Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: February 12, 2010
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 319 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
116
Mixed:
100
Negative:
103
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
DanAFeb 21, 2010
Embarrassing for my son, a fan of the books, who took me to this movie. I use the term loosely. Bad acting, clumsy plot and character development non existent. Where have all the actors gone these days??
8 of 8 users found this helpful
3
TaylorM.Feb 12, 2010
Simply put, it was boring and had an unintelligent and very predictable plot.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
1
StevenW.Feb 13, 2010
Such promise. I suppose that's the biggest disappointment. Oh btw...thank you for putting in your script that someone in the White House is half man-half god. I wonder who you could possibly mean?? How embarrassing that you'd even Such promise. I suppose that's the biggest disappointment. Oh btw...thank you for putting in your script that someone in the White House is half man-half god. I wonder who you could possibly mean?? How embarrassing that you'd even write a line like that. Anyway, it's obviously geared towards kids. Yet they have quite a few sexual scenarios with the ever so horny goat dude and they really play on a drug scene that really makes being high look fantastic. Overall this movie was way boring and void of anything worthwhile. Well obviously some people like this movie as it's got quite a high user review. This user wouldn't go back to see it even if you payed me. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
shel97girlFeb 7, 2011
The movie was a complete disaster!!! All Percy Jackson book fans loook away dont bother seeing it because its a waste of time, money, and a complete waste of rick Riordan's awsome writting skills. (which is the best thing since Harry Potter,The movie was a complete disaster!!! All Percy Jackson book fans loook away dont bother seeing it because its a waste of time, money, and a complete waste of rick Riordan's awsome writting skills. (which is the best thing since Harry Potter, Avatar, and CBS news!!!!!!) The movie went to fast, it didn't complete ideas it left out 3-4 main charecters, It completely switched around peoples personalities, changed almost the whole story plot, and to top it all off Chris Columbus should of chose the author to direct, pick the cast, and write the screen play by himself, and it still would of been better!!!!!! a thumbs down movie for Colubus Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
JamesKFeb 12, 2010
worst movie ever! Changed everything from the book except for the basic premise and characters and added a crapload of unfunny sexual innuendos! Don't even bother with this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ActualFanFeb 13, 2010
Lets be honest here. They can't condense a large book into 2-3 hours. They can make it good, but they didn't. This movie diverted from the plot, cut major characters, and was reliant on kids to be amused by firey explosions. All I Lets be honest here. They can't condense a large book into 2-3 hours. They can make it good, but they didn't. This movie diverted from the plot, cut major characters, and was reliant on kids to be amused by firey explosions. All I want to say about this movie is: DON'T WATCH. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
LeandreB.Feb 14, 2010
There is absolutely nothing smart about this movie. Cheesy humour and one-liners, half assed special effects and on average bad acting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
coolgames101Jun 12, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. **** THIS MOVIE! **** THIS MOVIE! **** THIS MOVIE! **** THIS MOVIE! this movie is **** i mean **** i remember that back in 2010 when this movie came out i had read all the books all over again and invited a whole bunch of friends over to see it close to opening night. i was going to see sean bean, Pierce Brosnan and Uma Thurman portray my favorite characters in the book. and at the time i loved all three of those actors and actresses. then the movie started. it was all down hill from there.
first off, Percy in the books was tan, but he isn't in the movie. Strike one. Percy in the book is twelve. in the movie he is a senior in high school. strike two. Grover didn't need **** to suport him, he just had a limp because he had his hooves concealed in mother ****ing god damned foam feet. there are a million other strikes against this movie, but... if i were to go into alot of detail and see my favorite book being destroyed so badly. i would explode. but then again i probably should for the sake of the reader. in the movie, Hades was the bad guy. BULL **** in the book they made Kronos the bad guy, and that made it possible for the evil Demigods to come together and attack camp half blood. another thing is that it was Ares that put the lightning bolt in Percy's back pack. not Luke giving Percy a shield with the lightning bolt inside! Especially since Percy didn't get a ****ing shield until the second book! And Luke didn't plan out every last detail, it was Kronos that influenced him! And WHEN THE HELL DID THEY HAVE TO SEARCH FOR THE ****IN PEARLS OF APHRODITE?!?!?!?!??!?!?!??!?! i was a huge fan of the books. i really anticipated the movie, but with all the flaws, (And yes, i haven't even said all the things wrong, *cough*Hades wasn't emo*cough* and before my head explodes, lets leave it all at that.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
BlatantInnuendoJan 6, 2013
This seems like a missed opportunity. I absolutely love the books and have read every one of them multiple times. The movie seemed to take the book, ignore some important points, and basically made the movie unappealing at best The mainThis seems like a missed opportunity. I absolutely love the books and have read every one of them multiple times. The movie seemed to take the book, ignore some important points, and basically made the movie unappealing at best The main characters are wooden, and what they did to the story line is unforgivable. This could have been the perfect movie but the directors managed to turn it into something that no one wants to remember. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
LadyFantasy19Aug 7, 2013
Since I'm a big fan of the book series, I was totally excited. But after a few minutes I couldn't believe it. They destroyed the fantastic world of Percy Jackson and Camp Half-Blood. Independent of the book, the storyline was ok... The actorsSince I'm a big fan of the book series, I was totally excited. But after a few minutes I couldn't believe it. They destroyed the fantastic world of Percy Jackson and Camp Half-Blood. Independent of the book, the storyline was ok... The actors are ok... Action ok... But it just broke my heart when I saw the movie. If you love the books DON'T watch the movie! To sum up the movie was worse than ok. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
KarenMar 19, 2010
It's almost one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I was extremely tempted to walk out of the theater after only 15 minutes, might be even less. Not only did it not follow the book at all, it was topped off with bad script and bad It's almost one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I was extremely tempted to walk out of the theater after only 15 minutes, might be even less. Not only did it not follow the book at all, it was topped off with bad script and bad acting. There was not emotion in any of the places where there should have been--when Percy's mom died, it seems like he was unaffected and could care less. I can't believe that Chris Columus can even imagine making a sequel with such bad actors and bad script--the movie didn't even introduce the oracle, the prophecy, nothing. Basically, it did not lay down any of the necessary foundation needed for a sequel. Actually, I didn't even know there may be a sequel planned just by watching the movie, I saw his comment online. Books turned movies usually are not very good, but I have not seen one this bad. If I have to sit through another one...I can't even compare any torture worse than that. It completely ruined what could have been a potentially good movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
DolfL.Feb 13, 2010
This guy stole my lightning it was like not cool man. Great film!
2 of 4 users found this helpful
3
BobDFeb 25, 2010
They got so many facts wrong from the book which made me mad. If it was a movie on it own its still only a decent movie. Crappy effects and bad acting. Why did Rick (the author) let them do it that to his awesome books.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
DougMMar 16, 2010
I think what's so annoying to me is all the elements were available to make this an enjoyable experience at the minimum; and the director deliberately spurned it all to spend more time adding CGI... I have a headache now after that.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
huffnat890Oct 1, 2010
This movie has absolutely no redeeming qualities qhatsoever to keep it from being the generic piece of **** it is. **** my life. This movie doesn't deserve to exist.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
10987654321Mar 19, 2014
It was so bad, I went to the premier, barfed, and cried at the same time. Why Chris Columbus? You have killed us all with your horrible movie. It has so many differences from the book. It needs to follow the book you nerd. It sucked.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
SoylentHolgerAug 3, 2013
Nice CGI effects. Begins promising but misses all potential of being a good movie faster than someone can say Poseidon. Absolutely foreseeable plot. Did I already mention the CGI? Yes? That is all to say about it. If nothing else is on tv orNice CGI effects. Begins promising but misses all potential of being a good movie faster than someone can say Poseidon. Absolutely foreseeable plot. Did I already mention the CGI? Yes? That is all to say about it. If nothing else is on tv or no other movie available, okay, see it, but otherwise a waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
heyitsmegrif4Jan 2, 2012
It has great, charming and witty performances from its leads, backed up by its solid supporting cast and has cool special effects, but it doesn't follow the book which makes it look cliche and silly. I give this movie 29%.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Chief98Feb 18, 2012
I was observing a 7th grade English class this quarter and they were reading The Lightening Thief and I decided to read it with them. I loved the book and read the entire series quickly. However, I am glad that they are not planning onI was observing a 7th grade English class this quarter and they were reading The Lightening Thief and I decided to read it with them. I loved the book and read the entire series quickly. However, I am glad that they are not planning on watching the move as a class because it is an abomination. Changing the storyline that far and entirely removing important characters makes this a serious disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
BartoApr 20, 2014
This movie is just terrible. Even if you don't consider the book, this is a dumb hero story that insults the viewer's intelligence. Event the famous actors performances are poor - but this is just because the plot and the dialogs areThis movie is just terrible. Even if you don't consider the book, this is a dumb hero story that insults the viewer's intelligence. Event the famous actors performances are poor - but this is just because the plot and the dialogs are incredibly poor.
Now if you take the book into account, things get much worse. Not only they have changed the plot, they took pieces of action parts and glued them together (not before also changing them). The personality of the characters are completely different from the book.
So basically, they took the name of the series, the names of the characters and some of the book background (Greek Gods exist and still have children with humans) and then made something that has absolutely nothing to do with it. The result is embarrassing.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
RemJun 2, 2014
This film just oozes suck, there has been no other than film that blatantly makes Twilight look half decent. All the performances were half assed, and the logic in the movie is dumb. And that's unforgivable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
johannationAug 7, 2013
I read all the books, and this movie is somewhat of a disgrace to the book. If you are going to make a movie from a story that came from a book, at least make it like the book. The only thing that was right was the Locust Hotel, and thatI read all the books, and this movie is somewhat of a disgrace to the book. If you are going to make a movie from a story that came from a book, at least make it like the book. The only thing that was right was the Locust Hotel, and that scene wasn't that great. Terrible acting. It could be a fan made film, with some extra CGI. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
cag11Nov 24, 2013
I know movies adapted from books aren't usually going to meet expectations for some, but this was just ridiculous. It skipped out on so many things that made the book good. The acting wasn't all that great, which I have endured over theI know movies adapted from books aren't usually going to meet expectations for some, but this was just ridiculous. It skipped out on so many things that made the book good. The acting wasn't all that great, which I have endured over the course of years. It had no character development, and overall, a terrible movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MadCiticNov 13, 2013
this movie does not do the source material any justice i can't believe the director of harry potter did this travesty they gutted the book removing all the good stuff and replaced it with generic boring i would list all the things wrong withthis movie does not do the source material any justice i can't believe the director of harry potter did this travesty they gutted the book removing all the good stuff and replaced it with generic boring i would list all the things wrong with it but that would take to long the only things they really keep over from the book are the names, the bare bones basic plot of the story and that's it, a utter let down to any fan of the books as a stand alone movie it fairs better but not by much Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
cbeers2513Dec 27, 2013
I really want to like Percy Jackson. I really do. But not only is nothing that I enjoyed in the books in the movie, the film also is an embarrassment to the literary saga. The complex characters I remember have been replaced by bland, denseI really want to like Percy Jackson. I really do. But not only is nothing that I enjoyed in the books in the movie, the film also is an embarrassment to the literary saga. The complex characters I remember have been replaced by bland, dense fantasy archetypes. The acting, especially Lerman as the lead, is awful. Every character has been dumbed down and even Grover, who served as a major emotional support and friend to Percy, has been transformed into a typical comic relief who sprays one-liners and pop culture references without any thought or effort. Even the action sequences are marred by miserable CGI and the sheer lack of drama accompanying them. For a clear Harry Potter clone, it forgets to copy the drama and suspense that made the later Potter films so engaging. Instead, the viewer feels no concern for the characters as they are thrust into "perilous" situations. In the end, Percy Jackson feels wrong. Every scene, character dialogue, and CGI backdrop is a disgrace to the books that got teenage readers addicted to the fantasy genre and Greek mythology. It's just another child-pleasing action flick instead of an adaptation that fully conveys the ingenuity of its source material.

3.5/10

Follow me on twitter. @cbeers2513
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
junkdog8Jan 21, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. being a great lover of the books i can honestly say that watching this movie made me wish that i never started it. from the very first scene to the very last nothing but the extreme simplification of the story was there. there understanding of the story in the book seemed to be the lightning bolt was stolen you have to get it back. that was pretty much the only thing that they took from the book. the one thing that i just can't get over is the complete removal of ares from the story... i mean that is both integral to that story and to the entire rest of the series. it is beyond my understanding why the people who write these books don't understand what is necessary to keep the story intact. not to mention the whole unnecessary side quest to get the pearls. the fact is there was no legitimate reason for the careless disregard for a perfectly excellent story. overall i would advise that you not watch this atrocious piece of trash Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
lukechristianscMar 13, 2014
so far i read lighting theif book which is terrible . i percy jackson : saw sea of monsters movie which 100 % lot better then this movie . there's no good thing that happens in this film . it is a okay film but sea of monsters was better
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TheSilentOneMar 12, 2014
what is this **** i am a huge fan of the books, and me and my brother used to fantasize about a movie that would be really awesome and it ruined my life. when i watched this movie, i was the most pumped i have ever been in my entire life. andwhat is this **** i am a huge fan of the books, and me and my brother used to fantasize about a movie that would be really awesome and it ruined my life. when i watched this movie, i was the most pumped i have ever been in my entire life. and then: What have i just witnessed, the death of my life? Probably. It's like you are a Percy Jackson pirate, and you find two chests, one is the movie, one is the book. You open the book chest and they're are diamonds and rubies, heaps of gold. Then you open the movie chest hoping to be even richer? and you find the chest full of **** and with a single piece of rough amber worth twenty dollars. I felt like the director didnt even read the book and here is why:
1. Where is Clarisse?
2. Where is Ares?
3. (not racist) why is Grover black?
4. They were given the pearls
5. They dont even go through the Underworld, they just ride Charon's ferry to Hades' fortress.
6. Annabeth is blond
7. All the characters are about twelve in the book, in the movie they are about sixteen.
8. The Lotus Hotel did not show make them high, it made them not want to leave.
9. Camp Half Blood is not in a forest, it is in a valley. The cabins are in a U shape and there isn't people fighting with swords all the time. It isn't a military camp, its a place fir Half-Bloods to live safely.
10. Percy stays at the river in capture the flag, he goes nowhere. Luke gets the flag and brings it across the lake.

I only want to list ten because this movie frustrated me a lot. i will never watch this again and i do not recommend it to you. Now the reason i rate this as one is because it would be a pretty good movie all on its own, that is not to say that i like it at all.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
PJAXMOVIESUCKMar 19, 2014
Do you know who never went to school? Whoever directed this movie. It sucks. Balls. They have no idea that a movie is supposed to at least follow the plot line more than 5% of the time. Who would have such a large brain tumor, be soDo you know who never went to school? Whoever directed this movie. It sucks. Balls. They have no idea that a movie is supposed to at least follow the plot line more than 5% of the time. Who would have such a large brain tumor, be so ridiculously, utterly retarded, have absolutely no intellect, and zero common sense? I feel sorry for them because they must be treated with condescension and pity by their "friends" which they earned by the money they illegitimately earned from unsuspecting fans of a book who wanted to see the movie. Seriously, NO ONE who has read the book would even remotely consider it above a -10/10. The only reason that I gave it a zero was that there was no lower option. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
diogomendesMay 31, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. How f*cking stupid. If I hadn't been obligated and forced to see this POS in my classroom, I might have turned it off the second Percy started fighting a Gargoyle-like creature and his longtime friend all the sudden gained donkey legs. -__-

Makes no sense and I don't care. 1/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
KaleBishopApr 25, 2014
My friend told me that I shouldn't compare this to a book because they are both different but if only it were differently titled I would've believed the story was different.
Before I watched the movie all I know is that Percy Jackson is the
My friend told me that I shouldn't compare this to a book because they are both different but if only it were differently titled I would've believed the story was different.
Before I watched the movie all I know is that Percy Jackson is the son of Poseidon. That's pretty much it. I didn't read the book yet... but once I did I found out that this book is completely different from the movie. I felt that whoever directed this movie was clearly stealing, pardon my french, the name of the book and changing the story almost entirely. But even before I read the book this movie wasn't really that thrilling to begin with. It's all flashy animations and the characters aren't even at their full performance. The plot really deserves a big box of corn because how it was executed was terrible.
Overall, movie does not deserve the name of Rick Riordan's book because of it's terrible execution of acting, scripting and independence from the book.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
coldmix3Jun 2, 2014
Right from the start of the movie it strays from the book. It follows the book very loosely. The book is way better. There was so much potential for a great movie and this film fell short. I wouldn't waste your time if you are the type ofRight from the start of the movie it strays from the book. It follows the book very loosely. The book is way better. There was so much potential for a great movie and this film fell short. I wouldn't waste your time if you are the type of person who likes the movies to stay true to the books. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
UnderagedReviewDec 22, 2014
I have read all the books in the percy jackson series. This is an awful halfdone piece of **** This movie is not worth it. It doesnt follow the book at the right places. Their business plan must have been: 1. buy license 2. read fanart 3.I have read all the books in the percy jackson series. This is an awful halfdone piece of **** This movie is not worth it. It doesnt follow the book at the right places. Their business plan must have been: 1. buy license 2. read fanart 3. telll everyone they read the book 4. grab cash 5. bad sequal Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
teddylukeApr 9, 2015
Percy Jackson is really not good the movie and the bad. this movie is stupid just so stupid and gover is so annoying almost all the charters are this movie sucks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
YellowKirbyMar 11, 2016
Before I get started with the review, I just want to say I really, really, really like the books. But the movie? Pfft, where do I begin? It has terribly wooden acting, ignores its source material, has terrible usage of terrible CGI, andBefore I get started with the review, I just want to say I really, really, really like the books. But the movie? Pfft, where do I begin? It has terribly wooden acting, ignores its source material, has terrible usage of terrible CGI, and almost ruins Percy Jackson. It is a complete and utter disgrace of a film, and should never have been made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
superbatJul 4, 2016
One of the worst movies ever. It feels so unloyal to the book series, the actors are too old, it's just a mess. All the good parts of this book aren't in this movie. What a disaster of a book adaption.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
reviewfrom19842Jan 6, 2017
Chris Columbus has been going downhill and has been making some pretty bad movies lately. Percy Jackson is poorly written with mediocre acting. Sadly I think the book is not much better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
haileyoliveiraMay 13, 2017
Terrible movie. Definite waste of adaptation rights and Logan Lerman. The books all top this easily. This movie is only worse than its sequel. Hope Uncle Rick takes back the rights and Percy gets a good adaptation, maybe with the CW.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Cassiopeia13PJOOct 8, 2017
I am one of the biggest Percy Jackson fans to exist, but these movies changed basically everything that made the books amazing. (I do love Logan Lerman though, so don't hate me completely.)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews