Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 171 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Thor Freudenthal
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Drama, Fantasy, Family
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 106 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 33
  2. Negative: 8 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Aug 9, 2013
    80
    Marc Guggenheim's script is capable and funny, but the film's finest wit is vehicular.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Aug 6, 2013
    63
    Director Thor Freudenthal (“Diary of a Wimpy Kid”) finds his groove with a succession of flashy 3-D renderings... They’re digitized riffs on the Sarlacc pit from “Star Wars” and the finale of “Raiders of the Lost Ark” — but as with the “Potter” cribbing, when it’s done well, it encourages “Percy” audiences to forgive the derivative chunks and thin emotion.
  3. Reviewed by: Bruce Ingram
    Aug 6, 2013
    50
    The big action set pieces fizzle. And that’s not good for a fantasy adventure movie, especially when the fantasy component is frequently undercut by sub-standard special effects.
  4. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Aug 7, 2013
    42
    The little action in 'Percy Jackson' wouldn’t be out-of-place in a superhero film, which is to say it’s mostly functional, and sometimes quite diverting.
  5. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Aug 7, 2013
    40
    This is some weak, watered-down stuff.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Aug 6, 2013
    40
    Percy Jackson: Sea Of Monsters continues a tradition of adequacy that could be described as “epic-ish” or “majestic-esque.”
  7. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Aug 6, 2013
    12
    I'll tell you what's insane: the probability that folks will go easy on this dreck because it's aimed at younger viewers, who are being distressingly trained to expect little from their art.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 59
  2. Negative: 22 out of 59
  1. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    I can easily give a 10 beacuse it's BETTER than the first in so many ways that i can't explain in 5000 characters. It's very nice, fun. It's aI can easily give a 10 beacuse it's BETTER than the first in so many ways that i can't explain in 5000 characters. It's very nice, fun. It's a good movie for the summer. Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    I have never heard of the webzine Slant before, which could be why they.hate.everything. Seriously, this movie is not intended to be CitizenI have never heard of the webzine Slant before, which could be why they.hate.everything. Seriously, this movie is not intended to be Citizen Kane. Lighten the eff up. Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    8
    Still A Harry Potter Ripoff in Many Ways It's Still A Decent Film For Kids, Teens, Adults And More, The Effects Were Amazing, The CharactersStill A Harry Potter Ripoff in Many Ways It's Still A Decent Film For Kids, Teens, Adults And More, The Effects Were Amazing, The Characters Are OK, The Story Is Pretty Good Expand
  4. Feb 4, 2014
    5
    i really enjoyed the first movie but what the hell happened? Annabeth was not herself(she was kick-ass in the first movie) and the whole airi really enjoyed the first movie but what the hell happened? Annabeth was not herself(she was kick-ass in the first movie) and the whole air of the set has changed the first made it seen like you had gone back in time and i think this one mixed the two and i did not work they should have kept it like the first, my only enjoyment in this film was the new characters mainly Tyson and how he acts like a child and throws Percy and Annabeth and that gave both more depth as characters, if they had not changed Annabeth and the air of the movie then it would have turned out to be as good as the first. Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2013
    4
    The only good thing about this film for me as a reader is i can't predict what will happen next, but the worst part as a reader is I expectedThe only good thing about this film for me as a reader is i can't predict what will happen next, but the worst part as a reader is I expected that this film will more like the novel, because honestly the novel is so much better. At least just give a little bit effort to make it more like novel. Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2014
    3
    Oh my God, the first film was bad enough already. Before watching the film, I was optimistic and hoping that maybe this film would be anOh my God, the first film was bad enough already. Before watching the film, I was optimistic and hoping that maybe this film would be an improvement. Turns out I was dead wrong. There is almost nothing interesting in the whole film and the acting was just bad. Expand
  7. Nov 28, 2013
    0
    why the hell did they want to make this movie,it is absolutely terrible with terrible things with terribles actuations,i hated it(and it waswhy the hell did they want to make this movie,it is absolutely terrible with terrible things with terribles actuations,i hated it(and it was made by Chris Columbus wich made harry potter 1 and 2. Expand

See all 59 User Reviews

Trailers