Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 1998
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 98 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
61
Mixed:
14
Negative:
23
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
OmarS.Sep 4, 2005
Robin Williams is simply horrific in this leaden dud.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JHawkinsSep 4, 2005
Robin Williams singularly bastardizes the perfectly (worthwhile??) work of Patch Adams (well, maybe not...). At any rate, this film is unendurable, and appeals only to those of prurient taste.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
VeeOct 3, 2004
It was ok. *shrugs*
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DanielF.Jun 28, 2004
This movie was so sweet that I got diabetes watching it, thanks Robin. Do not rent this movie, you and your health will thank me.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KJTaylorSep 17, 2004
There's something terribly irritating about cringe-comedies like this. A part of me wants to like Robin, since he's obviously a genuinely funny man who cares about his audiences, but I haven't liked any of his movies so far.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BeercanJan 7, 2005
Patch Adams will always have a special place in my heart for the unique personal hat trick that it accomplishes: it's one of only three films out of hundreds that I've ever walked out of in the theater; it's the movie that Patch Adams will always have a special place in my heart for the unique personal hat trick that it accomplishes: it's one of only three films out of hundreds that I've ever walked out of in the theater; it's the movie that completely eroded my goodwill towards Robin Williams to irrepairable levels; and it's the only film on Metacritic that I have ever given - you guessed it - a ZERO. Congrats to Robin and the makers of Patch Adams, one of the most god-awful streams of cinematic barf ever to be vomited out of Hollywood onto our screens. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
GilbertMulroneycakesFMJan 26, 2006
No. This is a very well made annoying film. I've often said that movies NEED to be manipulative, but they don't need to kick you in the crotch to make you cry. I'm really here to defend Robin Williams, who's a damn good No. This is a very well made annoying film. I've often said that movies NEED to be manipulative, but they don't need to kick you in the crotch to make you cry. I'm really here to defend Robin Williams, who's a damn good actor and turns out a great performance in the irritating central role of a doomed movie. Not enough to save it, because his good performance pushes with the tide instead of against it. You want a good film with Robin Williams in a serious role, rent Good Will Hunting or...there is another one. Awakenings, that's it. Or, at a push, What Dreams May Come, similarly manipulative to this film, but with imagination and life to balance it out. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ThatoneguyMay 8, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is absolutely terrible. It has nothing to do with the actual hunter Adams, and it practically refers to him as a criminal at one point. It also says that he worked without a license at one point, which he did not. Plus they made up a child molesting and murder story just for some cheap romantic character, which was actually Adams' friend, who was a man. This movie isn't just terrible, its absolutely disgusting. Everyone who gave this movie a positive review must be getting paid for their scores. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
FlippySuperOct 14, 2012
All idiots that say this movie is good are **** retards who shall burn in hell with no compassion or they are being paid for it. it makes no sense and it looks IMPOSSIBLE to take it seriously. its an insult to the real life men who i metAll idiots that say this movie is good are **** retards who shall burn in hell with no compassion or they are being paid for it. it makes no sense and it looks IMPOSSIBLE to take it seriously. its an insult to the real life men who i met once,he was normal,not like robin williams dirty piece of **** Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
ardania22Apr 21, 2014
Robin William's funny antics and soft-spoken humanity are the only good things about this overly sappy movie. Between the flat characters, the mustache-twirling villains (the medical establishment, of all things), and the fact that the movieRobin William's funny antics and soft-spoken humanity are the only good things about this overly sappy movie. Between the flat characters, the mustache-twirling villains (the medical establishment, of all things), and the fact that the movie in no way accurately portrays the real life and character of Patch Adams, it's a wreck. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
PacifistcriticJan 25, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I watched this movie Health class, I was interested to see what it was about. I was met with a gloomy, depressing scenario of Patch arriving to a mental asylum. I was happy so far when Patch met with someone to "look beyond" just 4 fingers and that Patch helped his roommate reach the bathroom with his childlike imagination. But then, everything got running downhill when Patch forced that mental hospital doctor to let him out and told him that he sucked at his job. Patch then proceeds to claim that he is helping people, even if he is acting very arrogant. Then, when I looked on the Internet, Patch Adams was actually a real person in real life. This movie, as it turns out, was not a correct description of the real Patch Adams. Unfortunately, in the movie Patch Adams was usually portrayed as a funnyman who tries to make patients laugh rather than truly cure them of their illnesses. The other characters, such as Carin, Patch's college roommate and the Dean, feel like they are just created to make Patch the most likable with their actions against Patch(ex.ignoring Patch's assistance, tattling on Patch, and threatening to expel Patch). That includes the people who love Patch, they are usually portrayed as the "nice" people just because of their affiliation with Patch. The way how the butterfly, ALONG with the sappy music playing during that scene made it's way to Patch suddenly was also rather shallow and cheesy. It feels like the butterfly was there to make the movie so charming too. I also did not like the way the mentally ill guy was portrayed in that movie, he was treated as "psychopathic" because of the way he gave "weird looks" to Carin, before killing her and himself. The scene when Carin gets killed felt forced and contrived in order to provoke drama so that Patch could commit suicide again. I even HATED that ending when Patch exposes his nude buttocks to the audience at his graduation ceremony, and... the movie suddenly ends with a note I can't remember.

Positives:Great acting, lessons about treating patients the right way, some jokes are rather funny

Negatives:Shallow music, flat characters, does not follow Patch's true nature, some jokes are too crude to be laughable, and silly situations
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews