User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 448 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 448

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    I really liked this film. I thought it was interesting from start to finish. Good acting, Interesting story, and it all happens in a phone booth. Really good film.
  2. Apr 29, 2013
    8
    This is one of my favourite movies. Firstly I am not a huge Colin Farrell fan and some of his acting can be ropey but he puts in a solid display. The brilliance of this film is the fact its so simple. It is basically one set. One man on camera emoting and then a voice on the other end of the line. Farrell shows his emotion and has a great range of these through the film. Some of theThis is one of my favourite movies. Firstly I am not a huge Colin Farrell fan and some of his acting can be ropey but he puts in a solid display. The brilliance of this film is the fact its so simple. It is basically one set. One man on camera emoting and then a voice on the other end of the line. Farrell shows his emotion and has a great range of these through the film. Some of the supporting cast in the more meaningless roles are not great but the key roles of Farrell, Whitaker and the brilliant Keifer Sutherland really make this film. Sutherland is by far the best performance as he is pretty much just a voice. He is menacing, funny, evil and sadistic all through his tones. This was pretty much his come back movie after his fall from grace and really impressed me. The plot is not all that deep but I would certainly tell people to watch this as I liked it for its simplicity. To make a film captivating when it is set in one location is impressive. Expand
  3. May 10, 2013
    8
    An original and simply idea, yet filled with such thrilling moments that will keep you hooked to the front of your chair from start to finish. It shown the volnurability of ordinary people and how lies unfold, yet with a certain touch that keeps it interresting without ever losing any of its intentions.
  4. JasonL.
    Apr 30, 2003
    10
    [**POTENTIAL MINOR SPOILERS**] Have you ever seen a movie that you would actually pay money to watch more than once? What if I told you that this film had a setting of only one main location, two main actors and three supporting cast members? While these elements don?t make up what a classic movie sounds like on paper, add director Joel Schumacher (Bad Company, 8mm) into the mix, along[**POTENTIAL MINOR SPOILERS**] Have you ever seen a movie that you would actually pay money to watch more than once? What if I told you that this film had a setting of only one main location, two main actors and three supporting cast members? While these elements don?t make up what a classic movie sounds like on paper, add director Joel Schumacher (Bad Company, 8mm) into the mix, along with screenwriter Larry Cohen, who had this story handed down to him by Alfred Hitchcock himself about 30 years ago, and you have the perfect blend of blackmail, violence and extortion: Phone Booth. The story begins by showing a glimpse into the life of Stu Shepard (Daredevil?s Colin Farrell). Stu is a New York hustler that people love to hate. He is egotistical, two-faced to everyone he knows and does what he can for personal gratification. He even fantasizes about cheating on his wife Kelly (Pitch Black's Radha Mitchell) and the object of that desire is Pamela McFadden (Dawson Creek?s Katie Holmes). Pam is a young actress trying to get her first break, while Stu has been grooming her for the big time. To avoid having his calls to Pam appear on his cellular phone bill, Stu calls her from the lone phone booth left in the heart of NYC. However, things would be different on this day. Upon hanging up, he receives a call that would turn his whole world upside down. The caller (24?s Kiefer Sutherland) is a sniper, who has been targeting high-profile underhanded suits, just like Stu. He has a few simple rules so that Stu does not meet the same fate that two others had before him: don?t leave the booth, don?t tell anyone who he?s talking to, and most importantly, don?t hang up. To prove his seriousness, the caller shoots and kills a pimp who tries to physically remove Stu from the booth for taking too much time with his call. This, as expected, does not help matters, and the fallen pimp?s hookers now believe it was indeed Stu who committed the murder. Soon, the NYPD and numerous media outlets are covering this serious situation. Things become increasingly difficult for Stu Shepard as Kelly and Pam both show up. In the meantime, the caller continues to play various mind games, while the sympathetic NYPD Captain Ramey (Twilight Zone?s Forest Whitaker) tries to solve the issue. During all of this, Stu tries to maintain his sanity and not risk any more lives. His lies no longer matter. As a result, he must now search his soul, discover himself and attempt to outsmart the caller, taking the game to a whole new level. The cinematography is outstanding. Schumacher uses the right angle for every shot, and manages to keep everyone?s attention with quick pans and abrupt cuts. In the end, the 80-minute movie seems longer but not because it is boring. The biggest payoff comes with the twist ending that changes the film?s outcome within sixty seconds. There was not one bad performance in Phone Booth. Farrell?s ability to convert his Irish brogue to a Brooklyn drawl makes his performance as Bullseye in Daredevil look like a child?s school play when compared to the Broadway-level of acting he manages here. While Mitchell and Holmes did not have lengthy parts, their roles added just enough to the story and they managed to perform up to the standards of their characters. Forest Whitaker was a surprisingly great addition to the cast and his role as a sympathetic cop is one that?s not often seen, and should thus be welcomed. However, all of these actors are outshined by Kiefer Sutherland, who ends up being extremely creepy and one of the best antagonists in recent movie history by just using his voice. Will this win Best Picture at next year?s Academy Awards? It probably won?t. However, with a great story, top-notch directing and a cast with great chemistry, what more could you ask for? Out of a possible five stars, I give this the limit of five with desires to go even higher. While I would go see it again and again, not everyone has the same tastes. However, I would put down the $8 for a ticket to see the flick at least once. If nothing else, it will make you stop and think: the next time you enter a phone booth, just who will be watching? Collapse
  5. JG.
    Oct 13, 2006
    10
    Now this is American cinema at its finest. A truly powerful and life-changing film. Phone Booth transports you to a whole other world. This movie takes you on an exciting journey full of twists and turns that you just simply don't want to end. Colin Farrell gives us a riveting performance, he demands our full attention right from start to finish, restoring our faith and love in him Now this is American cinema at its finest. A truly powerful and life-changing film. Phone Booth transports you to a whole other world. This movie takes you on an exciting journey full of twists and turns that you just simply don't want to end. Colin Farrell gives us a riveting performance, he demands our full attention right from start to finish, restoring our faith and love in him once again. Quite possibly the most triumphant achievement of his career. Phone Booth is a magnificent exhibition of raw talent and ingenuity. A shotgun hat trick of a movie that will linger in your thoughts long after you have shut off the DVD player, turned the light down and slipped into bed. Bravo! Expand
  6. Jul 3, 2014
    8
    Phone Booth is a no-holds-barred, edge-of-your-seat thrill ride that is "The Godfather" of popcorn movies. It delivers thrill after thrill while keeping a short 91 minute runtime. The best part of it and the reason it's so successful as a heart-pounding thriller is that at any given moment, someone could die. In fact, towards the end, the movie starts to partially show some kind ofPhone Booth is a no-holds-barred, edge-of-your-seat thrill ride that is "The Godfather" of popcorn movies. It delivers thrill after thrill while keeping a short 91 minute runtime. The best part of it and the reason it's so successful as a heart-pounding thriller is that at any given moment, someone could die. In fact, towards the end, the movie starts to partially show some kind of matter-of-fact message about the human condition; a rarity in this genre. Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2014
    7
    Who would have thought a movie about a guy in a phone booth would be as interesting as it was? I suppose when Joel Shumacher is directing an all-star cast, anything, even an entire movie that takes place in a phone booth, can be interesting! Colin Farrell stars as a man who lies, cheats, and does anything it takes to get to the top of his profession. He thinks he's on top of the world,Who would have thought a movie about a guy in a phone booth would be as interesting as it was? I suppose when Joel Shumacher is directing an all-star cast, anything, even an entire movie that takes place in a phone booth, can be interesting! Colin Farrell stars as a man who lies, cheats, and does anything it takes to get to the top of his profession. He thinks he's on top of the world, with a wife, a girlfriend, and a group of clients, who don't know what scum he is, but someone has noticed the real Stu Shepard and has trained a rifle on him. Shepard has to do as he is told or risk becoming yet another victim, of a man who has been targeting New York City's businessmen. Colin Farrell is a very versatile actor, it's always been his biggest strength, but generally I find his performances to be kind of flat. Farrell has never been someone who I would consider a top tier Hollywood actor, but looking back on this early performance, I have to tell you, I was impressed. The setting of the film was so limited, that the only way it works is if you have a strong and believable cast, which Phone Booth certainly has. Every character has a unique back story and everyone is interconnected, in a film that is full of intrigue and edge of your seat action. People may not know what a phone booth is anymore, but this film is far from outdated. It is an excellent edge of your seat thrill ride that is perfect for the person who wants a short, but exciting movie. Expand
  8. Feb 27, 2012
    8
    Solid acting by the experianced cast and it was interesting from start to finish as well, That is rare for a movie imo. The only flaw of the film is that it takes a little bit to get into but its still totally worth watching. I would recommend it.
  9. Nov 1, 2013
    7
    An interesting and perhaps hidden ploy within ‘Phone Booth’ is its subconscious poke at those who lead a sinful and disillusioned life, it goes with the belief that such a life will catch up on you, this film obviously does this in a dramatic and ridiculous way, but it still throws a few stones in to ripple the water and give us a thought in the short running time of the movie, it takesAn interesting and perhaps hidden ploy within ‘Phone Booth’ is its subconscious poke at those who lead a sinful and disillusioned life, it goes with the belief that such a life will catch up on you, this film obviously does this in a dramatic and ridiculous way, but it still throws a few stones in to ripple the water and give us a thought in the short running time of the movie, it takes place almost entirely within this area where the phone booth is, but keeps the pulse going with its sometimes unpredictable plot and mysterious caller. We are introduced to the fast talking publicist that is Stu Shepard, phone to the ear and barking various orders to his lackey, he lies and cheats his way through life, which comes back to bite him, he uses a pay phone to call his mistress Pamela (Katie Holmes) so as his wife Kelly (Radha Mitchell) is unaware when she checks his phone records, ruling out the possibility of her becoming aware of his adultery. What dear Stu doesn’t anticipate is answering the pay phone to a confidently spoken man who knows just about every single thing about our now edgy publicist, oh yeah and the man on the other line has a sniper pointed at Stu, under the illusion that Stu deserves to die for his life of shame and fakery, he’s essentially playing God and yet he is only a voice, but a commanding voice is also one not to be messed with, something that Stu finds out all to soon after a run in with some irritated street walkers and their pimp, his day just eta worse and worse. As the intention starts to grow on Stu and police start arriving, Captain Ramey (Forest Whitaker) starts figuring out that perhaps Stu is actually incapable of putting down the phone for fear of getting a bullet through his head, they are under the belief that Stu has a gun, yet aren’t completely sold on the whole story that they’re being fed. Director Joel Schumacher knows how to heighten the tension as he often focuses the camera on what appear to be menial objects at first, but soon play out to be much more vital, he also gives the whole thing a sense of humour, which is a nice touch. Most of the humour and tension comes from the voice on the phone, the anti-hero perhaps. The voice is Kiefer Sutherland, who brings a soft yet effective tone that is refreshing to listen to but menacing when need be. It becomes unclear wether he has any intention of killing Stu, but it makes the film much more enthralling when he never seems to lose his cool and has Stu in all sorts of knots, a snappy and enjoyable film that seems to hold so much more under the hood and has more pressing motives that it doesn’t play. Expand
  10. DanielV
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    I loved this film, I have to warn you before you watch it. It is a thinking thriller. People often criticize the amount of vulgarities. I find the number of vulgarities to be accurate given the situation. People simply think that vulgarities are not common place because most other films use less for the given situations.
  11. EricC.
    Apr 6, 2003
    7
    Given the fact that there hasn't been a good movie released in theaters since January, Phone Booth was not a disappointment. Actually, it was a lot better than what some of the critics made it out to be. It kept a very tense scenario from the moment Colin Ferrell walks into the booth to the end. Kiefer Sutherland plays an excellent role as the sniper, even though you never see his Given the fact that there hasn't been a good movie released in theaters since January, Phone Booth was not a disappointment. Actually, it was a lot better than what some of the critics made it out to be. It kept a very tense scenario from the moment Colin Ferrell walks into the booth to the end. Kiefer Sutherland plays an excellent role as the sniper, even though you never see his face. Despite what some said about the ending, I thought that it ended in a very believable manner. For a movie that was less than an hour and a half, it never felt rushed or too short. Worth seeing at least once. Expand
  12. SamS.
    Apr 8, 2003
    9
    24: The Movie
  13. SophieB
    Oct 2, 2007
    8
    An excellent movie, with a good concept and good acting performances. Keeps you hooked until the end.
  14. EdgarC.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    A perfectly intense movie about a man in a phone booth. Despite the lack of any true violence or action, the movie will keep the watcher hooked to his/her seat. I loved it.
  15. PatrickF.
    Apr 21, 2003
    7
    Joel Shoemaker suceeds in the almost impossible task of shooting an entire action movie within a 70 feet radius of a phone booth. See this movie!
  16. SimonC.
    Apr 20, 2003
    8
    Excellent - gripping from start to finish with great performances from both Farrell and Sutherland.
  17. KristaB.
    Apr 4, 2003
    9
    I loved this movie. It was so intense and it never let ago. I don't think I'll ever answer the phone again.
  18. Phatman
    Apr 5, 2003
    8
    great, but not as good as i thought. Fun story and i like how they show multiple frames at once throughout the movie, but the ending is predictable for people who've seen a lot of movies. You'll have a lot of fun watching the movie, but the ending might disappoint you.
  19. GeorgeP.B.
    Apr 8, 2003
    9
    The premise is entertaining enough to be worth seeing. There is no action scenes because it's a drama. The suspense is quite interesting as you wonder when Farrell will eat a bullet. The ending is quite good even though you know that Sutherland's voice is the shooter. This movie should certainly be rated higher than Willard and Drumline. It's far more entertaining unless The premise is entertaining enough to be worth seeing. There is no action scenes because it's a drama. The suspense is quite interesting as you wonder when Farrell will eat a bullet. The ending is quite good even though you know that Sutherland's voice is the shooter. This movie should certainly be rated higher than Willard and Drumline. It's far more entertaining unless you happen to be a retarded wombat. Expand
  20. ChrisH.
    Mar 3, 2004
    8
    Pretty good flick, nice and short so when it pulls you in it isnt a task to keep you there for the duration. Not too heavy but still a thriller.
  21. DuggieB
    Jan 30, 2009
    9
    Wow! A thriller the whole way. One of the better movies I've seen lately.
  22. Bakhman
    Apr 19, 2003
    9
    this is the best movie i've seen in a loooong time! it never bored me, i don't know whats wrong with the people down there V V, but this kept me up and watching. the acting is great, and it's hilarious at times, too.
  23. DaveM.
    Apr 21, 2003
    9
    Great film. More gripping than you might expect when it's all concentrating on one man in a phone booth!
  24. SHIRLEYL.
    Apr 4, 2003
    9
    I saw this thriller today and I thought it was really something to tell my friends about. That is just what I did and 3 of them are on thier way to see it. One already did and agreed with me that it was great.
  25. Mr.Bobertz
    Apr 5, 2003
    8
    I enjoyed this movie. A few plot holes here and there could easily have been fixed, but aside from that it was fine. The acting was good, the writings was good. What more do you want?
  26. NC
    Apr 6, 2003
    9
    This movie was really great. Colin Farrel really gives his best performance yet and Kiefer is genuinly scary as the man on the other side of the phone. With the exception of the pointless cg at the beginning it all rounds out well.
  27. MicheleC.
    Apr 7, 2003
    8
    Fine acting from the Colin Farrell, Forest Whitaker and Kiefer Sutherland (as the sinister voice on the phone). Imagine answering a telephone and hearing an ominous stranger address you by name, spew out exact details of your private life and innermost secrets, then learning that the stranger is a psychotic killer who has murdered recently, and is anxious to kill you and anyone you care Fine acting from the Colin Farrell, Forest Whitaker and Kiefer Sutherland (as the sinister voice on the phone). Imagine answering a telephone and hearing an ominous stranger address you by name, spew out exact details of your private life and innermost secrets, then learning that the stranger is a psychotic killer who has murdered recently, and is anxious to kill you and anyone you care about. Phone Booth is a riveting study in suspense. Before you have had a chance to recover from one shock, something even more disturbing occurs. By the end of the movie, Farrell's frightened character was stripped to his bare truth ? exposed, humiliated and debased in the presence of his wife, girlfriend, live cameras, the world. Farrell?s performance is charismatic, mesmerizing, full of subtle nuance. His intensity reminded me of Robert De Niro's portrayal of Travis Bickel in Taxi Driver. The promos promised suspense; the film delivered. Expand
  28. BitBurn
    Jul 13, 2003
    7
    I found this film quite entertaining. Low budget, but still great action, always on the edge. Worth seeing.
  29. ShaunT.
    Aug 7, 2003
    9
    Who knew that a movie about a guy in a phone booth could be so entertaining?! Colin Farrell plays his role convincingly and Kiefer Sutherland continues to yack on the phone, as he does on nearly every TV commercial and episode of 24. Overall, this movie is very kinetic, exciting, emotional, and enjoyable. Sure, the movie is only 81 minutes, but it is 81 minutes of sure-shot enjoyment! Who knew that a movie about a guy in a phone booth could be so entertaining?! Colin Farrell plays his role convincingly and Kiefer Sutherland continues to yack on the phone, as he does on nearly every TV commercial and episode of 24. Overall, this movie is very kinetic, exciting, emotional, and enjoyable. Sure, the movie is only 81 minutes, but it is 81 minutes of sure-shot enjoyment! This movie hits its target and proves that a big budget flick isn't always better than small budget film. Kudos to Shumacher and his fantastic cast! Expand
  30. AMovieCritic
    Sep 30, 2003
    8
    Holy crap! What a movie. I saw trailers for it, and thought, "whoa. These film makers are great to make a movie taking place entirely on a street." And I thought it would suck, but it's an awesome thriller. One of the best. A great movie. I especially liked the ending. It was a cool way to wrap up the movie.
  31. Kong
    Jul 11, 2003
    8
    Wow ... I?ve never heard that many bad telephone puns in my life. Anyways, I think this whole movie came of spectacularly well for only being shot in 10 days. It is a sad sad day in American history when T3 gets rated better than a movie that at least tries to use engaging dialogue.
  32. Jan 3, 2015
    8
    This movie surprised me positively, as much as people have praised it. It might get full five stars-rating had they left Jared Leto's short shot in there, but what can you do ;) (Nah, just joking.) First of all, magnificent acting from Colin Farrell! His accent and style of speking were the first thing to drag my attention: he sounds nothing but the rough Irish guy we have been used to. HeThis movie surprised me positively, as much as people have praised it. It might get full five stars-rating had they left Jared Leto's short shot in there, but what can you do ;) (Nah, just joking.) First of all, magnificent acting from Colin Farrell! His accent and style of speking were the first thing to drag my attention: he sounds nothing but the rough Irish guy we have been used to. He shows a range of emotions, too, and being in the eye of the camera almost thorough the movie must have been hard. He does it with style, though, never getting boring, never repeating himself. The movie flows nicely, is detailed and very human in all aspects. Watch it if you can - though the end is a bit too expected. Oh well, that's only human, too. Expand
  33. Jun 7, 2015
    7
    Phone Booth manages to take a simple premise and turn it in to a intense thriller. Kieffer Sutherland plays the calm and statistic caller that watches over Collins Farrell self centred publicist. A nail biting thriller
  34. Oct 25, 2015
    9
    Extremely good, extremely thrilling! The moral message the film is well displayed, every minute of it is exciting and Colin Farrell's performance is superb. This is a memorable film and one of the bests of its genre.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 35
  2. Negative: 4 out of 35
  1. 40
    At only 84 minutes, Phone Booth's brevity turns out to be its only saving grace.
  2. 58
    Schumacher's depictions of street life are cartoonishly ludicrous and riddled with cliches -- a pair of garish hookers, for instance, can't be excused simply because one is played with engaging vigor by Paula Jai Parker.
  3. The result is a movie that combines a seriousness of purpose with an impish delight in craft, in a way Hitchcock would have appreciated.