Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: May 25, 2001
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 242 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
106
Mixed:
62
Negative:
74
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JadeA.Feb 4, 2002
Pearl Harbor was the best movie I have ever seen in my entire life. And it's the only movie that ever made me cry. I think the reason why I liked this movie so much was becasue it shows kids nowadays what life was like back then and all Pearl Harbor was the best movie I have ever seen in my entire life. And it's the only movie that ever made me cry. I think the reason why I liked this movie so much was becasue it shows kids nowadays what life was like back then and all the fighting we went through for our country. Also, because Ben and Josh looked SOOOOOOOO FINE!!! Go see it!!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MelissaNov 6, 2002
This is the best movie i have ever seen. Whoever gave it less that a 8 has lost their mind it is so good. What makes it so real is the main character dosent always live and the scenes with the bombing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeredithD.Aug 20, 2002
I loved this movie...and i think that josh hartnett and ben affleck were picked wonderfully to play at these characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilyJun 30, 2001
This is the best movie that I have ever seen. It was true to history, and the love story kept the audience interested.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JessicaBAug 11, 2001
This is the best movie I've ever seen, go see it, its very good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JessicaBAug 11, 2001
This is the best movie I've ever seen, go see it, its very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
L.M.Aug 9, 2001
The best movie eva!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FransuaR.Jan 31, 2002
I realy like this movie a lot specialy the romance part I like movies with romance and action. I agree with Nikki because Josh Harnett looks soooooo gooood.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrittaniM.Jul 16, 2002
I think it is a good movie with good actors and a very sad and romantic story with romanc, action, and thrills.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilyL.Feb 16, 2003
Hello, Anyobdy that gave this movie under a 10 needs there head re examined. Josh hartnett and Ben Affleck totally deserved the parts they got, they rocked. The love story held it together making drama what a movie needs. The action made Hello, Anyobdy that gave this movie under a 10 needs there head re examined. Josh hartnett and Ben Affleck totally deserved the parts they got, they rocked. The love story held it together making drama what a movie needs. The action made suspense what a movie needs. The ending is so sad but it leaves you thinking! I watched this movie and became more aware of the devastation at Pearl Harbor! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FranziskaP.Jul 18, 2001
I´m from Germany, and I had watched the film three times. The story is brilliant and the actors very good. I did not known anything about Pearl Harbor, but now I´m smarter. I´m sorry for my English, but I want to say that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidM.Aug 12, 2001
It's the best film I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NikkiJan 30, 2002
I'm a 14-yr-old teenage girl and u might think why i would love a war movie? Well it's not all about war it's actually about romance too...and it makes u go awww...ok so anyways the war scenes looked good too since JoshI'm a 14-yr-old teenage girl and u might think why i would love a war movie? Well it's not all about war it's actually about romance too...and it makes u go awww...ok so anyways the war scenes looked good too since Josh Hartnett was in it and he was always looking so hot.! so go see it girls...at least see it for josh hartnett ! he is HOT ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackyS.Mar 6, 2002
This is a great movie. It is the best one I have ever seen. It really makes me sad to know that many people in died in WWII. I know I can only rate it to ten, but I give it a rate of more that 100. I love Faith Hill's song, "There This is a great movie. It is the best one I have ever seen. It really makes me sad to know that many people in died in WWII. I know I can only rate it to ten, but I give it a rate of more that 100. I love Faith Hill's song, "There You'll Be," it always makes me cry like I see it a lot because I own the movie. It's a great movie. Two thumbs up!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SammieD.Jul 15, 2002
I am also a 14 year old girl. I loved this movie, the actors were great! They picked the best actors to play Rafe and Danny, and ever since I saw that movie I have been more interested in the Pearl Harbor attack. I thought it was a very well I am also a 14 year old girl. I loved this movie, the actors were great! They picked the best actors to play Rafe and Danny, and ever since I saw that movie I have been more interested in the Pearl Harbor attack. I thought it was a very well thought out movie, and i loved the actors! Ben and Josh deserved those parts! =) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CassiL.Mar 18, 2003
They were all really good actors!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mirandaoJun 12, 2009
I absolutely love this movie! i cry almost everytime i see it near the end, and when rafe comes back of course! i think the love story is bittersweet, and the film is marked with outstanding special effects during the battle scenes. the only I absolutely love this movie! i cry almost everytime i see it near the end, and when rafe comes back of course! i think the love story is bittersweet, and the film is marked with outstanding special effects during the battle scenes. the only minor flaws with this movie is affleck's mediocre acting and sometimes-corny dialogue. you should definitely buy a copy of pearl harbor!! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RachelR.Dec 31, 2001
I thought the movie was great. It made you feel like you were there. I also thought that Josh Hartnett looked really hot fighting the Japanese too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvelynJ.Jul 31, 2001
This movie is the best! I've seen it 4 times with my friend! We know almost all the lines! Our rooms have over 200 pictures of the stars and scenes from the movie! You've gotta see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SavannahT.Jan 29, 2002
Pearl Harbor was the greatest movie ever! I'm 14 and I watch A LOT of movies and Pearl Harbor is the 1st one to make me cry! And Josh Hartnett looks soooooo good!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeganS.Feb 16, 2002
Not once in the three hours that it took to view this movie was I bored. It's filled with a wonderful cast and the whole thing was breathtaking!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanB.Jul 27, 2002
I thought this was a good movie.They didnt really need a love story but you need something to hold the movie together.Those people who gave it a bad rating need to pull their heads out of their a**es! They wou'dnt know a good movie if I thought this was a good movie.They didnt really need a love story but you need something to hold the movie together.Those people who gave it a bad rating need to pull their heads out of their a**es! They wou'dnt know a good movie if it slapped em in the face. If you think this movie is bad go back to watching Ernest goes to camp and freddy got fingered because your taste in movies is simply crap! This movie rocked! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottS.Aug 13, 2001
VERY Good movie. Had a little bit too many kissy-kissy parts. but some of the best action scenes I've seen. Much better than what anybody says.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClassifiedSep 28, 2001
This movie was enough to make me like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricaH.Jan 1, 2009
One of my favorite movies. Its a bit on the lengthy side, sure. But its made up of a really great cast which, for me, just brings it all together.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GerronK.Jul 26, 2006
"Pearl Harbor" is an intricately made war movie. Forget the superficial romance and the especially bad dialogue in the first 30 minutes of the movie. It gives an intense perspective of what happened on that fateful day and what happened "Pearl Harbor" is an intricately made war movie. Forget the superficial romance and the especially bad dialogue in the first 30 minutes of the movie. It gives an intense perspective of what happened on that fateful day and what happened after. I enjoyed the movie a whole lot. It may have been 30 minutes shorter, but as it is it works. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RyanM.Dec 15, 2001
Okay, so it's no return to the war genre from "The Thin Red Line." But, it is very, very, very entertaining. Its epic valor and powerful 40 minute bombing sequence are exceptionally executed. Also, the performances are surprisingly Okay, so it's no return to the war genre from "The Thin Red Line." But, it is very, very, very entertaining. Its epic valor and powerful 40 minute bombing sequence are exceptionally executed. Also, the performances are surprisingly good, Josh Hartnett surprised me as the third man in the triangle of love. Ben Affleck was solid (as he usually is.) And Kate Beckinsale! Wow! What a performance. I thought I was watching the next Susan Sarandon right in front of me. It is one of the most beautifully shot films I've seen this decade. And, even though it didn't make a penny in profits. it looks like it would?ve with it?s brilliant special effects. It?s one of the most amazingly put together films of the year, and its battle sequence it genuinely frightening. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
moviefreak12Nov 29, 2010
one of my faverite movies of all time. The love story is not as good as the titanics but still enjoyable. The bombing was by far the best of the whole movie and the ending will make you cry the first time you see it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
DavidA.May 27, 2001
Putting the stars aside, real people end up in harm's way and the dreadful effect of war portrayed in the attack was profound. Okay, the love story was a little trite, but WWII movies (but for "From Here to Eternity," don't have Putting the stars aside, real people end up in harm's way and the dreadful effect of war portrayed in the attack was profound. Okay, the love story was a little trite, but WWII movies (but for "From Here to Eternity," don't have love stories. And there's a twist in Pearl Harbor that could have ended up on Springer. The presence of the love story reminds me of what Winston Churchill said about dancing bears in the circus, "What's important is not how well a bear dances, it that a bear dances at all." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelC.Sep 14, 2001
I was a little unsure of Pearl Harbor. I had eagerly awaited it myself, but when the bad reviews sailed in from American critics, I thought maybe the NZ premiere wouldn?t please. But, I was wrong. I really enjoyed this film. The battle I was a little unsure of Pearl Harbor. I had eagerly awaited it myself, but when the bad reviews sailed in from American critics, I thought maybe the NZ premiere wouldn?t please. But, I was wrong. I really enjoyed this film. The battle sequences are some of the best ever filmed, the acting is top-notch, the sound is booming and vibrating and the direction is focused and careful, Pearl Harbor is easily Michael Bay?s best effort. The romantic triangle can at times be extremely corny, tedious and predictable, and the first hour is lacking in excitement. But, that all changes in the last 2 hours, which are incredibly tense and utterly brilliant. Pearl Harbour is a movie that forces you to stay in your seat for as long as the 3 hours take, and is a powerful and unique war experience. I really liked the comedy at the start, but slowly and surely, the comic side of the film turned to dramatic atmosphere. The film was able to change its genres surprisingly and unexpectedly, giving you the odd laugh and the expected tear. If I was ever to watch this movie again, I would probably fast-forward the first hour and get to the superb action scenes, but the first hour is needed to give the film its intelligence. So, even if this film is flawed and sometimes inaccurate, it?s still nothing short of a must-see for war and romance genre freaks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CarrieSep 14, 2002
Melodramatic? Yes. Hackneyed love story? Yes. Cliched ending? Yes. Historically accurate? Beats me. Worth three hours of your life? Absolutely. Great score, tremendous battle scences. Good acting - - some of Affleck's finest work. If Melodramatic? Yes. Hackneyed love story? Yes. Cliched ending? Yes. Historically accurate? Beats me. Worth three hours of your life? Absolutely. Great score, tremendous battle scences. Good acting - - some of Affleck's finest work. If you haven't seen it yet, get it. My advice - - don't try to analyze it. Just sit back and enjoy the ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
gm101Oct 19, 2011
Despite the lame love story, this was a very entertaining World War II movie (dare I say it, better than Saving Private Ryan). Not to mention one of the most patriotic movies out there!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
sgtandrew1799Sep 13, 2011
The movie was good especially when they play chicken with the zeros, the only reason i didn't give it a 10 was because, the story line was thrown off when the girl cheated on the main character.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews