Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: Set entirely within and around the confines of a New York City phone booth, this film follows Stu Shepard (Farrell), a low-rent media consultant who is trapped after being told by a caller - a serial killer with a sniper rifle - that he'll be shot dead if he hangs up. (20th Century Fox)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 35
  2. Negative: 4 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Clint Morris
    80
    It spends little time on exposition, instead quickly getting into the thrust of the movie. For a film like this, it’s advantageous, grabbing the audience almost immediately after the opening credits.
  2. 75
    A tabloidy, nail-biting thriller.
  3. 75
    Farrell is a dynamo. And Kiefer Sutherland, whose sniper role is essentially a voice on the phone, matches Farrell subtle shift for subtle shift.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    63
    Superficially gritty yet soullessly slick melodrama.
  5. 58
    Schumacher's depictions of street life are cartoonishly ludicrous and riddled with cliches -- a pair of garish hookers, for instance, can't be excused simply because one is played with engaging vigor by Paula Jai Parker.
  6. 50
    The situation is suspenseful and unique enough to hold our attention for a time.
  7. Bogus on every level, right down to its half-hearted trick ending.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 56
  2. Negative: 15 out of 56
  1. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    Phone Booth is original, thrilling and is Colin's best role. From the start to the end you won't look away from the screen. The movie will hook your attention even though the entire movie revolves around a phone booth ! The endless suspense and clever performances easily turned the movie into a classic thriller. Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    I really liked this film. I thought it was interesting from start to finish. Good acting, Interesting story, and it all happens in a phone booth. Really good film. Expand
  3. Feb 27, 2012
    8
    Solid acting by the experianced cast and it was interesting from start to finish as well, That is rare for a movie imo. The only flaw of the film is that it takes a little bit to get into but its still totally worth watching. I would recommend it. Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2013
    8
    This is one of my favourite movies. Firstly I am not a huge Colin Farrell fan and some of his acting can be ropey but he puts in a solid display. The brilliance of this film is the fact its so simple. It is basically one set. One man on camera emoting and then a voice on the other end of the line. Farrell shows his emotion and has a great range of these through the film. Some of the supporting cast in the more meaningless roles are not great but the key roles of Farrell, Whitaker and the brilliant Keifer Sutherland really make this film. Sutherland is by far the best performance as he is pretty much just a voice. He is menacing, funny, evil and sadistic all through his tones. This was pretty much his come back movie after his fall from grace and really impressed me. The plot is not all that deep but I would certainly tell people to watch this as I liked it for its simplicity. To make a film captivating when it is set in one location is impressive. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2014
    8
    Phone Booth is a no-holds-barred, edge-of-your-seat thrill ride that is "The Godfather" of popcorn movies. It delivers thrill after thrill while keeping a short 91 minute runtime. The best part of it and the reason it's so successful as a heart-pounding thriller is that at any given moment, someone could die. In fact, towards the end, the movie starts to partially show some kind of matter-of-fact message about the human condition; a rarity in this genre. Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2014
    7
    Who would have thought a movie about a guy in a phone booth would be as interesting as it was? I suppose when Joel Shumacher is directing an all-star cast, anything, even an entire movie that takes place in a phone booth, can be interesting! Colin Farrell stars as a man who lies, cheats, and does anything it takes to get to the top of his profession. He thinks he's on top of the world, with a wife, a girlfriend, and a group of clients, who don't know what scum he is, but someone has noticed the real Stu Shepard and has trained a rifle on him. Shepard has to do as he is told or risk becoming yet another victim, of a man who has been targeting New York City's businessmen. Colin Farrell is a very versatile actor, it's always been his biggest strength, but generally I find his performances to be kind of flat. Farrell has never been someone who I would consider a top tier Hollywood actor, but looking back on this early performance, I have to tell you, I was impressed. The setting of the film was so limited, that the only way it works is if you have a strong and believable cast, which Phone Booth certainly has. Every character has a unique back story and everyone is interconnected, in a film that is full of intrigue and edge of your seat action. People may not know what a phone booth is anymore, but this film is far from outdated. It is an excellent edge of your seat thrill ride that is perfect for the person who wants a short, but exciting movie. Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2011
    6
    "Phonebooth" demonstrates that Director Joel Schumacher, despite the massive Cliches and disjointed script he created, can actually direct decent movies. Expand

See all 56 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Director Joel Schumacher: All Films Considered

    Director Joel Schumacher: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 5, 2010
    A new Joel Schumacher film is always cause for celebration -- if you happen to like bad movies. We look back at the "Twelve" director's worst (and, yes, best) films from a career spanning three decades.