Pi

Live Film & Mediaworks Inc. | Release Date: July 10, 1998
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 86 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
67
Mixed:
15
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
PatrickSousaMar 27, 2016
This movie is certainly one of the most intense movies ever. It deserves to be watched a hundred times not just for a better comprehension, but for enjoy the art
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
DylanB.Feb 8, 2006
This a most entertaining and dynamic film, beautifully use of chairoscuro lighting in the shots with a plot which commands ones interest throughout! Though I find in places that it is poorly researched and contains minor flaws in factuality, This a most entertaining and dynamic film, beautifully use of chairoscuro lighting in the shots with a plot which commands ones interest throughout! Though I find in places that it is poorly researched and contains minor flaws in factuality, causality and continuity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielC.Jul 11, 2006
Confusing Plot? Maybe, but repeat viewings are very enjoyable. The sound effects and the drum & bass soundtrack are completely awesome. The filming was so very well done. Utterly unique. We see the simplicity of the circle and the maddening Confusing Plot? Maybe, but repeat viewings are very enjoyable. The sound effects and the drum & bass soundtrack are completely awesome. The filming was so very well done. Utterly unique. We see the simplicity of the circle and the maddening complexity of Pi - 3.141 off in to infinity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonhF.Mar 17, 2006
Very good movie. The script was well written and complex, and made this a very insightful character study. The acting was solid, and the directing was, well, gritty, but I mean that in a good way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SaTaNJul 8, 2006
I love this movie! It is truly a work of art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AmanA.Mar 15, 2007
Interesting and thought provoking movie... slightly disturbing.. but a fun watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
bertobellamyNov 7, 2010
Pi has an strange and stressful atmosphere. Don't get me wrong, this is an unique accomplishment done only by Aronosky. He has the ability to maintain us worried all the time during almost all the movie. Here, we can see his first famousPi has an strange and stressful atmosphere. Don't get me wrong, this is an unique accomplishment done only by Aronosky. He has the ability to maintain us worried all the time during almost all the movie. Here, we can see his first famous hip-hop montage and the use of the snorricam. Flirting with cyberpunk over moments, Pi combines thriller with religious and cosmic themes and the dangerous outcome if discovered by a sole individual. Shot in black and white and with an intense score by Mansell, Pi is really an excellent piece of art. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BikerjamesMay 27, 2012
This is one of those atmospheric, creepy movies that grabs you and doesn't let go. I seem to love (The Wrestler, Pi) or hate (Black Swan, The Fountain) Aronofsky's films, but admire the visuals even in the ones I don't like. I always lookThis is one of those atmospheric, creepy movies that grabs you and doesn't let go. I seem to love (The Wrestler, Pi) or hate (Black Swan, The Fountain) Aronofsky's films, but admire the visuals even in the ones I don't like. I always look forward to seeing his next film, and I can't say that about every director. The lead in this film, Sean Gullette, is excellent, as is the rest of the cast. I really liked the camera work and LOVED the soundtrack with the creepy noises throughout. The story, how everything in the universe can be explained by mathematics was intriguing. I really enjoyed the film and would watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineSep 13, 2013
The best word describing this movie is "disturbing". This is a psychological thriller made in black and white colors. Stylish visuals. Rather unusual movie, I've seen nothing like this before, surely worth watching. Another thing great OSTThe best word describing this movie is "disturbing". This is a psychological thriller made in black and white colors. Stylish visuals. Rather unusual movie, I've seen nothing like this before, surely worth watching. Another thing great OST with Clint Mansell's main theme. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AkashVijayJan 24, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the very under-appreciated films. Darren Aronofsky's Pi (1998) is every bit original as it is unique. It's dark, convoluted, twisted and artistic. Most of the critics have misunderstood the genius of the film. It's a film about the pain that accompanies passion and the fine line between madness and genius. It's about an obsessive mathematician Max Coen who's success comes hand in hand with his demise. He's desperate to know the truth behind a mystical code he encountered whilst trying to predict the stock market and he brings great pain to himself in search of that truth. The ending where he gives it up and rather just sits down patiently, enjoying the image of swirling trees and playing games with the little girl is as beautiful and powerful an ending as I've seen in a while. Anything that even in the slightest and subtle way strays from the conventionality of hollywood films today is not well received. Pi is great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews