User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    2
    Ed Harris has a bad lead performance which is unusual for him, but more importantly its badly written and just all around stupid in every way.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    4
    Ed Harris stars as a washed-up Russian submarine captain (is there any other kind in movies?). His final mission includes a KBG agent (David Duchovny) with diabolical plans. None of it matters because this is one of the slowest, most talky war movies ever. Since it takes place in the small confines of the sub, tension should be built-in, but the only drama is provided by obnoxious ominous music and painfully portentous dialogue. Even worse, the action is often confusing If you enjoy Cold War sub conflict, you might find it worthy. Otherwise, stay above the surface. NOTE: Look for Johnathon Schaech hiding behind a giant moustache. Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2013
    4
    Don't see Phantom. It's not horrible but it's dull, boring and completely lacking in memorability. Not one character or plot-point sunk in, and I found my mind wandering throughout. The acting's okay for the most part, sometimes decent and stupid at others. There's a couple "so bad it's good" moments but they're short, sporadic and not worth seeing the whole thing for. The only reason why I saw it in the first place is cause it was my dad's turn to pick the movie, and because he's a veteran he goes nuts for any movie that involves the military, this being no exception. Just... don't see this. You won't be traumatized by outright badness but it's not worth spending your time and money on. 40/100 Expand
  4. Mar 1, 2013
    2
    The choice of new Friday movies went from “Jack The Giant Slayer”, which I was told to avoid, “21 and Over” which I didn’t have to be told to avoid, “The Last Exorcism Part 2”, and after avoiding Part 1 why would I bother? The only new movie that had any interest, more because of the actors than the subject, was “Phantom”, which is based on a true story about a Russian submarine in 1968 planning to fire on a U. S. ship hoping to start World War 3 between China and the U. S. their biggest competitors. We were the only 2 people in the auditorium so it was like a private showing but that didn’t help much. It is a comparatively short movie--97 minutes--covering a lot but making it a little hard to figure out what was going on. At one point I thought one of the actors had been killed and there he was in the next scene, though in profile, and Allen had to tell me it was him. None of the actors use a Russian accent which is a blessing especially when it comes to scientific angles of what is going on. There are some flashbacks which aren’t clearly edited and neither is the ending. The director/screenwriter, Todd Robinson, isn’t exactly clear on what is happening when, or why, but most of the actors come through for him with Ed Harris doing the best job. David Duchovny seems out of place, not quite comfortable playing the KGB agent. The supporting cast is made up of many familiar faces who always give their all including William Fichter, Jason Beghe, Sean Patrick Flanery, Johnathon Schaech, Lance Henriksen and Julian Adams. They are actors that you will constantly ask yourself, “I know them but from where?” and are interesting to watch. Dagmara Dominczyk and Tessa Robinson play brief roles. In no way is “Phantom” in the same class as “Das Boots” “Run Silent, Run Deep” or “The Hunt For Red October” but I have a feeling it is a better movie than the other ones that opened today Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2013
    4
    I was very excited to see Phantom because of Ed Harris but it seems like water adventure films do stink bad. Phantom was gripping in the middle but the pace drops at the end and then boom, The End. I like Ed Harris, but with this film he has disappointed me.
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 22
  2. Negative: 6 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Mar 2, 2013
    42
    The idea of the film is certainly clever enough, it’s the execution that lacks finesse.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 1, 2013
    50
    Ed Harris in Phantom is like Steve Carlton with the Philadelphia Phillies in 1972 — delivering a wall-to-wall, amazing performance that's lost in a sea of dreadfulness.
  3. Reviewed by: Walter Addiego
    Mar 1, 2013
    25
    Heavy-handed dialogue, flurries of melodrama and a silly ending make the whole enterprise sink like a stone.