Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Apr 10, 2014
    60
    Ms. Breslin and especially Ms. Henley are quite good, elevating a film that seems like an oft-told tale.
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Apr 8, 2014
    60
    Perfect Sisters, which takes a dark, matricidal turn (inspired by an actual Toronto case), was never going to be a new "Heavenly Creatures." But give credit to director Stan Brooks for allowing his two former child stars some real meat to sink their teenage chops into.
  3. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Mar 10, 2014
    60
    Perfect Sisters may stand accused of being rife with tone-deaf stylistic choices, but the more positive spin is to call it a marginal film elevated, however inadvertently, by the strange specificity of its scenes.
  4. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Apr 10, 2014
    50
    The film owes whatever persuasiveness it has to the teen leads' sharp performances — their sisterly chemistry and their filial friction with an alcohol-addled mother, well played by Mira Sorvino.
  5. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Apr 9, 2014
    50
    The film is elevated by the quality of the performances, with Breslin and Henley movingly affecting as the closely bound sisters and Sorvino convincingly conveying her character’s inability to function.
  6. Reviewed by: Sherrie Li
    Apr 8, 2014
    50
    Stanley M. Brooks's directorial debut's attempt to make sense of what happened falters by laboring to tick every item off the timeline checklist instead of focusing on who these Bathtub Girls were underneath the dysfunction.
  7. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Apr 14, 2014
    40
    Stan Brooks’ first directorial feature provides scant psychological depth, drawing its characters and staging their incidents in crude fashion, despite superficial production gloss.
  8. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 10, 2014
    20
    This kind of thing requires a velvet touch, though director Stanley M. Brooks hits only hammer-heavy notes.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Nov 2, 2014
    10
    The best movie I have even seen in my entire life! I got really into it and the story line and plot was really good, I would personally pay again and again to watch this movie and it deserves 1,000,000 oscars! Full Review »
  2. Oct 5, 2014
    8
    I think the movie was a good mixture from Andersen sisters' thinking point-of-view.....the real, although the acting cast mishap was casting of Abigail Breslin, but still Georgie Henley carried the film quite neatly considering the fact that its her first movie after Narnia triology..... Full Review »
  3. Sep 23, 2014
    2
    So something possessed me to watch the movie, "Perfect Sisters", a "teen crime drama" about two teenage sisters who kill their drunkard of a mom in some half-assed teen angst story...

    Oh how do I describe this **** fest...

    For starters, this movie may as well be called "Look At My **** as Abigail Breslin apparently feels utterly compelled to fall out of her shirt in EVERY SCENE. The camera work and directing are seemingly entirely focused on Breslin's boobs for the entire film... It's almost as if there was a special clause in her contract requiring her to point her breasts straight into the lens at all times.

    Aside from the ridiculous amount of teenage juggs in this movie, it is riddled with poor acting, even poorer plot developments, and some of the most illogical nonsense I have ever seen. Worst of all is the fact that this is based on a true story!

    And to top off this preposterous "teen comedy, drama, thriller", the detective WEARS A F***ING EYE PATCH!!! No explanation just an eye patch!!

    In all I feel as though the film's producers owe me the 100 minutes they stole from me...
    Full Review »