Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Dec 26, 2012
    75
    Parental Guidance is an engaging comedy that bridges multiple generation gaps, making it that rare movie that grandparents, their kids, and their kids can enjoy.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Dec 25, 2012
    60
    This is the first time in ages some of the old stand-up Crystal shows through, flashes of quick wit instead of Borscht-belt antics. Not to the extent that it used to in such movies as "When Harry Met Sally ..." (which was, ahem, 23 years ago). But better than you'd expect...Just like the movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 31, 2012
    50
    The pathos: considerable. The sight gags, involving Crystal puking chili dog on a kid's face, or the grandson with an imaginary friend peeing and causing an X Games skateboarder to wipe out: artless. The results: tolerably amusing.
  4. Reviewed by: Leah Churner
    Dec 26, 2012
    40
    The actors deserve credit for the professionalism they bring to this stinker, especially Tomei, who plays it straight as a contemporary have-it-all-or-die-trying mom, and Midler, who's given little to do, but works up an amusing backstory about her days as a good-time gal on the evening news.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Dec 26, 2012
    40
    I can't deny I did feel fonder of my own family afterward, mostly because I know none of them would ever make me sit through Parental Guidance.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Dec 23, 2012
    38
    The movie spends too much time wedging the couple into a May-December moment, where Crystal cracks nostalgic about the good old days. It's sweet, but it grows old.
  7. Reviewed by: Tomas Hachard
    Dec 23, 2012
    12
    Andy Fickman's comedy offers a confused and flat portrayal of generational differences.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 31
  2. Negative: 9 out of 31
  1. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    Great movie for the family. It is full of humor and very heartwarming. I love that the movie was very relatable to your own familyGreat movie for the family. It is full of humor and very heartwarming. I love that the movie was very relatable to your own family experiences as well. Collapse
  2. Dec 26, 2012
    8
    Funny as hell I thought. Crystal, Midler and Tomei are spot on. So what if the story is schmaltzy. It made me laugh a lot. What's a comedyFunny as hell I thought. Crystal, Midler and Tomei are spot on. So what if the story is schmaltzy. It made me laugh a lot. What's a comedy supposed to do? Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2014
    5
    "Parental Guidance" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: There were a few moments that I would call "cute" and I even chuckled a
    "Parental Guidance" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: There were a few moments that I would call "cute" and I even chuckled a time or two. Billy Crystal and Bette Midler did a solid job as quirky grandparents. I enjoyed the backhanding of new age parenting somewhat ...

    The Bad: ... but the state of the family involved was way too over the top, complete with children that had every issue that you can think of. The screwball grandparents didn't seem like the problem, though the film at times tried to reinforce the notion that they were. It also felt like a sitcom as opposed to a movie, complete with musical cues. I kept waiting for the laugh track to play.
    Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2013
    4
    It's hard for me to hate on a family friendly movie with a sweet side like this one, especially when movies are getting super vulgar now days.It's hard for me to hate on a family friendly movie with a sweet side like this one, especially when movies are getting super vulgar now days. But Parental Guidance fails to bring laughs and fails to hook you with it's emotional side. This makes the movie super boring. Add in the fact that this is aimed at families with kids of all ages and its failure makes it all the more sad. As much as it pains me to say Parental Guidance is not worth your time. You can safely pass on this one. Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2013
    4
    Parental Guidance starts with promising first 10 minutes but finishes as dime-a-dozen family comedy. Good, clean fun and pulling someParental Guidance starts with promising first 10 minutes but finishes as dime-a-dozen family comedy. Good, clean fun and pulling some heartstrings along the way guaranteed. Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2013
    0
    Billy crystal in a crappy kids film? Seriously....... This was a really bad film. Very bad. It was not even a great kids film...... It's wasBilly crystal in a crappy kids film? Seriously....... This was a really bad film. Very bad. It was not even a great kids film...... It's was garbage. The end is predictable, the kids don't make everything funny and billy crystal sucks at being a grandpa. 0/10 for me. I suggest you stay away from this film... Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers