoying acting by the cast, especially Marisa Tomei. In fact, the family just seems to be the typicalBilly Crystal's main attempt at comedy is his failure to move along with a new age, and his voice. A weak script, rather disdainful and annoying acting by the cast, especially Marisa Tomei. In fact, the family just seems to be the typical case of dysfunction, thus making the film a pathetic slapstick comedy, similar to Sandler films. It's boring, weak, and overall, unfunny to a serious point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
GreatMartinJan 4, 2013
From the opening scene of Billy Crystal doing his baseball radio schtick to the next scene where Bette Midler and friends are pole dancing, completely dressed, with a promise of cheesecake after, to the following scene where their daughter,From the opening scene of Billy Crystal doing his baseball radio schtick to the next scene where Bette Midler and friends are pole dancing, completely dressed, with a promise of cheesecake after, to the following scene where their daughter, Marisa Tomei, calls them reluctantly and asks them to come to their Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
Bruce722Mar 29, 2013
This wasn't as funny as I was hoping for but it was a pretty good film to watch with the family. Billy Crystal is great, as usual, and Bette Midler does a good job in more of a supporting role. Surprisingly, especially after my lastThis wasn't as funny as I was hoping for but it was a pretty good film to watch with the family. Billy Crystal is great, as usual, and Bette Midler does a good job in more of a supporting role. Surprisingly, especially after my last movie-watching experience, the child actors in this movie were competent bordering on pretty good. The only character who really annoyed you was Marisa Tomei's. Speaking of annoying, that was really the drawback here. Like most modern day family comedies, this movie gets a decent amount of its laughs through pure annoyance. Not as bad as say, Meet the Parents, but it still have too many annoying parts. Overall, Parental Guidance is a decent family film but I wouldn't suggest it for most people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 28, 2015
Decent, funny comedy, but nothing really special. Billy Crystal was very funny. The philosophy of old school vs, new school parenting had some good laughs, etc. But, it was just really average over all. Pleasant, but not memorable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Jan 11, 2016
I don't know if it's reassuring or scary that in such an American film the kids seems to be UK-style victims of both health and safety rules and political correctness at the same time.

Watch this movie here
I don't know if it's reassuring or scary that in such an American film the kids seems to be UK-style victims of both health and safety rules and political correctness at the same time.

Watch this movie here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-182c4f-Parental-Guidance-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Parental Guidance" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

The Good: There were a few moments that I would call "cute" and I even chuckled a time or two. Billy Crystal and Bette Midler did a solid job as quirky grandparents. I enjoyed the
"Parental Guidance" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

The Good: There were a few moments that I would call "cute" and I even chuckled a time or two. Billy Crystal and Bette Midler did a solid job as quirky grandparents. I enjoyed the backhanding of new age parenting somewhat ...

The Bad: ... but the state of the family involved was way too over the top, complete with children that had every issue that you can think of. The screwball grandparents didn't seem like the problem, though the film at times tried to reinforce the notion that they were. It also felt like a sitcom as opposed to a movie, complete with musical cues. I kept waiting for the laugh track to play.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BradySmithJun 30, 2013
This movie is of course a dumb comedy meant for little kids. There's really no reason to watch it, but it wasn't as horrendous as I had feared. Most of the jokes are pretty stupid and the characters can really start to grate the nerves atThis movie is of course a dumb comedy meant for little kids. There's really no reason to watch it, but it wasn't as horrendous as I had feared. Most of the jokes are pretty stupid and the characters can really start to grate the nerves at times. I did like how the movie showed that modern children have no discipline, and Crystal's bewilderment at someone even mentioning Facebook or twitter was somewhat amusing, but these things can't save it from predictability, blandness, and annoying characters. However, if you are forced to watch it, it won't kill you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
analogkid280Jan 10, 2013
Crystal and Midler have both done great films in the past so what happened? Not much in this movie. Your typical crude in poor taste comedy, except this one is not funny either. Crystal's classic one liners over the situation around him areCrystal and Midler have both done great films in the past so what happened? Not much in this movie. Your typical crude in poor taste comedy, except this one is not funny either. Crystal's classic one liners over the situation around him are kept to a minimum and the life the kids have is less realistic than a cartoon. This movie plays out like a poor Adams Family sequel where the good actors were replaced by poor low paid imitators. The poopie song was kinda funny though so I bumped it up to a 3. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
JmsbppJul 2, 2013
la película guarda un buen mensaje pero no una buena trayectoria.
Un mensaje que se intenta sacar a los padres, y se logra sacar; el problema es la comedia
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
nahtan1244Mar 22, 2016
An entertaining and amusing family movie. There are a few good jokes and the acting was good. I don't get the critics hate toward good movies sometimes. This isn't Oscar worthy nor was it ever meant to be. The whole idea of new age parentingAn entertaining and amusing family movie. There are a few good jokes and the acting was good. I don't get the critics hate toward good movies sometimes. This isn't Oscar worthy nor was it ever meant to be. The whole idea of new age parenting styles vs. old school parenting was a very good idea. The kids are good actors and each bring there own unique personality to the role. Billy crystal and bette midler does a great job as the old school grand parents. This movie is not crystals best but he is still good in this. while the whole thing is very predictable and the actors are not given much to work with this movies is a nice relaxing Sunday afternoon type movie that is not anything outstanding but good clean well made family fun that people of all ages are sure to enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Annoymous1Jan 10, 2013
These movies are getting duller and this movie was a waste of 100 minutes. Sadly there is no comedy and would be better if they changed the story-line. Adam Sandler would make this movie better but the cast we never knew appears in theThese movies are getting duller and this movie was a waste of 100 minutes. Sadly there is no comedy and would be better if they changed the story-line. Adam Sandler would make this movie better but the cast we never knew appears in the limelight. Terrible and no fun, the Trailer can not show the real things, practically ruined Flickman's career. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
fantasyJan 12, 2013
This is a very nice family movie. Gone With The Wind it isn't but Billy and Bette get along famously. It only goes to prove that all of us have dysfunctional families and it's OK. A nice way to spend some time with the kids in the movies.This is a very nice family movie. Gone With The Wind it isn't but Billy and Bette get along famously. It only goes to prove that all of us have dysfunctional families and it's OK. A nice way to spend some time with the kids in the movies. Go and enjoy. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
1
BENNEBDec 31, 2012
This movie is full of crap! It is not funny at all it is so stupid. Some parts almost made me giggle out loud but the jokes were crap. In fact, they were so crappy that they made me laugh over its stupidity. Hate this movie a lot. Don't watch it.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
OroiaelDec 26, 2012
Sad and stupid little movie. Billy Crystal must have naked photos of the studio execs in compromising positions. otherwise this film never gets made. I wanted to laugh but instead I was filled with a sense of loathing for Hollywood. ThisSad and stupid little movie. Billy Crystal must have naked photos of the studio execs in compromising positions. otherwise this film never gets made. I wanted to laugh but instead I was filled with a sense of loathing for Hollywood. This movie is worth seeing just to test your pain threshold. As a point of reference I also thought City Slickers was unfunny. Lighting your money on fire would be a better use of funds than investing in this garbage. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
2
mmweissFeb 25, 2013
Not only completely unfunny, Parental Guidance is repetitive, uninteresting and annoying. This new Billy Crystal family "comedy" is wrong in every sense. It´s frenetic, yet it has no rhythm. There are absolutely no gags in this "screenplay"Not only completely unfunny, Parental Guidance is repetitive, uninteresting and annoying. This new Billy Crystal family "comedy" is wrong in every sense. It´s frenetic, yet it has no rhythm. There are absolutely no gags in this "screenplay" with absolutely no structure. It´s filled with cliches; 5 minutes-in, you can guess what´s going to happen in the last scene. Basically, this film is garbage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Mr_MuumiMar 23, 2013
Parental Guidance starts with promising first 10 minutes but finishes as dime-a-dozen family comedy. Good, clean fun and pulling some heartstrings along the way guaranteed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
emkadvJan 3, 2013
We went with our kids and grandkids (ages 12 & 14) to see this film and all of us liked it. It's not great art, nor does it break much new ground, but it made us all laugh. Parts of it are over the top, but there are parts that feel genuine.We went with our kids and grandkids (ages 12 & 14) to see this film and all of us liked it. It's not great art, nor does it break much new ground, but it made us all laugh. Parts of it are over the top, but there are parts that feel genuine. I had not expected to like it, but I did in spite of myself. The short scene at the end of the credits is worth waiting for. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
5
Brutus54Jan 13, 2013
OK. Fairly topica satire on rearing children. Mildly amusing movie making, more or less by the numbers, but warm hearted anyway. Flabby direction overall, with a sloppy script, only held up in the air by the usual Billy Crystal schtick.OK. Fairly topica satire on rearing children. Mildly amusing movie making, more or less by the numbers, but warm hearted anyway. Flabby direction overall, with a sloppy script, only held up in the air by the usual Billy Crystal schtick. Bette Midler is not really given much to do, which is a pity, because she injects a bit of soul and energy into her role as the grandmother. The kids are pretty good, the slapstick sequences less so. Marisa Tomei doesn't make a very convincing mom, but she does appreciably better than her erstwhile husband, who simply stands around in the background channeling his own inner hubby hunkiness - at the expense of any dialogue. In short, a family movie that does not rely on computer effects or frenetic film editing - but which should probably have been a little wittier and crisper in its comic delivery. Frankly, the imaginary kangaroo created most of the laughs. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
TheLonelyCriticJun 28, 2016
Have you ever heard a "Back in my day..." joke? Like, literally any? If yes, this movie is one long one of those. And boy, does it get old fast. And if I hear one more person telling me to give it a free pass just cause it's only for kids...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RhythmicReviewNov 22, 2013
A really enjoyable movie. It's nice to see how the movie shows the distinctions between the previous and modern generations through quite witty comedy. It won't make you laugh out loud, but it'll keep you smiling the whole way through, saveA really enjoyable movie. It's nice to see how the movie shows the distinctions between the previous and modern generations through quite witty comedy. It won't make you laugh out loud, but it'll keep you smiling the whole way through, save for a few excessively cheesy moments. It's story is also quite moving by implementing characters that all have a meaningful story to tell, and it makes you take a greater appreciation for your loved ones. Seriously, any movie that can do that in a positive way is worth a view, and Parental Guidance is one of them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MemburgMay 24, 2014
I cannot stand modern critic's hatred for family comedies. This film has plenty of laughs, emotion, and outright charm to keep a family continually coming back for more. The acting is great, the laughs are outstanding, the charactersI cannot stand modern critic's hatred for family comedies. This film has plenty of laughs, emotion, and outright charm to keep a family continually coming back for more. The acting is great, the laughs are outstanding, the characters memorable, even the emotional scenes are very well done. The kids in this movie actually do a very good job. My only real criticism is that the emotional scenes are packed in rather tightly near the end, but other than that this is an outstanding family comedy, and one that I shall come back to time and time again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wearetheothersJan 7, 2013
epic
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
mickeyboyJan 2, 2013
epic
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
7
blakewilsonApr 28, 2013
An overall refreshing family comedy, Parental Guidance is a moral-filled and hilarious tale for all ages. Billy Crystal and Bette Midler do a wonderful job as grandparents, and the children have memorable personalities. There's also manyAn overall refreshing family comedy, Parental Guidance is a moral-filled and hilarious tale for all ages. Billy Crystal and Bette Midler do a wonderful job as grandparents, and the children have memorable personalities. There's also many laugh-out-loud moments and some nice insight on the importance of intergenerational wisdom and remaining close to your family, no matter what the circumstances.

Discerning parents do need to know however that despite being free of any language problems or bartending scenes, Crystal and Midler still provide some mostly mild adult humor. Also, there's also a few toilet humor jokes and a few moments of mischief/obnoxiousness. Still though, its a movie parents with kids ages 7 and up will enjoy.

For a more detailed review, visit www.moviestakenseriously.blogspot.com.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews