Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 22
  2. Negative: 6 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Feb 28, 2013
    80
    In this classy, taut white-knuckler – largely shot inside a real-life decommissioned Soviet sub – Robinson asks us to consider more than the hypothetical possibility that the world nearly ended in 1968. He reminds us that we have no idea how many other near-misses may have happened in the behind-the-scenes history of the modern age and also, more troubling still, that long after the Cold War has faded into memory we continue to have difficulty telling the crazy people from the sane ones.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Feb 28, 2013
    60
    Phantom is a relatively tight, gripping story told with efficiency that makes room for its fine roster of actors to explore old-fashioned ideas on honor and loyalty.
  3. 50
    Robinson manages some suspense, but the thriller’s ticking clock is a weak one.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Feb 27, 2013
    50
    Though pitched as a thriller, Robinson’s woefully underbudgeted film plays instead like a chamber drama, so simple and unadorned that it could just as easily be staged as an off-off-Broadway play without anyone telling the difference. And that isn’t entirely to the film’s detriment, either: With a cast choked with great character actors like Ed Harris, William Fichtner, and Lance Henriksen, less is sometimes more.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 1, 2013
    50
    Ed Harris in Phantom is like Steve Carlton with the Philadelphia Phillies in 1972 — delivering a wall-to-wall, amazing performance that's lost in a sea of dreadfulness.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Mar 1, 2013
    40
    The newest model of the old submarine-from-hell picture.
  7. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Feb 28, 2013
    0
    The dialogue is dreadful (though we are at least spared the usual hokey Russian accents) and the wrap-up ridiculous, the only mystery being why this peculiarity was ever greenlighted at all.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    4
    Ed Harris stars as a washed-up Russian submarine captain (is there any other kind in movies?). His final mission includes a KBG agent (DavidEd Harris stars as a washed-up Russian submarine captain (is there any other kind in movies?). His final mission includes a KBG agent (David Duchovny) with diabolical plans. None of it matters because this is one of the slowest, most talky war movies ever. Since it takes place in the small confines of the sub, tension should be built-in, but the only drama is provided by obnoxious ominous music and painfully portentous dialogue. Even worse, the action is often confusing If you enjoy Cold War sub conflict, you might find it worthy. Otherwise, stay above the surface. NOTE: Look for Johnathon Schaech hiding behind a giant moustache. Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2013
    4
    I was very excited to see Phantom because of Ed Harris but it seems like water adventure films do stink bad. Phantom was gripping in theI was very excited to see Phantom because of Ed Harris but it seems like water adventure films do stink bad. Phantom was gripping in the middle but the pace drops at the end and then boom, The End. I like Ed Harris, but with this film he has disappointed me. Collapse
  3. Mar 4, 2013
    4
    Don't see Phantom. It's not horrible but it's dull, boring and completely lacking in memorability. Not one character or plot-point sunk in,Don't see Phantom. It's not horrible but it's dull, boring and completely lacking in memorability. Not one character or plot-point sunk in, and I found my mind wandering throughout. The acting's okay for the most part, sometimes decent and stupid at others. There's a couple "so bad it's good" moments but they're short, sporadic and not worth seeing the whole thing for. The only reason why I saw it in the first place is cause it was my dad's turn to pick the movie, and because he's a veteran he goes nuts for any movie that involves the military, this being no exception. Just... don't see this. You won't be traumatized by outright badness but it's not worth spending your time and money on. 40/100 Expand
  4. Mar 1, 2013
    2
    The choice of new Friday movies went from “Jack The Giant Slayer”, which I was told to avoid, “21 and Over” which I didn’t have to be told toThe choice of new Friday movies went from “Jack The Giant Slayer”, which I was told to avoid, “21 and Over” which I didn’t have to be told to avoid, “The Last Exorcism Part 2”, and after avoiding Part 1 why would I bother? The only new movie that had any interest, more because of the actors than the subject, was “Phantom”, which is based on a true story about a Russian submarine in 1968 planning to fire on a U. S. ship hoping to start World War 3 between China and the U. S. their biggest competitors. We were the only 2 people in the auditorium so it was like a private showing but that didn’t help much. It is a comparatively short movie--97 minutes--covering a lot but making it a little hard to figure out what was going on. At one point I thought one of the actors had been killed and there he was in the next scene, though in profile, and Allen had to tell me it was him. None of the actors use a Russian accent which is a blessing especially when it comes to scientific angles of what is going on. There are some flashbacks which aren’t clearly edited and neither is the ending. The director/screenwriter, Todd Robinson, isn’t exactly clear on what is happening when, or why, but most of the actors come through for him with Ed Harris doing the best job. David Duchovny seems out of place, not quite comfortable playing the KGB agent. The supporting cast is made up of many familiar faces who always give their all including William Fichter, Jason Beghe, Sean Patrick Flanery, Johnathon Schaech, Lance Henriksen and Julian Adams. They are actors that you will constantly ask yourself, “I know them but from where?” and are interesting to watch. Dagmara Dominczyk and Tessa Robinson play brief roles. In no way is “Phantom” in the same class as “Das Boots” “Run Silent, Run Deep” or “The Hunt For Red October” but I have a feeling it is a better movie than the other ones that opened today Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    2
    Ed Harris has a bad lead performance which is unusual for him, but more importantly its badly written and just all around stupid in every way.
  6. chw
    Jul 17, 2014
    1
    Phantom was a very incredibly stupid movie that was not anything besides confusing. Ed Harris, William Fichtner, and David Duchovny probablyPhantom was a very incredibly stupid movie that was not anything besides confusing. Ed Harris, William Fichtner, and David Duchovny probably made a fortune by starring in something like this. Expand

Trailers