Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Dec 26, 2012
    75
    Parental Guidance is an engaging comedy that bridges multiple generation gaps, making it that rare movie that grandparents, their kids, and their kids can enjoy.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Dec 25, 2012
    60
    This is the first time in ages some of the old stand-up Crystal shows through, flashes of quick wit instead of Borscht-belt antics. Not to the extent that it used to in such movies as "When Harry Met Sally ..." (which was, ahem, 23 years ago). But better than you'd expect...Just like the movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 31, 2012
    50
    The pathos: considerable. The sight gags, involving Crystal puking chili dog on a kid's face, or the grandson with an imaginary friend peeing and causing an X Games skateboarder to wipe out: artless. The results: tolerably amusing.
  4. Reviewed by: Leah Churner
    Dec 26, 2012
    40
    The actors deserve credit for the professionalism they bring to this stinker, especially Tomei, who plays it straight as a contemporary have-it-all-or-die-trying mom, and Midler, who's given little to do, but works up an amusing backstory about her days as a good-time gal on the evening news.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Dec 26, 2012
    40
    I can't deny I did feel fonder of my own family afterward, mostly because I know none of them would ever make me sit through Parental Guidance.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Dec 23, 2012
    38
    The movie spends too much time wedging the couple into a May-December moment, where Crystal cracks nostalgic about the good old days. It's sweet, but it grows old.
  7. Reviewed by: Tomas Hachard
    Dec 23, 2012
    12
    Andy Fickman's comedy offers a confused and flat portrayal of generational differences.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 9 out of 28
  1. Jan 12, 2013
    8
    This is a very nice family movie. Gone With The Wind it isn't but Billy and Bette get along famously. It only goes to prove that all of us have dysfunctional families and it's OK. A nice way to spend some time with the kids in the movies. Go and enjoy. Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    5
    The cast was terrific, especially Billy Crystal, who gave a very good performance, but with a script that is filled with mediocre jokes and predictable outcomes where everything goes wrong, Parental Guidance is mostly a generic family comedy. Expand
  3. May 31, 2013
    4
    Has some enjoyable moments, but mostly just an ego trip for Billy Crystal's ability to make one-liners. Overall, it's forgettable and only manages to squeeze three or four laughs out of me. Not terrible, but pretty bad and one of Billy Crystal's worst movies. Expand
  4. Jan 23, 2014
    2
    Billy Crystal's main attempt at comedy is his failure to move along with a new age, and his voice. A weak script, rather disdainful and annoying acting by the cast, especially Marisa Tomei. In fact, the family just seems to be the typical case of dysfunction, thus making the film a pathetic slapstick comedy, similar to Sandler films. It's boring, weak, and overall, unfunny to a serious point. Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2013
    0
    Billy crystal in a crappy kids film? Seriously....... This was a really bad film. Very bad. It was not even a great kids film...... It's was garbage. The end is predictable, the kids don't make everything funny and billy crystal sucks at being a grandpa. 0/10 for me. I suggest you stay away from this film... Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers