Pearl Harbor

Pearl Harbor Image
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 235 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Against the backdrop of the Japanese bombing of Pearl Harbor, two friends (Affleck, Hartnett) find themselves drawn into the war and in love with the same woman (Beckinsale).

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35
  1. 100
    The film's immense cast and crew, headed by director Michael Bay, writer Randall Wallace and stars Ben Affleck, Josh Hartnett and Kate Beckinsale, blend artistry and technology to create a blockbuster entertainment that has passion, valor and tremendous action.
  2. Until a disappointing tailspin in the last hour, Pearl Harbor is the best piece of popular entertainment to come along in years.
  3. A movie meant to explode off the screen -- and it's at its best when those explosions are going full blast.
  4. Miami Herald
    Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    50
    With all the obvious work that went into this beautifully detailed, giant-scale movie, and considering the historical importance of the subject matter, was it too much to ask for a trace of intelligence, or maturity, or even insight?
  5. Philadelphia Inquirer
    Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    50
    A script with the most underdeveloped characters and spectacularly realized visuals since "Titanic."
  6. Time
    Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    40
    The net result of this mighty effort is perhaps predictable: near total inconsequence.
  7. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    10
    Littered with low points -- lame comedy, dubious history, fumbling drama and a love story so inept as to make a pacifist long for war.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 83
  2. Negative: 30 out of 83
  1. mirandao
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    I absolutely love this movie! i cry almost everytime i see it near the end, and when rafe comes back of course! i think the love story is I absolutely love this movie! i cry almost everytime i see it near the end, and when rafe comes back of course! i think the love story is bittersweet, and the film is marked with outstanding special effects during the battle scenes. the only minor flaws with this movie is affleck's mediocre acting and sometimes-corny dialogue. you should definitely buy a copy of pearl harbor!! Collapse
  2. GerronK.
    Jul 26, 2006
    9
    "Pearl Harbor" is an intricately made war movie. Forget the superficial romance and the especially bad dialogue in the first 30 minutes of "Pearl Harbor" is an intricately made war movie. Forget the superficial romance and the especially bad dialogue in the first 30 minutes of the movie. It gives an intense perspective of what happened on that fateful day and what happened after. I enjoyed the movie a whole lot. It may have been 30 minutes shorter, but as it is it works. Expand
  3. Mar 28, 2015
    6
    Though similar to Titanic in the form of a love/disaster story, Pearl Harbor loses points in the form of originality, but makes up forThough similar to Titanic in the form of a love/disaster story, Pearl Harbor loses points in the form of originality, but makes up for thrilling action sequences. Aside from It being a film, may it serve as a reminder of the events that took place at Pear Harbor long ago. Expand
  4. Dec 24, 2015
    4
    "Pearl Harbor" was a film inspired by a bloody war US against Japan, action scenes was outstanding , but it was too boring , and Michael Bay"Pearl Harbor" was a film inspired by a bloody war US against Japan, action scenes was outstanding , but it was too boring , and Michael Bay began to make the bear, to add romance although it was not a bad idea. Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2013
    3
    This movie is so superficial and exaggerated, that it feels like an empty hollow shell of a movie that is historically inaccurate with lots ofThis movie is so superficial and exaggerated, that it feels like an empty hollow shell of a movie that is historically inaccurate with lots of Michael Bay-approved explosions. Expand
  6. Oct 18, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Way too long. Quite boring too. If there was actually content, it might do justice to the length. But the only bit of action (where Japanese attack Pearl Harbor) is not well done or connected to the story. I mean, how the hell do these idiots hope to take down planes with a shotgun or thompson? Expand
  7. JaredC.
    Aug 16, 2007
    0
    I prefer war genre's, and this is a good choice, but comparing it to Behind Enemy Lines, U-571, and Saving Private Ryan, this is an I prefer war genre's, and this is a good choice, but comparing it to Behind Enemy Lines, U-571, and Saving Private Ryan, this is an embarresment, it was worked out the most terrible way possible, I hated absolutely everything in it. Expand

See all 83 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.