Perfect Sense

Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Feb 8, 2012
    83
    Ewan McGregor and Eva Green are easy on the eyes as lovers in Perfect Sense, an intriguing apocalyptic romance with a multi-purpose title.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Heath Jr.
    Feb 2, 2012
    88
    Visually glassy and smooth, Perfect Sense values the dynamic mood of each scene without being overly stylized.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Feb 2, 2012
    70
    What's unusual about the sometimes screwy but mostly smart and always heartfelt Perfect Sense - is its search for a middle ground.
  4. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Feb 8, 2012
    67
    The perseverance of McGregor's restaurant, in spite of its apparent inutility in the changing world, ends up having more poignancy than his parting and reuniting with the glowering Green.
  5. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Feb 8, 2012
    63
    Perfect Sense offers an epic tale seen through the prism of a tiny, intimate story. It's the inverse of "Contagion," which sacrificed character to scope.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrew Lapin
    Feb 6, 2012
    70
    Perfect Sense shines best outside of the bedroom, in sequences that show the human race adjusting to tragedy after tragedy.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark Holcomb
    Jan 31, 2012
    70
    Perfect Sense beautifully captures the ache and counterintuitive thrill of "the days as we know them, the world as we imagine the world" fading away by degrees.
  8. Reviewed by: Ray Greene
    Jan 30, 2012
    80
    Director David Mackenzie's quietly accomplished film straddles the arthouse world and cult movies with a unique poetic vision.
  9. 70
    You've got to make room in your heart for a film in which the world ends with neither a bang nor a whimper but a cuddle.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Jun 8, 2012
    4
    Terrible. I wanted so badly to like this film, but it was terrible....boring...in opposition to one critic's review, it was in factTerrible. I wanted so badly to like this film, but it was terrible....boring...in opposition to one critic's review, it was in fact over-stylized and redundantly abstract. The voice-over narration was annoying and inappropriate. The relationship between the two main characters seemed forced and insincere. I am usually very fond of under-the-radar films, especially with talented actors, but I was sorely disappointed with this film. I wanted to stop it halfway through, but I'm not one to quit something once I've started it. But all in all, it was a waste of my evening. I wasn't left wondering about any great dilemma in the world or pondering the intricacies of relationships. I was left bored and uninspired. Hope this helps. Full Review »
  2. Oct 6, 2015
    6
    The Perfect Sense feels like it should have been a good movie but winds up not more than mediocre. The lead actress is a terrible fit for theThe Perfect Sense feels like it should have been a good movie but winds up not more than mediocre. The lead actress is a terrible fit for the role, her acting felt fake in a few key scenes and in others she seemed more a spoiled princess than an epidemiologist working hard on a cure to save the world. Besides that, the film was alright. The premise was interesting, the shooting was fine, and Ewan MacGregor's performance was believable. I must say, though, if you are going to make a movie about the end of the world and you want it to work, the audience has to have a good amount of sympathy for the characters. Full Review »
  3. Aug 6, 2014
    7
    Globally, the movie's good. Great actors, darkest atmosphere and interesting staging. However, there is some too far long scenes, tooGlobally, the movie's good. Great actors, darkest atmosphere and interesting staging. However, there is some too far long scenes, too intimist. The romance between Ewan McGregor and Eva Green is too much developed in relation to the reactions of the world in front of this epidemic... Full Review »