Perfect Sisters

Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Apr 10, 2014
    60
    Ms. Breslin and especially Ms. Henley are quite good, elevating a film that seems like an oft-told tale.
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Apr 8, 2014
    60
    Perfect Sisters, which takes a dark, matricidal turn (inspired by an actual Toronto case), was never going to be a new "Heavenly Creatures." But give credit to director Stan Brooks for allowing his two former child stars some real meat to sink their teenage chops into.
  3. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Mar 10, 2014
    60
    Perfect Sisters may stand accused of being rife with tone-deaf stylistic choices, but the more positive spin is to call it a marginal film elevated, however inadvertently, by the strange specificity of its scenes.
  4. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Apr 10, 2014
    50
    The film owes whatever persuasiveness it has to the teen leads' sharp performances — their sisterly chemistry and their filial friction with an alcohol-addled mother, well played by Mira Sorvino.
  5. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Apr 9, 2014
    50
    The film is elevated by the quality of the performances, with Breslin and Henley movingly affecting as the closely bound sisters and Sorvino convincingly conveying her character’s inability to function.
  6. Reviewed by: Sherrie Li
    Apr 8, 2014
    50
    Stanley M. Brooks's directorial debut's attempt to make sense of what happened falters by laboring to tick every item off the timeline checklist instead of focusing on who these Bathtub Girls were underneath the dysfunction.
  7. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Apr 14, 2014
    40
    Stan Brooks’ first directorial feature provides scant psychological depth, drawing its characters and staging their incidents in crude fashion, despite superficial production gloss.
  8. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 10, 2014
    20
    This kind of thing requires a velvet touch, though director Stanley M. Brooks hits only hammer-heavy notes.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Nov 2, 2014
    10
    The best movie I have even seen in my entire life! I got really into it and the story line and plot was really good, I would personally payThe best movie I have even seen in my entire life! I got really into it and the story line and plot was really good, I would personally pay again and again to watch this movie and it deserves 1,000,000 oscars! Full Review »
  2. Oct 5, 2014
    8
    I think the movie was a good mixture from Andersen sisters' thinking point-of-view.....the real, although the acting cast mishap was castingI think the movie was a good mixture from Andersen sisters' thinking point-of-view.....the real, although the acting cast mishap was casting of Abigail Breslin, but still Georgie Henley carried the film quite neatly considering the fact that its her first movie after Narnia triology..... Full Review »
  3. Jan 27, 2016
    5
    Georgie Henley and Abigail Breslin are terrific in this film, let's start there. Henley catches the unsettling schizophrenic attributes of herGeorgie Henley and Abigail Breslin are terrific in this film, let's start there. Henley catches the unsettling schizophrenic attributes of her character, smiling and laughing bizarrely, utterly out of sync with the awful crime they're planning, and then commit. Breslin is just as compelling, her character stricken into near catatonia by what they've done, suddenly thrown into a wrenching and terrible grief. The supporting roles are credible and well-acted, but the film founders on an element that I'm not sure has ever been, or can ever be, captured on film. That is the effect that alcoholism and incorrigible drunkenness can cause on the victims of the alcoholic - the indescribable outrage, made a hundred times worse by the impossibility of fighting it. While Mira Sorvino's character seems 'out of it' and depraved, that doesn't begin to convey the destructiveness of alcoholism, or the dreadful toll it takes.
    The film itself is borderline dogme, perhaps intentionally, but it's not consistent through the film. Some scenes are beautiful and lyric, others look like a high-school production by students without the faintest idea how to shoot a scene. A flawed effort, but again, I can't say enough about Henley and Breslin - they make the film.
    Full Review »