Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Dec 26, 2012
    75
    Parental Guidance is an engaging comedy that bridges multiple generation gaps, making it that rare movie that grandparents, their kids, and their kids can enjoy.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Dec 25, 2012
    60
    This is the first time in ages some of the old stand-up Crystal shows through, flashes of quick wit instead of Borscht-belt antics. Not to the extent that it used to in such movies as "When Harry Met Sally ..." (which was, ahem, 23 years ago). But better than you'd expect...Just like the movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 31, 2012
    50
    The pathos: considerable. The sight gags, involving Crystal puking chili dog on a kid's face, or the grandson with an imaginary friend peeing and causing an X Games skateboarder to wipe out: artless. The results: tolerably amusing.
  4. Reviewed by: Leah Churner
    Dec 26, 2012
    40
    The actors deserve credit for the professionalism they bring to this stinker, especially Tomei, who plays it straight as a contemporary have-it-all-or-die-trying mom, and Midler, who's given little to do, but works up an amusing backstory about her days as a good-time gal on the evening news.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Dec 26, 2012
    40
    I can't deny I did feel fonder of my own family afterward, mostly because I know none of them would ever make me sit through Parental Guidance.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Dec 23, 2012
    38
    The movie spends too much time wedging the couple into a May-December moment, where Crystal cracks nostalgic about the good old days. It's sweet, but it grows old.
  7. Reviewed by: Tomas Hachard
    Dec 23, 2012
    12
    Andy Fickman's comedy offers a confused and flat portrayal of generational differences.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 32
  2. Negative: 9 out of 32
  1. May 24, 2014
    9
    I cannot stand modern critic's hatred for family comedies. This film has plenty of laughs, emotion, and outright charm to keep a familyI cannot stand modern critic's hatred for family comedies. This film has plenty of laughs, emotion, and outright charm to keep a family continually coming back for more. The acting is great, the laughs are outstanding, the characters memorable, even the emotional scenes are very well done. The kids in this movie actually do a very good job. My only real criticism is that the emotional scenes are packed in rather tightly near the end, but other than that this is an outstanding family comedy, and one that I shall come back to time and time again. Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2013
    7
    It is hard to find a movie these days that one can watch and not see sex, violence, drugs or inappropriate language. Having a younger child IIt is hard to find a movie these days that one can watch and not see sex, violence, drugs or inappropriate language. Having a younger child I rented this movie for our movie night and thoroughly enjoyed it. The combination of Billy Crystal's comedian nature and real life scenarios had me laughing and comparing it to my own life. The little league game was spot on with the way they play it around the country and I feel is ridiculous. The movie was not high budget or have the action packed scenes that most people are looking for in a movie but what it did have was something more. It had a kids sense of humor built into it so the young ones would stay interested and a plot that most middle ages parents and grandparents could relate to. Yes the jokes and one liners were a bit on the childish side but that is how it was designed. This is not a movie written for mature adult audiences but for kids so keep that in mind if you plan on watching it without children around. Collapse
  3. Nov 13, 2014
    5
    "Parental Guidance" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: There were a few moments that I would call "cute" and I even chuckled a
    "Parental Guidance" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: There were a few moments that I would call "cute" and I even chuckled a time or two. Billy Crystal and Bette Midler did a solid job as quirky grandparents. I enjoyed the backhanding of new age parenting somewhat ...

    The Bad: ... but the state of the family involved was way too over the top, complete with children that had every issue that you can think of. The screwball grandparents didn't seem like the problem, though the film at times tried to reinforce the notion that they were. It also felt like a sitcom as opposed to a movie, complete with musical cues. I kept waiting for the laugh track to play.
    Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2013
    4
    This movie is of course a dumb comedy meant for little kids. There's really no reason to watch it, but it wasn't as horrendous as I hadThis movie is of course a dumb comedy meant for little kids. There's really no reason to watch it, but it wasn't as horrendous as I had feared. Most of the jokes are pretty stupid and the characters can really start to grate the nerves at times. I did like how the movie showed that modern children have no discipline, and Crystal's bewilderment at someone even mentioning Facebook or twitter was somewhat amusing, but these things can't save it from predictability, blandness, and annoying characters. However, if you are forced to watch it, it won't kill you. Expand
  5. Apr 9, 2013
    2
    I had to come to this movie mainly because my friend was going and I thought it would be a nice funny movie. It turned out to be a veryI had to come to this movie mainly because my friend was going and I thought it would be a nice funny movie. It turned out to be a very predictable cheesy movie. Not good! Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2013
    0
    Billy crystal in a crappy kids film? Seriously....... This was a really bad film. Very bad. It was not even a great kids film...... It's wasBilly crystal in a crappy kids film? Seriously....... This was a really bad film. Very bad. It was not even a great kids film...... It's was garbage. The end is predictable, the kids don't make everything funny and billy crystal sucks at being a grandpa. 0/10 for me. I suggest you stay away from this film... Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers