Paul Blart: Mall Cop

Paul Blart: Mall Cop Image
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 210 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Paul Blart is a single, suburban dad, trying to make ends meet as a security officer at a New Jersey mall. Though no one else takes his job seriously, Paul considers himself on the front lines of safety. When a heist shuts down the megaplex, Jersey's most formidable mall cop will have toPaul Blart is a single, suburban dad, trying to make ends meet as a security officer at a New Jersey mall. Though no one else takes his job seriously, Paul considers himself on the front lines of safety. When a heist shuts down the megaplex, Jersey's most formidable mall cop will have to become a real cop to save the day. [Sony Pictures] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 24
  2. Negative: 7 out of 24
  1. Has a few surprises in store. The biggest is James, an unexpectedly nimble master of the face-plant, the failed jump, and the lopsided tumble.
  2. 63
    It's fine for kids, though, and it doesn't try too hard.
  3. The film is completely forgettable, frequently funny and weirdly satisfying in a Jersey Loser Gets Respect kind of way.
  4. 42
    James has a sweet, appealing presence, but the dreary, joke-light script and generic direction do him no favors.
  5. 40
    A tossed-off comedy from Adam Sandler's production company that makes one long for the comparative genius of "I Now Pronounce You Chuck & Larry."
  6. To call this Kevin James comedy fatuous might be misinterpreted as an attack on the star's girth--so how about inane, tepid, lazy, puerile, phony, and unfunny?
  7. 12
    Looks like something stubbed out in an ashtray.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 84
  2. Negative: 27 out of 84
  1. EvanB.
    Jan 17, 2009
    10
    Surprisingly funny!
  2. caseyn.
    Jan 31, 2009
    8
    Movie is a throwback to 90's comedies. Not to serious, and just funny.
  3. Nov 22, 2014
    8
    I never understood the negative reviews for this movie. Mall Cop is just a great family movie. It has lots of good laughs it not inappropriateI never understood the negative reviews for this movie. Mall Cop is just a great family movie. It has lots of good laughs it not inappropriate for young kids its just a great movie to watch with a group. Anytime this movie is on cable I can watch it. I must have seen it at least 5 times and that doesn't bother me in the least. Kevin James just seems to put out movies that are clean and funny. I hear that there is a sequel in the works and I bet it'll be funny too. Expand
  4. JoeJ
    Jan 19, 2009
    6
    This is a classic "unlikely hero" tale, fitting into that tiny niche of the underdog archetype of storytelling. If you enjoy such stories, This is a classic "unlikely hero" tale, fitting into that tiny niche of the underdog archetype of storytelling. If you enjoy such stories, this movie is definitely worth a few bucks. Expand
  5. Aug 26, 2011
    4
    This is the epitome of lazy comedy. We have one joke, Paul is fat. Let's try to stretch that for a full movie. It didn't work. Believe me, itThis is the epitome of lazy comedy. We have one joke, Paul is fat. Let's try to stretch that for a full movie. It didn't work. Believe me, it didn't work. Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2012
    2
    Its a real s**t film. Paul Blart: Mall Cop 2.0/10
  7. matthewa.
    Jan 27, 2009
    0
    The real question is how any self-respecting critic could give this movie a "green" rating. Each of them should lose their job immediately.

See all 84 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder

    20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder  Image
    Published: June 16, 2016
    We pick out 20 great examples of lousy movie sequels.
  2. The 15 Worst Movies of 2015

    The 15 Worst Movies of 2015 Image
    Published: January 4, 2016
    We reveal 2015's lowest-scoring film releases.
  3. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  5. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  6. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.