Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2003
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 188 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
143
Mixed:
25
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
choomtabi31May 5, 2016
Cool story with some nice action sequences.Special effects are amazing and the concept's quite original, I think.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-2000-Paycheck
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
wornoutspinesJun 11, 2015
When I first saw this film I didn't even know it was a Philip K. Dick short story. The movie came out almost 12 years ago but it didn't seem so far off until I realized I didn't remember why he’s being chased. I remembered some of the actionWhen I first saw this film I didn't even know it was a Philip K. Dick short story. The movie came out almost 12 years ago but it didn't seem so far off until I realized I didn't remember why he’s being chased. I remembered some of the action scenes and the mystery solving so in my mind it looked more like an action than sci-fi movie. The plot is basically centered around the action, the car chases, gunshots, and explosions - not at a Michael Bay level - but still a very action-centered movie. It made the characters looks quite one-dimensional

It's funny how this futuristic sci-fi movie is a bit off. I mean the movie doesn't really hold up today. It's still a good science fiction - I meant action - story and I enjoyed watching it, maybe even more now that I recognize all of the supporting cast, but parts of the movie looked...fake I guess, or like it was made in the 80s instead of the 00s.

Paycheck was awesome when I saw it as a kid, it’s still a pleasant movie to watch but it’s definitely not a film for a nitpicking audience. @wornoutspines
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Oct 13, 2014
While you may not know the name Phillip K. Dick, many of the biggest Science Fiction films of the last thirty years have been adaptations of his work. Dick is responsible for the films Blade Runner, The Terminator, Total Recall, MinorityWhile you may not know the name Phillip K. Dick, many of the biggest Science Fiction films of the last thirty years have been adaptations of his work. Dick is responsible for the films Blade Runner, The Terminator, Total Recall, Minority Report, and Paycheck just to name a few. Due to the popularity of his work in film and how successful they've been, even a lesser known work like Paycheck has been made into a film. The story includes many of the action sequences and interesting characters associated with Dick's stories, but Paycheck does lack the futuristic Science Fiction that has become Dick's signature, which is the main reason this story isn't as well known as his other works. The story takes place in modern day, where a man is offered an irresistible deal. Jennings (Ben Affleck) is told that if he works on a secret project for the next 3 years, he will receive 100 million dollars. The only catch being that after the 3 years are up, Jennings memory will be erased and he will have no idea what he worked on. As expected, Jennings accepts the deal and returns to his life 3 years later, but nothing is that simple. Soon everyone from the FBI to bounty hunters show up trying to get to him, and the only clues he has come from an envelope he sent himself, containing 19 random items that seem to have little or no value. Ben Affleck stars and by this point we all know how I feel about him. Affleck is a terrific Director, who seems to have little interest in acting anymore. Paycheck however is a 2003 film, a time before Affleck had proven himself and he shows that rare charisma that is only present in his real early work. His performance is outstanding and aided further by his chemistry with co-star Uma Thurman. Thurman is another performer who I find isn't very good unless she's in very specific type of role, and fortunately for Affleck, this is one of those roles. Paycheck is missing the big signature associated with Dick's work and will be somewhat disappointing to his fans. I did miss the futuristic element, but I was intrigued by the mystery Jennings was trying to solve and the 19 items. Combined with the action sequences, (that are always top notch) Paycheck isn't what I expected, but was still very well done and definitely worth watching. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
OxcartNov 25, 2012
Paycheck is one of those movies that had the potential to be really, truly great, but due to a series of small problems, ended up as less than it could have been and largely ignored. In short (and you can get this from the trailer), BenPaycheck is one of those movies that had the potential to be really, truly great, but due to a series of small problems, ended up as less than it could have been and largely ignored. In short (and you can get this from the trailer), Ben Affleck plays a gifted engineer whose particular talent lies in reverse-engineering a company's product so that a competitor can get a head-start to market. In order to maintain deniability, his memory of each job is wiped, leaving him with just a paycheck (hence the title). But after accepting a long-term job, he finds himself a wanted man with no clue why, just a lot of questions. An outstanding premise. It is made all the better by creative writing, particularly the inclusion of a MacGuyver-esque puzzle that wends its way through the entire plot of the film. Dialogue is generally well written, only rarely losing its real-world edge (which is forgivable). Outstanding performances are turned in by Ben Affleck, Uma Thurman, Paul Giamatti, Aaron Eckhart, Colm Feore, and Joe Morton -- who, although given a relatively thin part, managed to turn it into a major, dynamic element of the plot and really shines. John Powell's original score was outstanding and a perfect balance of driving action music and reflective melodies when appropriate. Really, the faults of the film lie with John Woo, whose now-trite directorial hallmarks end up making their appearances in the film self-ridicule rather than poignant moment. (John, if you're reading: get rid of the flying dove gimmick. It was ridiculous in Mission Impossible 2, and it was ridiculous here. It's a joke, not art.) Woo is still an excellent action director, and the car chases, fight sequences, and other action-driven sections of the film do well by him. But someone else needs to take over when the fists and tires aren't flying; it's only the innate acting ability of people like Affleck, Thurman, and others (did I mention Joe Morton did a great job?) that save some sections of the film. Casting was bang-on, though, and Paul Giamatti does an A+ perfect job as the Voice of Reason and comic relief -- one of those blessed times that you don't groan inwardly when the comic relief character shows up; Giamatti does an exemplary job. And even though the film is, as of this writing, nearly a decade old, it doesn't come off as stale sci-fi -- a rarity. It is definitely worth watching if you're any kind of sci-fi fan (it comes from the mind of Philip K Dick...check out how many of his stories became wildly popular films) -- find a copy and have fun. Collapse
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
xahkdlys119Jun 9, 2012
I think that this movie has many twists and turns that is enough to keep people on the edge of their seats. And it surely has something to tell. It mentioned that predicting the future is something that we should not try to do. After all, II think that this movie has many twists and turns that is enough to keep people on the edge of their seats. And it surely has something to tell. It mentioned that predicting the future is something that we should not try to do. After all, I think that this is a very nice movie. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
[Anonymous]Nov 10, 2005
THe story has premise, but John Woo's excecution renders the movie mediocre. Even the action ain't all that great. There are moments when the brillinace of the sci-fi story does surface, particularly consequences of looking into THe story has premise, but John Woo's excecution renders the movie mediocre. Even the action ain't all that great. There are moments when the brillinace of the sci-fi story does surface, particularly consequences of looking into the future, but it's not enough to save this film from being merely mediocre stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanielOct 17, 2004
Highly entertaining movie with some very clever ideas about time travel. Well done!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YeigniptOSep 3, 2004
I specially like the part when the girl is playing rachel at the cafe. remember the future.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jul 14, 2004
This is really a thought out movie for cerebral exercise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobM.Jul 14, 2004
Well done film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeB.Jun 22, 2004
[***SPOILERS***] This is one paycheck you WILL want to cash in! High flying stunts, thought provoking ending, where Ben Affleck finds out his most trusted lover did it, and high flying special effects make this a winner!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BarbaraD.Jun 12, 2004
Just plain crappy. Weird sci fi, hard to follow. But I don't like sci fi, so maybe my opinion isn't very accurate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GinoE.Jun 7, 2004
There were a lot of films about time travel made in the past. Some better, some worse. Usually better. 'Paycheck' does give a new idea about time travel, but it could have been much, much more. Same goes for the action. (We've There were a lot of films about time travel made in the past. Some better, some worse. Usually better. 'Paycheck' does give a new idea about time travel, but it could have been much, much more. Same goes for the action. (We've all seen better shootouts and motorcycle chases). If I didn't know that this was directed by John Woo, I would never even think that. And same goes for the acting. (Especially note the always beard changing 'shorty' character. He's more convincing than anyone else, and that says a lot.) To make a long story short: If you're looking for some brainless, popcorn fun, I would recommend this product! If you're lookig for a film based on a Philip K. Dick book about memory loss, I would sugest 'Blade Runner', or even 'Total Recall'! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerD.May 29, 2004
I found it quite entertaining, waiting to see what he would use for what. Don't understand why there's such little love here. I guess some people just can't seeem to understand the movie. (((I caught a blooper though, during I found it quite entertaining, waiting to see what he would use for what. Don't understand why there's such little love here. I guess some people just can't seeem to understand the movie. (((I caught a blooper though, during the cop vs. motorcycle chase through the tunnel. The flashing cop lights get knocked off and then reappear for a few seconds before being gone again.))) Anyways, this is a good movie rent it. Almost Donnie Darko-esque, but with more action and more hollywood. Need to pay attention to grasp this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DWP102589May 24, 2004
[***SPOILERS***] I think I can explain what you don't understand Cameron S. All the machine does is read his palm and scan his brain to figure out what's MOST LIKELY to happen in his future. This, of course, can be changed, and his [***SPOILERS***] I think I can explain what you don't understand Cameron S. All the machine does is read his palm and scan his brain to figure out what's MOST LIKELY to happen in his future. This, of course, can be changed, and his having the items, changes the odds in his favor, creating a different MOST LIKELY future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DWP102589May 24, 2004
[***SPOILERS***] I think I can explain what you don't understand Cameron S. All the machine does is read his palm and scan his brain to figure out what's MOST LIKELY to happen in his future. This, of course, can be changed, and his [***SPOILERS***] I think I can explain what you don't understand Cameron S. All the machine does is read his palm and scan his brain to figure out what's MOST LIKELY to happen in his future. This, of course, can be changed, and his having the items, changes the odds in his favor, creating a different MOST LIKELY future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisMay 21, 2004
I didnt think this movie was as bad as most people say it is. I watched it, not knowing what it was even about, and it was very entertaining and had a good story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SmenkharonMay 19, 2004
John Woo has to be one of, if not the worst mainstream, big-budget directors of all time. There was absolutely no good reason whatsoever to include his fetishes for doves and motorcycles in this movie. The concept here was decent, as are all John Woo has to be one of, if not the worst mainstream, big-budget directors of all time. There was absolutely no good reason whatsoever to include his fetishes for doves and motorcycles in this movie. The concept here was decent, as are all Philip K. Dick stories, but the screenwriters mangle it and Affleck chews heavily on the scenery. Uma was decent though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeyP.Apr 19, 2004
I'm giving it a 9, just to balance everybody off, though it's probably more somewhere around an 8 *grin*
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CameronS.Feb 27, 2004
Paycheck is forgettable entertainment. Something you may enjoy a little bit while watching it, but hours later you?ll forget about it, mostly because you don?t care. John Woo, one of the best action directors of the last twenty years, Paycheck is forgettable entertainment. Something you may enjoy a little bit while watching it, but hours later you?ll forget about it, mostly because you don?t care. John Woo, one of the best action directors of the last twenty years, directed Paycheck and while not all his films have been good, they have all had some great action sequences. This film is greatly lacking in an action sequence of any intensity or fun. It?s all very basic and uninteresting. Michael Jennings is a reverse engineer. He takes existing computer hardware/software, breaks it down going backwards, and reassembles it into something new for the company he is working for. Because this is illegal, somehow, he has to have to his memory erased. He gets an offer from a friend of his, Rethrick (Eckhart), who tells him they?re working on something big. It will take three years to complete and he will make at least at least ten digits of stock options. Everything seems to go slickly, except that, when Michael tries to access his stocks, he finds, it?s not there, and suddenly his life is in danger. And, with exception to Rachel (Thurman), his love-interest, he seems to have no allies. He has a package with 19 or 20 objects in it, all in which he will need later in the movie. The film?s logic and plotting is awful, but that?s okay because this isn?t a film that needs to utilize logic. The film fails on stimulating any good action scenes. But the real problem I had with what was happening with the items he has. (Spoiler ahead) If he looked into the future, and saw that he would get killed, how could he change his future? The whole ?logic? of looking into the future is that it has already happened. It is his destiny, if he does something to change it, then it never should have existed. I don?t know if I am explaining thing correctly or comprehensibly here, it?s just that, he shouldn?t be able to change things that he would have to do as his destiny. (Spoiler end) Running mostly on adrenaline and a gimmick, it?s unlike from other Christmas movies in that it?s not unmotivated, intense or extravagant, and it clearly wasn?t prepared with a single stare at on the Academy Awards. The most interesting parts of Paycheck are the parts that consist of borrowing other scenes & ideas from other movies. Philip K. Dick, who is also the inspiration for better movies, like Blade Runner, Total Recall, and Minority Report, bases the film on a short story. This film is a dumb-downed assembly-line version of those entries, only lacking in character development, excitement, or cool visuals. Also, Woo seems to have been trying to shoot for a movie Hitchcock would have made. And didn?t Affleck?s buddy do an amnesia movie last year. The film isn?t original at all. The acting in Paycheck is linear with the quality of the screenplay, which is a range between hilariously absurd and insultingly stupid. Affleck plays Jennings blandly. I suspect he wanted to do this movie to erase his memory of Gigli. And Aaron Eckhart as Rethrick comes as even more colorless. But Uma Thurman, she was the biggest problem with the film I had. Her acting is just fine, it?s just, every time I see her on screen, I want to see her whip out a sword and cut everybody up, like she did so gracefully in Kill Bilil. That would have been exciting, but instead, she is relegated to just a love-interest. If it?s a fast-paced, exciting movie with cool action scenes and colorful characters, beautiful backgrounds and fun special effects, Peter Pan is your movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JManJan 28, 2004
Who would have thought that a film written by the guy who wrote Minority Report, directed by the guy who did Hard Boiled and FaceOff, and featuring the star of Kill Bill could be.......well so incredibly average?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SajidK.Jan 18, 2004
What a pathetic movie. Affleck seems to have returned to the past; his acting is mediocre and the scenes have been very badly planned. More money it seems has been spent on the production of special effects than producing and developing the What a pathetic movie. Affleck seems to have returned to the past; his acting is mediocre and the scenes have been very badly planned. More money it seems has been spent on the production of special effects than producing and developing the screen play. Story is predictable, clumsy and badly thought out. Avoid at all costs! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ContentPunkJan 2, 2004
Liked it the first time when it was the Bourne Identity. Thanks for this fine piece of crap, Ben "I wish I was as talented as Matt Damon, so I'm going to copy his filmography" Affleck. Don't quit your day job, Mr. Lopez.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RRRRJan 1, 2004
Who needs plot when you can blow things up?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SpriggangirlDec 31, 2003
Another film created by John woo the same guy who made that crap, Once a thief, really lost everything in paycheck. It's not great, it's just plain stupid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
littleRoomDec 30, 2003
This movie was all right, with an interesting way an envelope of everyday items helps Ben make it through the adventure. But the film felt very familar, and has been done better in other sci-fi movies. It's worth seeing if all you want This movie was all right, with an interesting way an envelope of everyday items helps Ben make it through the adventure. But the film felt very familar, and has been done better in other sci-fi movies. It's worth seeing if all you want is a fun action movie in between all the sad oscar season dramas that are out right now. Plus Uma Thurman is cute as ever. -lR Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AviK.Dec 29, 2003
What a piece of garbage. From the writing to the acting, this movie was made to appeal to the lowest common denomenator of viewers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IshiiDec 27, 2003
Bad movie. The story is too much like minority report ( I know it's written by the same person). And everything in this movie has probably been done in other movies. And the sets look cheap, like everthing is made of plastic when Bad movie. The story is too much like minority report ( I know it's written by the same person). And everything in this movie has probably been done in other movies. And the sets look cheap, like everthing is made of plastic when it's suppose to be metal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PhilD.Dec 26, 2003
This movie is good...but not great. If you're like me and you own The 6th Day and Minority Report on DVD you'll think that Paycheck is a total ripoff of other sci-fi flicks. If I hadn't seen those 2 movies I might have liked This movie is good...but not great. If you're like me and you own The 6th Day and Minority Report on DVD you'll think that Paycheck is a total ripoff of other sci-fi flicks. If I hadn't seen those 2 movies I might have liked more Paycheck. One last thing, if any movie director is reading this, PLEASE stop having those "annoying buddies" in your movies, those stupid characters who are helping the hero and are supposedly funny because they don't seem to have as much fun as the hero himself... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeyJoJoSchbadooDec 23, 2003
Really really good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful