Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Sam is a twenty-something, fast-talking salesman, whose latest deal collapses on the day he learns that his father has suddenly died. Against his wishes, Sam is called home, where he must put his father's estate in order and reconnect with his estranged family. In the course of fulfilling his father's last wishes, Sam uncovers a startling secret that turns his entire world upside down: He has a 30-year-old sister Frankie whom he never knew about. As their relationship develops, Sam is forced to rethink everything he thought he knew about this family—and re-examine his own life choices in the process. (DreamWorks Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 27, 2012
    85
    This is a straightforward family comedy-drama, a movie made for adults, and one that actually gives its actors – among them Chris Pine, Elizabeth Banks, Michelle Pfeiffer and Philip Baker Hall – something to do. That's more of a rarity on today's landscape than it should be.
  2. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Jun 28, 2012
    70
    The movie develops into a painful story of one generation inflicting its selfish compromises on the next. The three leads are uniformly excellent, and the strong supporting cast includes Mark Duplass and Philip Baker Hall.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jun 28, 2012
    63
    It's the flaws that Kurtzman builds into People Like Us that make it interesting.
  4. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jun 27, 2012
    58
    People Like Us demonstrates how a drama can be heartfelt and bogus at the same time.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 29, 2012
    50
    Pine and the always-watchable Banks make the best of a bad screenplay, but People Like Us gives us nothing that we can relate to.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 28, 2012
    50
    A fine and moving film could be made from this story, which was inspired, loosely, by events and situations in the lives of Kurtzman and Orci. But the script sets an awfully low bar for Sam's redemption.
  7. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Jun 28, 2012
    0
    This is the sort of movie that ends up awash in sincere revelations, and not a moment of it feels remotely believable.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    I reviewed the film "People like us" what a film, such great acting and, such a storyline. I had shed a line of tears out of my right eye, after viewing this film. I don't care what bad things anyone says about this film, because I think it is such a beautiful movie. Such great actors and Actresses with such great performances. What a great storyline to be told in such a film. I don't know why it wasn't in second place in movie theatres. Chris Pine's character finds out his recently deceased father left him more that enough money, to pay off his debt, he had enough to go on a long vacation with his girlfriend and shop up the wazoo. But in this movie, he discovers he has an older sister, who was from the first marriage. An affair, which lead to the husband leaving his previous wife and child behind. At the funeral, he had ran into his sister, which she never knew he existed, who also has plenty of problems in her own and a young son. The reason he knew he has an older sibling is through the mother played by Michelle Pfeiffer. She told him the main reason he has an older sister, the affair and the choices his father made in staying with her instead of going back to his first wife. The older sibling, played by Elizabeth Banks had mentioned her father had forgotten about her as usual, because he left her with nothing, even though she was his first child.This happens in real life, and men get away from paying child support, and there's some women too. The man/ woman just walk away easy from his/her first family and abandon them all together. The older sibling felt no real emotions, because her father had walked completely out of her life, and leaving a very empty hole in her heart, not to be filled. That is such a sick thing and so sad. This film is so original, meaning it is no remade over. This film should definitely be nominated for best film in drama category and great acting. Expand
  2. Aug 10, 2012
    9
    A bit on the long side, but enjoyed the movie. Great acting, and a good story line. Nice work Disney Studios. Was very impressed with Chris Pine and his acting skills. Expand
  3. Mar 17, 2013
    9
    A strong cast along with an engaging story, People Like Us may not be seen by many but should be seen by more. Chris Pine and Elizabeth Banks give two of their best performances and it's always good to see Michelle Pfeiffer. Expand
  4. Aug 28, 2012
    3
    Watching "People Like Us" was like eating burnt toast. It was an unpleasant experience with a less than satisfactory outcome. I feel as though the script was quite possibly written overnight. Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2012
    2
    I didn't mean to paste my review into this this movie. Ooops!!!!!!!.................................................................................... Collapse
  6. Jul 10, 2012
    2
    This movie had great actors but no follow through in the plot. As we were returning from the theater we counted the holes in the story. The worst part is that as I left the theater I felt that there was an unfinished plot. The movie dragged on. Not a movie I would recommend anytime soon. Expand
  7. Jul 11, 2012
    0
    Overly long and improbable story. Wouldn't want to sit through this movie again. It was good Chris Pine is so handsome; at least, you could stare at that dish. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers