IFC Films | Release Date: February 3, 2012
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 40 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
25
Mixed:
10
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
BroyaxJan 9, 2017
Ah Eva Green ! toujours prompte à montrer ses merveilleux atours et heureusement, car ça permet d'égayer un film qu'on ne saurait trop catégoriser sinon que de le mettre tout en bas, là où finissent tous les pseudo-films de son acabit, dansAh Eva Green ! toujours prompte à montrer ses merveilleux atours et heureusement, car ça permet d'égayer un film qu'on ne saurait trop catégoriser sinon que de le mettre tout en bas, là où finissent tous les pseudo-films de son acabit, dans la fosse à purin intello-bobo prétentieuse et inepte.

Eva Green ne saurait être réduite à ses atouts physiques, bien que paradoxalement elle le soit en dépit de la meilleure volonté du monde : son beau visage et ses traits sont si charmants qu'ils en deviennent apaisants, peu importe ce qu'elle joue ou tente de jouer, on s'en fout ce qu'elle joue.

Ce que j'en suis réduit à écrire pour justifier un 2 au lieu d'un 1 ! mais Eva le mérite, y compris dans tous ses films qui ne méritent même pas 1... parce qu'elle le vaut bien.

A l'autre bout, il y a cette andouille de McGregor qui nous désole même s'il est gentil le McGregor, il est gentil !

Quant au reste... j'ai juste envie de résumer cette pandémie de l'ablation des sens par un "putain, c'est quoi cette merde encore ?". Revoyons le script : crise de larmes, perte de l'odorat ; crise de rage, perte de l'audition ; explosion de joie, perte de...

Oui, un producteur, des producteurs ont "produit" cette connerie sirupeuse avec la voix off d'Eva qui débite de temps à autre des niaiseries et autres phrases creuses : on dirait une poésie d'un chiard de CE2 alors qu'il vous tend son "oeuvre", un infâme gribouillis en l'occurrence.

Pour un nain, ce n'est pas bien grave ; pour un film, c'est pitoyable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
smiyamotApr 30, 2016
What an original story; I've never seen anything similar. We have two people trying to connect as lovers while the world faces a threat. Okay, that is familiar, Titanic, The Abyss, etc. We get to see how people react to the threat, howWhat an original story; I've never seen anything similar. We have two people trying to connect as lovers while the world faces a threat. Okay, that is familiar, Titanic, The Abyss, etc. We get to see how people react to the threat, how these two react to each other, a good character study. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
zoeblacklockApr 12, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film really makes you think about your senses, how important they are and if you were to lose them, how would you carry on. After seeing so many reviews that were negative I was confused, as this film's story line is such a great yet terrifying idea that the director and actors have managed to put across to the audience successfully. The director really captured the feelings of loss when each sense disappears, the fear the panic, especially when hearing is lost. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RobertBroganOct 6, 2015
The Perfect Sense feels like it should have been a good movie but winds up not more than mediocre. The lead actress is a terrible fit for the role, her acting felt fake in a few key scenes and in others she seemed more a spoiled princess thanThe Perfect Sense feels like it should have been a good movie but winds up not more than mediocre. The lead actress is a terrible fit for the role, her acting felt fake in a few key scenes and in others she seemed more a spoiled princess than an epidemiologist working hard on a cure to save the world. Besides that, the film was alright. The premise was interesting, the shooting was fine, and Ewan MacGregor's performance was believable. I must say, though, if you are going to make a movie about the end of the world and you want it to work, the audience has to have a good amount of sympathy for the characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HarmonicAug 6, 2014
Globally, the movie's good. Great actors, darkest atmosphere and interesting staging. However, there is some too far long scenes, too intimist. The romance between Ewan McGregor and Eva Green is too much developed in relation to the reactionsGlobally, the movie's good. Great actors, darkest atmosphere and interesting staging. However, there is some too far long scenes, too intimist. The romance between Ewan McGregor and Eva Green is too much developed in relation to the reactions of the world in front of this epidemic... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EdwinApr 9, 2014
A journey through a matrix of sense and emotion. I can only explain my positive reaction (compared to the general apathy of critics) on my predisposition to such overt portrayals of raw emotion. A brilliant ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
peterbJun 21, 2013
Don't let the fact that this film participated in the Sundance Film Festival fool you. It is an attempt at telling a tale of lovers tormented by an apocalyptic epidemic, which results in a black mood and a boring plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KivaJun 20, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't understand the bad reviews in that film. At first i saw it was a BBC movie and i thought it won't be good. This film came as a surprise for me as it's one of the best film drama-romance-fantasy. The plot is truly original and the ending made me really sad. I can't imagine how it is when you lose all your senses. The last scene will make you cry. And Eva Green's narration will chill you. Thumbs up Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
asthobaskoroJun 20, 2012
Pretty depressing, for some people maybe it's old sweet movie, uneven or whatever. But for me it's great, every frame, every sense, love. You'll notice when something bad happen on life, on your love, you must go on.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Apemonkey666Jun 11, 2012
If you like standard, run-of-the-mill romantic comedies like 'Serendipity', 'Kate & Leopold' or 'How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days' this might not be the movie for you. This is a little gem that you only rarely discover between the defaultIf you like standard, run-of-the-mill romantic comedies like 'Serendipity', 'Kate & Leopold' or 'How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days' this might not be the movie for you. This is a little gem that you only rarely discover between the default Hollywood drab, so if you want to see something completely different you might come to know and love this film. One of the better films of 2012. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
sanders201Jun 8, 2012
Terrible. I wanted so badly to like this film, but it was terrible....boring...in opposition to one critic's review, it was in fact over-stylized and redundantly abstract. The voice-over narration was annoying and inappropriate. TheTerrible. I wanted so badly to like this film, but it was terrible....boring...in opposition to one critic's review, it was in fact over-stylized and redundantly abstract. The voice-over narration was annoying and inappropriate. The relationship between the two main characters seemed forced and insincere. I am usually very fond of under-the-radar films, especially with talented actors, but I was sorely disappointed with this film. I wanted to stop it halfway through, but I'm not one to quit something once I've started it. But all in all, it was a waste of my evening. I wasn't left wondering about any great dilemma in the world or pondering the intricacies of relationships. I was left bored and uninspired. Hope this helps. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Luisjoao33Mar 12, 2012
It is just not an apocaliptic movie, or a story based on Saramago´s novels. I really loved it, very fresh, reflexive, very good acting, and a story that left me some to think during the whole week end
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews