Pi

Pi Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Max Cohen, a mathematician and computer genius, finds himself pursued by Wall Street traders and a Hasidic cabal in this award-winning film.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. It is a brilliant intellectual adventure that fans of bold independent filmmaking will want to experience, even though the ending is something of a letdown.
  2. 90
    Aronofsky's ability to capture the rush and confusion of racing down a timeline toward infinity, only to suddenly slam into a dead end, makes for impressive and occasionally disturbing stuff.
  3. 80
    Whatever its faults -- and it has more than a few -- it is unquestionably different. It at least takes a stab at interpolating cerebral ideas into the format of a thriller.
  4. This intellectual allegory would carry more punch if it didn't slip into melodrama so often, but it marks Aronofsky as an exceptionally promising new filmmaker.
  5. Audacious and bursting with ideas, the paranoid little sci-fi independent film Pi marks an auspicious debut for New York writer Darren Aronofsky.
  6. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    70
    The film's imaginative, diverse images create a mind's-eye urban claustrophobia; such intensity may exhaust over 85 minutes' course, but it's never less than impressive.
  7. 30
    With this odd mixture of elements the film's tone is gloomy, portentous, and hysterical, yet at the same time strangely earnest and square, as if David Lynch had tried to somehow make a movie version of Scientific American.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. DanielC.
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    Confusing Plot? Maybe, but repeat viewings are very enjoyable. The sound effects and the drum & bass soundtrack are completely awesome. The Confusing Plot? Maybe, but repeat viewings are very enjoyable. The sound effects and the drum & bass soundtrack are completely awesome. The filming was so very well done. Utterly unique. We see the simplicity of the circle and the maddening complexity of Pi - 3.141 off in to infinity. Expand
  2. SaTaN
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    I love this movie! It is truly a work of art.
  3. Nov 7, 2010
    9
    Pi has an strange and stressful atmosphere. Don't get me wrong, this is an unique accomplishment done only by Aronosky. He has the ability toPi has an strange and stressful atmosphere. Don't get me wrong, this is an unique accomplishment done only by Aronosky. He has the ability to maintain us worried all the time during almost all the movie. Here, we can see his first famous hip-hop montage and the use of the snorricam. Flirting with cyberpunk over moments, Pi combines thriller with religious and cosmic themes and the dangerous outcome if discovered by a sole individual. Shot in black and white and with an intense score by Mansell, Pi is really an excellent piece of art. Expand
  4. DylanB.
    Feb 8, 2006
    8
    This a most entertaining and dynamic film, beautifully use of chairoscuro lighting in the shots with a plot which commands ones interest This a most entertaining and dynamic film, beautifully use of chairoscuro lighting in the shots with a plot which commands ones interest throughout! Though I find in places that it is poorly researched and contains minor flaws in factuality, causality and continuity. Expand
  5. AmanA.
    Mar 15, 2007
    8
    Interesting and thought provoking movie... slightly disturbing.. but a fun watch.
  6. JonhF.
    Mar 17, 2006
    8
    Very good movie. The script was well written and complex, and made this a very insightful character study. The acting was solid, and the Very good movie. The script was well written and complex, and made this a very insightful character study. The acting was solid, and the directing was, well, gritty, but I mean that in a good way. Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2013
    1
    It felt more like a random assortment of shots more so than a film. I get that it was extremely low budget, but maybe not releasing this oneIt felt more like a random assortment of shots more so than a film. I get that it was extremely low budget, but maybe not releasing this one as a feature film would've been a better idea because I think there's more grains in this video than there are grains of sand on the beach. Only affect I enjoyed was the black and white. I felt that it added to the thrill/suspense intended, but otherwise, despite Max's growing insanity, it does not really provide any thrills that I was hoping for. Ultimately, it just left me confused. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. DVD Release Calendar: March 2013

    DVD Release Calendar: March 2013 Image
    Published: March 4, 2013
    Get a full listing of movies and TV shows headed to DVD and Blu-ray this month, with titles including dramas Zero Dark Thirty and Life of Pi as well as comedies such as This Is 40.
  2. 2013 Oscars: Full Winners List + Reviews of the Show

    2013 Oscars: Full Winners List + Reviews of the Show Image
    Published: February 25, 2013
    Find reviews for last night's Oscars broadcast (and host Seth MacFarlane), see which experts were the most accurate in their predictions, and get a full list of this year's winners.
  3. 2013 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2013 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 10, 2013
    Lincoln dominated the nominations for the 85th annual Academy Awards on Thursday morning, while one of its major competitors had a rougher go of it. Inside, get a complete list of all of this year's nominees and a look at the snubs and favorites in each category.
  4. 2012 Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    2012 Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 13, 2012
    Nominees for the 70th annual Golden Globe Awards were announced Thursday morning, with Lincoln, Argo, and Django Unchained leading the film nominees and Homeland and Modern Family among the TV leaders. Inside, get a full list of this year's nominees, and a look at major snubs and surprises.