User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 335 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 335

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    Absolutley brilliant, I have already watched it twice. Simon Pegg has created his funniest movie since Shawn of the Dead. Look out for references to famous Sci Fi films all through this movie. The music they play in the club and the radio comments from the FBI guys are clear tips towards the original Star Wars whilst the obvious pun at the end is hilarious.
    The sub plot where the Alien
    opens peoples mind about religion is really well done too. If you love Sci fi and have a sense of humour then you will love this film. Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2011
    7
    Paul is funny, clever and very, very cheeky. Pegg and Frost have definitely delivered a great sci-fi comedy.
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    If you are a sci-fi nerd like me you MUST see this movie. It's truly an homage to people like you and me. The Star Wars cantina music playing in the bar scene slayed me. The movie is full of clever little inuendos like that connecting to famous sci-fi from the past. Seth Rogen is perfect as the alien's voice. This Pegg/Frost creation compares very favorably to the hilarious Shawn of the Dead !!!! Expand
  4. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    I was psyched for this movie, and I was not dissapointed!!! I absolutely love this movie!! The cast is awesome, the writing is so freaking funny, and the characters are likeable and easy to root for. So overall, if you're a big sci fi geek, you'll go crazy over it.
  5. BKL
    Mar 25, 2011
    10
    Simon Pegg & Nick Frost did it again! Paul is brilliant yet funny. There should be more movies like this. Even Seth Rogen did great. Pegg and Frost should do more films like this one.
  6. Mar 20, 2011
    5
    It's a forgettable movie with a few memorable moments. Odds are, if you've seen the trailer, you've seen said everything the movie has to offer. Not bad, just not good either.
  7. Mar 27, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't often want to see movies twice, plus I'm known for enjoying the vulgar comedy, but wrap it around a pleasant story and I'm hooked! I will be seeing this one again. Throw in the genius of Simon Pegg and Nick Frost, and it's a no-brainer. No, Paul won't win any Oscars, nor does it teach us anything new. However, it takes us on a fun journey in a race to get Paul home, all the while throwing nostalgia at the viewer, especially if the viewer grew up in the 80s. Some blatant references to Star Wars, ET, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, etc., but then some subtle ones, like the country jamboree band playing the Star Wars Cantina theme ala Western style. Jason Bateman was perfect as Agent Zoil. Lorenzo Zoil. So stupid, yet hysterical. Wonderful writing, acting and full of surprises. Paul is a MUST SEE! Expand
  8. Mar 28, 2011
    5
    There are a few chuckles, but I would have enjoyed the movie more if I was 13 years old. This is the second movie in just a couple of weeks of release of each other that pays homages to other movies throughout (the other being Rango). The visual effects overall are well done, I just wish the humor would have been a little more sophisticated, and the movie not so predictable. For some reason, the movie reminded me a little of "Short Circuit", but the robot in that movie (Johnnie 5) was funnier and the overall writing better. I was also VERY disappointed that the trailer gave away SO many of the scenes. Nobody laughed when he ate the bird because everyone had already seen it. This is not a horrible movie by any stretch, I just wish it was funnier. Expand
  9. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    i absolutly loved this movie and seth rogun (not sure if thats right) is perfect as paul and the movie is very good over all. i could not stop laughing the entire time and i have not laughed this hard since the hangover. the story is very well done allbeit a rip off of ET but they turned it into a comedy and did a wonderful job and all the references towards the sci-fi movies almost made me feel ashamed that i actually knew what movies they came from but it was sort of a guilty pleasure. this movie is defenatly a must see and cannot be missed so when you have some time off go and buy a ticket and watch it asap. one last thing before i finish "Whoa three **** Awsome!" Expand
  10. Mar 18, 2011
    7
    This was B+ movie. These 2 guys are good, but given the brilliant set up - british dudes & alien road movie in america's west - the story could have been much more gritty, unusual, eccentric, weird & inventive. you kinda get the feeling that director Greg Mottola's great instincts as director got dulled & dumbed down to pulp by the universal's tsunami of dreary. Feels like a kid's movie with a lot of been-there-100,000-times cliche Seth Rogen riffs... like insert curse, blah blah blah, insert curse... rinse, repeat. Should have used someone unexpected like George Clooney, who could've pulled this off with a lot more quirky intelligence & wittiness (like in Mr. Fox). Movie is weighed down by Seth Rogen, who's a good actor but has way way way way way way overplayed this schtick. You kinda get the feeling that Mottola got highjacked & maybe got stuffed in the trunk while this movie went down the highway. Don't think he wrote this but if he did, it got shredded -- could have been a lot funnier and more insightful, with a lot fewer unbelievably obvious cliches that make a big deal of being obvious so that it's like kitchy obvious as "cool" obvious... but totally fails in that sense, like the evangelical thing. Aside from all that, I had like 7-10 out loud laughs, and that was well worth it. Final: funny, but nowhere near as good as the story idea makes you believe. Expand
  11. Mar 18, 2011
    1
    Boring and predictable. I can't believe that Pegg and Frost went from "Shaun" and "Hot Fuzz" to create this dreck. The attempts at humor were pathetic. There were some passable references to sci-fi classics, but overall this movie is not worth your time or money.
  12. Mar 20, 2011
    4
    "Seth Rogen is 'perfect' as Paul," primarily because you don't spend the movie watching the real Seth Rogen attempt acting. That alone garnered an extra point from me. The movie itself was ET meets Star Wars references written by people who smoked a lot of weed during the writing process.
  13. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Feel great, laugh hard, smile big! Good fun with a lively audience, everyone bursts out laughing all at once. Must have been at least 30 times the audience seemed to laugh in cue, and very much agreed. If your feeling sad, see this now! >>>> It's smart humor but still sadly manages to include some of the "homophile humor crap" we're all sick of and continually barraged with from the seemingly Pro-Homosexual Agenda Movie, Film and Television Industry. Expand
  14. Mar 30, 2011
    2
    AWFUL. It was like a family film... but with cussing? I don't get who the target viewers of this movie was suppose to be, it was just boring and reminded me of something an 11 year old kid would like. I LOVE Pineapple Express and what's his face's other movies but this was just plan boring. I semi-laughed like 3 times? Maybe?

    Avoid this or wait for DVD, who likes this movie? Why are
    people giving good marks? Really??? Expand
  15. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    This movie is one of those lighthearted British comedy's that I love, it does not take it selves to serious but still manages to be moving in some parts. The movie speaks to the nerd in all of us and pokes fun at America in an loving way. Seth Rogan as the voice of Paul is a perfect match, while it's not the movie of the year it is absolutely worth watching and better than most new comedy's out there. Expand
  16. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ;====+++http://tinyurl.com/4m99k48+++===;
    ;====+++http://tinyurl.com/4m99k48+++===;
    ;====+++http://tinyurl.com/4m99k48+++===;
    ;====+++http://tinyurl.com/4m99k48+++===;
    ;====+++http://tinyurl.com/4m99k48+++===;
    ;====+++http://tinyurl.com/4m99k48+++===;
    Expand
  17. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Funniest moveie ever "3 tits"...."awesome." haha.
  18. Apr 3, 2011
    2
    THank god I pirated this movie. Because otherwise I would have walked out and lost $10 at the theater and someone might have seen me watching this crap. The jokes are lame, the characters are unbelievably stupid and not in a funny way but in a you feel bad for the writer who is trying to appear smart and failing like watching bones or the ghost whisperer. I thought this would be funny but if you saw the preview you've already seen the best jokes. harvesting farts not eating a dead bird would have been better as a short rather then an hour and a half of filler and a recycled 3 boobs joke from total recall over and over again. the Christian trailer trash, the English nerd, the stupid alien couldn't be less funny. Seriously this is worse then sucker punch. Expand
  19. Sep 18, 2011
    6
    Although "Paul" isn't strong in script & story as much as "Shaun of the Dead" or "Hot fuzz", the tone is humorous thanks to the friendly Pegg+Frost combo.
  20. Mar 25, 2011
    1
    An unbelievably bad movie. There was nothing good about this moronic tripe. I'm giving it one for the 1 laugh i had. I doubt even teenagers would like this piece of crap.
  21. Mar 21, 2011
    7
    This is not Pegg and Frosts best work but I did enjoy the film and I liked watching for the Sci-Fi Movie references. Their love of the genre really came across in a similar way to Shaun but it wasn't quite as funny.
  22. May 22, 2011
    10
    If you like Simon Pegg and science fiction this is a very good movie. If you have friends who have been to any comic or sf conventions, and if you liked Galaxy Quest, then this is a GREAT Movie.
  23. Jul 23, 2011
    8
    Paul is a very good film. Im a big fan of Simon Pegg and Nick Frost acting in films and this is another great film with the two actors in it. There are alot of funny scenes in the film and the story is enjoyable to watch. My only problem with the film is some scenes in my opinion are just stupid overall. I would give this a high matinee!
  24. Feb 16, 2012
    3
    The idea of the movie was really very good and I expected a lot of fun because I love Sci Fi.
    But I was very disappointed because the final product is not good at all.The movie is full of rude humor and looks like it is made for teenagers with very immature teen jokes.
    I give this movie 3 only for very smart references to famous Sci Fi movies. At least the writer has seen some quality Sci
    Fi earlier in his life. Pity he could not create a masterpiece himself. Expand
  25. Mar 25, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Deep in the recesses of an Area 51 warehouse, a CIA-employed "little green man" has none other than Steven Spielberg on the line, discussing with the filmmaker, hot on the heels of his first Indiana Jones movie, what he should film next. Seated at his regulation government desk, Paul(Seth Rogen), the driving force behind all the important scientific and sociological achievements of the past fifty years, gives Spielberg the idea for "E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial", the 1982 classic that turns out to be, not a work of fiction, but a biopic about Paul's first contact with earthlings upon his arrival from the skies beyond. Clive Gollings(Nick Frost), a British sci-fi writer on nerd holiday with his fellow Comic-Con conventioneer Graeme(Simon Pegg), had no doubt seen "E.T." as a tiny lad in some rundown London bijou, but it's the Spielberg knockoff "Mac & Me", the 1988 Stewart Raffill "commercial" that took the marketing practice of product placement to a whole other level, which inspired him down the road to write speculative fiction and sci-fi based comic books. Considering that Paul has such a prodigious grasp of the American popular culture(he takes credit for creating Fox Mulder), the savvy moviegoer would expect the hyper-urban alien to be outraged when Clive speaks of him in the same light as the "Mysterious Alien Creature", Mac for short, whose caretakers keep alive by supplying the co-opted alien with Coke after Coke after Coke. With his mouth fixed in a perpetual "O", Mac has the unintended look of a stroke victim. Hillariously, since Mac can't move his mouth, the furnished soda cans are always equipped with a straw for easy sipping, as a means to help offset the considerable limitations of the completely manual puppet. Unlike Mac who can't talk(you need facial gestures to do that), and most conspicuously, eat(ditto), Paul, on the other hand, yet another triumph of CGI technology, acts and sounds like your typical American male beset with arrested development, and in a wicked send-up of the titular character in John Carpenter's "Starman", eats what he regenerates. Paul may be a little on the crude side, but he never forgot his first love, Tara, whom the alien tried to make amends with over the intervening years through the cinematic arts. (In a bit of fun, fictive movie revisionism, Elliott was supposedly based on Tara.) Although Paul couldn't save the dog his ship landed on during that long ago crash landing, the alien brings the hound's memory back alive, so to speak, through the redemptive powers of film. In the final moments of "E.T.: The Extra Terrestrial", Elliott's dog trots up the ramp to the departing spacecraft, then thinks better of it and turns around. When Tara(Blythe Danner), the little girl who nursed Paul back to health, traverses the same sort of steps(toward Paul's ship) as that celluloidal dog, the seemingly accidental movements of a restless animal in the Spielberg film now takes on a less spontaneous appearance. Turns out the whole damn thing was scripted, a personal aside, from Paul to Tara, as an apology for taking her cherished pet away with his reckless piloting, by foregrounding the dog for a brief moment amidst the tearful goodbyes between E.T. and his humans. "E.T." is a very personal movie for Paul, thus Clive's childhood fascination with "Mac and Me"(co-starring Ronald McDonald as himself) must stick in his crawl, but he remains respectfully quiet, perhaps even, suspiciously so. That's because "Mac & Me" was his idea too. It's the only explanation. He's just too embarrassed to own up to it. At the end of the Christine Ebersole vehicle, the family of mysterious alien creatures gets sworn in as American citizens, therefore choosing Earth over returning back to their desert-like planet. Paul, who probably could have quit his bureaucratic job anytime he wanted to, decides that he prefers his adopted home, as well. These two movies: "E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial" and "Mac & Me", reflect the breadth of Paul's earthly experiences; starting off as a stranger in a strange land and ending with a successful transition into fruitful assimilation. Expand
  26. May 8, 2011
    8
    I can't really add anything that hasn't already been said. Other than to say it's a pretty damn good film. Plenty of great jokes outside those of the trailer. Without the director of Shaun and Hot Fuzz on board, the only loss I could see was lack of a definite visual style but honestly, it didn't stop the laughs coming. Biggest complaint I had was Simon Pegg's Moustache! It hid his top lip and hence a lot of subtle looks he was giving. Expand
  27. Mar 23, 2011
    7
    Simon Pegg and Nick Frost play British scifi nerds who travel to our UFO landmarks and happen upon a real-life alien (voiced by Seth Rogen). Their innocent adventure turns into a desperate chase, which includes men in black, a few insider cameos and lots of classic genre references. While the spirit is good-natured and the pacing never lags, the genuine laughs are too spread out. The movie is fun, just not that funny. Expand
  28. May 11, 2011
    9
    Pegg and Frost have done it again, they've created a hilarious movie which is worth your money. Paul is the story of two friends, Graeme (Simon Pegg) and Clive (Nick Frost) who are going on a tour across america, from Comic-Con to all over america's alien hotspots. Along the way, they come across an alien named Paul (voiced by Seth Rogen) Let me get this out of the way: Just because the two main characters are "nerds" doesn't mean anyone who isn't one will be alienated. The jokes are crude, often come flying fast and there's enough within this movie so everyone will be entertained, including car chases, romance subplots, star wars (amongst other films) references and explosions. The jokes can often be crude, yes, but there's no doubt about how many laughs inhabit each joke: they're full of them. From probing gags to tri-titted aliens, this film is certainly a barrel full of laughs (there are better jokes, but its hard to speak of them without spoiling parts of the movie). There are a few jokes where you just have to give yourself a second to process what the character just said, and when you have processed what they just said, trust me, you'll be laughing. This film proudly bears its inspirations, by homaging some films which, trust me, once you hear them, you'll get the homage. The best homage? Listen to the background music when the characters enter the redneck bar, you'll see. Also, once Sigourney Weaver makes her on screen appearance, wait for a certain line to be referenced. I can't talk about this movie without mentioning the films title character: Paul. Seth Rogens voice doesn't bother me in any way, in fact, his voice seems perfectly suited for the CGI character, who does not stick out like a sorethumb like certain cgi-characters *cough*ScoobyDoo*cough* In fact, all of the characters are quite well done characters, none feeling like merely one dimensional characters, whether its Jane Lynch's alien enthusiast waitress, or David Koenchers redneck who severly dislikes the title characters, they also manage to pull of some brilliant laughs. A great deal of the laughs have to come from the Goverment agents, played by Bill Hader and Lo Trugillo. The duo give us some big laughs, whether its about 'Spacemans balls', searching the main characters RV or within a comic book store, you can expect big laughs from these two. Paul manages to go in a direction that i'm glad it touched upon, the creationism VS evolution debate. With Paul suddenly here, it fuels the debate (not through the whole movie though) and ponders the idea of what to do when you're beliefs have been shattered. So basically, Paul is a film filled with non-stop laughs, a brilliant cast who could act their way out of a prison and homages that are guarranteed to leave a smile on your face. Definately a contender for funniest film of the year Expand
  29. Mar 20, 2011
    7
    It's not one of those stupid, dumb comedies with no plot. In this movie, the storyline made sense, even the character Paul had a background story. I'm pointing this out because most of today's comedies are shallow. '' Paul '' was entertaining, fun, rude and offensive movie. After '' Hot fuzz '' , Simon Pegg and Nick Frost had finally delivered another cool comedy.
  30. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    The British duo have given us some of the best comedy in recent years. The Seth Rogen reached his zenith with his performances in the TV comedy of some years ago "Freaks and Geeks" which matched him and many of the better comedy actors populating films today. Unfortunately Apto and his young charges have steadily faulted in downward trends. Rogen has played the exact same character just stoned more or less in preceding roles. Stop smoking the props stop smoking your own stash and start learning your craft these past several performances have been terrible "The Green Hornet" OUCH! Expand
  31. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    this movie was funny.I GUARANTE that you will laugh while watching this movie. If you watched Hot Fuzz or Shaun of the Dead or another Pegg and Frost movie you will notice that this movie has a different feeling to it but,it was still an great movie.
  32. Mar 20, 2011
    5
    If you are a fan of the duo of Frost and Pegg's other movies (such as "Shaun of the Dead") and a fan of the sci-fi genre, I would highly recommend checking out this film. While the humor does leave a bit to be desired, the film itself is put together very well and employs a cast of actors that play their parts convincingly. The subtle references to other films in the scii-fi genre are more than enough to make this film watchable. That being said, this film is definitely aimed at a specific group of viewer and, if you belong to the group, you will find it to be a rewarding experience. If you do not, you will likely walk away from the film less than pleased. Expand
  33. Mar 22, 2011
    4
    It seemed like this was the guideline when Pegg/Frost penned PAUL - When in dire need of a laugh, do one of the following:

    1) Have a character drop the F-bomb or equivalent.
    2) Have a character faint. 3) Make a homophobic comment or dwell on the subject. Overall, a lazily written comedy.
    Maybe the problem was we needed more action, more *surprising* action: SHAUN OF THE DEAD and HOT
    FUZZ had plenty of that. Not enough crazy action and, more importantly, not enough Surprises = lame comedy. Expand
  34. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    Hilarious. Just a fun, sci-fi comedy. The casting has to be spot on. Simon Pegg and Nick Frost at their funniest since Hot Fuzz. I was skeptical at first about Seth Rogen, but he held up great.
  35. Mar 23, 2011
    8
    Really funny! Great references to nearly every Alien movie in the past 40 years! A really nice getaway from all the world's current problems. Great Cast!
  36. Mar 26, 2011
    4
    I found the acting, for a start, to be acceptable, with some cases being quite memorable (Jason Bateman, Kirsten Wigg) If you enjoy good acting, a film worth a watch. However, it falls very very flat on the script, with poor, recycled and lack luster jokes. This film just has none of the strength of Hot Fuzz or the creativity of Shaun Of The Dead.
  37. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    Frost and Pegg have done it again. (spoiler alert)
    These two are cinematic geekdom's equivalent of mythic gods!
    Best part in the whole film was Sigorney Weaver gets crushed by the UFO's door, then later they are spraying it off with a garden hose, love it. I have not sprayed soda out of my nose like that since Galaxy Quest.
  38. Apr 1, 2011
    7
    An intergalactic, pop-culture RV road trip through sci-fi, geekdom that, while not earth shattering, remains an energetic, clever and sweet little ode to all things not of this planet. www.brianthemovieguy.blogspot.com
  39. Apr 3, 2011
    10
    I loved this movie. It was both funny and entertaining. It had a great cast, and even though it was a comedy, it had good special effects. Paul looked real. As if he was really there. This movie shouldn't be frowned upon because of the similarities to other movies because it's creating a whole new fun-filled comical action ride.
  40. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    This movie is really good. Most people somehow though it was supposed to be a kids movie, but this was defiantly not the case. I think a lot of the negativity came from the references to religion, but you should be able to laugh at yourself.
  41. Apr 9, 2011
    8
    Awesome movie. My only complaint is the hair pieces Simon Pegg keeps wearing in his movies. He would have been just as believable as the trekkie/alien enthusiast without the bad hair. It just takes you out of the movie when you have props that remind you that they are props. Loved the alien though and Seth Rogan did an excellent job. I can't wait to see it again.!
  42. Apr 11, 2011
    0
    Virtually plot-less, Paul plods along, constantly introducing character after lifeless character. Each scene is punctuated by a poorly-constructed gay joke, and the disembodiment of Seth Rogen's voice is truly unsettling.

    The film, after the opening scene of Paul's ship landing on a dog, begins with an upbeat musical montage of the main characters, forcing a familiarity of them upon the
    audience. They then *somehow* acquire an RV, (which they drive as if it were a Honda Civic) in a pursuit of spotting UFOs via a cross-country road trip. Now, add Paul, a gray alien who has escaped the government's clutches,. He makes a rather predictable and unintelligent introduction to our main characters. If Paul is not propaganda to make us believe that the extraterrestrial lifeforms of our universe have the personality and intelligence of any beer-bonging college human "brah", then I don't know what it is.

    From there, the characters' overly-apparent awkward social graces make enemies with everyone they meet. Before long, they have a transcontinental train of gun-toting antagonists following behind them, from homophobic hillbilly redneck hunters, to the FBI. It is unclear what anyone's goal is in this movie - antagonists, protagonists, script writers, producers... what is going on?

    When the investigators set up a road bock, the scene cuts directly from the officers waving traffic to the side of the road, to their RV immediately being searched, encouraging us to allow our rights to be illegally violated. I digress.

    Paul finally leaves Earth by signaling his alien brethren to pick him up with... fireworks. This works not only immediately, but also very well, because fireworks haven't been fired anywhere on Earth, at any time in the past 70 years. Plot hole after plot hole, the writers abandon a potential script of substance for a cinematic faux-pas, intentionally created to condition humans to the existence of aliens, which Paul, actually points out at one part in the movie.

    As for the supposedly spectacular sci-fi references, they were too few to quantify. A pathetic excuse for a sci-fi friendly film; a pathetic excuse for a film, period. 104 minutes of my life I will never get back. Imagine what else could have been done with their $40,000,000 budget...
    Expand
  43. Apr 21, 2011
    8
    I found it to be a very chuckle worthy movie. You might not be rolling in the aisles in every scene but overall it is rather enjoyable. It might be a little geeky for some, extreme bible thumpers will despise it, stoners will laugh the most from it. But overall I have to say not too shabby it's at least worth giving a once over, but may want to wait for it to come to DVD don't think it's worth flooring it to the theater for a $11 gouge price. Expand
  44. May 14, 2011
    9
    I saw this film twice in theaters and cracked up both times. The comedy is so clever and the action is pretty decent for a comedy film. Seth Rogen nailed it as Paul and was the funniest character in the film
  45. May 15, 2011
    10
    This was a movie made for me. It is hilarious and fun and it reminds you of why you enjoy sci fi films with all of its little references from star wars to star trek. The only thing it was missing was edgar wright.
  46. May 22, 2011
    8
    Two British nerds decide that after going to ComicCon in San Diego they are going to go touring Americaâ
  47. Jun 8, 2011
    5
    Pegg and Frost lost the physical comedy that made there films so enjoyable and replaced it with foul language laughs that are better left to Will Farrell and Company. Those that love a cheesy comedy will still enjoy this overall piece of pure silliness.
  48. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Absolutely Hilarious! I don't understand why this movie did so bad on this site I thought it was a refreshing dirty comedy. this is Seth Rogan's best movie!
  49. Aug 23, 2011
    7
    Not as good as Shaun of the Dead or Hot Fuzz, but still funny as hell. It's worth watching over and over, and these guys need to keep making movies together.
  50. Mar 25, 2011
    6
    I like watching Paul and it's a decent comedy. Although, it's not as good as Shaun of Dead and Hot Fuzz like everyone else said. But, Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are so cool and they actually pretty good job on their role and that CG alien is a wise crack-in hilarious. Cool movie and it's pretty fun alien road trip flick.
  51. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    An entertaining movie, it's a bit of a cliché like most films but this has something different.
  52. Apr 30, 2011
    6
    "Funny , tho not what i was expecting. Paul has its laugh out loud moments. But i felt like i needed more , when its funny its funny. But this intergalactic comedy needed more flare and R - Rated humor. Paul is spaced about between funny and stupid" .. B-
  53. Apr 14, 2011
    5
    Paul

    I went into Paul with the highest of expectations being a huge fan of Nick Frost and Simon Peggâ
  54. Aug 15, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You have to enjoy English Wit Comedy at least remotely to enjoy this comedy. Because I do, I liked this movie. It was a little goofy but it was nice to see Simon Pegg give it a shot in the US with American actors.
    Some of the most memorable moments of the movie came through the acting of Kristen Wiig's character trying to curse after being a true christian all her life. Some other things I like about the Duo of Pegg and Frost are the re-occuring jokes throughout their films (this one: the alien with 3 boobs, Wiig trying so hard to curse). What takes this movie from an 8 to a 7 is the voice of Seth Rogan as the character "Paul." It just didn't fit the alien body... at all! But when he is talking slow and calm, it suited pretty well. All in all, give this comedy a look, 7/10
    Expand
  55. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    This was an excellent movie for me and I caught it twice. If you are expecting this to be a rollercoaster non-stop laugh-riot, it is not. But when it is funny, it is very very dastardly funny. It's just how the comic is delivered which I found endearing, sometimes riotiously laugh out loud and occasionally so quick-fire that you may well miss the jokes. And some just catch you unprepared .. "get away from her, you **** .. "someone who loves you .." etc. And Paul is just brilliant and really made the movie. IMO, British audiences will love this movie more as do those who have a penchant for brit humour. Smashing movie. Expand
  56. Aug 7, 2011
    7
    I like this movie. It's a good comedy, but i have seen better ones, and worse ones too. It's worth checking it out.
  57. Aug 16, 2011
    8
    I'm confused as to why Paul has received such mixed reviews â
  58. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    It's been a long time since I've laughed this hard at a movie, I'm familiar withe Simon Pegg's and Nick Frost's other film Shaun of the Dead, and after that film I was expecting another hilarious movie, and they didn't disappoint, it immediately floors you with it's over the top humor, it's a lot more vulgar then Shaun of the Dead, definitely not one for kids to watch, but for much older audiences it's a movie that will have you laughing until you cry, while I'm not cool about the anti-God jokes, I still had a blast watching this, and I highly recommend. Expand
  59. Apr 4, 2011
    7
    It is good to have some sci-fi background before watching this movie! There are references galore to Star Trek and Star Wars, among others. I do not know either well, but still thought this movie was funny. Not amazingly hilarious, and probably the most predictable movie you'll ever find, but fun for sure.
  60. Aug 22, 2011
    6
    Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are back again with another comedy puting; "Paul." As a huge fan off their work I honestly thought this was sure to be another hit for the duo unfortunately I was left ever so slightly disappointed. Shaun of the Dead was a classic British comedies and evidence of two men at the top of their game and they carried this on into Hot Fuzz so I was expecting great things from Paul! It's not a bad comedy it's just not as good as what you'd expect it to be given their record it has his funny moments throughout but it just lacks the sophistication their other other films had and therefore at times leaves you wanting more. The story focuses upon two British geeks travelling to USA on a UFO pilgrimage however on their path come across Paul, an Alien who enlists their help to assist him in returning home, however its not long before trouble arises and their insane roadtrip see's them in a struggle against time to return Paul home. Pegg and Frost are dependable as ever but the true stars here are, first, Seth Rogen who is awesome as Paul, the twist with Jason Bateman was a great idea and Bateman's performance itself was great as was Kristen Wiig who turns in a hilarious performance. A cameo from Jane Lynch was also very well played and for big geeks theres even a cameo from a sci-fi legend in Sigourney Weaver. All in all, Paul is at times great fun that will provide moments of laughter however its not going to live long in the memory like Shaun of the Dead or Hot Fuzz, nonetheless its certainly worth a watch and will have Sci-Fi/Alien fans in hysterics, otherwise don't expect to much. Expand
  61. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    I just saw this movie for the first time today and I can now say with complete honesty that it is in my mind one of the funniest movies I have seen so far. I love the comrade between Pegg and Frost, and Seth Rogen was the perfect choice for the alien. The celebrity cameos I thought were cool (look out for Spielberg) and it also shows you at the very end one of the most famous sci-fi locations of all time. In sum, now one of my favorite movies of 2011. Expand
  62. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    I usually don't care for this genre of film. The "spoof" usually bores me because the jokes and references are just so lame they're not even worth watching on Sunday afternoon in the middle of a blizzard. But this one I loved. I enjoyed Rogen as Paul and was glad I didn't have to watch him but his delivery was on spot. The only one I found annoying was Kirsten Wig. She's determined to turn women into stupid while lost at a rest stop. I loved the references and homage to the sci fi films of the past. I actually laughed out loud at some of the gimmicks. Loved the bar scene with the music from Star Wars and the "that's when the fight started". So many references to films that are truly classic and this one just was leaps better than most of this genre can be. Expand
  63. Jan 10, 2012
    6
    Although not a patch on the brilliant Shaun of The Dead, Paul is an enjoyable part road trip movie, part buddy movie, part E.T remake for the new century. Some great in film jokes and lines which Sci-Fi fans will get. It's not going to set the world on fire but switch your brain to off and laugh your way through this film.
  64. Apr 12, 2011
    4
    I think you have to be a fan of the Shaun of the Dead cult to enjoy this movie. I didn't hate the film but it was almost borderline terrible. The kudos have to go to Kristen Wiig. This woman is a very funny comedian. Pretty much everything that she does in the film is laughable. Seth Rogan also lends his voice to the alien which helps the case for the movie not totally bombing. Rent it and save some money. Expand
  65. Apr 23, 2011
    5
    This movie wasn't without its moments and it will definitely keep you chuckling the whole way though, however, despite that, its not a very "good movie." The plot is terrible, the pacing is terrible, and unlike some other recent movies (like your highness) it wasn't anywhere near funny enough to carry it through its bad story. If you see this movie once, you'll be fine, if you ever watch it more than that...well i'm sorry. Expand
  66. Apr 18, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is not as bad as I expected. I expected it to be really stupid and to pull in a lot of cheap laughs. But honestly, there weren't that many laughs. The movie was not that funny. I mean, what was good about the movie isn't the humor, but the story and adventure. However, this is supposed to be a comedy movie, But it's better that there weren't any stupid laughs than had there been. It was not a very Seth Rogen-like film thank God. I'm not a Seth Rogen, I was expecting some pretty stupid stuff. It was kind of uncomfortable, there were kind of shots at religion, and it sort of made religious people seem stupid, and that hurt a lot, I am a Christian, now that doesn't really affect my views, but it could very well be taken offensive, and it got really uncomfortable. I didn't really take it seriously, and you really can't be a hard core religious nut to like it. The movie gets a 5 because the humor wasn't really there, and the constant religious strikes were not necessary. You could've easily cut it out of the movie, and it would've been a much more solid showing. But otherwise, I think Simon Pegg and Nick Frost did a great job in it, they were very good in it. The gay jokes get a little old, but it's abandoned luckily half-way through the movie. Expand
  67. Sep 5, 2011
    8
    Very enjoyable family movie, far better than expected to be honest, not as over the top as the alien in American Dad thankfully. Feels like a British flick, despite the hollywood gloss.
  68. Apr 23, 2011
    7
    Fun ride. These guys know their genre. I like everyone in the cast even though I think everyone is over Seth Rogen. Definitely a renter but was fun on the big screen.
  69. Apr 23, 2011
    3
    This movie is definitely a wait for DVD. How anyone can compare this hunk of rubbish to hot fuzz astounds me?! The dialogue is pitiful, and the movie never really knew what type it was. It goes between comedy, to romance, to tear-jerker, to political. I don't mind the ole bag on religion jokes, but they seemed to forget people came to watch a comedy. I didn't pay 15 bucks so I could have Simon Pegg's personal views about religion pushed down my throat. Noone with an I.Q. above 50 would think that a comedy, whose main material was a swearing Christian is worthy of any real recognition. Expand
  70. Apr 28, 2011
    7
    Simply a fun and entertaining film! Aliens continue to entertain audiences, even if they put shorts and sandals on the most traditional looking alien ever. Regardless, I love how they stuck with the typical human resembling grey alien and gave him a human soul, though I would have appreciated a bit more character development on such a robust creature! Definitely fun and surprising!
  71. Apr 28, 2011
    5
    I'm a Pegg & Frost fan - they worked together brilliantly in Shaun and Hot Fuzz. This movie had the potential to be another cult follower, but sadly, Hollywood marketed the guts out of it and ALL the good stuff was in the trailers! Dear Hollywood, when you fill trailers with spoilers and entice fans to spend on anti-climax, you self-defeating morons treat us like dumb aliens. Having said this, I watched a cam version and didn't waste my money on going to the movies (ha ha ha). I'm also a SF and a comedy fan, so if the movie had been as good as anticipated I probably would have paid to have seen it a number of times - so, Hollywood, you get what you deserve!!! Expand
  72. Jun 27, 2011
    7
    There is some fun to be had with Paul and while its not as brilliant to Edgar Wrights indy movies: Shaun of the Dead or Hotfuzz, Paul is entertaining, with some laughing moments and a story although being rather standard, does give us something to care about. Simon and Nick are some of the best comics in cinema at the moment and while in Paul their laughs and characters dont come close to what we have seen previously they are good and work well together on screen. The alien character Paul is also amusing and memorable; the design and CGI effect art succeeds in bring the standard big eyed headed alien to life in an original way. I particularly like looking at Paulââ Expand
  73. Sep 3, 2011
    3
    A HUGE disappointment. I was so excited to see this movie that I paid $20 dollars for the DVD having never seen the movie (Should have red boxed it for a $1 dollar.) I feel ripped off and now can't even sell the DVD on Ebay.

