First Look International | Release Date: May 4, 2007
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 49 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
38
Mixed:
7
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MikeF.Jun 24, 2007
An acquired taste, but this ensemble of directors is simply beautiful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
bradleyAug 17, 2010
Paris je t'aime is truly a breath of fresh air. Many modern American movies are thick with plot, drama and action just for sake of having a discernible 'wow' factor, but Paris je t'aime is a clever little movie that is really just aParis je t'aime is truly a breath of fresh air. Many modern American movies are thick with plot, drama and action just for sake of having a discernible 'wow' factor, but Paris je t'aime is a clever little movie that is really just a combination of short love stories that take place within Paris--ranging anywhere from divorce, to monster love, to love of a child.

It was great to go to a movie and not have to invest so much of myself to it. The stories are so diverse that you really get to experience a wide variety of lives and situations, a few of which are bound to touch you in some way.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
EdwardR.Jun 13, 2007
Excellent movie. Some of these shorts are unique, powerful, and haunting. Paris on film has never looked so beautiful...makes you fall in love with it all over again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ValerieW.Jul 19, 2007
Like a book of great short stories, only on film. It was so interesting to see each director's take on Paris. Even the ones I didn't like still added to the overall effect of the movie. Great song at the end - "We're All in Like a book of great short stories, only on film. It was so interesting to see each director's take on Paris. Even the ones I didn't like still added to the overall effect of the movie. Great song at the end - "We're All in the Dance". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MargaretCAug 7, 2007
I agree with earlier views in that "Some segments are easily dismissed" and as a whole about three or four segments could have been left out and the movie would have run much smoother. But those segments that took you in, captured you. That I agree with earlier views in that "Some segments are easily dismissed" and as a whole about three or four segments could have been left out and the movie would have run much smoother. But those segments that took you in, captured you. That is what made the movie so worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeJoeHJul 26, 2007
I will admit this movie didn't really get to me until about halfway through. Up until that point I thought many of the stories were nice ideas but not good short films. They felt trite, stunted, and underdeveloped. Then at a little over I will admit this movie didn't really get to me until about halfway through. Up until that point I thought many of the stories were nice ideas but not good short films. They felt trite, stunted, and underdeveloped. Then at a little over halfway through something changed and each segment got better and better until the final film which was worth the price of admission (in my opinion). Also, the "coffee" segment moved me more than movies 10 times its length. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatrickFJul 21, 2007
Add one if you're a Francophile, subtract one if you took the Freedom Fries thing seriously, because this is basically an eighteen-stanza love letter to Paris. Some segments are easily dismissed (Maggie Gyllenhaal's is especially Add one if you're a Francophile, subtract one if you took the Freedom Fries thing seriously, because this is basically an eighteen-stanza love letter to Paris. Some segments are easily dismissed (Maggie Gyllenhaal's is especially forgettable), some are priceless (Steve Buscemi in the Metro), some are heartbreaking (just try getting a cup of coffee afterwards). As a whole, there are far worse ways to spend an evening. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
The collection of vignettes features notable sketches with many well-known actors--some of them taking their hand at directing. Nearly each vignette is either pleasant or moving on its own, and together it's a wonderful showcase in Paris.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BlakePNov 1, 2012
There isn't one vignette that deserves more than a seven (many of them deserve less), but "Paris Je T'aime" none the less is frothy fun to be had which lets us observe the City of Lights with a certain beauty you don't see too often in FrenchThere isn't one vignette that deserves more than a seven (many of them deserve less), but "Paris Je T'aime" none the less is frothy fun to be had which lets us observe the City of Lights with a certain beauty you don't see too often in French films. Featuring wonderful American (and English) actors, like Natalie Portman, Willem Dafoe, Emily Mortimer, etc., French actors Fanny Ardant, Ludivine Sagnier, Juliette Binoche, etc., and a bevy of fine directors like the Coen Brothers, Wes Craven, Tom Twyker, etc., "Paris Je T'aime" is always interesting because you never know what to expect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews