Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 135 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: Set entirely within and around the confines of a New York City phone booth, this film follows Stu Shepard (Farrell), a low-rent media consultant who is trapped after being told by a caller - a serial killer with a sniper rifle - that he'll be shot dead if he hangs up. (20th Century Fox)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 35
  2. Negative: 4 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Clint Morris
    80
    It spends little time on exposition, instead quickly getting into the thrust of the movie. For a film like this, it’s advantageous, grabbing the audience almost immediately after the opening credits.
  2. 75
    A tabloidy, nail-biting thriller.
  3. 75
    Farrell is a dynamo. And Kiefer Sutherland, whose sniper role is essentially a voice on the phone, matches Farrell subtle shift for subtle shift.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    63
    Superficially gritty yet soullessly slick melodrama.
  5. 58
    Schumacher's depictions of street life are cartoonishly ludicrous and riddled with cliches -- a pair of garish hookers, for instance, can't be excused simply because one is played with engaging vigor by Paula Jai Parker.
  6. 50
    The situation is suspenseful and unique enough to hold our attention for a time.
  7. Bogus on every level, right down to its half-hearted trick ending.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 56
  2. Negative: 15 out of 56
  1. JG.
    Oct 13, 2006
    10
    Now this is American cinema at its finest. A truly powerful and life-changing film. Phone Booth transports you to a whole other world. This Now this is American cinema at its finest. A truly powerful and life-changing film. Phone Booth transports you to a whole other world. This movie takes you on an exciting journey full of twists and turns that you just simply don't want to end. Colin Farrell gives us a riveting performance, he demands our full attention right from start to finish, restoring our faith and love in him once again. Quite possibly the most triumphant achievement of his career. Phone Booth is a magnificent exhibition of raw talent and ingenuity. A shotgun hat trick of a movie that will linger in your thoughts long after you have shut off the DVD player, turned the light down and slipped into bed. Bravo! Expand
  2. DanielV
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    I loved this film, I have to warn you before you watch it. It is a thinking thriller. People often criticize the amount of vulgarities. I I loved this film, I have to warn you before you watch it. It is a thinking thriller. People often criticize the amount of vulgarities. I find the number of vulgarities to be accurate given the situation. People simply think that vulgarities are not common place because most other films use less for the given situations. Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    I really liked this film. I thought it was interesting from start to finish. Good acting, Interesting story, and it all happens in a phoneI really liked this film. I thought it was interesting from start to finish. Good acting, Interesting story, and it all happens in a phone booth. Really good film. Expand
  4. SophieB
    Oct 2, 2007
    8
    An excellent movie, with a good concept and good acting performances. Keeps you hooked until the end.
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    8
    This is one of my favourite movies. Firstly I am not a huge Colin Farrell fan and some of his acting can be ropey but he puts in a solidThis is one of my favourite movies. Firstly I am not a huge Colin Farrell fan and some of his acting can be ropey but he puts in a solid display. The brilliance of this film is the fact its so simple. It is basically one set. One man on camera emoting and then a voice on the other end of the line. Farrell shows his emotion and has a great range of these through the film. Some of the supporting cast in the more meaningless roles are not great but the key roles of Farrell, Whitaker and the brilliant Keifer Sutherland really make this film. Sutherland is by far the best performance as he is pretty much just a voice. He is menacing, funny, evil and sadistic all through his tones. This was pretty much his come back movie after his fall from grace and really impressed me. The plot is not all that deep but I would certainly tell people to watch this as I liked it for its simplicity. To make a film captivating when it is set in one location is impressive. Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    7
    An interesting and perhaps hidden ploy within ‘Phone Booth’ is its subconscious poke at those who lead a sinful and disillusioned life, itAn interesting and perhaps hidden ploy within ‘Phone Booth’ is its subconscious poke at those who lead a sinful and disillusioned life, it goes with the belief that such a life will catch up on you, this film obviously does this in a dramatic and ridiculous way, but it still throws a few stones in to ripple the water and give us a thought in the short running time of the movie, it takes place almost entirely within this area where the phone booth is, but keeps the pulse going with its sometimes unpredictable plot and mysterious caller. We are introduced to the fast talking publicist that is Stu Shepard, phone to the ear and barking various orders to his lackey, he lies and cheats his way through life, which comes back to bite him, he uses a pay phone to call his mistress Pamela (Katie Holmes) so as his wife Kelly (Radha Mitchell) is unaware when she checks his phone records, ruling out the possibility of her becoming aware of his adultery. What dear Stu doesn’t anticipate is answering the pay phone to a confidently spoken man who knows just about every single thing about our now edgy publicist, oh yeah and the man on the other line has a sniper pointed at Stu, under the illusion that Stu deserves to die for his life of shame and fakery, he’s essentially playing God and yet he is only a voice, but a commanding voice is also one not to be messed with, something that Stu finds out all to soon after a run in with some irritated street walkers and their pimp, his day just eta worse and worse. As the intention starts to grow on Stu and police start arriving, Captain Ramey (Forest Whitaker) starts figuring out that perhaps Stu is actually incapable of putting down the phone for fear of getting a bullet through his head, they are under the belief that Stu has a gun, yet aren’t completely sold on the whole story that they’re being fed. Director Joel Schumacher knows how to heighten the tension as he often focuses the camera on what appear to be menial objects at first, but soon play out to be much more vital, he also gives the whole thing a sense of humour, which is a nice touch. Most of the humour and tension comes from the voice on the phone, the anti-hero perhaps. The voice is Kiefer Sutherland, who brings a soft yet effective tone that is refreshing to listen to but menacing when need be. It becomes unclear wether he has any intention of killing Stu, but it makes the film much more enthralling when he never seems to lose his cool and has Stu in all sorts of knots, a snappy and enjoyable film that seems to hold so much more under the hood and has more pressing motives that it doesn’t play. Expand
  7. Lodde
    Jul 12, 2003
    0
    Absolutely the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life. This film is based on the most absurd, uncreative, and unexciting storyline, Absolutely the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life. This film is based on the most absurd, uncreative, and unexciting storyline, and leaves viewers with a highly unsatisfying ending. Colin Farrell tries his best to generate interest and sympathy for his flawed character, but after about 30 minutes of enduring him talking on the phone in the booth, you just want to see his demise. The action is non existent, you could put the suspense in a thimble, and although the cast has some decent talent, not one of them can save this movie from having my distinction of being the worst, and biggest waste of time of my life (and yours if you've seen, or plan to see this absolute atrocity). At 81 minutes, you're better off getting your colon cleansed, or perhaps having your eyeballs endure acupuncture with foot long needles then fixing them on the misery that is this movie. Collapse

See all 56 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Director Joel Schumacher: All Films Considered

    Director Joel Schumacher: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 5, 2010
    A new Joel Schumacher film is always cause for celebration -- if you happen to like bad movies. We look back at the "Twelve" director's worst (and, yes, best) films from a career spanning three decades.