DEJ Productions | Release Date: June 2, 2006
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 55 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
42
Mixed:
7
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SuariOct 26, 2016
This is meant for those who want to understand the real teaching of Buddhism that can fundamentally change your view of world as it happens to the main character. You can only benefit from watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SamsonyteJan 20, 2016
you will either get to a certain point in your life where you get this, or you will just simply be like a movie critic, knowing all and regurgitating each others bull on whats cool, whats real and whats not. i enjoyed it but then i don'tyou will either get to a certain point in your life where you get this, or you will just simply be like a movie critic, knowing all and regurgitating each others bull on whats cool, whats real and whats not. i enjoyed it but then i don't judge anyone who doesn't, only kidding critics i love you wall. and i got this film and i still have a sense of humour :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
IrishcreamOct 21, 2015
Every time I had fallen short of my expectations watching the screen versions of the books. A director's vision had failed to convey to the audience a transforming inner experience. I was sorrowfully disappointed with direction of J.Ostin'sEvery time I had fallen short of my expectations watching the screen versions of the books. A director's vision had failed to convey to the audience a transforming inner experience. I was sorrowfully disappointed with direction of J.Ostin's "Pride and Prejudice", 2005 , C.Bronte's "Jane Air", 2011 , F.S. Fizgerald 's "The Great Gatsby", 2013 and lots of others.

"The way of the peaceful warrior" screened on the ground of D.Millman's book is a pleasant exception from this list. It is one of the most inspiring masterpieces of modern movie-industry. I can confidently assert that this is the rare case when a film widely reflects a book.

Way of the Peaceful Warrior is a true story, based on the Dan Millman's autobiographical book. The book shares Dan's journey through university as a world-champion gymnast who has a passion to succeed and make it to the Olympics. On the surface, Dan has it all – he's good looking, popular, gets great grades, has women chasing him, his dad has plenty of money, great physical shape… yet, there's something missing. It isn't until one night Dan wakes up in the middle of the night and decides to take a walk to a nearby gas station that he encounters an old man that he calls Socrates, who begins mentoring him and exposes how deeply unhappy Dan is. The story essentially chronicles Dan's story through life to evolve himself into a Peaceful Warrior, with all the powerful lessons that he's learning from Socrates.

The movie is dripped with the inspiring scenes and deep quotations that everyone can relate to in some way. The biggest thing that hooked me was "Life brought rewards, but no lasting peace or satisfaction." Dan, like many of us, have been conditioned to believe that "When I achieve X-Y-Z, then I will be happy." And while most of us intellectually know that's not true, we still pursue goals believing it will give us that fulfillment. The lesson here is simple: nothing in your outer world will ever make you happy or fulfilled. Happiness can only come from the inside. When you truly come to this realization and stop deluding yourself, you can gain that sense of peace and satisfaction within.

I highly recommend to watch this movie. Everybody will find and learn a suitable lesson and reconsider some views on life.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SuzieG.Feb 21, 2008
This is an amazing movie. It really changed my perspective of things.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianY.Feb 16, 2008
I think sometimes we are bored because many people go to get away from thinking at the movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
StatikdogJul 14, 2007
Are you guys on crack?!......This is truly a steaming turd. Like an afterschool special only a little goofier.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KellyM.Jun 5, 2007
This movie was so full of cliches. It was also way too long. Don't waste your time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
VeronicaE.Apr 14, 2007
Enjoyable and inspirational. The Peaceful Warrior charged me up. I was relieved that the essence of the book was strong and that its message of transformation could be lively and fun. What a relief that movies can be an event that lifts us Enjoyable and inspirational. The Peaceful Warrior charged me up. I was relieved that the essence of the book was strong and that its message of transformation could be lively and fun. What a relief that movies can be an event that lifts us to greater perspectives. I noticed that the critics are so in their cyncal marketable heads. But how refreshing it is when we can hold possibility and even revel in it for two hours...so beyond the rush we get from violence and suspicion. Maybe we can create more and better movies that challenge us to experience our own potential. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobU.Apr 4, 2007
I usually don't buy into condensed & packaged philosophy but I thought this movie was excellent. I see the critics view - it's predictable, it's a little cliché, perhaps even too simplistic in it's message. But the I usually don't buy into condensed & packaged philosophy but I thought this movie was excellent. I see the critics view - it's predictable, it's a little cliché, perhaps even too simplistic in it's message. But the simple message works. The acting works. The story works. "Take out the trash" by ignoring all the negative critics and judge this movie for yourself. I predict you will be glad you did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BitaS.Apr 2, 2007
We need more movies like Peaceful Warrior, and far less movies as 300. What are we doing to our society? Where are the responsible filmmakers? How come our society craves more violence than peace? Is there ever an answer to these questions? We need more movies like Peaceful Warrior, and far less movies as 300. What are we doing to our society? Where are the responsible filmmakers? How come our society craves more violence than peace? Is there ever an answer to these questions? I believe there is, only if a filmmaker holds himself responsible for feeding good food to the audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarrieH.Mar 31, 2007
Best accompanied with the book, amazing story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TommyS.Mar 31, 2007
Good move, but dragged a bit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulF.Nov 26, 2006
Peaceful Warrior above all has a message the world sorely needs to hear. The message is primarily about living in the present moment. All too often we are stuck dwelling in the past, or overly anxious about the future, missing out on the Peaceful Warrior above all has a message the world sorely needs to hear. The message is primarily about living in the present moment. All too often we are stuck dwelling in the past, or overly anxious about the future, missing out on the only real moment there is. This film presents this truth and others in a well structured entertaining way. Oh sure, it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelT.Aug 27, 2006
It was a little long but very enjoyable. I laughed and later shed a tear. Scott Mechlowicz was awesome as Dan Millman. Nick Nolte is always good. The movie didn't change my life; but it did brighten my day.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ElizabethF.Jul 29, 2006
Do not listen to the critics. You are looking for more purpose in your life than what you have at the present then this movie is for you. This movie had a great spiritual message that can change you forever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoleV.Jul 25, 2006
This movie definitely surpassed what I expected. It was a great, inspirational movie, and based on true events of the author, that I ended up liking it more than I thought I would. I wasn't sure that I would like that the movie revolves This movie definitely surpassed what I expected. It was a great, inspirational movie, and based on true events of the author, that I ended up liking it more than I thought I would. I wasn't sure that I would like that the movie revolves around a gymnatist and a garage mechanic, but it was a movie with feeling, excitement, and humor that it kept my interest the whole way. I really appreciate a more thought provoking movie, rather than the many movies out these days about violence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NathanB.Jul 25, 2006
Good movie. Not as good as the book. Forget the critics. If you have interest, check it out. Not a replacement for the book though. (John 14:16-18)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BrentR.Jul 18, 2006
This movie... it just dragged on and on and the characters just kept talking and talking about, whatever, over and over again. I think it had the potential to be a good movie, but failed in my eyes. Also technically, there are some real This movie... it just dragged on and on and the characters just kept talking and talking about, whatever, over and over again. I think it had the potential to be a good movie, but failed in my eyes. Also technically, there are some real problems, especially the editing... it was terrible! There are mistakes everywhere. This movie was an unfortunate waste of my time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichelleC.Jun 23, 2006
This was spiritual and lovely even if it was a little slow and too long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulK.Jun 22, 2006
I enjoyed this but it did not live up to my expectations after viewing the trailer. However, if you have an interest, definitely check it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveO.Jun 6, 2006
What are these critics thinking? This is a great movie! It is moving, exciting, beautiful, thought provoking. The photography and cinematography are great, the music is amazing. It's a powerful experience. Maybe because of the lousy What are these critics thinking? This is a great movie! It is moving, exciting, beautiful, thought provoking. The photography and cinematography are great, the music is amazing. It's a powerful experience. Maybe because of the lousy critical reviews, the theater was empty but everyone there was glued to the screen and several people were in tears. I left exhilarated and moved. Well worth seeing if you have any inclination towards being on a path larger than yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful