Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: February 12, 2010
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 301 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
111
Mixed:
91
Negative:
99
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
3
DanAFeb 21, 2010
Embarrassing for my son, a fan of the books, who took me to this movie. I use the term loosely. Bad acting, clumsy plot and character development non existent. Where have all the actors gone these days??
8 of 8 users found this helpful
4
boydFeb 14, 2010
My sons and I read all 5 books, they are very good! That said, this movie was not good. First off major character changes was a big red flag! Grover is not black! The problem I had with that is whenever Hollywood throws in an ethnic My sons and I read all 5 books, they are very good! That said, this movie was not good. First off major character changes was a big red flag! Grover is not black! The problem I had with that is whenever Hollywood throws in an ethnic character such as Grover, they suddenly become "urbanized" in thier speech, and over sexed in their behavior which plays into furthering the stereotype of the horny (literally in the case of Grover) black man. Really it's not necesaary! By the way i am a Father of three wonderful sons and I am black. This isn't a race issue as much as cultural. I didn't realize their were any black Greek gods either! Hollywood its ok to not be so PC all of the time! Relax, we won't sue you! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
3
TaylorM.Feb 12, 2010
Simply put, it was boring and had an unintelligent and very predictable plot.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
4
JeffCFeb 12, 2010
Some nice eye candy mixed into a poorly-rendered version of the book's story. Many major plot points from the book are ignored or flat-out wrong, making a sequel more difficult to imagine. The show-stealers are Uma Thurman (Medusa) and Some nice eye candy mixed into a poorly-rendered version of the book's story. Many major plot points from the book are ignored or flat-out wrong, making a sequel more difficult to imagine. The show-stealers are Uma Thurman (Medusa) and Brandon T. Jackson (Grover), while the leads (Logan Lerman as Percy and Alexandra Daddario as Annabeth) are wooden and the big names in the cast (Pierce Brosnan, Sean Bean, etc. etc.) are underutilized. Dialogue, gags, and music are frequently predictable TV-movie fare. As a film adaptation of a book, this was an excellent opportunity wasted. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
StevenW.Feb 13, 2010
Such promise. I suppose that's the biggest disappointment. Oh btw...thank you for putting in your script that someone in the White House is half man-half god. I wonder who you could possibly mean?? How embarrassing that you'd even Such promise. I suppose that's the biggest disappointment. Oh btw...thank you for putting in your script that someone in the White House is half man-half god. I wonder who you could possibly mean?? How embarrassing that you'd even write a line like that. Anyway, it's obviously geared towards kids. Yet they have quite a few sexual scenarios with the ever so horny goat dude and they really play on a drug scene that really makes being high look fantastic. Overall this movie was way boring and void of anything worthwhile. Well obviously some people like this movie as it's got quite a high user review. This user wouldn't go back to see it even if you payed me. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
shel97girlFeb 7, 2011
The movie was a complete disaster!!! All Percy Jackson book fans loook away dont bother seeing it because its a waste of time, money, and a complete waste of rick Riordan's awsome writting skills. (which is the best thing since Harry Potter,The movie was a complete disaster!!! All Percy Jackson book fans loook away dont bother seeing it because its a waste of time, money, and a complete waste of rick Riordan's awsome writting skills. (which is the best thing since Harry Potter, Avatar, and CBS news!!!!!!) The movie went to fast, it didn't complete ideas it left out 3-4 main charecters, It completely switched around peoples personalities, changed almost the whole story plot, and to top it all off Chris Columbus should of chose the author to direct, pick the cast, and write the screen play by himself, and it still would of been better!!!!!! a thumbs down movie for Colubus Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
JamesKFeb 12, 2010
worst movie ever! Changed everything from the book except for the basic premise and characters and added a crapload of unfunny sexual innuendos! Don't even bother with this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ActualFanFeb 13, 2010
Lets be honest here. They can't condense a large book into 2-3 hours. They can make it good, but they didn't. This movie diverted from the plot, cut major characters, and was reliant on kids to be amused by firey explosions. All I Lets be honest here. They can't condense a large book into 2-3 hours. They can make it good, but they didn't. This movie diverted from the plot, cut major characters, and was reliant on kids to be amused by firey explosions. All I want to say about this movie is: DON'T WATCH. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
HaleyLFeb 12, 2010
Up above is a list of critic reviews. This morning, when I read them, I thought they were a bunch of morons that had never read Rick Riordan
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
LeandreB.Feb 14, 2010
There is absolutely nothing smart about this movie. Cheesy humour and one-liners, half assed special effects and on average bad acting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
txrangersfan72Jan 18, 2011
Cute, but slow and boring. While I love the theme, I never read the series. The movie targets the same age group as the books and hits the mark. Unfortunately, I'm not part of the demographic.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
aaronpaul121May 22, 2012
This movie has good and bad moments, mostly bad moments, that's why I gave a 4. I agree with other users with the cheesy acting of the characters. Cheesy acting really makes me turn off and sometimes it makes me don't watch the rest of theThis movie has good and bad moments, mostly bad moments, that's why I gave a 4. I agree with other users with the cheesy acting of the characters. Cheesy acting really makes me turn off and sometimes it makes me don't watch the rest of the movie. It also has that immature element on the plot, which makes the movie childish than "adult-ish". But on the other hand, it does have nice special effects which lift the movie a little bit. But sadly, it is not enough to make the movie worthy to be called " as good as" the original book. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
coolgames101Jun 12, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. **** THIS MOVIE! **** THIS MOVIE! **** THIS MOVIE! **** THIS MOVIE! this movie is **** i mean **** i remember that back in 2010 when this movie came out i had read all the books all over again and invited a whole bunch of friends over to see it close to opening night. i was going to see sean bean, Pierce Brosnan and Uma Thurman portray my favorite characters in the book. and at the time i loved all three of those actors and actresses. then the movie started. it was all down hill from there.
first off, Percy in the books was tan, but he isn't in the movie. Strike one. Percy in the book is twelve. in the movie he is a senior in high school. strike two. Grover didn't need **** to suport him, he just had a limp because he had his hooves concealed in mother ****ing god damned foam feet. there are a million other strikes against this movie, but... if i were to go into alot of detail and see my favorite book being destroyed so badly. i would explode. but then again i probably should for the sake of the reader. in the movie, Hades was the bad guy. BULL **** in the book they made Kronos the bad guy, and that made it possible for the evil Demigods to come together and attack camp half blood. another thing is that it was Ares that put the lightning bolt in Percy's back pack. not Luke giving Percy a shield with the lightning bolt inside! Especially since Percy didn't get a ****ing shield until the second book! And Luke didn't plan out every last detail, it was Kronos that influenced him! And WHEN THE HELL DID THEY HAVE TO SEARCH FOR THE ****IN PEARLS OF APHRODITE?!?!?!?!??!?!?!??!?! i was a huge fan of the books. i really anticipated the movie, but with all the flaws, (And yes, i haven't even said all the things wrong, *cough*Hades wasn't emo*cough* and before my head explodes, lets leave it all at that.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Potter17Sep 17, 2011
Let me start by saying that: Chris Columbus ruined what could be a great movie. Although the first two Harry Potter (both directed by him) were excessively long, they were pretty good films, so I was very excited about this version of PercyLet me start by saying that: Chris Columbus ruined what could be a great movie. Although the first two Harry Potter (both directed by him) were excessively long, they were pretty good films, so I was very excited about this version of Percy Jackson. Well, the running time was shorter that I expected but on Columbus's hands the storyline was childish and the main characters were shallow. But the worst thing about this film is the adaptation. Percy becomes stupid. Annabeth who is a brave and intelligent friend of Percy, becomes arrogant and snobbish. And Grover is used as comic relief. I think for other people who haven't read the book, the film will be ok. But for me, only the visual effects and main actors saved this film from a total disaster. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
AquophisFeb 27, 2012
They didn't make the Percy movie the way they should have, but it still tells a good, entertaining enough story all its own. Definitely not Chris Columbus's best. If you want to see his triumphs, look for the first two Harry Potter films.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
BlatantInnuendoJan 6, 2013
This seems like a missed opportunity. I absolutely love the books and have read every one of them multiple times. The movie seemed to take the book, ignore some important points, and basically made the movie unappealing at best The mainThis seems like a missed opportunity. I absolutely love the books and have read every one of them multiple times. The movie seemed to take the book, ignore some important points, and basically made the movie unappealing at best The main characters are wooden, and what they did to the story line is unforgivable. This could have been the perfect movie but the directors managed to turn it into something that no one wants to remember. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
eagleeyevikingDec 17, 2013
Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief completely strays away from it's source material and replaces it with a very clumsy plot. It is also plagued with poor acting even if the movie is enjoyable and has the right feel of the book series.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
KarenMar 19, 2010
It's almost one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I was extremely tempted to walk out of the theater after only 15 minutes, might be even less. Not only did it not follow the book at all, it was topped off with bad script and bad It's almost one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I was extremely tempted to walk out of the theater after only 15 minutes, might be even less. Not only did it not follow the book at all, it was topped off with bad script and bad acting. There was not emotion in any of the places where there should have been--when Percy's mom died, it seems like he was unaffected and could care less. I can't believe that Chris Columus can even imagine making a sequel with such bad actors and bad script--the movie didn't even introduce the oracle, the prophecy, nothing. Basically, it did not lay down any of the necessary foundation needed for a sequel. Actually, I didn't even know there may be a sequel planned just by watching the movie, I saw his comment online. Books turned movies usually are not very good, but I have not seen one this bad. If I have to sit through another one...I can't even compare any torture worse than that. It completely ruined what could have been a potentially good movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 22, 2011
Cheesy and childish at its best, but hey. It still helps you memorize all those Greek gods and myth.
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
0
DolfL.Feb 13, 2010
This guy stole my lightning it was like not cool man. Great film!
2 of 4 users found this helpful
6
ErikM.Feb 14, 2010
I loved the books but the movie was alright just to much of the book was left out.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
BobDFeb 25, 2010
They got so many facts wrong from the book which made me mad. If it was a movie on it own its still only a decent movie. Crappy effects and bad acting. Why did Rick (the author) let them do it that to his awesome books.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
DougMMar 16, 2010
I think what's so annoying to me is all the elements were available to make this an enjoyable experience at the minimum; and the director deliberately spurned it all to spend more time adding CGI... I have a headache now after that.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
huffnat890Oct 1, 2010
This movie has absolutely no redeeming qualities qhatsoever to keep it from being the generic piece of **** it is. **** my life. This movie doesn't deserve to exist.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
BikerjamesJun 20, 2011
Warning: very clunky dialogue and poor acting. You have been warned. Most special effects looked good, especially the boat crossing in hell, but some wasn't very smooth looking. One particular eye rolling moment was when it was explainedWarning: very clunky dialogue and poor acting. You have been warned. Most special effects looked good, especially the boat crossing in hell, but some wasn't very smooth looking. One particular eye rolling moment was when it was explained that the enemies of Poseidon's son cannot detect him on earth was because his stepfather has such bad body odor that it masks his scent. Yes. They actually say that in the film. Like the kid never leaves home, or goes to school, without his evil stepfather in tow. The film might appeal more to a younger age, and some special effects were good, thus the "4" rating. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
JonnyFendiJan 11, 2011
The Director is Chris Columbus, who I called The Family Man, most of his works always contains family value. His previous works include: HOME ALONE (1990), MRS. DOUBTFIRE (1993), BICENTENNIAL MAN (1999), Two early HARRY POTTER seriesThe Director is Chris Columbus, who I called The Family Man, most of his works always contains family value. His previous works include: HOME ALONE (1990), MRS. DOUBTFIRE (1993), BICENTENNIAL MAN (1999), Two early HARRY POTTER series (2001-2002), and RENT (2005), which I loved about. In thiz latest movie, he adapted the first series of Rick Riordan novel. The story told about a common teenager just found out that he is the offspring of Poseidon, one of the Greek Gods (they called it: Demigod). Now is time for Percy to stop the war between the Gods, who demanding the Zeu lost Lightning Bolt. Percy stars by Logan Lerman. Lerman performs adequately on his character. Almost all the mythical characters appear in thiz movie. The other Casts are: Sean Bean, Pierce Brosnan, Steve Coogan, Rosario Dawson, Catherine Keener, and Uma Thurman. The script itself applied a little bit shallow and corny. Obviously, there are some weaknesses that I found disturbing. First, all The Customes on thiz movie is so ordinary and lack of innovation. I believe we already seen it, even on HERCULES TV episodes. Some of the settings also terribly executed, the training camp set (the place that Percy and other Demigods train) is clearly not in high concept. It seems to be, Columbus did not support by fine Production Designer Team for thiz time. In overall, thiz movie is so far from building a great franchise like Harry Potter. The fact, There are some copy-paste elements on thiz story, like: trio friends bond, the chosen one, magical gadgets, wicked step family, etc. America wants to have their own Harry Potter? They must try harder. Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
MoviebuffreviewJun 22, 2011
The Lightning Thief isn't bad. It has decent effects, okay performances, and can be fun for people who haven't read the book. But people who have read it might get a few thrills, but ultimately will be frustrated by the unfaithful adaptationThe Lightning Thief isn't bad. It has decent effects, okay performances, and can be fun for people who haven't read the book. But people who have read it might get a few thrills, but ultimately will be frustrated by the unfaithful adaptation that Chris Columbus did, and the ending which doesn't open a franchise as well as you would have hoped. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Oct 13, 2010
I've been dying to see this movie when I read all five of the Percy Jackson books. too bad it was disliked by fans because it was a Harry Potter ripoff. thats alright, Chris Columbus. you gave this movie worth a try. bottomline: the actorsI've been dying to see this movie when I read all five of the Percy Jackson books. too bad it was disliked by fans because it was a Harry Potter ripoff. thats alright, Chris Columbus. you gave this movie worth a try. bottomline: the actors are supporting, the visuals were nice, and the storyline is entertaining. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
8
MicahS.Mar 14, 2010
If you like the books you might get mad because they barely stuck to the story but other than that great movie.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
7
TongN.Mar 14, 2010
Just...... good, not bad.
1 of 3 users found this helpful