Columbia Pictures | Release Date: January 16, 2009
5.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 211 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
82
Mixed:
54
Negative:
75
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
2
M0vieAddictMay 11, 2013
Kevin James has potential somewhat (see Grown ups, Hitch, I Now Pronounce You Chuck And Larry) but Paul Blart: Mall Cop squanders his ability to make audiences laugh and proves he cannot carry this unfunny script as an awkward, terrified mallKevin James has potential somewhat (see Grown ups, Hitch, I Now Pronounce You Chuck And Larry) but Paul Blart: Mall Cop squanders his ability to make audiences laugh and proves he cannot carry this unfunny script as an awkward, terrified mall cop. This movie is quite simply boring, dumbed down and leaves little to the imagination. James should stick to pairing alongside Sandler in movies, he ultimately fails on his own. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
collincJan 17, 2009
Kinda funny. Mostly terrible. Mind you, Jayma Mays is ridiculously beautiful. It's just that, I don't want that to be the ONLY thing I remember leaving the movie. It was really really bad. James is funny and a great comedian. Kinda funny. Mostly terrible. Mind you, Jayma Mays is ridiculously beautiful. It's just that, I don't want that to be the ONLY thing I remember leaving the movie. It was really really bad. James is funny and a great comedian. However, it's not okay to just be ridiculous and plain. It has to have a style. Don't make me mention the fact that nearly all the actors (save James, Mays, and maybe a couple more here and there) were absolutely awful. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
PeterAJan 24, 2009
It's another one of those could be funny movies but it takes no risks and the majority of the jokes were in the trailer.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
AlexOJun 24, 2009
I don't mind a dumb comedy with occasional yuk yuk laughs, but this one had none. It appears that Kevin James and Co were trying to make a slapstick version of DieHard. Didn't work. Avoid at all costs.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LaurenJun 29, 2009
My stupid friends thought this was hilairous. i beg to differ, it is the most bland, crummy comedy i have ever seen. Kevin James is so unfunny, and i wished i had not seen it. It's so not funny if your acting, because all and all... My stupid friends thought this was hilairous. i beg to differ, it is the most bland, crummy comedy i have ever seen. Kevin James is so unfunny, and i wished i had not seen it. It's so not funny if your acting, because all and all... it's just stupid. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
arbieJan 22, 2009
All the big, bad tells for this stinker are in the marketing. Promoted ceaselessly throughout the holidays instead of being released during the holidays. Calling itself "the #1 movie in America" immediately after release but with not even All the big, bad tells for this stinker are in the marketing. Promoted ceaselessly throughout the holidays instead of being released during the holidays. Calling itself "the #1 movie in America" immediately after release but with not even sold junket quotes saying the sort of generic crap that larger budget films can at least sell and use for the opening release weekend. Uncreative TV spots that use the same clips for two full months, despite more than five versions. I feel bad for the lead actor since this prevents him from ever being lead material -- not that he did anything but drag down Hitch -- but bad movies need to bomb for a reason. So that they don't get made as often, or as poorly. The ONE REASON this film exists is because the paper-thin mall cop concept could be sold at the executive level as a quick cash-in on teenagers who identify with teenage stuff and hang out at malls, "and stuff." Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
It would have been easy to laugh at Paul Blart, Mall Cop if the whole movie didn't go to such painstaking lengths to make him so pitiful. I have to wonder why the writers wasted effort on either end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
TonyOct 15, 2010
Terribly, terribly unfunny. It isn't offensive in the sense that the humor is lewd, rather the fact that the humor is so derivative, juvenile, and safe. Kevin James is above this. His stand-up is very funny, and "The King of Queens" had itsTerribly, terribly unfunny. It isn't offensive in the sense that the humor is lewd, rather the fact that the humor is so derivative, juvenile, and safe. Kevin James is above this. His stand-up is very funny, and "The King of Queens" had its moments, despite going on for what seems like an eternity. In fact, James is above every film I've seen him in. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
asylumspadezNov 23, 2011
Pretty boring if you ask me. Paul Blart is another crappy comedy from Happy Madison and it shows how unoriginal they are when they released this film. No real funny parts, Acting is poor, and the entire film is boring.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
watithink123Jul 29, 2012
Its a real s**t film. Paul Blart: Mall Cop 2.0/10
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
CountvontrollioJan 7, 2015
Based on the 1 minute I saw of this garbage, avoid at all costs. The most annoying thing is they give the lead a segway to drive around on for his depressing mall job, when a walk would do the fat **** some good. A movie set in a mall, allBased on the 1 minute I saw of this garbage, avoid at all costs. The most annoying thing is they give the lead a segway to drive around on for his depressing mall job, when a walk would do the fat **** some good. A movie set in a mall, all plastic and depressing as hell Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
ImReviewingShiAug 21, 2015
this movie is the proof that even if it's 2015 you can still make money out of a falling joke based movie.
with an unoriginal plot and retarded writing, the movie is as bad as it can possibly be.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
matthewa.Jan 27, 2009
The real question is how any self-respecting critic could give this movie a "green" rating. Each of them should lose their job immediately.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MaryHMay 17, 2009
Ugh. Even my 8 year old twins wanted to walk out after 15 minutes of one offensive fat joke after another and the first fight scene where bystanders gag at the sight of *gasp* the stomach of a woman over size 10. Also, the plot that focuses Ugh. Even my 8 year old twins wanted to walk out after 15 minutes of one offensive fat joke after another and the first fight scene where bystanders gag at the sight of *gasp* the stomach of a woman over size 10. Also, the plot that focuses entirely on fat people as gullible, unlovable, stupid, lazy, rude, smelly, disgusting, untouchable.... My slender son insisted on walking out because "This movie is too mean to fat people!" In addition, a forty-something man pursuing a teenager romantically was just creepy. Not because he was fat (though by no means ugly) and she was underweight, but because of the fact that she was four or five years older than his daughter!! All around nasty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RivenYMay 29, 2009
Cheeziest movie ever. Not funny at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoezJun 18, 2009
The fat man from King of Queens is just not funny. He proved it in King of Queens and, lo and behold, he proved it again with this crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SteveV.Feb 28, 2009
This is the first movie in years that I have walked out of. After 40 minutes of hoping it would turn the corner and get better the pain just continued.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TatsuhikoJul 10, 2011
Painfully unfunny, riddled with cliches, and the implausibly of the whole movie was a complete joke. "Oh hi Mr. Young New Guy With A Mean Demeanor Who Is Obviously The Bad Guy." Is there anything Hollywood won't do to retell the same plotPainfully unfunny, riddled with cliches, and the implausibly of the whole movie was a complete joke. "Oh hi Mr. Young New Guy With A Mean Demeanor Who Is Obviously The Bad Guy." Is there anything Hollywood won't do to retell the same plot line in a different setting and with different characters? I like Kevin James, but the roles he gets are just awful and don't do him any kind of favors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
spadenxDec 31, 2011
It was just so stupid imo. Its never really funny besides the occasional fat joke or something similar to that. It also had no creativity to it, It was painfully straight forward. I cant stand this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Psyco6May 3, 2012
This movie came out the same year as observe and report. They have the same story plot, but this movie is full of everything you'd expect. It's very possible to know whats going to happen from the trailer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
csw12Jul 10, 2016
Paul Blart: Mall Cop is an embarrassment to cinema..........................................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
dev92Aug 25, 2012
An awful film, Paul Blart: Mall Cop is just another reason why Kevin James should never have a starring role in any film. He needs a much better actor to carry him through nearly ever film he has ever been in.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Nobilis1984May 1, 2015
No big throw
Kevin James has shown his skill in King of queens. He strives himself to revalue himself here obviously from the film.
But the ridiculous screenplay and the weak story break everything. The film is not still worth seeing
No big throw
Kevin James has shown his skill in King of queens. He strives himself to revalue himself here obviously from the film.
But the ridiculous screenplay and the weak story break everything.
The film is not still worth seeing tolerably, unfortunately.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
NShep53Apr 16, 2015
Just..... ugh. Kevin James CAN be funny at times and there are a couple of chuckles in this movie, but unless you LOVE Kevin James movies, skip it. It is not worth your time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Blackops1231Sep 6, 2014
It's just so boring and unfunny. I almost never rate movies this low, but I'm doing it on this one. I'm a huge fan of happy Madison but this was a lazy effort from them and I'm very disappointed. Steer well clear of this one please.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
lukechristianscMay 1, 2015
What of the most difficult comedies to sit through! It's not funny when the main character falls, faints or does stupid stuff, it is not funny when Kevin James says cheap jokes. This comedy is waste of humor and basically the cast sucks.What of the most difficult comedies to sit through! It's not funny when the main character falls, faints or does stupid stuff, it is not funny when Kevin James says cheap jokes. This comedy is waste of humor and basically the cast sucks. Another sappy comedy when Sandler's production company (Happy Madison) wastes talent comedic actors to this garbage material, even people like James are talented it takes a script to ruin it all. Let's not forget the action scenes holy **** there so bad Grade D- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
paulblartmallcoAug 18, 2015
**** never should have made the prequel. always bet on blart xxx. safety never takes a holiday. security is a mission, not an intermission. xoxoxoxoxo
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews