User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 1 out of 25

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    This movie was absolutely fantastic. The best music documentary I've seen if not THE best documentary I've ever seen. Crowe did an amazing job of chronicling the band's success and explaining their motives and the way they see the fans, touring, album making, and music. It was a touching, sometimes shocking, emotional experience that barely let up any moment in entertainment and intrigue. I can't think of one thing wrong with it. If you're a fan, you'll be in awe. If you're not a fan, you'll be in love again. See it. You won't regret it. Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    This movie was a great film, I absolutely loved it. As a Pearl Jam fan, I think Cameron Crowe did an excellent job portraying the band. There were a lot of rare footage on there and he covered everything from the beginning of Mother Love Bone until now. I had shivers throughout the movie he chose some great performances to show. If you were a fan way back in the beginning but lost your touch with PJ, watch this movie and feelings will return. Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    Where the Foo Fighters' "Back and Forth" was a discography with interesting anecdotes and philosophizing of music (which is great, and I love and own the film), Pearl Jam Twenty is an in depth exploration of an entire generation of music at a time when something new was born. It's a great documentary and the DVD has some exceptional special features. More than worth your time.
  4. fve
    Aug 12, 2013
    10
    Esta es un gran documental, acerca mucho al lado humado de la banda, permite conocer cada detalle de la larga vida de este grupo que ha sobrevivido al cambio generacional y a la comercialización abrupta de nuevos talentos y música de moda.
  5. Jun 16, 2014
    9
    I came into this film only knowing a couple of songs by Pearl Jam and now 3 years later they are definitely in my top 5 favourite bands of all time. I've seen the film probably 5 or more times now and its just so well done. Cameron Crowe was the perfect man for the job, and he did such a great job of creating such an interesting and compelling story over the span of 20 years. Granted, most of the film focused on the first year, that never bothered me. Definitely my favourite music-related documentary, and probably one of my favourite documentaries in general. I can definitely thank this documentary for truly introducing me to one of my favourite bands. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Sep 24, 2011
    70
    This is a lovingly assembled tribute to the career of a working band that's still very much, to quote the title of its most iconic hit, "Alive."
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Sep 23, 2011
    40
    Kurt Cobain, TicketMaster and the tragic concert in Roskilde, Denmark, are addressed through plentiful backstage footage. If only it was about something other than rockers almost irked they got famous.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Sep 23, 2011
    63
    It's a shame that, after nearly 40 years of writing about rock, Cameron Crowe is receptive to the clichés of the genre.