Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters Image
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 208 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 33
  2. Negative: 8 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Aug 9, 2013
    80
    Marc Guggenheim's script is capable and funny, but the film's finest wit is vehicular.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Aug 6, 2013
    63
    Director Thor Freudenthal (“Diary of a Wimpy Kid”) finds his groove with a succession of flashy 3-D renderings... They’re digitized riffs on the Sarlacc pit from “Star Wars” and the finale of “Raiders of the Lost Ark” — but as with the “Potter” cribbing, when it’s done well, it encourages “Percy” audiences to forgive the derivative chunks and thin emotion.
  3. Reviewed by: Bruce Ingram
    Aug 6, 2013
    50
    The big action set pieces fizzle. And that’s not good for a fantasy adventure movie, especially when the fantasy component is frequently undercut by sub-standard special effects.
  4. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Aug 7, 2013
    42
    The little action in 'Percy Jackson' wouldn’t be out-of-place in a superhero film, which is to say it’s mostly functional, and sometimes quite diverting.
  5. 40
    This is some weak, watered-down stuff.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Aug 6, 2013
    40
    Percy Jackson: Sea Of Monsters continues a tradition of adequacy that could be described as “epic-ish” or “majestic-esque.”
  7. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Aug 6, 2013
    12
    I'll tell you what's insane: the probability that folks will go easy on this dreck because it's aimed at younger viewers, who are being distressingly trained to expect little from their art.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 68
  2. Negative: 25 out of 68
  1. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    I can easily give a 10 beacuse it's BETTER than the first in so many ways that i can't explain in 5000 characters. It's very nice, fun. It's aI can easily give a 10 beacuse it's BETTER than the first in so many ways that i can't explain in 5000 characters. It's very nice, fun. It's a good movie for the summer. Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    I have never heard of the webzine Slant before, which could be why they.hate.everything. Seriously, this movie is not intended to be CitizenI have never heard of the webzine Slant before, which could be why they.hate.everything. Seriously, this movie is not intended to be Citizen Kane. Lighten the eff up. Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2014
    8
    Percy Jackson is unfairly compared to Harry Potter in both books and film. Frankly, PJ is the better written of the two franchises. FewerPercy Jackson is unfairly compared to Harry Potter in both books and film. Frankly, PJ is the better written of the two franchises. Fewer plotholes and failures of story logic and more consistent characterization.

    That said, it DOES somehow feel a little "short". It doesn't quite have the "oomph" to make it to the "blockbuster" category.
    Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2014
    5
    so far the sea of monsters was better then the lighting theif but theres no good graphics . of all it is magical and i like it but i didso far the sea of monsters was better then the lighting theif but theres no good graphics . of all it is magical and i like it but i did love this film Expand
  5. Jan 26, 2016
    4
    A complete letdown on its predecessor. However, I can't fuse a lower score on this movie due to how great 2013 was and all. We expect "TheA complete letdown on its predecessor. However, I can't fuse a lower score on this movie due to how great 2013 was and all. We expect "The Titan's Curse" to be better soon. Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2014
    3
    Oh my God, the first film was bad enough already. Before watching the film, I was optimistic and hoping that maybe this film would be anOh my God, the first film was bad enough already. Before watching the film, I was optimistic and hoping that maybe this film would be an improvement. Turns out I was dead wrong. There is almost nothing interesting in the whole film and the acting was just bad. Expand
  7. Nov 28, 2013
    0
    why the hell did they want to make this movie,it is absolutely terrible with terrible things with terribles actuations,i hated it(and it waswhy the hell did they want to make this movie,it is absolutely terrible with terrible things with terribles actuations,i hated it(and it was made by Chris Columbus wich made harry potter 1 and 2. Expand

See all 68 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.