    This movie had such potential with the budget and cast of characters but it fell on it's face HARD.

    The storyline was very poor, the writing was worse, the jokes
    were nonexistent, and the entire movie felt like someone sat down one evening with a beer and some weed and wrote out a really lazy concept with an obvious anti-Christian and anti-Creation agenda. The trailer is actually the best part of the movie, and aside from 2 or 3 funny one liners, this movie is a HUGE waist of money, talent and resources. It's just lazy and disappointing all around. If you want to see it, get it from a $1 dollar rental box first. As for me, if I can't sell the DVD on Ebay, I'll BURN IT. Expand
  74. Sep 15, 2011
    3
    This is such a disappointing movie. It could have been great if they had recognised they could have been funny, even hilarious, without needing so much language. There are so many funny people in this movie, and they have missed out on a great opportunity for a wider family audience. The references to other movies is great, but will be missed by the people who never end up seeing this movie. Sad when you finish watching a movie that should be funny and instead end up feeling dirty and mucky! If you are not offended by language you will love this movie. Expand
  75. j30
    Sep 27, 2011
    6
    A pretty funny movie from the guys who brought us side-splitting comedies such as Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz, and Superbad. The only reason I give this a 6 is because I felt the gags were far in between and some of the jokes ran a little flat. However, the characters are great (particularly Kristen Wiig's character who is a scene steal-er) and Paul, who I would party with any day of the week.
  76. Sep 15, 2013
    5
    Enjoyable at face value, but unremarkable and formulaic. Humour masquerading as Star Wars references (not funny), Paul plays it safe, setups can be seen a mile off. Most of the jokes have been used elsewhere, to better effect.
  77. Aug 24, 2011
    7
    Paul is decent--nice sci fi and a good story. Best movie Rogan has ever been a part of, that hack. Watch this movie if there is nothing else on TV. heh.
  78. Sep 12, 2011
    5
    Rent-it - This sci-fi comedy about an alien who needs a ride across the country is not nearly as clever as Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz, but Simon Pegg and Nick Frost's latest creation does serve up some intergalactic entertainment and is at times hysterical - "at times."
  79. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Once again, Britain shows Hollywood how its done. Pegg has done it again. Paul is done with just the right amount of Hollywood, any more and it would have failed. The Theatrical cut is more hollywood that the unrated - watch the unrated, its far better with more character and quirkiness. Frost is absolutely brilliant as well, and they both captured the proper interpretation of what an intellectual, slightly boyish, nerdy geek is. Not the hollywood stereotype, but more to the real. The CGI is great, story is simple but fun and witty. Expand
  80. Oct 23, 2011
    3
    This movie reaches for the stars, but ultimately it crash and burns during reentry. technically the movie was very good, the set ups and the environments are great and with nice effects as well as Paul's animation and CGI model. the movie itself gives a sense of an adventurous trip mixed with chase elements, something that i love. There is also a fair amount of funny parts and sci-fi references with the characters being adorably goofy. eventually all of this stops. the characters turn to nasty foulmouthed pieces of meat and there's nasty jokes and swearing all over the place. It would be great to see it with your family, but this greatness falls short due to the aforementioned drawbacks.

    FINAL VERDICT
    Its unfortunate that i liked Pegg as the infamous Scottish character in star trek. Its also unfortunate that most part of the viewers have come to not only tolerate, but like this kind of comedy, a comedy that relies mostly on nasty jokes and swearing rather than real comedy and Paul is an example of this.
    Expand
  81. Oct 7, 2011
    6
    Not a bad movie at all. Never hilarious but funny. Despite some useless characters, the actors (Pegg and Frost of course, but also Jason Bateman) and dialogues are great. It's never really surprising, but many references to the sci-fi universe (including a cameo of Alien's legendary lead actress Sigourney Weaver) are enough to having good time in watching it
  82. Nov 26, 2011
    5
    Through the history of my part in metacritic, I've rated only movies and games that deserve it. But this is the first time I've given a score this low. This movie I admit wasfunny and cool, but it felt that all the swearing was unnecessary. If you like a movie where they swear you head off, then watch this. If you don't well then you know the answer. Not me I don't like that sort of thing.
  83. Oct 14, 2011
    6
    The first 20 minutes was pretty funny and creative but, after about an hour of Seth Rogan's laugh and a plethora of randomly placed F words, it gets repetitive.
  84. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    This movie is the perfect mix between a raunchy comedy and a heartfelt movie of friendship. This is a lot like Simon Pegg's other gems, Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz, but this one may be a little more interesting to American audiences. If you liked the two previously mentioned movies, than you will love this epic, hilarious movie.
  85. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    A pleasant surprise that had me laughing all the way. Shaun of the Dead â
  86. Nov 4, 2011
    7
    PAUL is entertaining and filled with homages that pay respect to all the Sci-Fi classics you know and love.
  87. Nov 3, 2011
    6
    I wouldn't call this the best movie ever. It has a few laughs, and a couple of cool cameos. Steven Speilberg gets help from Paul, which is the best since he directed E.T., so this isn't the best and it's not the worst. It does have a horrible plot, but plenty of awkward, light and funny moments. So enjoy it. But don't expect it to follow you everywhere you go. A good laugh if you need it. B-
  88. May 26, 2012
    9
    Paul is funny, has some decent organization of story, and has some sprinkles of action. Its actually a memorable comedy that has some unanswered questions. Its one of those few movies that I think needs a sequel to tie loose ends.
  89. Sep 8, 2013
    8
    There have been plenty of attempts at reliving some sort of alien encounter, but 'Paul' adds a comic touch to a decades long tale of UFOs and government conspiracies. The addition of comic duo Simon Pegg and Nick Frost certainly adds a nerdy touch to the film, it isn't one of their smartest or witty films, then again they take a break from behind the camera and are simply the stars and writers this time around. They play two British comic book fanatics Graeme and Clive who are fish out of water as they visit America for Comic-Con, we realise its a dream they have always wanted to happen, but their journey becomes a lot more lively when they'd happen across Paul, a foul-mouthed and socially in touch alien, voiced by Seth Rogen, he kills all the clich├ęs that we are told and believe of extra-terrestrial life, he swears, smokes and convinces everyone most of the entertaining sci-fi adventures of the past 60 years. The film ticks along as a comical history lesson, with Seth Rogen being the real comic force in the film as Paul the alien, while the men chasing down this other life form also hit some hysterical high notes with the serious and typical formation of what we would expect of a 'government agent' in Jason Bateman, but his two bumbling sidekicks played by Bill Hader and Jo Lo Truglio who are treating their job like first timers, and their comedy is juvenile but brilliant. This all leads into an explosive finale which combines everything we've seen and adds in a few surprises to keep it fresh and interesting.
    The film works with the same plot devices as many same genre films, but it benefits from the powerhouse comic cast and funny supporting cast. It re-enacts and parodies many devices used over the years, the agents, the unknown voice and boss who is identified only through hands and of course the touching moments where Paul re-visits those whose lives he changed many years before. The nice alternate take on a lengthy tale of alien encounters is a welcome relief and adds plenty of amusing anecdotes to pop culture tales from Paul's point of view, it takes some predictable turns but then flips them around to keep surprising and enlightening the audience throughout.
    Expand
  90. Dec 8, 2011
    5
    Basically this movie is a bunch of shout-outs to other sci-fi movies strung together by a weak plot. Yes, these cameos are super cool, especially the big boss at the end, but is it enough to make a movie? Is nostalgia enough to keep you in your seat? Eh, maybe. By the way there is a ton of cursing in this movie, hence the R rating.
  91. Feb 22, 2013
    3
    aking a funny science fiction based movie is not easy. There have been a few good ones and many many past flops. If anyone could do it, I was sure it would be Seth Rogan. I've loved almost everything he's been in and with this current streak, I thought he couldn't lose, but with Paul, he did. The story was original, but it was so out there that it crosses the line from funny to stupid and then doesn't go far enough to get back to funny. Paul is supposed to be this humanized alien, whose raunchy and outrageous, but the truth is he was like a hyper-active 12 year old. As for Simon Pegg and Nick Frost, they are dry and confusing, nothing new there. The only thing of interest in this film is really the cameos, so a I'd like to give a big thanks to Jason Bateman, Jane Lynch, Sigourney Weaver, Blythe Danner, Jeffery Tambor for adding something of interest to an otherwise awful movie! Expand
  92. Aug 24, 2014
    8
    Cursing, fornicating, smoking and driving with an alien on board.

    After a slow start, two British sci-fi nerds continue their first road trip in USA, moving between known alien locations. On one of them, they actually meet an alien, called Paul.

    From here starts an odd, funny, weird and very chaotic journey to take Paul where he wants to go. Traveling with him isn't easy, tohugh -
    especially when there is a mysterious agency after him, wanting their alien dead.

    Meeting an innocent, over-religious Ruth, Graeme and Clive continue their road trip to help Paul get home.

    The humor worked pretty well, Paul was very well made, and there was a constant edge of danger involved as a group of agents tracked down the RV. Jason Batrman as Agent Zoil was awesome, and even his two goofy "reinforcements" worked pretty well, even though they were a bit of a comic relief in the beginning.

    As good as I expected, definitely a movie to see for those who like comedy - and aliens.
    Expand
  93. Feb 28, 2012
    0
    I hate this movie, I don't understand what is the reason that the people watch this thing, the alien is really terrible, and the cast, only Wiig and Lynch have a great performance, but the rest is terrible. Paul have bad jokes, a good situation but have much mistakes.
  94. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    If you liked Shaun of the dead and hot fuzz, you will want to gauge your eyes out when watching this. Ii had to sum this movie up in one word it would be "crap". The jokes are unfunny, the story goes to fast and it's too bloody American.
  95. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    Excellent, funny, clever. Pegg and Frost at their best, what more could you want? The supporting cast is fab too. Not quite up there with "Sean of the dead" but what is? This is just a great film.
  96. May 22, 2012
    10
    This film is hilarious! It has many funny jokes in it which made me laugh out loud. Nick Frost and Simon Pegg make the film extremely funny and if it were anyone else I don't think it'll be the same. Just a great movie!
  97. Jul 26, 2013
    6
    Although Pegg and Frost once again have good chemistry on screen this film is lacking the brilliant writing that their previous two projects (Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz) had. This is because this film did not have the guiding presence of Edgar Wright. Although each of the actors did a fine enough time on screen (and even Seth Rogan was pretty good as Paul the alien) the writing just wasn't all there. Expand
  98. Nov 7, 2012
    2
    Seth's alien and the movie are funny for about five minutes and then we begin to figure out nothing is happening and we have to suffer through another ninety minutes of this monotonous swill.
  99. Feb 6, 2013
    9
    This has to be one of my favorite comedies of all time.I'm a bit of a Sci-Fi nerd myself, so the humor and references in this movie are right up my alley. Paul is just charming and just wowed me at every corner. However, if I had to make one criticism: It does tend to lay on the anti-religion vibe a bit thick at times. Then again, the people who it targets are precisely as they show them. Overall: A fantastic movie and I hope the adventure of Graeme Clive continue. Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Mar 24, 2011
    50
    Paul is offensive solely for being so underachieving.
  2. 70
    The third and least original of the Pegg-Frost features, but it's still a lot funnier than most films of its ilk.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 19, 2011
    75
    The special effects budget is on the high side but those effects serve the story rather than the other way around, and Paul is all the better for it.